Oracle PeopleSoft Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Oracle PeopleSoft

PeopleSoft IT Asset Management (ITAM) is a cloud-based solution, which helps businesses manage the entire IT asset lifecycle, streamline equipment provisioning and send alerts about expiration dates of leases. The application's...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Oracle PeopleSoft Reviews

276 of 276 reviews
Sort by:
Lena
Lena
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/5/2019

Oracle Review

Oracle is simple to use, but it make a big impact on every day life in Accounting. Because of Oracle, journal uploads don't take as much time as before. It's also very simple to run any ad-hoc reports in Oracle.

Pros

I have used Oracle to initiate and post journal entries, run GL and generate reports. It's easy to use and makes searching for journal entries, uploading, reviewing, posting very simple.

Cons

There isn't anything I don't like about Oracle.

AnnaLisa
AnnaLisa
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 5/12/2018

Difficult to learn at first but full of info

Pros

This program has so much information in it once you learn it. After 4 years of using it, i am still amazed when i learn more. It's a love hate thing lol. It helps me to save favorites, then i don't have to remember so many paths.

Cons

That there are so many paths to remember. And since the most recent update or so, it no longer shows the bread crumbs on top. So when i am training others, it's not possible to follow them (breadcrumbs).

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 12/6/2019

Oracle PeopleSoft: Leaving More to Be Desired

We do have to create our own database to store student enrollment data and license information, as PeopleSoft does not allow for this function. I have seen the capabilities of StarFish and as far as reach out or mass communication I do think that Peoplesoft if far behind in this area. My wish list would include more customization features with patch updates, or the ability to have unique users create their own dashboard areas and customize what they see for students, as the general information can mean multiple pages of digging through things to find the one piece of data you may need.

Pros

I think the range of what this software can accomplish in a university setting does encompass a good amount of things. For example, as a current advisor using this software to do things such as student checks and advising notes, but knowing that our HR systems can be supported by this too, is interesting. This software does allow for reporting data to be pulled into excel documents which I appreciate, as there are not too many steps or manipulation that needs to be done. For example, using the query viewer functions we can pull reports to look at profiles or enrollment.

Cons

Student groups and terms can sometimes make it difficult to look at a wide variety of data. One of the harder functions about the query viewer is that when we pull reports, while easy to pull...we have to establish terms that we are looking at, or set up perimeters for student group data to be pulled appropriately. We have had to work quite closely with our OIT team to get this done, and when we do pull reports we are only able to pull one term at a time, and then re-open the query viewer and then pull another report with another term date which can be a pain. The lack of customization in certain areas can be frustrating as well. I do wish the advising areas we use in the system had more room for departments to customize to their standards. But to comply with the university standards we must have one set office that can determine what we do as far as making note areas unique, for example.

Top Oracle PeopleSoft Alternatives

Microsoft Excel

Ellucian Banner

SAP SuccessFactors HXM Suite

Lori
Lori
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/3/2018

Makes payroll hassle-free!

Pros

The fact you can upload time in various ways to this platform is incredibly helpful. We would accept time via the platform feed, fax, email, etc. This is crucial when dealing with timekeeping methods from various clients.

Cons

I would love for there to be a communication system built in, perhaps notes or something of this nature. And for those to be tied to the payroll record.

Kelly
Kelly
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 5/12/2019

PeopleSoft HR

I've worked with PeopleSoft for over 25 years, it's evolved exponentially and continues to serve its purpose every day!

Pros

Accessibility, ease of use and ability to customize as needed.
I find the self-service options useful as well.

Cons

Query tool is not intuitive to general user.
Creating and modifying queries requires technical expertise that the general user does not have.

Jonathon
Jonathon
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 23/1/2019

Peoplesoft is not the most user friendly

I work in the university and we use this system in order to process invoices in the system and send invoices out in a timely fashion to our customers in order to receive payments. The benefits that I see from this system is that there are many queries that you can write into the system in order to become more efficient resolving issues.

Pros

I like that there is much that you can do on it in order to manage the business needs of an office. There are many links and tools that can be used on this software from processing invoices to creating queries to help be more efficient, to being able to do checks out of the system.

Cons

The system works way too slow. Its a slow system that makes it difficult to be productive at work. Sometime it takes me 15 - 20 minutes just to process one invoice which is way too long with the high volume of invoices I have to process.

Jennifer
Jennifer
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/9/2018

Good people management tool

Pros

There is a lot of functionality. You can manage people on every level, from hiring to retirement and everything in between.

Cons

There are a lot of modules that you can. Depending on your technology level, it can be easy to use or very difficult. You need the right staff that are properly trained.

Brandy
Brandy
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/1/2019

PeopleSoft Review

Pros

It is a fairly simple software used for inputting worked hours, maintaining job information, completing performance evaluations, etc. The software does what we need it to do.

