GoGuardian Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About GoGuardian

GoGuardian is a school management solution for educators and academic organizations to engage and monitor students. The cloud-based school technology program helps institutions to digitize the learning experience for students...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.6

Browse GoGuardian Reviews

136 of 136 reviews
Sort by:
Brittany
Brittany
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/9/2020

Essential for 1:1 Districts

Pros

I love that I am able to view everything my students are doing. I love that I have the control and ability to close out any tabs which should not be open at a given time. Being able to send an announcement to all of my students at once is great when my class blocks end. I also LOVE the new features GoGuardian has created: audio calls and presentation mode. The reports at the end of each class are also amazing. You can see a timeline with what each student was doing at a given time and for how long. All of these features are a must during a normal school year, not to mention a remote one!

Cons

There are been some issues with the system status as of lately. With remote teaching right now this has essentially left me flying blind- especially when I cannot see my student's computers or see who is online.

Nolan
Nolan
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/5/2021

Guarding Student Computers

Overall, my experience with GoGuardian has been fantastic. I can monitor my students without bothering them via looking over their shoulder. I can also be more informed as to what they are doing, how much time they spent on websites, and GoGuardian tells me what sites they visited.

GoGuardian is a great classroom resource.

Pros

The best thing about GoGuardian is just how effective it is. With other computer-monitoring programs, students had to sign into it and, usually, they had easy ways of tricking the system. GoGuardian allows me to monitor, mentor, and alter student direction on their individual computers from the ease of my chair.

Cons

Overall, there is very little that I didn't find useful about GoGuardian. As a teacher, the price was right for me (free for teachers; I am not entirely sure if my school corporation pays for it). It is also easy to use; everything is clearly marked and the rosters are already in the system.

Leah
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/5/2020

violating our privacy rights and disabling my childs education and mental wellbeing

They have already been sued by the aclu and others for privacy violations, they need to quit messing with our children.

Pros

Nothing is good about this program or company

Cons

I dont appreciate being forced into educating my child via a laptop that has completely stopped him from all education. They have also given themselves the right to supersede my rights to control what my child views and how easily he does so. Hes blocked from teachers videos and links for classwork and gmail for account verifications or classwork docs. He cant print to an outside printer or send to outside printers. but he can watch mindnumbing violence provoking irrational anger creating minecraft videos on you tube.
And did I say theyve stopped me from monitoring that activity as his mother?

Top GoGuardian Alternatives

Kevin
Kevin
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2019

A Must for One-to-One Schools

I cannot imagine how I would be an effective teacher without this (ever since we went one-to-one). In addition, their customer support has always been friendly and helpful.

Pros

It is always running, both at home and at school. It automatically sends alerts about any potentially harmful internet use. It allows teachers to help kids stay focused in class. It provides another way for teachers to show parents what their child is doing during class time.

Cons

I wish individual students could be put into different "scenes" at the same time, but that is just me wishing for an additional feature.

Trevor
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

K-12 School Must-Have

We have been with GoGuardian for three years and have had an enjoyable experience. They have helped save us many headaches that would have otherwise occurred had we not had them.

Pros

Ease of use - once set up, the information we get about student usage history, the ease of locking down custom filter policies, Smart alerts are a nice feature for tracking and being alerted to students more risky behaviors.

Cons

Sometimes sites would be categorized under a different category than one would expect. There is no "super-admin" access to GoGuardian teacher to oversee teacher classroom setups.

Daniel
Daniel
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/9/2020

Essential for 1:1

GoGuardian has been amazing as a tool in my classroom. Their customer support and outreach has been phenemenal. Not only does the GoGuardian team respond to my emails and requests, but they are happy to reach out for feedback and ideas for improvement. I love that the company interacts with their customers to help build a better product and experience.

Pros

GoGuardian's teacher end content managment is easy to set up and use. Class rostering is amazing simple with Google Classroom sync. I love the new video chat feature on GoGuardian Suite

Cons

N/A. I am totally satisfied with this product.

Sarah
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

Guiding Students to be Better Digital Citizens

Positive experience hands down! They are willing to listen to new ideas or improvements and are diligent when it comes to finding a solution to a problem.

Pros

Goguardian is a great resource to keep tabs on students without having to hover over a computer screen or their shoulder. You can set scenes to keep students academically honest and keep the integrity of the lesson while knowing that your student is paying attention to the task at hand.

Cons

There are some glitches, however, their customer support personnel reply within the hour of a request.

Daisy
Daisy
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/2/2022

GoGuardian Review

Pros

I love everything about GoGuardian. I am able to aggressively monitor student academic growth through GoGuardian. I am also able to manage the websites that students use on a daily basis.

