User Reviews Overview

About NCR Counterpoint

The NCR Counterpoint solution includes an e-mail marketing tool, integrated e-commerce, mobile alerting, built-in gift card and customer loyalty programs and hardware specifically designed for the retail environment. The NCR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.6

Browse NCR Counterpoint Reviews

88 of 88 reviews
Sort by:
John
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/6/2011

We are a retail pet supply store on the island of Maui (Hawaii), in business for 38 years.
As our business grew and our database included 10,000 SKUs, the program we had been using became increasingly slow and problematic, actually causing many errors that tech support could not figure out. Our supplier (and tech support) were based in San Diego, a three hour time difference, another problem in itself. It became obvious that we need to research other companies and other POS systems.

We decided that the time had arrived to shop within our own state, and were fortunate to meet with Francis of Computant in Honolulu - different island, but same time zone- important for "across the sea" support.

Our first impression of the Counterpoint POS system was "VERY EXPENSIVE"! However, after spending time with Francis and his team and watching them demonstrate the features, we could see the incredible speed and flexibility, which were money-saving features to offset the initial cost. We were sold!

Francis, being the congenial, persuasive gentleman that he is, soon had us upgraded to all new equipment, including the Radiant Touchscreen registers. His installation team of three highly competent individuals flew to Maui on the day we went "live" for the installation and training. It turned out to be one of our busiest days of the year, which made it very hectic, and somewhat stressful, but his team was truly fantastic! We were up and running smoothly on day 1.

Our sales contract included a number of hours of tech support included, and we were taken care of immediately with any and every bump in the road. They continue to have superior customer support, at any time of the day.

Having been in business for 38 years, the complexities of inventory control only seem to increase, particularly when we are across the ocean from our suppliers (7- 20 days lead times). Customer buying trends change faster than ever as new products enter the market continuously, and customer relations became ever more important to cultivate. Counterpoint makes these much more manageable. Purchase orders and receiving are simplified. Our sales staff love the ease of touchscreen cash registers (originally intimidating).

The program seemed very complex, originally. After the initial learning curve one begins to better understand the "flow", and today I am amazed at the fact that we continuously find new ways to use the software to our advantage. We are able to modify the touchscreen buttons from the back office at any time, adding or deleting buttons as needed.

If time and information are money, this program is the way to go!

Deanna
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 24/3/2016

It has been a road

Pros

I purchased Counterpoint software in 2000. In 2006 I upgraded to SQL Counterpoint. I have a small Christmas store so keeping up with inventory is very important to me. I think it was in 2006 I open my web page with counterpoint called CPOline because the website and pos were interfaced so if I was out of stock in the store, I was out of stock on the web site. In August 2015 I started looking into the new website with counterpoint called NRO because it is mobile friendly were CPOline is not. Along with that I was looking at the new CC machine because of the chip cards. It was very costly to change CC machines with Counterpoint. So I started shopping around for a different POS system. I downloaded a demo, I was shown other demos online and you know what happened? I discovered that I had the best POS on the market. I already knew how to use it (didn't have to relearn a new POS system) and they are very expensive (mine was already paid for) I looked until February 2016. That is when the light went off and I started working on getting my new website up and going. And I went to Heartland Credit Card Company and have a machine out side of my POS so I can take the new chip credit cards. But I am using Secure Pay through Counterpoint for my website.

Cons

The thing that I like least about this is...it is hard for me to do updates myself. I like to be able to do all the things I need to do and this software is not real friendly that way. It is a big software and does lots of good things. Has tons of reports. I just found a new one the other days after working on it for 15 years. The other thing is you need to have a good partner that knows this software. I have had two real bad ones but I think I have finally found a good set of partners.

