Matillion Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Matillion

Matillion is an extract, transform, load (ETL) solution for cloud data warehouses such as Amazon Redshift, Google BigQuery and Snowflake. The centralized platform enables users to automatically schedule orchestration jobs and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Matillion Reviews

111 of 111 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/6/2019

Best and very much compatible ETL for Redshift

Pros

1.)All the components and transfomrations availability
2.)Specially oriented for data ingestion process using all aws services like rds, s3, sns, redshift
3.)easy admin, ssl setup
4.)very easy diagromatical representation of jobs

Cons

the latest button change for "switch version"

Bruce
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 8/7/2019

Matillion - orchestrating complex ELT for analytics

Our business requires us to ingest large amounts of data from customers on a frequent basis. Once typical ELT has been performed, we create customized data stores which are used in a variety of ways including modeling, machine learning and a SaaS front end. Matillion has been instrumental in our ability to move this processing from file systems to Big Query where our performance has moved from days to hours.

Pros

- Provides great framework for visualizing complex queries with business users that are not SQL savvy
- Logical flow of Transformation builder allowed quick transformation from file based to database based ELT
- Just works! We have had very few issues with the tool over the 2 years I have been using it.

Cons

- Would like a more robust scheduler
- Would like built-in messaging (e.g. for job failures/success) to be able to email out. This is not provided in the version for Big Query that we are running on GCS.
- Better source code control (at the transformation/orchestration level, rather than the whole project)
- Always could use additional documentation in how to use some of the more complex parts of Matillion.

Marcus Vinícius
Marcus Vinícius
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 5/7/2019

Matillion Usability

I really like Matillion ETL but I was a bit disappointed with some of its limitations and quirks, like when Twitter updated his API all my jobs stopped working and the only thing I could do was develop everything again without using the Matillion component.

When I was trying to make upsert procedures on RDS Databases, I was thrilled that the Matillion component has that option, bit it simply didn't work. It seems like these functionalities haven't got the same attention of the others, I contacted the Matillion support which is simply great and these things are still going to be fixed.

When I wanted specific libraries of Python, I couldn't get it working on my instance because pip was out of date and it couldn't be updated. I tried to update and I messed up with my instance.

Overall, Matillion is great, when you're creating a flow of data migration and you need to parse the data before and do some automations, but there are some cases when you need something a little more specific, that's when it becomes a pain.

Pros

The ease to use, Matillion has a great set of tools that make complex and difficult process more simple and fast to develop.

Cons

There are many tools in Matillion that doesn't have enough attention and because of that these tools are fragile, while some of them do not work.

Top Matillion Alternatives

Microsoft SQL Server

Informatica MDM & 360

SSIS Data Flow Components

Ujwal
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 4/9/2023

A powerful tool to automate complex data processes

Pros

I use it on a daily basis when we process incoming client data of different types. It can be used to build extremely complex workflows to handle data. The automation done on the platform rarely broke and was really stable even during peak data transfer intervals.

Cons

The changes made to the workflows on the platform are saved automatically which can be tricky if you make a change by mistake. So whenever you click a wrong button or value, it will be saved unless you undo the changes made and when working with huge complex workflows it can be really time-consuming to find the source of the issue.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Agile Data Engineering

We use Matillion to produce highly curated datasets for customers. Matillion has allowed us to move this workload entirely into the data warehouse where the final work product lives, and cut processing time from days to hours.

Pros

Matillion allowed us to move a legacy ETL pipeline to BigQuery with speed, precision, and confidence. It is now used exclusively by our team for all of our ELT needs. The user interface is clean, intuitive, and allows members of the team to be immediately productive. Onboarding new users has never been easier.

Cons

Feature parity between the different flavors (Redshift, Snowflake, BigQuery) is lacking, however, Matillion continues to make progress in narrowing the gap.

Melisa
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

If you can write SQL, you don't need Matillion

Pros

Early on in the company, our non technical stakeholders could learn how to set up transformations on Matillion and build them up themselves. It is good to see the transformations visually.

