MarketDirect StoreFront Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About MarketDirect StoreFront

ePS MarketDirect StoreFront is a web to print and fulfillment solution designed for print service providers, In-plant print centers, and franchise print operators who need a comprehensive solution to manage and automate online...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
4.0

Browse MarketDirect StoreFront Reviews

103 of 103 reviews
Sort by:
Tony
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Great storefront on it's own

Overall the building process can be quite easy after using the software for a while and learning what works with our product management system (PrintSmith). SmartCanvas has been quite hard to figure out with little guidance from EFI but is very promising. In general by its self MarketDirect Storefront is strong, but could use a lot of tweaking when talking to other modules. After a few years we have grown our ticket templates to a few hundred and have grown our products to a few thousand. Planning out your categories up front will be crucial for customers to be able to find what they are looking for.

Pros

I like all the different type of options when it comes to products, I appreciate the level of customization across the entire backend such as printing services, papers, products, design, etc.

Cons

Some services and specs, filled out by the customer, don't come across to our PrintSmith depending how you have that setup. We had to rebuild all ticket templates in PrintSmith (yes a second time) in order to link products up to ticket templates from our storefront. This was our workaround, some things still don't come across until recently, SIZE wouldn't come over from the storefront into PrintSmith, so I think there is room for improvement here. I like the idea of product overrides, but in the new version it is not working. This could also use some updating keeping ticket templeting to a minimum. Can't copy products that have overrides. Because of this alone, I typically have to create a new ticket template for every product, usually due to the paper. SmartCanvas is very promising, but comes with a large learning curve and even then I feel that a well thought-out guide would be very helpful. Fonts don't show up correctly in certain views and makes paragraph styled text boxes extremely hard to see how type will flow from the customer side. I will say the level of control with SmartCanvas is very nice locking fonts, colors, sizing or allowing the buyer to fully customize the product in anyway.

Amy
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Great functionality but alot of work up front

With the new system we are utilizing some of the features like business card templates where the client fills in their information and proofs it themselves before we even see it. Then its direct to print from there. Do no real work on our part is needed. We are able to do less work on the backend of things from an administrative standpoint and that takes a huge work load away from very few staff.

Pros

I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process. Clients seem to find the navigation of the new site very user friendly and easy to use. The integration however was a very difficult item to over come. It was a very time consumer task to accomplish.

Cons

There are certainly features in the old system that would be nice to have in the new system - such as being able to drag and drop line items from one to reorganize things. It would also be very helpful if you were able to have more than 1 invoice open at a time to be able to create new orders based off multiple invoices by dragging and dropping into a new one. The integration with PrintSmith was not an easy thing - you basically had to recreate everything you had on PrintSmith again in MarketDirect StoreFront. We have spent years creating templates in PrintSmith and now having to basically recreate them again is crazy when before it was seamless. It’s also difficult that the pricing isn’t exactly the same from one platform to the other. Now we are forced to round up or down in MarketDirect instead of PrintSmiths pricing just automatically transferring.

Glenice
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

REVIEW

Still learning - we'll get there

Pros

Easy to use with inventory products - still learning

Cons

Some features are not working properly. Not being told this until you fight to make it work only to find out when you reach out to tech support that the feature is not working properly at the moment.

Top MarketDirect StoreFront Alternatives

thomas
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Just what we needed!

I personally am willing to discuss further how well it works and what it all can do as i am so pleased with EFI and there willingness to help anytime. We have the backing of a powerful team and that makes me feel very comfortable. Again the user experience is so easy to navigate that up selling and selling to market segments never has been so easy.

Pros

The best part of Market Direct Storefronts is that all our customers say that it is so easy to navigate making training a non issue. When users can navigate easily it makes them use it more!
We were able to merge this system together with the EFI MIS we are using to run our business streamlining job creation and billing considerably. Same goes for the build(s) very intelligent software and easy to prepare sites. We probably use 75% of what the system currently has available to us; only because we haven't had the customer requests. The software has many further options that we are still using as requested by our customers.