MARK
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 9/5/2019

WRONG SYSTEM FOR OUR BUSINESS

NONE

Pros

THE POS FRONT END OF SYSTEM IS OK NOT MUCH

Cons

WE ARE A WHOLE SALE RETAIL GARDEN CENTER . THIS SYSTEM NOT DESIGNED TO MANAGE ACCOUNTS AT ALL ,YOU HAVE TO CLICK AROUND ALL OVER TO FIND DIFFERENT INFO THAT SHOULD BE ACCESSIBLE FROM SAME SCENE , DIFFICULT TO ADJUST INVENTORY, OR CHANGE COST , I'VE BEEN IN THIS BUSINESS FOR 30 YEARS AND USED VARIES OTHER POS/CMS SYSTEM THIS IS THE WORSE !!!! AND MOST EXSPENSIVE POS(PIECE OF SHIT ) I'VE EVER USED ,WHOEVER WROTE THIS PROGRAM KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT HOW A BUSINESS LIKES THIS WORKS OPERATES , IT'S FOR RESTAURANT,OR CLOTHINGS STORES (MAYBE) BUT NOT FOR OUR BUSINESS OR ANY OTHER LIKE IT. THE COMPANY THAT SOLD IT TO THE OWNWERS DID NO RESEARCH OR ASK ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR NEEDS . THEY JUST STUCK A SQUARE PEG IN A ROUND HOLE AND ASKED 60K. I WOULDN'T RECCOMMEND IT

Top NCR Counterpoint Alternatives

Greg
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 16/8/2011

We operate a marine wholesale distributorship, along with a retail operation. Our three sources of revenue are store traffic, phone orders and Internet orders.

Our previous software system, while specific to the marine industry and bundled with features we sorely miss, was unable to integrate e-commerce, point of sale, and shipping functionality. The time we spent dealing with each order on three different levels was time-consuming, and also allowed for the introduction of errors.

We are currently running version 8.3.9 of CounterPoint, but will be upgrading to 8.4 as soon as the season slows this fall. The implementation experience was choppy, to say the least, due to a reseller that wasn't up to speed on the software. This hiccup notwithstanding, we were able grasp the basics and run with it.

We have been using CounterPoint for just under two years now and the watershed moment was when we switched partners nine months into the project. Our reseller's knowledge of the system and ability to teach us its functionality have allowed us to move forward at a rapid pace. The program is easy to use, and a common logic follows through the system so even when playing with new features, the desired result is easy to achieve.

Our current partner could stand to be slightly more responsive, especially to issues I consider to be very basic requirements in a system of this size and power.

We are currently 95% integrated with UPS WorldShip. The only thing holding us back from 100% integration is CounterPoint's inability to receive tracking numbers back from WorldShip without cumbersome export and import of data, or utilizing a third-party program. We are currently investigating CPOnline with the hope of having full vertical integration by January 1, 2012.

So far, we have been able to streamline sales, shipping & purchasing with more good things to come!

Lars
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/7/2015

NCR Counterpoint: An Invaluable Tool...A Work In Progress

Pros

The NCR Counterpoint is simple enough to understand and use on a daily basis at the workplace. It takes only a day to learn all the basics of functionality (from a general retail store perspective) and about a week to develop familiarity with the software. The interface is clean and easy to see & navigate. It is also simplistic in design and doesn't add too many unnecessary bells & whistles. It works most of the time and works great for my needs and the needs of the company. It seems at least manageable to service when encountering technical difficulties.

Cons

Sometimes can be a computer/memory resource hog. Would experience slow-downs, lag, stuttering, crashing and glitches...sometimes due to the company's network, but other times it seems the fault of the software. Still some recurring bugs to figure out. Still does not have a fail-safe feature to protect counterpoint tickets from being lost forever during a software crash.

Terri
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/1/2012

Our organization is a non-profit organization, but has a specialized shop. Our shop hours are not normal retail and our customers are sometimes very demanding. Our inventory ranges from thousands of patches to clothing, jewelry, etc. We have used CounterPoint since 2005. Our shop previously had a cash register and the old source of look and order on inventory. In 2005 the shop was handed over to new management, who researched and concluded to use CounterPoint. I have been at this shop for over two years and transferred from another shop that also used CounterPoint. We had version 7.5 until this past August and we upgraded to SQL. Version 7 was great to work with but SQL is so much more... We are able to resource more reports than before, with the ease of being able to have the help menu available.

The training of staff was so easy and quick to pickup. My staff and myself have had such a great time adapting to the new software. It is so easy to track inventory, sales, customers, and again the use of many new and different reports that help us on a daily basis. Our favorite is the 2 or 3 steps at the End of Day, with the older version there were so many steps and this is 1,2,3 and complete. Our support team is highly professional and always answers our calls in a timely manner. We are also excited because we do not HAVE to call them as much now with the new SQL. I would highly recommend CounterPoint to anyone who asks.

