Coupa Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Coupa

Point solutions are pointless: spend smarter with the leading spend management platform built for companies like you. The Coupa platform allows you to take control of your spend and position your business for resilience and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.8

Browse Coupa Reviews

88 of 88 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

Coupa

Overall experience is positive considering the time it saves and power it gives to its users .

Pros

Coupa speed is excellent and its is easy to use, whenever nee features are launched they are also easy to deploy and integration was smooth

Cons

Sometimes it hangs and does not respond but it happens rarely

Sekou Djibril
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2023

Reviews of Coupa: An Efficient and User-Friendly Expense Management Software

Overall, Coupa software is a great solution for companies looking to improve their expense management. It offers many benefits, including simplified expense management, process automation, detailed expense analysis, and integration with other business tools. It can help businesses save time, reduce errors, and make more informed decisions.However, there are also downsides to consider, such as high cost, learning curve for new users, limited customization, and limited customer support in some regions. These factors can make Coupa less accessible for small businesses or those with specific needs.Ultimately, Coupa is a solid choice for businesses looking to improve their expense management and have the resources to invest in premium software. However, it is important to weigh the pros and cons before making a purchase decision and consider specific business needs to ensure Coupa is the most appropriate solution for them.

Pros

Coupa is a very effective expense management software that offers many benefits for businesses. Here are some of Coupa's highlights:Simplified Expense Management: Coupa offers a complete solution for managing business expenses, from purchase requisition approval to invoicing and payment. It is easy to use for employees and provides a pleasant user experience.Process Automation: Coupa software automates many tasks, saving time and reducing errors. Workflows can be customized to meet business needs, and notifications are sent in real time to enable rapid decision making.Spend Analysis: Coupa provides detailed analyzes of company spend, allowing managers to better understand costs and make more informed decisions. Reports are easily accessible and can be customized to suit business needs.Integration with other tools: Coupa can be integrated with other business tools such as ERP systems and e-commerce platforms. This allows closer collaboration between the different departments of the company and better visibility on expenses.Overall, Coupa is a great choice for companies looking to simplify their expense management, automate processes, and gain better cost visibility. The software is easy to use, offers detailed analytics and can be integrated with other business tools.

Cons

Although Coupa has many advantages for businesses, there are also some disadvantages that should be considered. Here are some of the negative points of Coupa:High cost: Coupa is quite an expensive piece of software, which may make it inaccessible for small businesses or low-budget businesses. Costs may also increase if additional functionality is required.Learning Time: Although Coupa is user-friendly and easy to use, there can be a learning curve for new users. It may take some time to get familiar with the features and workflows.Limited Customization: Although Coupa offers basic customization of workflows, it may be limited in some cases. Businesses with specific needs may find that Coupa does not meet all of their requirements.Limited Customer Support: Coupa's customer support may be limited in certain regions or for certain languages, which may make it difficult to obtain timely assistance. Their support can also be expensive and not meet all expectations.In summary, Coupa is an effective expense management software, but it can be expensive and present a learning curve for new users. It may also be limited in terms of customization and customer support. However, if the business needs a comprehensive and easy-to-use expense management solution, Coupa can be a good choice.

Alternatives Considered

Vantage Circle and BeyondTrust Remote Support

Switched From

Google Docs and DealerCenter
Whitney
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 8/5/2023

Horrible product with worse support

Below is part of a transcrpt with Support from last week:Support: Hello! I'm {NAME}, how may I be of assistance today? Me: Well first of [all] the last chat person just HUNG UP ON ME [via chat] because I was letting him know (respectfully) I was not pleased that I can't get phone support...I would like to speak to a manager please...I've been dealing with a problems since yesterday and this is now my 4th chat.Support: Do you want to get connected to the previous person? Me: No. He hung up on me...I would like to speak with a supervisor Support: Sorry for the inconvenience. Me: Yes inconvenience. Also rude. Also, your system is frustrating...I would like to speak with a supervisorSupport: Sorry, but there is no call support available. Can you please elaborate the issue in detail? Me: Well...so far all of the "help" via chat has not been helpful. What do you propose? I am frustrated because I have been over this MULTIPLE TIMES via chat Support: Sorry for the inconvenience. Me: Don't say that again, please. I don't believe it Support: Can you please elaborate the issue in detail? Me: One more time then....After 90 mins and three attempts to get rid of me, I finally had an answer - a very simple (yet non-obvious) "click here and add this" resolution.

Pros

I really don't like anything about Coupa. I am not a direct customer - I am a supplier who has had to interact with my customer's system infrequently over the years.

