Breathe Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Breathe

Back in 2012, Breathe built their multi-award-winning software with one thing in mind: to set SMEs free from time-consuming HR admin so they can focus on their people, build strong company cultures & drive their organisations...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Breathe Reviews

38 of 38 reviews
Sort by:
Shahul
Shahul
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/1/2023

A Great Human Resource Software

It's a very useful software which helps for the HR management and leave tracking purposes. Not only that it can be used for personal goal setting and training activities too.

Pros

It has the option to track our goals and maintain our qualification, training , and learning which help us to keep our records up to date. In addition it has an easy process to apply for the leave and track them and get the approvals. Further the organization chart will provide the details about the organization and the relevant person whom the first tier employees need to contact for their leaves

Cons

The way how the organization chart presented need some updates

Katie
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/7/2023

Good overall

Mostly been good overall a few teething problems at all but this is expected with any system

Pros

The majority of the system is easy to use both as an administrator and also for employees. If all information is entered correctly the reminders on the system are great as well i.e passport and visa expiry reminders. Booking time off / leave requests work well

Cons

Documents and timesheets / time logs - not being able to have bulk upload functionality is really frustrating at times. The report functionality isn't great also. Not having version control and a log of version controls for documents as well is also annoying

Alternatives Considered

Voyager Infinity

Reasons for Switching to Breathe

I personally didnt the company decided and put it in place
Benjamin
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/4/2024

Intuitive and Effective

Very positive. From a user perspective I can't seen ay reason to change for something else.

Pros

Very clear and logical layout, made it easy to track who was off when so making sure there were enough staff at any time was guaranteed. You could book off specific hours and periods, which is useful for appointments and carrying leave over, with no time getting wasted.

Cons

We only used it for booking leave and tracking absence, and I couldn't imagine a way to improve it. Perhaps other features aren't as sound, but I can't comment on those.

Top Breathe Alternatives

Mike
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 9/10/2020

Functional HR System

It is a good basic tool for Employee records, but getting data back out can be cumbersome

Pros

It is relatively simple to navigate the system and complete tasks quickly using the it's basic interface

Cons

It needs updating. There is no drag and drop functionality, integration with Office 365 or CRM and data cannot be exported en masses.

Rachel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/6/2022

Great online HR system

Great - have used a few online HR systems in SaaS businesses with teams deployed both at home and in office; this is great for managing all we need to, easily and quickly

Pros

ease of use and visual display is great; easy to see individuals, teams and broader groups, wirh notification settings easy to set up and amend. Good for containing - securely - necessary data.

Cons

We have set up 2FA - this is more my issue than Breathe's and I guess it's important, but boy, it's irritating ;-)

Ryan
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/5/2018

Basic But Effective!

The biggest benefit is the ability to centrally manage HR in a concise and simple manner, saving time for both HR managers and users alike.

Pros

Without a doubt, the best part about BreatheHR is its simplicity. For the user, the web interface is clear with all features signposted in the expected places with not an ounce of bloatware in sight. Furthermore, the features themselves are extremely easy to use, with intuitive mechanisms and design choices that mean the system is suitable for users of all abilities and backgrounds. This makes the software perfect for any sort of industry, not just those that work on computers all day.

Cons

Perhaps BreatheHR's biggest strength is also its biggest weakness. This is because the system lacks the customisability to incorporate more advanced features specific to a company, meaning sometimes it is impossible to build something into the system that supports all business specific HR policies. Furthermore, the interface is dated, and does not provide a particularly responsive experience for users.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you so much for your honest opinion Ryan.

Replied 4/3/2019
Vicki
Vicki
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 24/4/2019

Good value for money

Pros

Breathe allows our employees to be more autonomous in managing their own holiday and sick leave.

Cons

It can be tricky to navigate and the customer support for the cheaper packages is not good.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Vicki,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to review our software and your continued commitment to Breathe, we truly value your business.

I'd love to hear more about your experiences with the support team, the level of support our customers receive should not differ based on the plan or package you have and I'm sorry if you have not received the level of support you expected.

Feel free to contact myself at [email protected] to share your experiences.

All the best,

Replied 25/4/2019
Sally
Sally
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/6/2016

Great HR platform for growing businesses

We found BreatheHR when we were about 20 staff and it's been a godsend, it meant we could move on from holiday spreadsheets and it made us so much more organised with personnel files but those were only the basic things we were trying to 'fix', in reality lots of other benefits came with it - our team love the 'kudos' feature which mean they can say thanks / well done to each other, and we use it to help communicate business critical documents to all staff - our team have take much more responsibility for their own information and now they can access things like remaining holiday days whenever they want.