Donal
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/7/2015

Counterpoint, it's a thing.

Pros

This is a great point of sales system, I enjoy it because it is very easy to use during check-out, and makes it really simple to find certain items via the items tab whether you know the item number, or a part of the description, or the name of the item it's all great fun.

Cons

Navigation of Counterpoint can be a little iffy sometimes when you're trying to do something specific that Counterpoint may not accommodate for certain functions. As well, trying to find an old ticket freezes up our computers on occasion since we've had so many sales the system freezes, but we have some old computers anyways.

Erick
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 2/7/2015

Counterpoint works for the most part

Pros

The sales terminal is easy enough for new employees to get accustomed to.

Cons

Inventory searching. Interface of lists are walls of text. It becomes rather tiresome sorting through customized search queries.

Mark
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 21/4/2016

Nothing very special

It gets the job done, but not in any way that really sets it apart from the other POS systems I have tried. Additionally our IT team seems to have a hard time getting any new features rolled out

Edward Theodore
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 31/7/2018

Sean
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/9/2011

My Company recently made the switch to CounterPoint Enterprise SQL 8.4 and would like to share my experience with Radiant Systems. We have been in business for over 50 years and have had several different POS systems and CounterPoint has been the best system by far. Implementing a new system is never easy but with the help of OneStep Retail Solutions this has been the easiest and the quickest implementation I have ever done.

There are so many POS systems on the market finding the best fit for your business is a very difficult decision. Kevin McAdams and Jay Shore with OneStep Retail Solutions took the time to learn our business needs and recommended CounterPoint as the best solution. After using the system for over a month now I am glad I took their advice because this is a great system.

The CounterPoint Gateway for processing credit cards is very fast. The touch screen terminals make ringing up customers quick and easy. The ability to customize searches and change the information displayed through the column designer makes looking up the information a breeze. The reporting is equally fast, flexible and easy to use for all of our staff members.

Blythe Franks, our business analyst from OneStep Retail Solutions has played a key role in making this transition from our old system to CounterPoint. Her experience and knowledge of the product has made implementation and integration of the system quick and easy. With her insight we were able to customize CounterPoint to meet all of our business needs making our company more efficient than ever.

Sean Kinney
IT Manager
Hi-Time Wine Cellars

Sandy
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/6/2011

Bark N Purr is a pet supply business that focuses on cats and dogs. In the last 6 years, we have implement 4 different POS systems. Two of them were actually unusable due to flaws in the software. These systems also did not have all the capabilities we were looking for - specifically eCommerce and better ordering tools.

We decided on CounterPoint v8.3.9 because of its eCommerce integration and ordering flexibility. The system was very user-friendly and took very little time to train my staff on basic Ticket Entry, inventory maintenance and receiving. In fact, I think most of the staff was a little bored during the training because the software is so intuitive.

The ordering capabilities are outstanding. During this recession we have seen a shift in our business from one foot to another. Prior to CounterPoint, we established Min/Max quantities for each item. Ordering with Min/Max meant that these levels had to be constantly reset as our business changed. We now use a combination of Days of Supply and Min/Max which has greatly reduced the amount of time spent on orders.

Our support has been excellent with most problems are resolved immediately. In fact, the only thing I do not like in CounterPoint is the report structure using multiple lines for each item. I find the reports difficult to read and waste paper.

Martin
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2016

Perfect for Starting Entrepreneurs!

I had just started a facebook page for my online e-commerce store and wanted a site and a pos system to take orders! I did not want to pay for cheap software and have to open source code the rest for myself nor did I want to pay over the top price and have features that I did not know if I would be able to use just yet with money I know I do not have right now. I just needed to take payments online, keep in contact with customers, and look professional all at the same time!

Pros

Professionalism in customer service, which is better than cheap junk software and never having IT help you, may as well buy a cheap car to break down on the freeway the next day.

Cons

At first, I was concerned on the price, which did present a problem for my small new business however it quickly paid back for itself in value and investment!