Cons

I find Coupa to be a poorly designed product, difficult to use, lacking many basic features, and which adds layers of complexity to minor workflows. But their Support is worse - no phone access, no escalation path - only a chat box where they repeatedly misunderstand questions and then request screenshots.

Top Coupa Alternatives

Waleed
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2022

The best procurement systems with high quality service

Coupa enables you to identify new markets to market or buy products, as well as enables you to find the best prices and many good offers.

Pros

Coupa is the greatest procurement solution I've seen so far. I like that it automatically links with numerous global sellers, ensuring flexible purchase order automation, invoice matching, and tracking. Simply enter into the sellers site to monitor the status of their purchase orders and invoices, and track their progress to final payment and customer receipt of monies. Coup also prepares new suppliers, so suppliers submit the necessary information for payment and integration into buyer systems. Coup has helped keep track of deals from start to finish by ensuring payment for sellers and meeting all delivery deadlines for both sides. Coup offers a fantastic user platform with a distinctive visual design and various filters to help you locate what you need quickly and effortlessly.

Cons

Not a lot of annoying things, you just need both sides of the transaction to be aware of how to download documents and work the platform as required, and this becomes easily possible with the completion of sufficient training on the correct use.

Shivam
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/2/2020

Good Tool to Manage Purchase Orders

Overall experience has been good. The vendor receives the purchase order once approved via email. Once the service has been received attaching the invoice and the closure procedure is easy as well.

Pros

I have been using Coupa for 2+ years. Mainly use it to create Purchase Orders to vendors. Receive invoices from suppliers. The software has an inbuilt approval process to route Purchase Orders, vendor master service agreements. The software can be synced with Microsoft office which allows you to get notifications when a request is new your queue or the Purchase Order has been approved or denied. It also allows you to run queries to tabulate budgetary expenses and track historical expenditure. Creating a Purchase Requisition is fairly easy and straightforward.

Cons

Coupa is very useful and easy to navigate but requires training to become proficient in the application. Suggestion is to create job aids/ training procedures which can be used as a reference guideline whenever needed specially for personnel not using the application too often.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 4/2/2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want.
billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue.
it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 7/7/2021

Coupa Expense Software Review

I am happy with using Coupa expense

Pros

The user interface is good and it allows real time tracking of your transactions.

Cons

The one downside i have is the lack to customize your view or dashboard.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/7/2018

The best expense coding system we've ever had!

Pros

It is easy to learn and use! The process for updating and communicating about various transactions is so much simpler than it used to be. It's saved us time by keeping communication between our users and approvers streamlined. The fact that I can just hit "reply" to an email asking me to adjust some coding on a receipt has kept me from digging around in my company directory, figuring out who to call with a question, and getting redirected often. So much faster.

Cons

It can be a little slow to load and the mobile version has often had issues uploading receipt images or giving me access to all the coding breakdowns I need.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/4/2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

Amadeusz
Amadeusz
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/1/2022

Necessity in corpo

Pros

Looks nice, after initial configuration quite easy to use when you repeat actions

Cons

Hard to do new things, not intuitive, sometimes you can't do something but UX doesn't tell you why

siva
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/1/2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Dawn
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/5/2018

Coupa Accounting and Expense (implementation)

Pros

We have used Coupa Accounting for a number of years, and just purchased Coupa Expense. Really excited about:
- Mileage capture (save a lot of time)
- Receipt parsing (e.g. we don't have to type in expenses--line items pulled from the receipt)
- Mobile submission of expenses
- Embedding tutorial videos for new users directly into the interface
- Level of partnership and support to implement successfully

Cons

Too soon to tell, as we have not yet gone live. Based on our previous experience with Coupa AP and our current experience thus far, I have high expectations for the project.

Lesha
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/3/2018

Coupa is so easy to use and helps keep budgets in line, especially with approvals in place.

Pros

Coupa is easy to navigate and to understand. I can easily request payment be made for something, upload the invoice, IDT (Internal Department Transfer) specific items that our department needs, the list goes on and we have it setup with the vendors that we use to go directly to their page and once we've selected the items we would like to purchase it will send the checkout back to Coupa for approval and purchasing!

Cons

Honestly, I don't have anything bad to say about Coupa. There was only one one time that we couldn't figure out why a PO# wasn't reflecting right and we kept getting emails about a PO# that was denied but it wasn't. Maybe a weird glitch once?

Ciedelle
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/3/2020

Coupa makes business purchasing easy

I am satisfied with how coupa is used for B2B purchases and how most vendors is easily found when issuing the PO.

Pros

I like how helpful the global search is and how integrated it is with specific punchout, also how easy it is to track and receive orders.

Cons

Copying an order should allow punchout specific items to be automatically added to the requisition.

