User Reviews Overview

About TastyIgniter

TastyIgniter is an open-source online ordering and food delivery software that helps restaurants manage online reservations and streamline point-of-sale operations. Using its table management module, professionals can specify and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.5

Browse TastyIgniter Reviews

37 of 37 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/7/2021

Great order app for developers and restaurants aloke

Amazing software and the core team really listen to the users with feedback!

Pros

I’ve been using this for 3-4 months and it’s great piece of software! Great community.

Cons

I don’t have any issues the software has sole changes I would like and the core team are very open to hearing any!

Daniel
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/8/2021

Awesome Software

I deployed TI for a single-location delivery service, the employees and customers likes TI very much.

Pros

It is very customizable, and if you know what you want to do and how TI works, it is most of the time easy to accomplish. The team and their discord community provide a lot of help and support.

Cons

You have to learn how TI works. It is most of the time required to checkout the source code since their is not yet every part documented.

Nicolas
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

TastyIgniter Tester

Pros

The fact that it had a quick and easy to use template available immediately to be out of the box ready.

Cons

The deployment process/documentation for running it on my own lamp stack (amazon lightsail for eg)

Top TastyIgniter Alternatives

Jianing
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Great food order platform

Pros

Free and opensource, customizable software that is feature rich with helpful community.

Cons

Some parts of the software may still contain small issues but these are usually not critical.

Alternatives Considered

GloriaFood and WordPress

Reasons for Switching to TastyIgniter

Base products are free to use; great community support
RoyDean
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

TastyIgniter! The absolute best value for restaurant management! Front of house to kitchen!

I really like TastyIgniter! I was able to find missing functionality, suggest an extension be developed, debug developer's proposed extension from start to final production. We used TI exclusively and were able to increase throughput and management. We are VERY SATISFIED with TI!

Pros

Free!
Easy to use! (My background is IT)
Extensibility! Easily added functionality with existing extensions and paid extensions.

Cons

POS not present, but planned integration into existing POS systems. (not going to implement as that goes against my desire for free software supported by happy users).
Setup can be tricky if you are not familiar with website hosting and getting a site up and running.

Anthony
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/7/2021

The best open source restaurant software

If you are looking for a standalone system for your restaurant and want to focus on delivery and take away, this is your software. T
Due to COVID we had to close the restaurant and started providing take away dishes. We are located in Spain but have English-speaking clientele so this was not very easy. We've set this system up and it was so successful that we've kept providing take away dishes to our clients.

Pros

The software has a very attractive interface for the end-user and allows for multiple payment gateways. We have implemented Mollie and haven't had any issue with handling payments. The menu items with it's customisation makes it very easy to provide toppings for pizza's, different sauces, etc..

Cons

There is nothing bad to say about the software. The learning curve for me was a bit steep in the beginning but I had immediate support from the community and developer within hours. The support was so good that I decided to help the community a bit with some easy setup questions I dealt with in the beginning. Unfortunately I'm not that good of a programmer to contribute, otherwise I would have jumped on immediately.

Luis
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Powerful easiest way to manage and run your restaurant

TastyIgniter is a gaming change, turns life inside a restaurant much easier!

Who uses TastyIgniter have more information about the business, clients habits, and preferences, have on hands what’s happening in the restaurant.

It's software that provides simplicity and power in the same place!

Pros

This is a 360º software that provides more than a simple online order platform.

The way the Software was built provides features that sometimes it's not available on "similar or big" software on the market, TastyIgniter has a modern interface, a unique and easy way to set, customize and run restaurants.

Extensions are another powerful tool that can increase something that is awesome to another step!

Cons

The only thing that I like least is about the documentation, as someone that doesn't have a large experience with a programming language, it's hard (to me) to build extensions that can help me to have data as I want to have.

Freddy
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/8/2021

Online Food Ordering

What I like about this software is that I have never had to contact customer service or technical support, if you follow the guidelines to the letter you will have no problems.

Pros

The software is easy to install, easy to use, has a great platform, never had to call for support, when there are new updates it installs easily, mobile-friendly this software is very competitive. good job.

Cons

What I don't like is that they don't have many themes to choose from but I imagine they will soon have many to choose from.

Jim
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

TastIgniter - An Excellent Product at the Right Price!

We have recommended this to quite a few outlets and all users are very happy with the recommendation, some of which have been dissatisfied with previous software purchased. We will continue to recommend this as the best software for the target market.

Pros

The system is extremely easy to use and new users can be up and running very quickly indeed. In the target market being extremely computer literate is not too normal, but this is well designed and thought out so the basic user can master the system quickly and easily. And of course the price ..... well let's just say it beats the socks off similar packages in price, functionality and ease of use!

Cons

There are no negatives we found or reported to us.

Raees
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/7/2021

Open and flexible

From making the decision to use TastyIgniter, to doing the implementation, the entire experience was unexpectedly easy. There were no major roadblocks and our solution worked as intended.