Cons

We have had customers come up with a few challenges for the software but we usually find either a workaround using storefront options or reach out to EFI service people and they can either help immediately or have professional services build or add to an upcoming software update.

Del
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

My view through the healthcare lens

My overall experience is good. Implementation and transition from EFI webhosted to on premise took way to long to move and it seemed that we were running into things that had never happened before. The product is good when set up correctly. You all are going through major updates and changes. This is positive for your customers. A new approach to roll outs, documentation and streamlined access to help when you use an additional EFI product such as PSV would be so helpful.

Pros

I appreciate that it has a look and feel of an amazon type experience. Customers in health care don't know or understanding printing. They want easy or shall I say intuitive experiences that remind them of something that they've done before on common ecommerce sites.

Cons

I think that the maintenance of the store front from the "administer" side needs some improvement. The Admin area seems somewhat outdated. Limited in some respects of what other similar products offer in the space of day to day upkeep. My organization has to engage a freelance person who has experience with the tool to simply do things that should be simple but are really complex.

David
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

Big positives and small negatives for us

It has definitely impacted our workflow and efficiency in a very positive way. We are a large healthcare system with lots of form inour storefront. The ability of our users to see and interact with documents when ordering is a HUGE improvement over our old "blind" ordering system. Now that jobs flow autmatically into our PrintSmith Vision system, we no longer have to do the massive amount of data entry for billing that our old system required. This saves 10-15 hours per week on the admin side of things.

Pros

Fairly easy customization of look and feel. Plenty of built in UI templates for those that can't/won't play with code. Good user management controls. We haven't any any load handling issues even with almost 2000 products and 900 users. EFI support has been responsive and proficient. Good user support forums. It has integrated well with our PrintSmith Vision install.

Cons

Redundancy of some settings. The admin interface has lots of redundacy and is cluttered and inefficient. Batch product import or creation needs a LOT more work. No ability to batch publish items to categories. No ability to create snapshots or backups of settings to revert to in case of user error. Occasional random little glitches/changes (like sort order settings or other fine detail) that pop up occasional or following an upgrade. The inability to create a job template "on the fly" when creating a product that doesn't fit an existing template.

Jacques
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Having this storefront has been highly beneficial to ColorMark. Many orders are received everyday with very little effort. With the automation built into the system, orders are take and sent directly to Rips for printing.

Pros

Straight forward setups. You can have a client online in very little time. Connects well with Pace for ease of job tickets and inventory control. As well as bi-directional communication with all the above as well as Process shipper.

Cons

In some cases we have stores that might have more than 1000 franchises that buy through the store front. When it is necessary to make changes and it needs to be done to many of the stores there is no easy way to address this problem. Opening up one customer at a time make a change and close, way to cumbersome when you compare that to either the universal importer or pace connection, where all changes can be made in under a few minutes. Additionally, the reporting is completely non-existent. After adding individuals to a site it would be nice to download all of the data to look for errors, missed data etc. No way to do that with this software. Can't even get to the Database to download from there.

Paul
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/6/2019

Mid Market Suite

There is no doubt the Market Direct Storefront is a huge time saver for us. BUT it has also opened up opportunities for clients around the world, where they wish to offer a "storefront" to their staff around the world, helping them maintain brand consistency.
DSF was one of the main reasons for engaging with EFI.

Pros

The software really is end to end with full integration and automation. EFI are also very open, easy to work with and it feels like a true partnership.
The solution they offer covers everything we want and need to run our business and there is a constant drive to improve, to listen to customers and work with you to ensure you are getting the most out of the product. I particularly like the integrations with our equipment and other systems, which aids automation and efficiency. And for us the connection with DSF is a real plus, enabling us to process regular orders and open up opportunities we wouldn't normally be able to fulfill.

