Oracle Database Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Oracle Database

Oracle database services and products offer customers cost-optimized and high-performance versions of Oracle Database, the world's leading converged, multi-model database management system, as well as in-memory, NoSQL and MySQL...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Oracle Database Reviews

457 of 457 reviews
Sort by:
Solianny Antonieta
Solianny Antonieta
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

Develop, create, innovate a database quickly and efficiently is achieved with Oracle DataBase.

Oracle Database is a powerful, flexible and enriched tool with unparalleled coding for database creation at different scales.

Pros

There are many advantages of Oracle Database, I can say that its performance and use of resources for me is of a competent efficiency since it is a multiplatform system.

Its data dictionary is extensive giving extraordinary support to the programming language, thanks to the fact that 80% of Oracle's internal codes are the same as those established in the operating system platforms, which allows creating data and tables quickly and easily according to the needs you want to achieve in a company or organization.

The Forms, SQLFORMS are very simple and effective for the design of screens, the best of all is that, after defining the form you can work on it without generating codes, this at user level is very useful.

It can be used both for personal information and for large data stores.

is run in high and low range equipment, this is a great advantage.

As I said at the beginning there are many advantages of Oracle to create a reliable and secure database.

Cons

Just as it has a simple and adaptable interface, it's necessary to have a broad knowledge of programming and creation of tables to take advantage of the entire box of functionality that Oracle has. It's worth it.

Samuel
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/12/2022

World's best RDBMS database

Since I've been an Oracle DBA for about ten years, I greatly appreciate how well Oracle Database manages the deployment of the majority of the data for the company I work for. It also enables stable backup and storage of vast volumes of data and supports a number of programming languages. Oracle offers PL/SQL, a complicated but effective query language that is not simple. The world's most potent characteristics include data auditing, backup and recovery, data encryption, as well as the capability for data analysis. Companies that use Oracle databases pay for technical support services, which are provided by highly knowledgeable and competent Oracle professionals who are available 24/7. This implies that you will never be without a solution to a problem or an issue. Cost is by far Oracle database's largest drawback.

Pros

Oracle is the #1 reliable RDBMS database in the world. It is fast, reliable and secured. It is the gold standard in the database world. To scale how good is a database product, it will be placed in front of Oracle database and compare with it

Cons

1. Oracle is not Windows operating system friendly. It is usually built on Linux, which is not user friendly for most people. Anyone who wants to become an Oracle expert will take many years to become a senior level developer or administrator2. very expensive, not for personal usage

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Well, the choice between Oracle and SQL Server is typically made at the top levels of management. But in my opinion, Oracle is still preferable to Sql Server in the majority of situations.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 17/8/2018

Oracle Database - Daily Use

We use Oracle every day throughout our entire company. Customer database maintenance, ordering product, processing payments all happen through Oracle.

Pros

I like that this software is a workhorse and really is capable of everything. I also like that it is customizable to the needs of the company using it.

Cons

It really takes a lot of specific training and experience to get to know this system really well. There are a lot of little caveats and silly rules to follow to get things where they need to be. Once you learn the tricks of the trade it's no problem but it is not intuitive or user-friendly at all.

Top Oracle Database Alternatives

Microsoft Excel

Universal Data Access Components

Sami
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/12/2023

My experience using Oracle database

I worked on a project was about an e-commerce website.
The Customer told me that he wants his database on Oracle program.
the program was a bit difficult to use and needs practice to become easy.

Pros

Scalability, High Availability, Data Integrity and security.
It provides top-notch security and that is why the banking sector mostly uses Oracle as there is a back end database.

Cons

I had trouble installing the program on my laptop, as it is very complicated to install.
I had a lot of errors when I deleted it and reinstalled it, after much effort, contacting support, and watching videos on YouTube of how to completely remove it in order to install it again, and this took me a lot of time.

kalaiselvan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Oracle Database Review

Overall it is a good database for clients whose applications needs to handle the heavy load of data.

Pros

Oracle database supports PL/SQL which allows user to write complex queries in procedures/functions which relatively gives better performance.

Oracle database can be better equipped and scaled for heavy load applications.

we have lot of documentation in the internet for oracle database usage.

