User Reviews Overview

About Datadog

Datadog is a network monitoring tool that helps companies gain visibility into application performance. The software provides an overview of a product to a single SQL query and correlates app performance or errors with infrastruct...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Datadog Reviews

109 of 109 reviews
Sort by:
Satbyul K. Satbyul K.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/3/2020

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Neyda jose M. Neyda jose M.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/5/2019

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Damian N. Damian N.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/6/2019

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Alternatives Considered

Sensu

Top Datadog Alternatives

Ciprian P. Ciprian P.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/1/2020

Great web monitoring tool

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic One
Kevin V. Kevin V.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/2/2017

Great view of our server environment

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Daniel P. Daniel P.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/3/2018

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy.
Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing.
The best tool I found.
It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications.
If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

Donovan G. Donovan G.
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 10/8/2021

Good tool, super complicated pricing

Great tool, I am not 100% sure about the sales personnel and support. At times they come across a bit "laddish"

Pros

It is brilliant in how it helps to detect flaws in your system, especially their "AI" parts which give intelligent indications on where to look.

It also helps to keep everything you need to diagnose issues in 1 place. Making for a clear end to end vision.

Cons

It works out super expensive and the pricing is really hard to understand. Especially when it comes to K8s clusters.

Sky L. Sky L.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/3/2016

DataDog - App and System Monitoring

We recently flipped from using an older SNMP based monitoring system and couldn't be happier. From the initial install during our trial I was smitten. It was everything I would want in an application and system monitoring system all wrapped up in a beautiful API.

Pros

Easy... seriously dummy proof.
Robust - So many integration's and easy write your own plugins.
Solid API with great documentation.
It's StatsD and Graphite, at the push of a button.

Cons

Somewhat expensive.
Doesn't have an integration with every single application? I actually have to do some work...
That's all I can think of....

Cauvery G. Cauvery G.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/6/2020

Really good for monitors

Pros

Its really good tool if you are searching or shopping for monitoring tools.

Cons

I don't use it on daily basis, but so far no issues.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/3/2020

Real-time data dashboard

We liked it ease-of-use and its customizable dashboards.

Pros

We can quickly create customizable requests and filters to get all the data and organize it like we need. We can get a real overview of all are valuable data in a glance.

Cons

Using Datadog can get pricy when you need many features or you have many hosts. However, its ease-of-use make it understandable.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/4/2018

Datagod is one of the best for IT monitoring

Pros

Datadog is easy to use, you can have custom and multiple dashboard, what is nice to control your environment/network.
Great notifications.

Cons

Could have a mobile app so we can have mobile notifications, It could be hard to integration with others tools.

Sam M. Sam M.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/4/2017

Bryan I. Bryan I.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/9/2019

Datadog is a solid performer but not the heaviest in features

Pros

Datadog solves most of our needs for general system/application health monitoring and even covers some performance metrics that we use to make improvements.

Cons

Some of the detailed views of where bottlenecks are troubling a system can be lacking. Something we've seen a lag getting data refreshed in the dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/3/2016

Enrique M. Enrique M.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

best monitoring tool ever

Pros

- dashboards are super customizable and refreshing time is very quick
- templates save you lot of time

Cons

building the queries for the dashboards require quite a lot of knowledge (not intuitive)

Mauricio S. Mauricio S.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/9/2019

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 3/1/2020

Great for working with AWS

We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Alternatives Considered

Loggly

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

searching logs was too slow and difficult to get the results we desired quickly (especially to track down recent customer problems)

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

better / easier integration with our current development stack
Kevin V. Kevin V.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 9/3/2019

Great metrics and monitoring

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/10/2019

Next-Gen Cloud Monitoring solution

Excellent cloud monitoring solution which gives good visibility across multiple cloud applications.

Pros

Feature-rich cloud monitoring solution which works across multiple cloud providers (AWS, Azure, etc)

Cons

It takes a bit of time to get familiar with the admin portal user interface.

Ravikiran R. Ravikiran R.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/2/2018

Best monitoring cloud service available in the market

Easy to monitor and easy to share with notebook feature
Watch the statistics from virtually anywhere

Pros

Easy to monitor and get analytics
We can monitor inside any stack, any app, at any scale, anywhere
Supports multiple dashboards
Notebooks help you to share the data

Cons

More options some time confuses
Help documentation needs improvement
Some times dashboards are very complex to understand

Joaquín E. Joaquín E.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/2/2018

Very good experience

Pros

The dashboards are very clear, it helps us to look for errors in our apis easily. Apart from that, it is great that you can create custom dashboards

Cons

Somethings, when you have a lot of apps is very difficult to find the dashboard that you really want.

Samantha R. Samantha R.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/5/2020

Incredible program

Overall experience is awesome! Would absolutely recommend this to other professionals.

Pros

I use DataDog a ton throughout my day to monitor customer service queues and it’s amazing. Would not be able to do my job the same without the real time info and insights it offers.

Cons

So far nothing! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed using the software and have not experienced any significant issues.

Harmandeep singh S. Harmandeep singh S.
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 7/11/2017

Smart tool for cloud monitoring

Pros

Extremely easy to get up and running
A great system monitoring tool, which syncs up with AWS
Good notifications, metric collector mechanism
Mute all alerts with 1 click during upgrades and maintenance

Cons

It only integrates with AWS in public cloud platforms
Not very mobile friendly
A little pricey for log analysis

Gaurav Y. Gaurav Y.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/1/2019

One of the great tool to maintain your infra

have made our infra management easy.

Pros

Datadog is very good for monitoring the applications and the host infrastructure. We have used it for lots of purpose for maintaining the infra like maintaining the kafka servers where we can plug this and can easily see the performance of kafka, it's offset value for different different consumers and lot more. Apart from this, we can also see the application performance with this.

Cons

Only one negative to say, it is difficult to start with this, writing the query to fetch the details and to do analysis is not easy. You need to learn it.

109 reviews