Cons

it is a little unfair to comment on this as we are about to upgrade to the latest version, but its fair to say my biggest bug bear at present is the number of clicks. This is something I know has been addressed in the latest version.
My only other grumble would be that the software can get "stuck" if you change a production method from say litho to digital within an estimate, it can sometimes take a few attempts for it to recognise the change.

Melinda
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Market Direct for InPlant

We have not yet fully launched the system after having it for many years. It was purchased long before any of us that are here now began. It is my understanding that the system was launched and being used then it was learned that it was not a full MIS system. The organization then purchased another EFI product, PrintSmith to do the management functions for the shop that were desired and the integration between the 2 systems was difficult.

Pros

Unfortunately I am not yet conversant with the software. The previous employee set it all up and then left abruptly so I am not yet trained in it. It seems to work fine and I know many others that use it - however, as with most integrations, it doesn't work easily with other MIS systems such as PrintSmith Vision. We had to have programmers do things for us that it seems others would have encountered and would have been made part of the 'normal' programming of the software.

Cons

Ease of integration with other systems. Redundancy with information needed - mainly multiple price lists that have to be maintained and be consistent. For example, we must set pricing in PrintSmith, then convert the pricing structures for Digital Storefront in a way that matches - so that when a customer brings work through the on-line site, the pricing is consistent if they bring work direct to the shop and we use PrintSmith. So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors.

Clayton
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/5/2019

Digital Storefront

Overall the usage of the MarketDirect Storefront platform is positive. We are able to easily receive orders and move them into production. We are also able to easily customize sites to fulfill different customer needs.

Pros

Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users. For end users the sites are very easy to navigate and use. For administrators it is easy to customize site HTML and CSS if you have the skills, or it is easy to use the default templates if you do not. It is also easy to create and manage products, users, and user groups. We have several thousand products hosted on our sites. We are able to run our storefront job tickets into our MIS system with ease.

Cons

While the software is easy to use for basic tasks, there are issues with more high level functionality. Part of the issues we have, stem from some of the administrative menus being cluttered and confusing. There are also some settings that are only available as overall site settings, and are not customizable for individual companies. Batch uploads/changes of products needs work, as it is currently very basic and the products need further configuration after they are uploaded.

George
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Underlying customer service with personalized customer sites.

The personalized customer sites have allowed us to gain more of the print business from every client using this product. We simply create what they are asking for so it can be reordered easily online through their own website. More revenue, and increased productivity.

Pros

The ability to personalize an ordering process specific to one customer allows us to build a relationship and trust without additional customer service personnel or sales staff. Once the site is in place the customer can order their own products, approve them, and include special instructions on a job ticket that is emailed directly to production without the help from our staff ( reducing costs and increasing efficiency).

Cons

Design tools for creating art within the storefront are limited and require extra training of our customers and in house users.

Michelle
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Sense of Urgency

At the moment - getting a report of payment history to pull more than 1000 items. I had to file a case to get this and waiting to get the results to provide to my customer. Day 3 of waiting. I wish there were maybe a technical drop down menu that would possibly walk me thru doing this on my own. This would allow me to provide the results to my customer very timely rather than waiting days. Each case that I have personally filed have been answered but it is the waiting for the results or how-to.

Pros

Very user friendly, works very well and never experience lags or delays daily on creating invoices.

Cons

I feel that some of the features should allow us to make changes to so we don't have to create a case each time. For example - creating queries for reports.

Zach
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Ease of use with EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Overall, MarketDirect StoreFront's are the future of easy and simple ordering in our industry. Customers can see the real time cost and order their product and that allows us (the printer) to see what they are needing and increase our response time from a few days to a few hours.

Pros

This software makes the ordering process for our customers streamlined. From logging in to checking out, the ordering process allows our customers to complete their request in a matter of minutes.

Cons

Sometimes the setup of a new site can be tedious. There are a lot of areas that you need to setup and sometimes it can get a little confusing.

Kara
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

MDSF Review

MDSF allows a convenient way for customers with multiple locations to control ordering as well as branding standards.