Oracle Drivers(API) are available for all the Programming languages which makes easy to connect database from the code.

It has reliable security configuration which makes database administrator life easier.

This is platform independent and can be installed in any OS(Windows, Linux ).

It supports CSV, Excel and Plain Text files for Uploading.

It also supports inbuilt AQ (Advanced queue) which can be used for event based applications.

Cons

Licensing cost is not greatly affordable for smaller size companies.

Query performance is slow for tables which has millions of rows unless you optimize(tune) the query.

Oracle Customer Service response is not that friendly.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Security Standard is quite impressive and it can handle maximum load of data from the applications.
Sebnem
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/3/2020

Best Database “Oracle”

I can say that it is the best database when I compare it with other databases.

Pros

To increase the performance, Oracle has some features as partitioning and compression. Also it secure the information with encryption technology.

Cons

Some features have additional license. So if you want to add additional features you pay more.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Database

Because of the Adabas old technology, we have to move the best one.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

It is the best database according to its features.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Review for Oracle Database

The overall experience with the Oracle Database was excellent.
I did my college semester project with it and my final year project has it in it too.

Pros

1. It did almost everything I wanted to did for my semester project and what it wasn't able to do was always added in the next update. A pleasant surprise.
2. PL/SQL was so difficult for me . But still the documentation made it easy.
3. It's core is a relational database, which is a mathematical model and makes it easier for people from science and mathematics background to understand and use.

Cons

1. Felt a bit overwhelming in the first few days of its use.
2. So many features and syntax are prone to be forgotten.
3. Expensive if you want to use a particular or minority of features.

Carlos Hugo Martin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/12/2021

Experience with Oracle Database

We have used it more for the implementation of highly transactional systems.

Pros

You can create a database in which you are controlling all aspects of it, allowing you to better manage the resources you have.

Cons

Database administration can become more complex than it should.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

The performance and control that Oracle offers.
Wesley
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 8/8/2019

Senior Software Developer - Creating Tables, Triggers and Views

I was having issues getting it to work with Entity Framework as far as retrieving meta data when the database entities were changed.

Pros

The DBMS has many features and they are very efficient.

Cons

The error messages seem a little vague at times and really don't describe the problem.

Majid
Majid
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/7/2019

The Best choice for Enterprises

It is the best choice if the size of data is too large and above 10 millions record of data.

Pros

What I liked most about this software is selecting tree structure data by just "Connect By" keyword. It provides the most flexibility which you can consider.

Cons

Oracle database best performance can be gained just by installing it on the Linux Distributions. If you install it on the Windows, performance will decrease and some times Listener Service will stop without any specific reason.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/8/2020

Best Enterprise database solution

I have more than 3 years of experience in database industry. In my experience , I can say Oracle database is the best enterprise grade database for any industry. As a service integration company, we always recommend clients to have Oracle databases in their environment. During my career, I have never seen a any data loss incident related to Oracle database. Oracle database has very larger community as well. So it was very easy to troubleshoot issues, even without paid vendor support

Pros

+ Enterprise features such as High availability, Concurrency, Disaster Recovery.
+ Comprehensive documentation from Oracle.
+ Best vendor support -paid
+ Best security features such as encryption, data masking , redaction and auditing
+ Maximum Availability architecture to provide best protection to our data
+ Performance monitoring capabilities

Cons

+ Enterprise licence are very costly.
+ Data Gurad licence sold separately.
+ Not easy to Install,configure and maintain, need high skilled resources.

Tina
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/2/2021

User Friendly and Has Cool Tools

Good experience overall. I like how easy it is to search for what I need from this database. This database is pretty convenient once you get used to it. Only problems I have are occasional slowness, but that might be a connection or table design thing.

Pros

It's easy to find all triggers, procs, views, and tables on the left side. There are also great tables like all_tables and all_source that make it easy to search our entire database for the proc or table I'm looking for. There's a super convenient button that changes the case of all code you highlight in the editor, so you can type in the case that's convenient for you and update everything with the button.

I also like that you can pin your query results so they don't go away if you re-run the query or run a different one on the same tab. Each set of query results can be named, so you can run, pin, and rename everything you need, and paste your results somewhere when everything is done running.