Pros

There are lots but in general this has given us a professionalism in our HR administration that we simply didn't have before at a cost that's a real no brainer.

Cons

Can't think of any, but if anything you do only get out of it what you put in so if you don't engage your staff in it and use the various features then it won't be so useful.

Karl
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2023

Good All Round HR System

Easy to set up and transfer over from the old system. Great functionality of the system and features galore. Much more robust than our previous HR systems, it actually replaced 2 separate software's for us.

Pros

Robust system with all features you could ask for from a HR platform. Very good value for money and offers an all in one place solution for both time management and company HR. Also offers integration into several payroll packages.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons so far to be honest! Will have to do another review in another 6 months to see if that changes!

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/2/2019

Easy to manage employee info/records

Pros

The ability to manage, track and control employee footprint, such as sick leave, holidays, objectives, 1-2-1's, training, documents, performance (KPI's) and much more.

Cons

For me there are no cons to this product, is does exactly what I need and have had no issues with it at all.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you so much for your review.

Replied 4/3/2019
Charlie
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/6/2023

Excellent Cost-Effective HR Platform

Using Breathe has had a positive impact on our business, ensuring ease-of use and process consistency.

Pros

Breathe is a competitively-priced online HR platform which helps us to effectively manage documents, leave, absence and employee records. Reporting functions are easy to operate and offer valuable management information. The platform is popular with our employees and is widely used to capture and organise leave requests.

Cons

The process involved in setting up a new employee can be a little time-consuming, this would be easier if we could input all relevant information in one module.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you Charlie for your review. We're really happy to hear that using Breathe has had a positive impact on your business and your feedback regarding setting up a new employee is really valuable. If you have any other feedback you'd like to share with us that could help us improve Breathe, take a look at our customer portal.
Thanks again, Kayleigh

Replied 23/6/2023
David
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2020

Lets your department managers BREATHE

Overall very positive and has greatly improved efficiencies within our organisation.

Pros

Each employee has their own area, holiday / work related documents / review requests all held in one place. Our department managers are spending under 10 minutes a day on managing holiday / sickness. Not to mention the ability to attach company documents (all with read receipts)

Cons

Live chat assistance is permanently in the corner - unable to change this setting.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

David,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciated you taking the time to review our product and thank you for your 5 star review. We have taken your comments on board regarding the live chat appearing on the screen and will pass this back to the product development team.

Thank you for using Breathe and remember to use your refer a friend code if referring us for a chance to win prizes for your business.

Carl

Replied 5/5/2020
Dan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/5/2016

Simple, efficient, cost saving and value for money

ramsac have been using BreatheHR to manage our HR needs for our 50+ team, for the best part of two years now. I have found nothing on the market that compares in terms of functionality and price. Providing our team with a self service HR dashboard has helped us to stand out as a modern employer, whilst at the same time driving increased efficiency and ensuring a more up to date, tighter controlled HR database. We use it to manage staff details, payroll info, holidays and leave, 121s and performance meetings, expenses and more.
I particularly like the efficient way of ensuring staff have read and accepted company wide documents, as well as the easy way in which we can administer leave requests and expense claims - perfect for our very mobile work force.
It's also enabled us to make job offers and HR documentation entirely paper free - and having no paper based HR records whatsoever is really useful when managers are working away from the HQ.

Support is friendly and efficient and the cost is very attractive. I can't say enough positive things about breathehr!

Pros

Drives efficiency
Low monthly fee
Simple to use -for hr users and employees
Cloud based - no set up costs or hardware needs
Mobile
Allows for better control of documents, records and leave/expense requests

Cons

It is what it is, you can't tailor massively, but then you're comparing a product that costs £50 a month, with a bespoke database that costs £20k+ - I think the functionality is more than adequate for the vast majority of SMEs.

Fiona
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/1/2018

Keep Breathing!

I would certainly consider it for a smaller company, perhaps as their first HR or self serve system

Pros

VERY user friendly, easy to set up, good for employees to use and navigation is obvious. It can cope with multiple currencies which is a benefit for more global orgs. There is a new recruitment module which I believe is a great addition

Cons

I struggled with the Performance Management/Appraisal approach - hopefully this will be their next target

Paul
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/7/2022

Great tool for employers and employees

Breathe is an excellent software every company should have .

Pros

Vey easy to use , can monitor staffs time keeping ect , keeping track of holidays and other functions such as company policies .

Cons

I cant fault Breathe , very good , very simple for all users .