Pros

I like SmartCanvas and the UI of the Storefront Designer. Both are easy to use and make branding a storefront quick and painless.

Cons

SmartCanvas needs the pen tool to allow more functionality in the designs as well as the ability to add text to a path. The product setup needs a ton of work. Importing all product types in bulk with the ability to associate images for each product would drastically improve storefront deployment. The reporting tool is overcomplicated. The reports should be clean with the ability to create reporting rules per company.

Scott
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Feature Rich Software

It has been great. We have been able to supplement our traditional large custom quoted jobs with web orders by utiliizing MarketDirect for over 10 years. The automation of order input and distribution to our multiple devices has allowed us to cut out a lot of the costs associated with other orders.

Pros

The product building features are easy to use and detailed. Almost any type of product I can think of can be created with MarketDirect in combination with VDP software.

Cons

The pricing can be complicated to set up and maintain.

Mary Ann
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Review of EFI MarketDirect

Getting answers from support is not as easy as it used to be. No documentation for easy questions

Pros

We have used this product from the beginning, Printersite Fulfillment. when it was used for fulfillment only. Having this product put us into the 21st Century.

Cons

The administration of product has not eased up. It is very convoluted to add new products.

Corey
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

EFI Digital Storefront

Understanding our needs could be improved. While we understand that some of our asks may not be attainable, being able to be more flexible and provide quality solutions would be helpful.

Pros

The upgraded look to the new storefront is much improved from the old version.

Cons

The storefront is not very customizable without deep knowledge of HTML. If there were more options to change the flow of the ordering process, that would be a big improvement.

Darren
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

DSF as a online solution

requires a higher level of skill and unique learning

Pros

Integration and the ability for the client to have control over there purchasing and at the same time making them reliant/dependent on us

Cons

hard to implement and have to "re invent" a page for each client
would be better to be able to Cut"n"paste

Ethan
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Review

Pros

The ease of use for our customers. And also the ease of use for employees. I was able to come in and learn all the systems with no previous knowledge and it was fairly easy.

Cons

There are some features that lacking. I think that if there were a forum where we could suggest updates that would be great.

Brittney
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Additional Revenue Stream for our Company

Overall, I enjoyed the training process. I liked that each session was recorded and sent to us. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been really great to work with, super helpful and always willing to search for alternative ways to accomplish what we need.

Pros

What attracted us to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront was the ability to create individual dashboards for each customer that we could customize to their products. We liked that it had the ecommerce functionality built in and that we could integrate with other internal systems. Our specific need for the software seemed to be one of the more complex uses for it and the EFI team has been really open and willing to push the envelope for what we need.

Cons

Again, with our need being more complex, the development time has taken a lot longer than expected. Some of the functionalities haven't been working correctly so certain sites have not been able to launch yet. (Specifically the Box Products)

Laura
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Storefront

Pros

The Ease of use for the customer to use!

Cons

I wish it would connect to old orders so we did not have to look back to copy them over fir ease in picking up and posting!

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

DSF

Great service, great product.

Pros

Clients can "DYI" so much! Really frees up CSRs.

Cons

Some minor limitations/ lack of features

Titus
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Expensive but good

Pros

It is robust program with integration to other EFI products.

Cons

Overall implementation was tough and cumbersome.

robert
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Good but hard to set up

Pros

jdf and auto submit so we can leave it so work when we are not in

Cons

user interface it can be hard to get used to

Robert
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 15/3/2021

Company Size Matters

Pros

I am sure MarketDirect Storefront is a fine software for larger organizations. The available tools and options can make this a competitive web storefront.

Cons

The problem is for companies with fewer than 10 employees, and without full time IT specialists or web manager, success is very difficult. After one year of working on our site using employees that have other job functions, we are not much closer to any success. You need at least a 15-20 hr/week employee to create, manage and update your website along with updating PrintSmith Vision. It is not the best solution for small employee companies.

103 reviews