Cons

If you can write SQL and schedule them using DBT, you should do that. Trying to set up the same transformation that you write in SQL in 15 minutes will take you 60 mins with Matillion because you have to think differently when using a click-click software like this.

Nels
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/6/2019

Matillion Review

Our experience with Matillion has been great. We've used to greatly improve and automate our data intake and transformation process.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of use of the tool. It is very simple and intuitive to build data pipelines using Matillion.

Cons

It's necessary to perform out own server maintenance to support the tool, which isn't too difficult, but can be a pain at times. If this were a hosted solution that would be easier.

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran and Stitch Labs

Reasons for Switching to Matillion

Price and ease of configuration and use
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Matillion Review

We're using Matillion for all the ETL in our environement: 3000 employees, around 500 BI users, around 30 different systems that we connected to. We were able to switch some existing jobs from Talend and create a whole lot more in just 6 minutes.

Pros

+ Fast & easy to use
+ Completely embedded into AWS environement
+ Comes light, it's not overloaded with stuff no one uses
+ Some really innovative features

Cons

- Sometimes feels like not "fully under control", e.g. when a component runs into an OutOfMemory, the whole environement crashes. And there are different ways to trigger that...
- Scheduling overview could be more sophisticated, it's kind of hard to have a proper overview there
- Variable handling seems sometimes to be a bit difficult, e.g. when setting it in one process, it's not always set in sub-jobs
- In some cases, one can see that Matillion is still "under development": Same features are available in some components, but are missing in others

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/6/2019

First class ETL for everyone

We've been able to concentrate all data sources in one place and do a proper transformation and normalization of data to feed the Visualization layer.

Pros

Easy to use for non-tech (engineers) users.

Cons

Lacks testing stage before production and more flexibility to sample data.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 19/6/2019

Is Great

Overall extract and load data strategies is very powerfull

Pros

Is easy and is real pay as you use, that is very important for latinoamerica business

Cons

That you can't write in other destinations

Francis
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Matillion is an Easy To Leverage (ETL) solution!

Pros

- Easy to orchestrate an ETL pipeline
- Integration with Redshift and other AWS services provides convenience
- Support team is easy to reach and have relatively quick response times
- They also support the other 2 popular cloud data warehouses, Snowflake and BigQuery
- Some components are available out to the box for easy integration
- Task history is useful for debugging and monitoring current state of ETL pipelines
- A GUI is provided for implementing complicated workflows, that can be easily followed

Cons

- Since it's mainly GUI based, it becomes difficult for data engineers to compare changes between old and new versions of an ETL.
- There are hard limitations for the number of concurrent users. This is part of the pricing model which is the reason.
- Integration with GIT is not yet available but we heard that it would be coming in the near future.

Vipul
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/9/2021

Vipul Chona - Matillion Review

Pros

ease of use! someone with little code knowledge can come in and understand what's going on, it's very easy to follow along and see the transformation step by step

Cons

API connectors could be better. Could be more available, and a little more ease of use (especially with the endpoint mapping)

Alternatives Considered

Fivetran
Oliver
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Fast track to results

Very helpful support which takes care of all our problems, especially with "stupid" beginner questions.

Pros

Very easy to use and very easy to get results. Fast implementation cycles compared to other tools. Best is to loop over variables which enables simple but powerful solutions.

Cons

Sometimes more flexibilty on specific tasks, e.g. Excel import or csv.

Dana
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Matillion is working great!

We are using Matillion to pull API JSON data from various systems and push that data into Snowflake. Matillion is working rock solid.

Pros

I don't have to babysit the software. Using automation and integration with AWS, I can get messages if there are issues with any orchestration jobs.

Cons

Getting the API pulls working was a little clunky, but it came together relatively quickly utilizing Matillion's support. Their support team is fantastic!

Ryan Allen
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/7/2019

Matillion for BigQuery - United HealthGroup Data Engineer Review

Very useful tool. If you're looking for a tool for your analytics data warehouse which is fast, convenient and easy to learn, then this is the tool for you

Pros

Its very easy to learn. The UI is great and easy to navigate. It utilized the ELT approach which makes the data integration fast. Security and access control is well implemented and there are a lot of components to use.