Cons

I do not have any feedback for growth! GoGuardian is an amazing program. You will not regret it!

Alexandra
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

Amazing resource for the classroom!

Pros

GoGuardian is incredibly easy to use as a teacher and it makes monitoring very simple. I can look and check in a couple of seconds what each of my students is doing, if they are on task and, if needed, close their tabs.

Cons

I don't think I would change anything. I love all the features!

Tiffany
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/5/2019

Great Product!!!

I have really enjoyed having Go Guardian as a tool this year. Using this along with the Google Suite has made interacting and sharing information with my students super easy and streamlined. The MVP club has also been a fun way to interact and learn more about the features. THANK YOU for creating an awesome experience!!!

Pros

I like that it provides me another way to discreetly interact with my students. I also like how it saves the student activity if it is needed at a later time.

Cons

The scheduling is very linear. We follow many different schedules through the year and it would be nice to have more options for scheduling (which I believe may be in the works as I type!)

Kearstyn
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2019

The Modern Panopticon

My school has only had this software for a few months but what a difference it has made; fixing a problem I suspected was there but had no idea the severity of. Even from a different classroom, I can keep on eye on my students’ online use to ensure they are using the internet safety and correctly.

Pros

This software is a game-changer. In today’s digital age and with how easy it is to find and do anything on the internet, GoGuardian is the Batman of the classroom: the silent sentinel who keeps watch over what the students click.
Every day my students use their chromes for all sorts of reasons: research, typing a response for an assigned reading, taking AR quizzes, taking online tests, and more. In the past, I would catch glimpses of a student being on the wrong webpage or even cheating by looking up the meaning of the words they were being tested on.
GoGuardian as stopped (or at least massively decreased) all of that distracting web surfing and cheating. I can easily click on a student’s name and see what webpage they’re on as well as their computer’s history to see if they had visited any site(s) they shouldn’t have. I can easily monitor the progress a student is making on their assigned writing without alerting them so they can’t just click out and claim innocence. With every student cautious and worried about being caught, this modern panopticon has prevented a lot of inappropriate content from reaching my elementary school students.

Cons

Thus far, there has been no noteworthy negativity. The software works well. It would be nice to view more than one student at a time but that’s more a wish than a con.

Khristina
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 21/3/2021

GoGuardian

GoGuardian has helped myself and colleagues during remote learning. We have been able to assist students if they are stuck during instruction. We are able to guide the students to get to the correct website or app on their Chromebook. It has also been really helpful with class management during online learning because we can restrict access to website that the students don't need to using during instruction.

Pros

It has allowed me to be able to help my students during remote learning. After completing the training, it was pretty easy to use the software in the classroom and during remote instruction. I was most excited about being able to put website restrictions on the student's Chromebooks. It was helpful because the students can get easily distracted with Youtube, Netflix and other websites instead of focusing on their schoolwork. I liked that I could restrict websites during school hours and allow access for the evening.

Cons

The training was a little long. It also would have been helpful to have an interactive training. This may be a district training decision to have only online training. I felt that I would have understood more if I was able to set up GoGuardian and use it during the training sessions.

Greg
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 1/5/2019

Excellent web content filter for any environment

Being a private school, our parents love that we have a system in place that continues to filter off campus. The ability to create a dual policy that switches to a slightly relaxed mode off campus allows parents to feel secure and students some extra freedom when away from school.

Pros

We had used a competitors product for several years prior to switching to this one. I have found GoGuardian to have a much better track record with accurately filtering category based items. The interface, especially the 2.0, is much improved and allows you to quickly find what you're looking for. They are constantly adding and improving.

Cons

I have not found anything I dislike. There are small interface tweaks I would like to see, but these are trivial items. They do have a feature request board, and they do seem to implement the top requested items.

Cassie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/7/2021

GoGuardian in the Remote Classroom

GoGuardian is used in my classroom daily. It is a great way to check at a glance to see if all my students are on the task they are to be on, and allows me to quickly talk with students to get them back on task without having to call attention to them in front of the whole class.

Pros

GoGuardian was a great resource to have during remote learning. It let teachers see exactly where the students were working at during a specific time, and allowed for a quick message to students to walk them through what was happening in their assignments.

Cons

Other than occasional updates/technological issues that happens throughout the year, as is to be expected with any technological tool, I am very happy with GoGuardian and using it in the classroom.

Quenton
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

Decent Product for Cost

Overall, the software works well for what it's worth, it has flaws but isn't bad at it's job to any extent, just generally lower quality from a interface standpoint.