Ronetta
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

2.5
Reviewed on 23/10/2013

We are a retail gift/novelty/tobacco store that has used this software for eight years.

This software is expensive, tech support is very expensive, and in our experience, tech support charged us even for informing them of bugs and glitches. When we tried to enter tax codes on loyalty cares for Missouri, they went against the Department of Revenue codes, but our understanding is that there is no way to fix it. There is no way to easily track consignment sales. The software would not print Z tapes on receipt paper, but only on 8x12 paper with the margins cut off. There is not a SKU lookup that employees can access without seeing costs of goods. There is no way to print small barcodes unless you print them on butterfly labels and waste half of them. The software does not come with a manual. The help button didn't work half the time. The Crystal Reports feature does not work.

It was a very expensive program, and the cost is ongoing. You have to pay subscription dues yearly for the software and a call to tech support is always a significant charge, which we had to pay even when we didn't feel the issue was resolved.

Fatimah
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2016

Great for starters!

I was juggling and running out of time with which POS system to use for my online fashion business. So many options but I don't know why my heart didn't feel right on them.
This was my first POS system and it had everything I needed!

Pros

Helped me remember my customers for all
Our specials and coupons.
Made us look extremely professional when taking their orders and payments online!

Cons

It may be too much to ask but since it has given me a lot, I've become bold, but essentially to integrate social media like a Facebook shop or instagram

Elie
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 5/7/2015

Great experience

Pros

Centralized database is great experience for who own many businesses and access remotely is great feature for IT dep.

Cons

If the network is down, it is a pain to work with the software.

Reyes
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2.5
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
N/A

2.5
Reviewed on 22/7/2015

Good for simpler needs, but is slow for more complex tasks

Pros

It's easy to check on inventory at our home and remote locations. Payment processing is straightforward. Printing labels and price tags is simple.

Cons

It's difficult to reprint old invoices or find the history of a product without clicking on menus, some of which are cryptically named. It is slow during peak usage times.

Karen
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 3/7/2015

Have been using Counterpoint since 2007

Pros

Very user friendly. Easy to train new users. Very customer friendly.

Cons

Would love to see some different formatting of reports and ease of creating reports.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 27/4/2016

Counterpoint

Overall I think this software is very good but it has its flaws like anything else. I'd recommend it to others though. Many times it does some funky things like freezing or didn't connect to servers but that is not too commen anymore.

Pros

Usually very easy to navigate
Simple
Easy

Cons

Freezes sometimes
Feels outdated
Lags a lot

Matthew
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 3/7/2015

Enjoyable Experience

Pros

Very easy to use and fairly intuitive. The software is simple to navigate and does everything we need it to do.

Cons

When problems or errors come up, they can be very difficult to deal with.

Peregrine
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/7/2018

Installation Support

Pros

The very friendly and knowledgeable staff. (OneStepRetail) Systems ability to perform all aspects of POS and Inventory management.

Cons

Expensive, although I don't have much to compare it too. There seems to be multiple on-going costs for hosting server, CSS, etc.

Alisha
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/12/2016

Great Product

Love the inventory features, truly has a great interface thats almost as easy to use as an iPhone. I love the customer service features that help you remember your customers, market to them. The text to cell phone alert is very helpful especially to keep my employees on time!

Jacque
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 3/10/2012

This system is the worst I have ever had and I have only had two in twenty one (21) year. There is know reason that this company should not have a manual or how about a help button that really work. This is really funny I printed out a report but I for got were it was on the system. So I went to help and put in the name of the report and it said it was not there. If you have a question and need to call tech suport it will cost you a arm and a leg for the information were if you had a manaual or a help button that really work it would save you money.

RON
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1.5
Reviewed on 5/6/2013

The product is OK at best. Their support is lacking and they will charge you for everything they can. Training is expensive, and unless you get Renee during your support calls, your probably won't get a resolution in a reasonable time frame. I use Counterpoint for a gun retail store in Daytona Beach FL "Volusia Top Gun". Please feel free to contact me regarding this system. I have had it with this system and their support. The Bound Book software they offer is even worse!

Amy
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 6/10/2016

NCR POS

I have been using NCR Aloha POS systems for over 8 years. They are easy to use, functional and overall good price for the quality.

88 reviews