Rich
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 2/10/2023

Avoid

They illegally charged my account after cancelling their poor restrictive platform. I have emailed for resolution or explanation and been ignored. [sensitive content hidden] will promise the earth but ignore you once signed up. If you are lucky he will tell you its nothing to do with him and to contact another person in hope you tire out. The business model seems to be sign you up and give you a convoluted cancellation process to prevent cancellation. However that is not how the law of transactions work. I informed them i planned to raised a dispute. I was still ignored. I have now raised a dispute with my bank and will endeavour to spread the word of my experience as far and wide as I can to protect small independent operators being fleeced.I don't expect a representative to reach out as it s not how they operate.

Pros

The sales call promised to deliver but ultimately it was not designed or suitable for our industry. they were not honest about that with us.

Cons

Restrictive, Unhelpful, zero support, zero customer service

Chris
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/5/2019

Highly recommended HR software

IT does many things very well - tracking holiday use, 1-2-1 meetings, and the kudos system is a great way to openly provide positive feedback to colleagues..

Pros

As a manager it is easy to write notes from your 1-2-1's and review them in the future.

Cons

Sometimes it isn't clear if content you submit will be visible by those you manage.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Chris,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are very grateful that you have taken time out of your day to submit this review and appreciate both the pro's and cons mentioned.

We will certainly raise the point about visibility with the product team and see how this can be improved in future releases.

All the best

Carl

Replied 22/5/2019
Alison
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 8/11/2016

Amazing feature-set for the value

We use BreatheHR to manage our small business HR needs. It includes so many features for its pricepoint. Its UI is easy to use and the featureset is constantly expanding. Their support team is fabulous and answers our minimal questions very fast and with ease.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you very much for your comments Alison.

Replied 4/3/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2018

Breathe HR is our HR system and helps maintain our employee leave company documents.

Pros

Easy to use, it helps streamline the HR process and save space by uploading the documents to the cloud and keeping track of employee holiday etc.

Cons

It does have limitations which would need to be formatted by their professional services team which could incur a charge.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you so much for your honest review.

Replied 4/3/2019
Danielle
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/1/2019

Great central location for employee policies/holidays etc

Pros

- Great for managing employee holiday allocation (i.e. dashboard shows employees how many days holiday they are permitted to take, request holiday, view holiday taken etc). A calendar also shows holidays scheduled for other colleagues.
- A central location for all company policies, meaning they're more likely to get read.
- Kudos feature allows you to give kudos to your colleagues with a leaderboard showing who's been awarded the most kudos (great for staff moral).

Cons

- It's pretty basic in terms of its features.

Response from Centurion Management Systems

Thank you so much for your honest review Danielle.

Replied 4/3/2019
Tracy
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2018

Fantastic Time Saver

Although new to breatheHR we have found it is extremely intuitive and straight forward to set up. The support documents are so very helpful and informative and if you do not find your answers there the support team are always on hand.

Pros

Easy to use, fully functional. Our users are love being able to submit their requests any time from any device. breatheHR Support are amazing!
Here is to a lot less admin in 2019 and beyond.

Cons

There is nothing we have found that we do not like about breatheHR. The only con is now finding something else to do with all the free admin time!

Jeremy
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/2/2018

A very good system for small organisations less than 250.

Pros

Good integration with third party systems like Rota Cloud and Safety Cloud. Very good support including self service for managers and staff.

Cons

One size fits all system - so you have to accept some fields may not meet you specific needs. As with all IT systems, managers and staff will need help or training how to use the system and apps.

Ryan
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/7/2022

Great Piece of Software!

From a Manager point of view this software was great to use and keep my staff on time.

Pros

Easy to time check employees and there holidays.

Cons

Could be difficult to learn if not coming from someone who doesn't use computers.

Ben
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/3/2021

Really simple to use, easy to access form anywhere being cloud based

Very good. Happy with how simple it is to use and a big improvement over the platform we used before (Sage).

Pros

The ability to easily book holiday due to being able to see when the rest of the team are away is really useful. With the software being cloud based it is nice that it can easily be accessed on any device from anywhere.

Cons

Not a lot bad to say about it. I found it difficult to access documents that were uploaded to it for me to see as I couldnt find the correct area from my profile.

Jamie
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/4/2023

Smooth and manageable with seamless integration and user learn time minimum.

Smooth, minimal learn time, east to integrate systems with, easy to manage staff through it.

Pros

Managing expenses is so easy which can sometimes be a very difficult task. So when you simply log all the details, you could probably log an expense in less than a minute. Which I really appreciate.

Cons

I think there would be more options in the expenses categories and the diary view can be a bit blocky given modern standards of design however, if is very functional which is much more important over design.

38 reviews