Pros

It works well for day to day usage and gradually improves usability throughout the years. The alerts system is fairly decent at seeing issues and reporting them to the administration in the district. Customer service is very helpful and friendly.

Cons

Several components of the software do not work or otherwise have low functionality. The product was poorly transitioned over from an old interface to a the new, more user friendly one. This causes users to have to jump between old and new to manage the software which is a bit of an inconvenience.

Mark
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2019

Great product!

GoGuardian had what we needed when we needed it and they keep getting better all the time. The smart alerts in particular has been able to provide us with information to get help to students that need help on multiple occasions.

Pros

GoGuardian was the first of it's kind to offer a "Chromebook only" cloud-based filter solution so that we could filter students on (only) Chromebooks at school and while they're home. They keep adding features that school and tech admins need and they're always updating their product to make it more user friendly and provide better performance.

Cons

Reporting - would love to have more customized reporting capabilities.

Dita
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/5/2021

So valuable and getting better with every update!

I have enjoyed the ease of GoGuardian. The schedule feature is perfect and makes it so easy to launch a class and be ready when the students arrive. I have been very happy with the newest update which allows me to point to items on the child's screen. I do wish i could annotate for them on their screen, control their mouse/keyboard when they are struggling to make something work and show them my screen temporarily without setting up a separate zoom.

Pros

I love being able to see all of my student computers on one screen. I have really found this software to be helpful in keeping students on track in class.

Cons

I have had some difficulties with the "scenes" feature. If I set the scene to only allow students to access a specific website(s), often, the students will still hit a wall when they have to sign in to that website. I then have to go to each individual computer to allow them access to it.

Jana
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/6/2019

Love GoGuardian!

GoGuardian helps with communicating directly with students without other students hearing because I can send the student a chat message.

Pros

We use GoGuardian to increase monitoring student 1:1 devices. Students and parents are aware that devices are monitored.

Cons

I want to be able to group certain courses together so that when I identify that a student is on/off task I want that learning in the app to apply to that entire group of classes so that the learning of the app is quicker.

Kristin
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 3/6/2021

Go Guardian

I like how it can be linked with google classrrom

Pros

I love this software because it hold my students accountable. They know I can see everything they are doing and that I will close out their tabs. Also makes it easy for me to help them since I can see their scrren.

Cons

I do not feel like there is much, if anything, that needs to be improved for use in my classroom. I find it user friendly.

Gina
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/12/2021

GoGuardian Review

Monitoring our students while online became so much easier when we started using GoGuardian. Set up once and never look back!! All levels of teachers are able to use the software efficiently.

Pros

Ease if use!! It is so easy to set up as a teacher and monitor your classes.

Cons

It took a bit to get it set up as an administrator but once we figured it out all has run smoothly! Their customer service was extremely patient and helpful.

Chad
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2019

Great product for Teacher and Admin Monitoring

Pros

I love that I can see what each student is doing and open a direct monitored chat with that student when they are having issues or have questions. Very little to no interruptions of service.

Cons

So far, I have no dislikes. Any time I have had questions, the service team has been ready to answer and very helpful!

Brianna
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/8/2021

Effective way to monitor students

Pros

This software is great for monitoring students during remote learning. It allows us to see which sites our students our using and I love the features of exiting out of sites and freezing the screens.

Cons

Nothing, I think it is a great tool for remote learning!

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/3/2022

Go Guardian

GoGuardian helped me tremendously when I was teaching remotely. I was able to see if students were on task like they should be, but even more importantly, while they were working, I was able to see if they were answering questions correctly, or what their errors were.

Pros

When teaching virtual, I am able to see exactly what they are doing and their progress on their assignments.

Cons

There isn't anything that I do not like about it. It is very easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/6/2021

Easy to use, easy to deploy!

Overall, I like it. It helps me save time as a teacher. It allows me to track, and record what my students are doing anytime, anywhere!

Pros

I like that it's easy to see exactly what everyone is doing from an admin end. I like that I can login from anywhere to the admin console to sniff out trouble. From the teacher end, I like the scenes that allow me to guide my classes, whether they are in person or remote!

Cons

It's hard to find some of the settings, and sometimes it is hard to figure out how to track a student's activity. But once you get the hang of it, it's pretty easy!

Daven
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/12/2020

Our Teachers Love GoGuardian

Pros

Teachers can monitor, view, and exhibit some control over student screens during their classes without actually touching each student's device. That makes 1:1 classroom management soooo much easier.

Cons

I don't really have any cons with the product. They are continually improving and providing updates.

136 reviews