User Reviews Overview

About Coupa

Coupa’s cloud-native suite of Business Spend Management applications lets customers gain visibility and control over their spend and supply chains. Customers get an end-to-end process that helps drive collaboration across...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.0

Browse Coupa Reviews

78 of 78 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/7/2018

The best expense coding system we've ever had!

Pros

It is easy to learn and use! The process for updating and communicating about various transactions is so much simpler than it used to be. It's saved us time by keeping communication between our users and approvers streamlined. The fact that I can just hit "reply" to an email asking me to adjust some coding on a receipt has kept me from digging around in my company directory, figuring out who to call with a question, and getting redirected often. So much faster.

Cons

It can be a little slow to load and the mobile version has often had issues uploading receipt images or giving me access to all the coding breakdowns I need.

Waleed
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2022

The best procurement systems with high quality service

Coupa enables you to identify new markets to market or buy products, as well as enables you to find the best prices and many good offers.

Pros

Coupa is the greatest procurement solution I've seen so far. I like that it automatically links with numerous global sellers, ensuring flexible purchase order automation, invoice matching, and tracking. Simply enter into the sellers site to monitor the status of their purchase orders and invoices, and track their progress to final payment and customer receipt of monies. Coup also prepares new suppliers, so suppliers submit the necessary information for payment and integration into buyer systems. Coup has helped keep track of deals from start to finish by ensuring payment for sellers and meeting all delivery deadlines for both sides. Coup offers a fantastic user platform with a distinctive visual design and various filters to help you locate what you need quickly and effortlessly.

Cons

Not a lot of annoying things, you just need both sides of the transaction to be aware of how to download documents and work the platform as required, and this becomes easily possible with the completion of sufficient training on the correct use.

Amadeusz
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/1/2022

Necessity in corpo

Pros

Looks nice, after initial configuration quite easy to use when you repeat actions

Cons

Hard to do new things, not intuitive, sometimes you can't do something but UX doesn't tell you why

Top Coupa Alternatives

Md
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/1/2022

Coupa Expense - You most trusted expense manager

As a company, we have to practice more integrity and transparency in the day to day operations of the business. If it comes to financials, then Coupa Expense is the best option to manage this as it is totally automated and has to go through different approval processes. At NAC, we are happy with the performance.

Pros

Coupa Expense is very easy to use with plenty of amazing features. The most attractive features are - supplier management, Purchase order raising, PO reimbursement, specific and customizable approval process, total spent analysis, total account payable status etc.

Cons

Coupa Expense is one of the updated expense management softwares and I do not find anything as improvement area for this application.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/6/2018

End user's love but application team might face hurdles

Effectively reduces cost, better operational efficiencies and better end user experience

Pros

The tool is meant to give a very good experience to end users. All the out of box functions are designed with high quality UI standards which will reduce the learning curve for end users. IT team don't have to spend hours to explain the features and functions as the terminologies and configurations are quite intuitive. Finally so much comes out of box if planned well and ahead of time a lot of customization requirement can be avoided. The T&E module is really liked by a lot of top tier business users.

Cons

The integration capability is not up to the mark. When it comes to customize a lot of road blocks can be faced but it seems the Product team is actively looking in to some of them and with every release they are making some advancement in this direction. There are some weird limitation on few types of reporting capabilities which I think should be there.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Translation & Localisation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/7/2021

Coupa Review

Utilizing this product daily to send client invoices due for payment.

Pros

Its website is easy to navigate and upload invoices to. Support communication is a straight forward process as well.

Cons

It can be frustrating that the PO's need to be updated in order to process invoices. It is also frustrating that the system will not let you recall, void, or dispute an invoice that may have been uploaded incorrectly. It would be nice to be able to add changes even after an invoice has been submitted...even if that change was subject to client review.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 4/2/2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want.
billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue.
it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 7/7/2021

Coupa Expense Software Review

I am happy with using Coupa expense

Pros

The user interface is good and it allows real time tracking of your transactions.

Cons

The one downside i have is the lack to customize your view or dashboard.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/4/2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/2/2018

Most modern platform with some downfalls

Pros

Modern and simple platform that blows most competition out of the water. Frequent releases and a good portal for customer suggestions and knowledge forums. Handles complex workflows and hierarchies relatively well.