Pros

The most important factor for choosing this as our solution was the ability to customize and integrate with other existing solutions. The codebase is well written and documented. Features work as expected. And integrating other solutions was easy and worked as expected.

Cons

At the time of integrating our solutions, our needs were met. The customer facing interface customization features could have been more fleshed out, but we simply customized where needed.

Federico
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Nice software for small restaurant

this software helped me to help restaurateurs during the covid emergency for free. a great help against expensive platforms

Pros

is a very powerful software that allows you to manage orders very quickly and the best thing is that being opensource and free you can customize it better

Cons

Support of the community is not always at the top, but there are some plans for paod support

Roger
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/7/2021

From the developer perspective

Pros

I am a laravel fan and when I came across tastyigniter I was thrilled to find that it as a laravel project! This made it super easy for me to get it up and running and allotted me the ability to do any further customizations if needed.

Cons

It wasn't overly intuitive to customize the home page. I wasn't that much of a fan of how component management was handled. I would have preferred a drag and drop interface with icons to the left for selecting various elements or components.

Wonderful
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/7/2021

Great features but there is room for improvement.

Tastigniter gives businesses an online presence which brings in more customers to businesses. The Software also boost sales easpexialy now during the covid -19 pandenic, people prefer ordering online instead of visiting shops.

Pros

The Software is light wheight and it comes with great features that makes it very convenient

Cons

There very few plugins available for the software which and gives business a very small room of choosing extensions that satisfy their needs

Ahmed
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/8/2021

Perfect experience

Pros

I started using the system from the earlier betas, the system now covers all the needed features for any online ordering system

Cons

Nothing to report for me it’s perfect.thanks

Ahmed
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 1/8/2021

The best online ordering platform

Pros

Easy to use, user friendly,open source, customer support

Cons

Basic reports, no delivery module, no mobile app

Pablo
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Very promising product

Pros

The software is well thought in general. It covers the vast majority of situations. Easy to configure and quick to launch

Cons

The admin structure is confusing some times. It should have specific pages for important stuff like "options" or "static menus"

Mo
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

An excellent framework for a quick restaurant website

Excellent features for such a low cost setup.

Pros

Its based on code igniter which I love. TastyIgniter allowed me to quickly setup an online takeaway with multiple brands and multiple shops

Cons

It could support more payment gateways out of the box

Mauricio
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/7/2021

One of the best restaurant online ordering system

Pros

Before trying tastyIgniter I've tried a lot of options. But this is by far the best application! East to use and maintain, amazing community and regular updates.

Cons

Permissions and reporting options still basic but pretty sure they will improve those areas really soon.

Rees
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Tasty Treats

Pros

1. The ease of integration of laravel plugins such as socialite. Generally customization is easy.
2. Featured menu
3. Admin dashboard
4. Reservations

Cons

1. Integration of an online live map for delivery services.

2. The time picker for reservations is limited to the available options. Consider adding a flexible one using the available jQuery or bootstrap plugins.

3. Fix the bugs on search by address or postcode. I had a hard time implementing.
Also allow for searching by product or restaurant on the homepage

4. Work on the presentation of products

5. Homepage is a bit dull, it should reflect similar applications eg display slider with promos, coupons

Pradip
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Best restaurant management system

Pros

The fact that the software is open source.

Cons

Since the software is opensource, customer support is least.

Nick
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/7/2021

Great product, packed with features, all for free

Pros

Pros of this product are just how simple it is to set up and use. For a product that is free, the ability to get help too is just a bonus. The creator is always trying to help people out where possible as well as others in the community.

Cons

About the only con at this moment in time is the lack of themes / plugins, for some people who don't want to do much setting up, it works but the lack of customising will be hard for some users.

Ketan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/7/2021

Food Ordering System

Pros

Easy Setup & Easy Customized
Good display & better user interface

Cons

Location pin code enter but not shaw restaurant location with memu & location setup not Easy in administrative portal

Simone
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

Best open source software for restaurants

Pros

This is a very good service if you want to provide online ordering and your don’t want to spend money, you just need a shared hosting.

Cons

If you would like to set up a service like Deliveroo this service is great but needs some development to get it done.

Tammy
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2021

The best solution out here in 2021

The experience has totally cured a problem for delivery for business for me!

Pros

The ease on install and community help.if were not for the community it would have taken longer to get it up and running.

Cons

The payment system has some glitches that are not including the drivers delivery free.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/7/2021

Excellent service that can be modified with new features

Pros

Working and easy to set up service. It has numerous functions for order management and is very intuitive.

Cons

Sometimes it's a bit slow (PHP's fault which has its limitations) and also when I used it I didn't have functionality for order notification, however I managed to create a script that allows sound notification on the browser when receiving a new order

37 reviews