Cons

Software is very out dated, and is not incredibly intuitive upon initial training and use.

Ryan
Ryan
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 7/3/2019

Great User Administration

Overall we enjoyed being able to track students through their lifecycle at the university and enjoyed utilizing the alumni tracking capabilities.

Pros

My former organization used PeopleSoft to manage our student population. The software easily allowed us to track students through their life-cycles at the university. Additionally, we enjoyed the ability to track our alumni and keep a database of their current areas, using them for donations in the future.

Cons

Despite having great features, this software is a little more challenging to learn. However, Oracle does provide some excellent training videos online and their conference gives an even more in-depth look at the product.

Kimberly
Kimberly
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2019

Payroll Administrator for 175 employees

The government I work for uses PeopleSoft so it’s what I’m accustomed to, however sometimes it does feel rather “clunky”. Good tool though.

Pros

I like that robust employment data is stored in one place, securely, for my employees - from pay information to job position data

Cons

I would like to be more versed in PeopleSoft to become more efficient. I think the software could be more intuitive - currently you have to dig for some functions.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/4/2019

Great software to be used in Government

The software fulfills my daily tasks at work, it's great to have such a great positive experience.

Pros

Many functions combined to make it a great software. We use the following, Supply Chain Management, Revenue Management, Financial Management and Human Capital Management.
All these functions work nicely together, being able to transfer information from one platform to another.
The system response is fast, although there are many users who are using it and running reports at the same time.
Reports are easy to run and can be customized in any of the platforms. The IT people have done a great job to keep the system online and functioning to its best.
The best thing is being able to Log in once, and from there, you're able to submit an expense claim, search for a job, submit a vacation request, etc. The software can handle anything.

Cons

New users face a hard time to understand the many functions.
There are many links/options that makes it tough to get the information needed without investing the time to understand what every function does. Where too many clicks are needed to get to where you want to be.

Lee
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/11/2018

PEOPLESOFT

I started off using a DOS mainframe system until we upgraded to PeopleSoft. It was almost like comparing apples to oranges, but now I see it is really like comparing mandarin oranges to big, juicy naval oranges!

Pros

I think one of the best features about PeopleSoft is its ability to manage large amounts of data/records. I’ve been using it now for over a decade and it can do so much more now than it could 10 years ago. I also love being able to find data using queries. If you have someone who knows how to write queries in PeopleSoft there isn’t anything you can’t find – if it has a header Field you can find it – it might take a few JOINs to get at the data, but it’s doable!

Cons

One of the things that I like least about PeopleSoft is it isn’t very intuitive sometimes. I know it is a database system and I know that it is a hierarchy database system, but sometimes it just seems like the navigation to get to a particular page or record is less than logical.

Rachel
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 28/2/2020

Cumbersome

Overall, it's been extremely uneven. I've learned it now, so I wouldn't love switching, but I would agree that another product would be superior.

Pros

Once you learn it, it's OK. It does give you the ability to favorite screens, which speeds things up.

Cons

There are truly a long list of things that I don't like, but one of the biggest is that everything is a mod request. The favorites sometimes attach themselves to the ID of the student that was on the screen at the time, and then I have to watch EVERY SINGLE TIME to be sure that I'm on the right student. Comments? Can't be edited or deleted. Not fun. Plus, it times out on me ALL the time. If it does? It won't restart properly for me fo the next half hour, so I'm always toggling between multiple browsers.

Shana
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/5/2020

Oracle PeopleSoft Complicated but Functional

Overall it was challenging first but once you get the hang of it the Software has so many uses and makes my job a little easier that I don’t have to use so many different platforms to access my information as well as the students

Pros

I use Oracle PeopleSoft is a multifaceted Software and has so many different capabilities and options that keep everything on our campus streamlined from payroll, personal data like direct deposit performance evaluations, queries, student worker data and many more options

Cons

Since there are so many options and capabilities Oracle PeopleSoft is intimidating at first glance/use. It took some time to get used to navigating between the different screens, learning shortcuts, which buttons to use and when. Still learning all that this Software has to offer

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Hidden Menus Make Favorites a Necessity

I have only been at the company for less than 6 months yet I can still see where this software helps the college work through the entire student experience from enrollment, financial aid, transcript evaluations, etc.

Pros

This software is designed to handle the college needs. It does this in simple, easy to read screens with large fonts. If a user finds it hard to remember the location of screen within hidden menus, there is the option of creating a customized list of favorites. The majority of the tasks I do throughout the day are easy to handle with PeopleSoft.

Cons

The view Customer Account screen is awful. It doesn't follow the basic chart of accounts and order of credit/debits paid on students original balance. When credits are applied to the students' account, it makes it a challenge to identify where all the money was applied. There are many hidden functions and this takes a separate training session to learn.