Cons

Its a one way ETL, I'm using the BigQuery product and all the destination are in BigQuery, it would also be nice if we can load data to the sources.

Chaitanya
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/6/2019

Simple and easy ELT

Very nice. Easy and simple tool. Yet a lot possible with python scripting feature.

Pros

Integration with GCP API calls and cloud storage.
Easy of access from anywhere.
Self documentation.
Customer service.
Automatic updates.

Cons

Failure capture process.
Any changes made not needing to be saved. Accidental changes are considered saved at click of the button.
No front end customisation available to distinguish between different environments. Having to use 3rd party add ons.

John
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

Powerful, useful, not the easiest thing I've ever learned

We are trying to automate as many of our recurring tasks as possible -- things like grabbing data from an API endpoint, manipulating it for our purposes, and updating our own databases for clients. Matillion lets us do a lot of that on a regular schedule and once it's set up, our humans are free to focus on things humans are better at. I found it clunky to use at first, non-intuitive. I did not find the online documentation to be very helpful, I never did find a video tutorial that spoke to my needs, and some of the terminology ("orchestration" and "transformation") I still find a bit opaque, and the division of different types of functions into the blue and green widgets doesn't always make sense to me. But I've managed to put together a fairly complex set of components that does most of what I want it to do, no small thanks to the support team, who are fantastically responsive and offer really good, specific advice within unreasonably short time periods. Their personalized attention is very much what enabled me to get going. I went from essentially hating using Matillion to really enjoying it over the course of a month or two. I'm sure I've only scratched the surface of what it can do but it's very clever and clearly quite powerful.

Pros

Its ability to automate repetitive tasks. Also, it has some quite useful built-in database functions that I wish MySQL had -- for example a search/replace function that can use regular expressions.

Cons

It's not very intuitive and not very easy to learn (although the support team is amazingly responsive and helpful).

Tobias
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

very good ETL Tool with some growing pains

it helped us a lot to build our Redshift Data Lake from the Scratch

Pros

very easy to use, fast and good Customer Support, many API Connectors out of the box, well integrated in AWS Infrastructure

Cons

some Problems regarding Out of Memory lags, sometimes it's better to write custom Code instead of using the Out of the Box API Connectors (faster and more stable)

Ellis
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

Very useful product

Pros

The features and ease of use are good. The transformations act as a documentation for the self because of the readability.

Cons

The customer service is very poor. When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely. It's not what we need from a tool

The paid training we took was also pretty basic

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/6/2019

Great ETL Tool for Business Users

Pros

Logic drag & drop of ETL steps makes the design and documentation of each ETL processes much simpler.

Cons

Getting it setup and connected to our data warehouse seemed to be unnecessarily complicated. Luckily tech support is great and helped my DevOps team throughout the process.

Alternatives Considered

Talend Data Fabric and Stitch Labs
Jagdish
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/6/2019

User friendly and Advance connectors

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

Pros

User interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool.
In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.

Cons

I don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.

Vishant
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 2/7/2019

Easy to use features

Pros

Inbuild features to integrate with AWS s3, send SNS messages.

Cons

Readability should be more, ease to retain changes or navigate to environment variables should improve.

Karan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/7/2019

Matillion Review - Excellent overall

Pros

Ease of Use and excellent support which makes this software likely to use in comparison to other ELT tools.

Cons

Does not compatibility with Genetics connector like VCF or BAM

Shivkumar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 14/6/2019

For AWS one of the best tool to go for

We are using Matillion to process real-time data

Pros

Ease of deployment
Migration
Multiple users
Pay as you go - cost saving

Cons

Software updates cause sometimes an error

Ravi
Ravi
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/8/2021

Very productive toolset

We are using it to do the extract load and transfer for our data warehouse

Pros

- Quick to start
- Consumption based model
- Works well with Snowflake

Cons

- Harder to find resources with skills
- Cost relatively higher

111 reviews