Cons

There are more slowness problems in this database than in sql server for large tables. I'm not sure if it's due to table design though. I have to be more careful how I write queries here since some of them can run for hours.

Sriram
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 8/6/2017

Nice tool

Pros

Perhaps the most well tested relational database for large installations. It can handle a huge amount of data and perform well under load
Reliability!!! Without a doubt, the Oracle database series (I think it's up to Oracle 12c now) is the `godfather' of commercial transaction and government RDBMS software. With it's different version releases, the software has been around close to 40 years!!! It's the originsl flagship product of the Oracle corporation.

Cons

It's expensive. So, if you don't need to support a lot of data and transactions per second you should seriously consider a cheaper option like MySQL or a nosql database like MongoDB.

Installation Time per individual instance!!! I've automated the whole thing from a fresh install of a Linux Operating system and it still takes at least ~3.5 hours to install it, although I've done it in as little as 2.5 hours, but it depends on where the package repository is, and how version control is being handle! (POINT THE MATTER IS, IT CAN TAKE VERY LONG TIME FOR MERE INSTALLATION) On Windows operating systems it can take up to 8 hours or more, your first time around!

Ghulam
Ghulam
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/6/2021

Oracle Database - A giant database engine

I experienced a powerful, reliable and stable database engines supporting PL/SQL for writing complex queries easily. However, it is a costly solution but the data security it offers is unmatchable.

Pros

The PL/SQL support makes writing complex queries easier. It is most stable data storage engine. It support huge databases very well. It is very reliable for data safety. It is also very well in database security management.

Cons

The high licensing cost makes it inaccessible to the most of its lovers. Modern programming languages are not well supported. It is difficult to learn for novice users.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server
Talha
Talha
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/10/2020

Oracle Database

its goods for textile sector.different madules data can be arranged at one data base which minimize the data arrange time.

Pros

Oracle database is best manager of the data, PL/SQL used to arrange data which makes possible to arrange data 100% accurate.Huge data can be manage through a simple click.its spread sheets have millions of rows and columns.we can extract spread sheet of oracle database toMS Excle through refreahable files.

Cons

PL/SQL is very senstive language and its resources persons are highly paid.secondly its license is much expensive.
We have to refresh exi file while entring any new data.

Maizy
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/7/2022

A Great Name in Databases

Overall, we've had really good success with Oracle Database. The database has been well crafted and maintained over the years, and is a robust and enterprise tool of great importance to us.

Pros

Oracle Database is a well-known professional-level database. It does it's job well, storing data, and having countless ways to query and access it's data. Updating, inserting, deleting are accompanied by every clause you could want to control your data. It's a robust database, and works seamlessly with most IDEs.

Cons

There are more than a few different "big player" databases in the market, other than Oracle, and they each often have their own spin of SQL commands. It's hard to keep the nuances straight, and thus there's a learning curb to getting the syntax correct. This is more an annoyance overall, and not specific to Oracle - just note, that it's different then MySQL.

Marko
Marko
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/7/2019

Probably most powerful database

The whole customer engineer dispatch system that my team use is linked with Oracle database and every work order goes through it. From the dispatch to opening new tasks, ordering parts, escalating to other teams and closing the work orders, everything is being stored in Oracle DB.
I also use it to pull data when I need to create reports for the customers or when I simply want to check the status of a specific work order.

Pros

As a Java programmer, for me personally, Oracle database is one of the most important platforms that I use. The overwhelming features of the platform, its history, scalabillity and the overall usability is almost breathtaking. Java and Oracle, connected with Hibernate are a really powerful triumvirate of technology.
As a user, I use oracle database every single day for dispatching customer engineers, managing the work orders, pulling data and creating reports.

Cons

So far I can only say good things about Oracle DB.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/11/2018

Oracle DataBase

Very good software, I have been using oracle for 5 years as a database administrator, it gives me security and integrity in the data, the manipulation of the data is safe and easy.
It is stable with the systems in which oracle has been implemented

Pros

Integrity and data security
Standardized the use of sql
It can be run on any operating system and on any machine from PC to high-tech servers
Allows database replication in a secure and consistent manner
Allows multiple databases (Instances) in the same server
The export and backup of the database is done according to the different needs of the user if it is a table excluding certain parameters, etc.
It can be monitored by application such as cloud control.
It allows to generate reports, statistics, multiple queries.