Cons

Their "super" search bar is terrible. Like, the worst search bar I've ever used. No matter how well we tagged items, it would never find them. It was basically useless. Thankfully our users primarily use punch-out catalog. They also don't support IF/THEN statements in much of the platform. That makes certain workflows impossible or extremely tedious.

siva
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/1/2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Dawn
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/5/2018

Coupa Accounting and Expense (implementation)

Pros

We have used Coupa Accounting for a number of years, and just purchased Coupa Expense. Really excited about:
- Mileage capture (save a lot of time)
- Receipt parsing (e.g. we don't have to type in expenses--line items pulled from the receipt)
- Mobile submission of expenses
- Embedding tutorial videos for new users directly into the interface
- Level of partnership and support to implement successfully

Cons

Too soon to tell, as we have not yet gone live. Based on our previous experience with Coupa AP and our current experience thus far, I have high expectations for the project.

shetal
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 6/2/2018

simple and user friendly expense management software

mobile app, automatic mileage calculations, streamlined approvals, inbuilt analytics

Pros

Coupa makes reimbersement of employee expenses a breeze. Credit card Transactions can be automatically loaded.Coupa expenses Mobile app comes with voice capture capability. The expenses approval workflows are streamlined. Expenses policies can be changed easily. Based on the expenses history and other industry data, coupa flags each expense on a frugal meter thus encouraging employee to spend less.

Cons

Coupa needs to be integrated with ERP for accounting and payments. Sometimes this is a pain as there can be integration issues.

Brook
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/6/2018

Just implementing this new system- it's nice to have a purchase to pay software.

Being able to Purchase and pay out of one system. Instead of using two systems that don't talk to each other.

Pros

The Customer Support has been wonderful so far. They always get answers right back to you and walk us through suggested options to try. Every time we have any kind of question they know the answer right away. There is never a wait time.

Cons

It hasn't been the most intuitive. Hence, why we use the Customer Support so often. I wish it was a little more user friendly.

Justin
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/10/2018

Makes work shopping easy

Pros

I only really shop through the amazon portal, but it’s very simple. Sign into coupa, go to amazon through the portal, go to cart, take me back to coupa, say what it’s for and submit!

Cons

Nothing I can think of! It’s very straight forward!

Breann
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/9/2017

Coupa Expense Reporting Review

Pros

I love the wallet feature used to attach receipts to purchases, and the app makes approving expense reports so easy!

Cons

As with any new product, the setup and end user training can be very time consuming. I also dislike the per-diem function and hope to see improvements with the functionality.

Nicholas
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/7/2021

Great Software but could be improved

I have not had many issues in filling out expense reports.

Pros

Filling out expense reports is pretty easy. I like that the account numbers will save for each expense line.

Cons

The scores that are assigned to an expense report seem to be arbitrary. It will list things you can do to improve your report but they are very general.

kathy
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/5/2020

Coupa

Overall Coupa is user friendly and easy to sue. Their customer service is easy to deal with.

Pros

As a user, Coupa is a good software. We are able to track invoices and process payments as needed with ease. It does what you need it to do for filing and submitting expenses. Payment procedures are easy to use. The software has a mobile app is also great to have on the road.

Cons

There is not much negativity with Coupa. However, there can be server speed issues. The mobile app can tend to be also slow but it is doable.

Darrel
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/7/2009

St Louis Archdiocese

I would strongly recommend including Coupa when you evaluate e-procurement systems for your organization.

Pros

Coupa has helped to transform the St Louis Archdiocese to a more streamlined process. The Coupa tool is easy to use, streamlines the procurement process and eliminates the paper flow that was slowing down invoice payment.Coupa was also easy to implement when compare to other e-procurement tools.

Cons

No cons to report. Coupa has exceeded our expectations.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/10/2018

Coupa Expenses

Pros

Coupa Expenses allows me to easily create expense reports to submit for reimbursement. It is easy to log in via the web and I can create multiple expense reports per month for different projects. My company was able to pre-populate the expense categories and projects so I can classify my expenses properly.

Cons

When loading a receipt it take a few seconds to actually load which slows down the process when I have to add a lot of expenses.

Miranda
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 7/12/2022

Simple and Efficient

Pros

Personally, I don't have a lot of experience with any other expensing software, so I do think Coupa is great for what it does. The platform is fairly straightforward, which serves my teams' purpose for it, as we primarily expense travel.

Cons

I wish Coupa had more comprehensive onboarding for users, as well as a bit more functionality, or even helpful tips and guides.

Michael Reich
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2014

Useful app, love the low price scanner

We started using tripscanner very soon after it's beta launch. They've been very responsive to our feedback and they have added a bunch of new stuff since then. They recently added a tool that checks for lower prices after you've booked a hotel so that you can re-book and save a few bucks.

Pros

Easy to use
Useful alerts and reports

Cons

Could not yet scan some foreign language booking receipts

Tanmay
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/10/2016

Review for LLamasoft Supply Chain Guru

I used LLamasoft Supply Chain Guru for my college project at Oklahoma State University for distribution network optimiztion. I found the software easy to use compared to another similar software. The overall quality is very good although I think it is a bit expensive.

Daniel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 4/11/2021

Solid and straightforward

Pros

I use Coupa for expenses and it is really straightforward and easy to use.

Cons

I've just started using it and haven't had any issues!

bobby
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/10/2016

great for purchasing

great tool for corporate purchasing. helping keep expenses down and optimizing supply chain. love it.

78 reviews