User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft Dynamics AX

Microsoft Dynamics 365 provides integrated solutions that allow businesses to track leads, automate field service, drive sales and improve operations using mobile, enterprise-ready business apps from the cloud. What is...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

Browse Microsoft Dynamics AX Reviews

65 of 65 reviews
Sort by:
Josh E. Josh E.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/9/2017

Microsoft Dynamics Great Plains

I like the software, overall.

Pros

The software does what is is designed to do. It is accurate and very dependable. I rely on it for a multi-million dollar business.

Cons

It is a very difficult system to train an individual(s) on. Errors are difficult to trace down, if done in a prior month's posting period.

Timothy W. Timothy W.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 7/5/2019

Dynamics AX, it doesn't have to be better, just Microsoft.

This ERP software replaces an outdated application with a learning curve as steep as Everest.

Pros

I thought about this for several days before concluding... there is nothing I like about this ERP software. Having said that, I'm one of many users with their own needs for this program. Maybe the quality module is taking a back seat to all the other functions of this complex integrated software because after all, it's just quality. Right?

Cons

The lack of systems to monitor and use as a QMS control tool makes it impossible to recommend. There are other software that has filled the gap for these deficiency's.

Sugianto M. Sugianto M.
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2017

Great Product

overall this product is good for ERP in the company

Pros

- This product is proven
- Almost no bug in operational using this software
- The feature is complete
- Good design for working with this apps

Cons

- Difficult to upgrade to newest version if at before we don't have maintenance agreement
- the price of license is expensive
-

Cesar S. Cesar S.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/4/2018

The tool that you need for improve your business or company

Pros

This is an awesome tool that comes with all the elements that you need to improve your business, because Dynamics allows you to cover a big range of opportunities, working through five services: Sales, Service, Finance and Operations, Talent and Marketing. You can cover all the needs of your business through only one app, the support customer is awesome and the software works perfectly.

Cons

I have nothing bad to say about Dynamics, it comes with the features that you need for your business and has an easy integration with another Microsoft software like MS Office for example.

Allan H. Allan H.
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Currently in Implementation

We are currently implementing Dynamics AX, it is not a simple implementation because everything is customizable. The user interface is simple and follow the typical Microsoft Office layout so it is easy for most to learn. The software has tons of possibilities and several ways of getting each transaction done so it will fit with your company procedures. We are currently on our 2nd year of implementation and plan on going live 2/1/2017.

Pros

very customizable, tons of features for all areas of the company. highly detailed. Easy user interface. Many reporting options.

Cons

Long implementation process, many things can go wrong during implementation.

Leo M. Leo M.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/3/2019

Great features but sometimes slow

Experience is on the middle. Unlike similar software that runs smoothly, it is not far behind. Just a little update and this will be perfect.

Pros

The product is very easy to use by pointing and clicking. So, the ease of use is somewhat good for those who are not that literate on computers. But you should be very patient as the system is sometimes slow.

Cons

As I mentioned, the software tends to run very slow sometimes. It is a burden when you are working on something. Frequent updates might fix this.

Erin P. Erin P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/2/2017

Microsoft Dynamics AX Review

I have been working with AX nearly a year. It's easy to use and understand.

Pros

Easy to use and understand

Cons

I have not found a "Con" yet

Vivian P. Vivian P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/1/2017

My use of MS GP Dymanics

The system was cost effective with regards to similar products. It was easy to use and its multi-currency platform was most interesting for me given that my Accounting requirement needed the use of a dual currency system.

Pros

Generating reports, reconciling accounts and importing data.

Cons

You need to spend sometime to learn the system, and some of the function you might not use or they are too complex.

Miguel G. Miguel G.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 25/4/2017

Microsoft Dynamics AX

Pros

The software is developed by Microsoft, what gives it a good first impression. Additionally, it is rather easy to use.

Cons

Nevertheless, the functionality is not proper. Quite often, some of the bills I was introducing were automatically deleted.

Michael M. Michael M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2012

I have been working with Accounting software for close to 20 years. In my opinion, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 is the most configurable mid market software available. It now has full Project functionality and the configurability of workflows is also great. It comes with 36 different roles, preconfigured (i.e. CFO, Project Manager, Accounts Payable etc.) I am very impressed.

Brian D. Brian D.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/9/2016

Microsoft Dynamics small installation

Pros

Purchasing was very straightforward on our EA and support is top notch

Cons

As with everything Microsoft, this is not a low cost solution.

Gino P. Gino P.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 15/12/2017

dynamics ax

Navigation is poor, does not support work process, cryptic best summarizes solution, there is nothing that is appealing for this solution

Pros

Hosted solution with easy access, other than that there is nothing that is appealing for this solution

Cons

Everything from look and feel, support of business flow, there is nothing that is appealing for this solution, great enhancements are needed to make if move viable,

Geoff H. Geoff H.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2016

Mid Market Consumer Products AX Perspective

I have overseen 6 implementations of AX in mid-market consumer Products organizations over the past 10 years. It has been an interesting time to watch the product grow into a Tier one solution from the Axapta version. The growth of the product and acceptance by the market has been remarkable. What I find most appealing with AX is the breadth of function coverage it offers coupled with the depth depth of capability. The SMB market often requires the same features as enterprise category organizations and AX can be configured to provide all of the components needed for the range of company sizes. The addition of a high quality WMS module provides an essential piece of the puzzle that most SMB solutions lack. Also, the Retail mPOS offering is a robust solution. Coupled with it's full integration and configurable user interface, mPOS provides a true 360 degree solution to companies with multiple selling channels.
The new AX7 and Dunamics 375 sets Microsoft apart from other providers. The new web interface and straightforward toolset will provide users a significant advantage.