Cons

Incompatibility with previous versions at the time of restoration
High costs

Yoshiomi
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/8/2022

Large amounts of data can be managed efficiently.

Pros

It performed well and managed large amounts of data efficiently.

Cons

The update process is very complicated. It was necessary to review the procedure well in advance. Just running the installer is not enough to update.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Because there were many Oracle engineers
Vamsikrishna
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 9/5/2021

Oracle review

I have been using the oracle database since my carrier beginning. It was using to load the transactional data to oracle tables and making the business use cases to perform the improvements.

Pros

I have been working on the data warehouse projects using the oracle as warehouse database. It is easy to understand and loading into the oracle data base. We can create temp tables and backup tables on the fly for business calculations and remove after the data load into target tables.

I would recommend to use Oracle database to use for data warehouse projects.

Cons

I feel that if we can add fast export into files Like fast export and multi load processes. We do have this process in oracle using the bulk load too.

Jisu
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/7/2017

Best RDBMS in the market

Oracle RDBMS is a very vast topic, and it has been an adventure for me to explore its features and how it can be used to simplify the business needs of my customers.

Pros

The high availability features like RAC, the replication features like GoldenGate, the different reporting capabilities using views and DBA_ views, the manageability using Oracle Enterprise Manager, all these make it the most loved Database flavor among its customers. Other flavors of databases are dwarfed when compared to its functionality.

Cons

Oracle RDBMS gives too much importance to data consistency, and can sometimes look complex when trying to solve simple recovery issues. That is one reason why some customers are afraid to use this otherwise powerful software.

Madhusudan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/2/2023

High security, simple database operations, and advanced functionality

The database software Oracle is incredibly effective and high-performance. The best feature of Oracle is its connection feature, which makes it easy to connect the database to a project and save data from a project in the Oracle database. It also supports a variety of various platforms.

Pros

It's a fantastic database with a wealth of functionality that is optimised, and I am the one that utilised it for a few years before moving to the cloud. Because of Oracle's excellent support and ability to manage complicated IT applications, database operations are straightforward to do and data processing is quick.

Cons

As it's not an open-source database, we will always have to pay up front when putting a small-scale application into place. I experienced no further drawbacks, therefore if at all possible, utilise this.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/2/2023

Reliable DBMS and Data Warehouse Solution!!

Pros

1. Robust Data Backup and recovery Options is the major capability of Oracle2. Flexible to implement or host in both Cloud as well as in on premise.3. In Built Data Movement tools like Export and Import Data Pump, which help is secured Data copy4.Java Support is the key feature that differentiate this from other databases5. Operational Data Stores can be maintained and is so reliable6. Access controls are at a granular level and too secure

Cons

Complex Architecture, Average Customer Support , Price is expensive, not an easy DB for Begineers

Pratik
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2019

Enterprise level Secured RDBMS, with many constraints and features

Pros

Oracle still hold most of the market share for providing enterprise level RDBMS but there was a time
when everyone was using Oracle, I learnt about database by using syntax's written in oracle.
Easy to use, toad type tools will make your life easier, it will provide you easy graphical interface
to write sql codes. sometimes I feel oracle put lots of constraints in their database but that is because
you need to maintain a clean and organized database

Cons

length of procedures names has a limitation,
it needs to change ,sometimes i try to
write descriptive name and it will not allow me

Arturo
Arturo
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2022

A very reliable database

In my personal opinion, we ourselves have the possibility to mention that this is a great tool that has become quite useful in our organization because its technical support is also one of the best out there and it is quite useful for ourselves and that it is extremely reliable. , scalable and available.

Pros

What I love the most about this tool is that Oracle database is quite efficient and high performance database program. It is also compatible with various different platforms and the best thing about Oracle is the connectivity feature. Besides that we have the possibility to mention that it is also quite flexible and easy to use, which means that it is very useful for ourselves.

Cons

In my personal opinion, we ourselves have the possibility to mention that it is a great tool, in addition, that we have not found a failure in this instrument because we use the Oracle database in order to preserve the entire database of the company. company.

457 reviews