Bhavik
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2022

B's thought on Coupa Expense

Pros

It is easy to use for day to day activities, featuring filters to save ample time kn searing activities. Keep records of all your data which opens endless opportunities of business optimization.

Cons

Multilevel approval stages are time consuming. Every action requires fully functioning user account, it would be great if we get tailored access to reduce costs

Brook
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/6/2018

Just implementing this new system- it's nice to have a purchase to pay software.

Being able to Purchase and pay out of one system. Instead of using two systems that don't talk to each other.

Pros

The Customer Support has been wonderful so far. They always get answers right back to you and walk us through suggested options to try. Every time we have any kind of question they know the answer right away. There is never a wait time.

Cons

It hasn't been the most intuitive. Hence, why we use the Customer Support so often. I wish it was a little more user friendly.

Oliver
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 1/12/2023

Does a job

Pros

Helps link employees with the financial department when processing invoices.

Cons

It's not very intuitive to use and can be quite difficult to understand what to enter if you're only an occasional user.

Samantha
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2018

Invoicing for railroad

Pros

It is easy to search for previously entered invoices using our invoice number. It shows the status of an invoice

Cons

If an invoice is disputed, it is hard to delete it. We have also submitted invoices for approval and the approver never received.

Breann
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/9/2017

Coupa Expense Reporting Review

Pros

I love the wallet feature used to attach receipts to purchases, and the app makes approving expense reports so easy!

Cons

As with any new product, the setup and end user training can be very time consuming. I also dislike the per-diem function and hope to see improvements with the functionality.

Empiria
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/3/2014

A quick and easy way for me to manage travel expenses!

TripScanner has been an excellent way for me to help manage my company's travel expenses and policies. I've been using TripScanner for a few months and am impressed by the comprehensive reporting and ease of use. I previously had some issues with high travel costs caused by employees not adhering to our policies, but now I receive real time alerts if they go out of policy and can correct the situation immediately. Also with the Low-Price Scanner feature we have been able to spot deals and save money on hotels.

Pros

Quick and easy to setup. Real time reporting. Very easy for my employees to use.

Jim
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/2/2019

WORST SOFTWARE OF ANY KIND I HAVE USED IN OVER 30 YEARS!!!

I ONLY GIVE IT A "1" BECAUSE "0" IS NOT AN AVAILABLE OPTION.

Pros

NONE! LITERALLY; THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOT A SINGLE FEATURE TO POINT TO AND SAY THAT IS EVEN ACCEPTABLE.

Cons

CLUNKY, CUMBERSOME BEYOND ANYTHING IN THIS CATEGORY I HAVE ENCOUNTERED IN 30 YEARS. PASSWORD FAILS EVERY SINGLE TIME, HAVE TO RESET FOR EVERY LOGIN, THEN IMMEDIATELY FAILS ON FIRST ATTEMPT FOR EXCESSIVE FAILED ATTEMPTS!!!!!

kathy
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/5/2020

Coupa

Overall Coupa is user friendly and easy to sue. Their customer service is easy to deal with.

Pros

As a user, Coupa is a good software. We are able to track invoices and process payments as needed with ease. It does what you need it to do for filing and submitting expenses. Payment procedures are easy to use. The software has a mobile app is also great to have on the road.

Cons

There is not much negativity with Coupa. However, there can be server speed issues. The mobile app can tend to be also slow but it is doable.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/4/2020

Coupa makes expenses a breeze

Expense reports that used to take hours to complete can now be done in less than half the time.

Pros

Long gone are the days where you have to keep track of all your receipts, and then fax them all in to be reimbursed. Coupa lets you easily snap a picture of the receipt, and include all details needed to be reimbursed.

Cons

Nothing. Coupa has answered all of our needs for expense management. Being able to access reports via mobile app and desktop PC is very helpful as well.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/2/2020

Easy-to-use expense management from user perspective

Submitting personal expense reports is all I use it for right now

Pros

In the past I had always worked for small companies that had very outdated methods of expense reporting. But I have recently been user this to submit expenses and have found it very easy to use without ever having touched it. It walks you through step by step and is very user friendly.

Cons

Nothing so far, I wonder if there is a way to alert an approver that they need to approve something every few days.

Charles
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/7/2009

Implementation of COUPA in Biotech Environment

Worth the money for the amount of time and energy that this system saves any small to medium sized organization.

Pros

Very helpful in small dynamic start-up environment. Alleviates headaches of ordering, receiving, and AP.
Scientists can concentrate on their labwork instead of worrying about whether something has been ordered.
Easy to use.
Customer Service is quick and helpful.

Cons

System could be more customizable

88 reviews