Pros

Constant improvement of the product, interface and integration to other solutions. The quality of WMS and order management.

Cons

The constant improvements pose challenges to keep current with releases.

Mohamed B. Mohamed B.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 18/1/2019

Very "Microsoft" by all means

Pros

1- easily integrate with all microsoft other applications.
2- start to work with it takes no time.
3- Reporting tools easy to use.
4- availability of power apps is an add in as it's great tool to build your ideas into app.
5- power BI gives business the edge in analytics and it's very powerful compared to other BI solutions.
6- Cost is not high.
7- has collaboration tools through out the system

Cons

1- Administration of the system needs a global admin permission to fully use it.
2- more customization to the system needs expert as it's not that easy.
3- mobile app always crashes.
4- cannot compete in the Manufacturing business with other specialized ERPs.

Timothy W. Timothy W.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 6/4/2018

Microsoft AX

Great training was given on-site and within the software.

Pros

This is a professionally written ERP that fits into all areas of our core processes. The reliability and data mining features are great.

Cons

Much had to be spent to configure it for our company. The time also seemed excessive to implement fully.

Miriam J. Miriam J.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 24/1/2019

Dynamix Review

Microsoft Dynamics would have a much greater review if it was compatible with other browsers being the foundation of the product.

Pros

The system is easy to navigate. Very straight forward if you become familiar with "SO" and "PO" or "RMA" uses this is very easy.

Cons

Since this program is only able to run SUCCESSFULLY on Internet Explorer it is EXTREMELY slow. It makes it hard to be patient. Since most of my work was done through AX is became very frustrating having to inform the client that we couldn't help them AT THE MOMENT due to the software running on a slow server.

Muhammad K. Muhammad K.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 9/2/2018

AX Go Live Process and Maintenance Process

Pros

Although Software is no doubt is an excellent software but our our vendor who implemented is not properly trained on it.
Software has all the things combine in it that older Microsoft GP has in different applications. Like Financial, Inventory and Procurement and sourcing.

Cons

Microsoft should stop giving rights to these software companies that not properly trained. Software as compare to SAP have is little bit difficult manager.
SQL DB sizes grow too much.

Marriah G. Marriah G.
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
3.5

4
Reviewed on 15/8/2016

Robust system - easy to use

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics AX package is a robust ERP tool that enables management of all areas of the business. Although complex, the system is easy to understand and navigate. One of the most helpful functions is the capability to export any table from the system into Excel. Very handy for quick analysis.

Cons

Some bugs in the system that cause GL amounts to calculate incorrectly. This problem is very few and far between and may be caused by company-specific customizations.

Viquaruddin S. Viquaruddin S.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 1/3/2019

Customization

The best feature is that u can export all the data in excel it really help me to make sure all the information is accurate before converting then in to presentation. Iam using this software in many sections so far i haven't seen any big drawback.

Pros

Every company has different type of structure and policies. This software does exact role what a company is looking for.

Cons

When u link cost control it becomes a little complicated.

Siobhan F. Siobhan F.
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

Difficult to navigate

Pros

It's a great tool for in-house usage of products and customers and has many reporting capabilities and helps keep track of inventory which is great.

Cons

Can easily make changes to things if you dont know what you're doing
Requires training to understand the different capabilities

Joy R. Joy R.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 7/6/2017

Microsoft AX is a pretty robust ERP for small to medium sized business

Overall, it is a decent ERP system and gets the job done. I've only been working in it for 4 months and have picked up on everything fairly easily. The user roles and work flows enable various departments to stay connected.

Pros

Looks and feels like Microsoft Excel
Hierarchical structure is easy to follow
Easy to download information
Techgap is a great resource

Cons

Many of the set ups are not intuitive. You really need to have a separate test environment to constantly play in to be sure you understand how things will actually work.
In our environment, processing time is very slow.
Cannot be implemented without a partner. Which is costly

Dana M. Dana M.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/7/2017

Sturdy software

Pros

it does the basic functions of what we need. no unnecessary information or documentation needed.

Cons

would like to see more statistical data put out to analyze. Could be useful to optimize our profitability.

Michael W. Michael W.
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 21/9/2016

Dynamics AX

Pros

Owned by Microsoft. Much better market visibility and adoption.

Cons

Owned by Microsoft. Very complex to implement at times. Know your path.

Phil D. Phil D.
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2018

The mostly good and some bad

Pros

- Very flexible in meeting office and corporate requirements
- Strong update and maintenance support
- Easy on network connection speed requirements

Cons

- Not all OS Support you might want is available
- Printing formats and the flexibility of printing devices is lacking

Dennis S. Dennis S.
  • Industry: Farming
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

3.5
Reviewed on 20/9/2016

This product has been good for us so far but we still have a ways to go

Pros

An ERP that the vendor will likely stick with the product and keep it up to date

Cons

Problems finding a good implementation partner. The ability to use multiple implementation partners

65 reviews