NADEEM
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/9/2019

PeopleSoft - Time and Labor 9.2

Like many suites of PeopleSoft, the integrations of self-service, reporting and rule-based time codes are well built.

Pros

My overall experience with PeopleSoft 9.2 Time and Labor was positive. The Oracle documentation was well detailed and configuration was easy to follow and test. Preparation of user-end training was going smoothly using other Oracle learn and try products.

Cons

Like any large ERP, the implementation cycles were difficult. The team required to complete various task have to be pros, otherwise, you will run into issues in every cycle of the product.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2022

Oracle People Soft. Best Accounting Package to buy.

As this is a cloud based product, i didnot faced any issues with this product. initial startup requires proper learning and hands on, but as compared to other accounting packages, its quite proficient and easy to use.

Pros

It is like all under one roof. we can manage and review financial aspects, analyze our inventory tracking, rate our suppliers and can manage them easily,etc. etc.

Cons

Internet should be available all the times. Sometimes due to technical issues we can face serious problems.

Nancy
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/2/2021

PeopleSoft General Ledger

PeopleSoft is an efficient, effective general ledger tool, both for daily users and those who just need to periodically look up accounting transactions. It also offers reasonable solutions for automated internal controls over financial reporting.

Pros

I initially was involved in the selection and customization of the PeopleSoft General Ledge for my organization, as a member of the Finance & Accounting team. PeopleSoft offers easy to learn processes for inputting journal entries and running queries and reports. In addition, now that I've moved on to another department - risk management - I can refer to PeopleSoft to understand how various transactions related to insurance claims were accounted for. In addition, I have been pleased with the system capabilities as it relates to internal controls over financial reporting. We set up the system such that journal entries cannot be posted without secondary review and approval.

Cons

PeopleSoft does require quite a bit of customization to really make it work for an individual organization. I never felt that we were able to get our custom reporting to its full potential, as we just didn't have enough time to focus on it.

Lisa
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 3/10/2017

Decent features, but too difficult to use

it is our system of record for employee data

Pros

People Soft is able to house a wide variety of employee data on many different areas of employee experience (benefits, compensation, education, beneficiaries and so on, etc.).

Cons

extremely difficult to maneuver, not user-friendly at all, difficult to tweak the smallest items, doesn't interface well with other HR tools. query functionality is not intuitive, very challenging to pull meaningful data.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 23/1/2018

Very Hokey Program

Pros

You've probably used Peoplesoft at some point in your life; whether you went to University or used it at work for HR Systems - it does a lot and has a lot of abilities; but, the cost is enormous and it had a lot of problems from an end-user perspective.

Cons

Constantly having to update the software because end users have issues.
Very hokey in its execution
Constantly requires JAVA updates??
Oracle charges a lot to keep it in service.

Charlotte
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 6/10/2022

Oracle PeopleSoft - Offers Variety

Pros

This product offers a range of uses from reporting to contract entering, PeopleSoft assists in the functionality of an organization. Running queries in PeopleSoft is a helpful way to meet goals and gauge progress. Using the 'favorites' option provides quick access to your most used tools.

Cons

The downside about this software is that it can be a bit cumbersome searching for a new tool or an option you are unfamiliar with. An updated search option could improve the accessibility and overall use of PeopleSoft.

Sarah
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 3/10/2017

You can get the information quickly if you're trained up to do it

Organization of mass information

Pros

This software allows you to create intricate databases with multiple different uses over extremely large organizations.

Cons

It's not very intuitive, relies on special product codes many of the times, and can be really clunky. Ultimately you can get the information you need but it also relies on the organization to know how to create a well-customized product, which isn't always the case/ability.

Molly
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 16/7/2019

Oracle Review - AIS/SIA/ASTRA

The many features of AIS allow all student degree progress information to be stored in one convenient place.

Pros

"Academic Information Systems" by Oracle (AIS) has tons of functions and features to sort students by many categories, and to pull relevant information based on a number of features. Degree audits in AIS are simple, and it's easy to see a student's past transcript history.

Cons

Astra, the room reservation feature, is clunky and requires the user to log in multiple times per hour. It also has trouble loading large amounts of information quickly.

sheri
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 7/12/2017

used both for managing people as well as finance.

well managed finance and HR profiles

Pros

The program works very well for managing human resource data like accomplishments etc and for managing educational courses etc. I have also enjoyed the financial side where it effectively manages purchase orders and accounts payable.

Cons

The reporting features are not so easy to navigate and not all export to excel formats come through with nice formatting.

Cory
Cory
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 5/3/2019

Gets the job done

Pros

It is one place to access previous paychecks, mileage reimbursement forms, PTO requests, and salary information. It is relatively user-friendly once you learn the system.

Cons

There are some pages, such as the travel/expense form, that do not have any buttons to go back to the homepage. Instead, you have to X out and get back into PeopleSoft manually. It's very inconvenient.

276 reviews