WorkflowMax Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About WorkflowMax

Workflow Max is a cloud-based workflow and job management solution designed to serve small to midsize service-based businesses. Along with key project management capabilities, the solution provides quote creation, timesheets, job...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.0

Browse WorkflowMax Reviews

120 of 120 reviews
Sort by:
Toni
Toni
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/7/2014

WorkflowMax is working for us

"WorkflowMax has been like someone turning the light on for our business.
We knew our old software wasn’t giving us the information we needed to know whether we had been profitable on each job. Manual costings were so labour intensive we didn't tend to do them very often.

Now at the touch of a button WorkflowMax gives us a profitability report on each job which is amazing. We share this information with our staff, who really take ownership of the job to ensure good profitability.
This and other reports in Xero help give us the information we need to make decisions within our business.

Forgive me if I am starting to sound a little bit evangelical, but the change to WorkflowMax really has had a dramatic impact on our business, and put us back in the driver’s seat, linking through to Xero and giving us all the information we need.

Guided patiently by the team at Equation we undertook a seamless transfer over to WorkflowMax and Xero. Bonnie was able to understand our business and how we needed Work Flow Max to work for us. She ensured we set up and customized WorkflowMax correctly to meet these needs. Not only is Peter May Ltd is a canvas fabrication but a marquee and event hire business. Bonnie has set WFM to cater to both sides of our business."

Pros

Good management of jobs, and costs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/5/2016

Our most recommended Workflow management app

In our role as cloud app integrators and implementation experts, WorkflowMax is an essential app in Link Solutions' toolkit. We recommend it over and above any other workflow management app, and use it daily within our own business.

The depth of features is significant and can be easily adapted to suit most business processes. The flow from lead management right through delivery and then to invoicing saves countless hours of administration and can deliver significant improvements to service delivery.

Being a Xero company, the integration with Xero is understandably robust and extensive, and other useful add-on integrations are available. For example, at Link, we use Zendesk to manage our support tickets, and we're able to track our time in Zendesk and have this flow through to WorkflowMax timesheets with associated notes for reporting and billing.

Put simply, we think WorkflowMax is a great system that offers exceptional value for money.

Pros

* Flexible and extensive feature set that can manage most business processes

* General ease of use - while there are some traps for beginners, these are understable given the depth of features available

* It's a Xero company, and benefits from the association in terms of a strong integration, customer support standards, and ongoing development

* Pricing is excellent and suits a range of businesses from small operators through to large enterprises

* Significant job and task templating abilities allow multiple activity streams to be systematised within one application

* Powerful reporting engine with the ability to extend with custom reports

Cons

* Retentions and variations can be difficult to manage for construction companies

* Inventory management is non-existent, which while understandable in a workflow management app does limit use for service-based firms that also provide product

* The mobile app could do with further extensions to the range of features available

* If you are looking for a fully featured CRM that you need to integrate with a email marketing system (like Mailchimp) you may need to use a standalone app

Yara
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 27/3/2022

Archaic and limited

As the title suggests, it's an archaic program. There was no real "flow" to anything you did within Workflow Max and although it integrated ok with Xero, even that was limited. The Gantt charts were terrible, you had to click on numerous things to get to where you wanted to go within a project, the custom reporting was a nightmare and the tasks and milestones were difficult to set up and super limited.

Pros

It was cheap and integrated ok with Xero

Cons

Not very user friendly, not very customizable, customer service was slow,

Top WorkflowMax Alternatives

Leaine
Leaine
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/7/2014

Timesavings for billing and quoting

At Jones Business Solutions we used WFM to move off MYOB Time Billing - conservative estimate that saved around 10-12 hours each month with invoicing. Even better now to have the Tax Practice - previously used an excel template for financials - the combination with WFM, Xero and Spotlight Workpapers is sensational for a small Tax Agency like us. WFM Support is prompt and helpful and we love WFM so much we now regularly implement and support other businesses wanting to get the max out of job costing and reporting. Have tested other similar systems and yet to see something that stands out for a comparable price.
We have used since 2011; we operate in a virtual office and users are both employees and contractors.

Pros

Timesavings for billing and quoting
Seamless integration with Xero
Tax practice version - auto synch with IRD
Good functionality with reporting
Brilliant for our virtual office

Cons

Work arounds needed for retentions - but to be fair not really designed for construction industry - but it can work
Not too much else that is a problem - especially for the price

Karen May
Karen May
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/11/2020

WorkflowMax is the best at tracking time and project costs

I was looking for a project management software that I can offer as a business solution to my small business clients and WorkflowMax is the clear winner. It has excellent functionalities at an affordable price and integrates with Xero very well. It is user friendly and their contact supports are also very helpful.

Pros

- Easy to use
- Affordable cost of entry
- Links well with Xero
- Real-time tracking of progress and budgets
- Owned by Xero

Cons

- Customizable reports are still limited and basic
- Lacks multi-line quotes itemization

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Switching to WorkflowMax

Integration with Xero
Kara
Kara
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 28/1/2019

Can't Trust the Document Management

Interface is ok, but takes several months to setup and get used to. Also managing tasks for employees for small business is based on larger, long-term projects rather than short design projects. I wouldn't recommend it for small design agencies.

Pros

Integration with Xero is really the biggest benefit... also their estimate-to-invoice system is pretty good.

Cons

You can't trust their document management system to appropriately save emails to the correct folders. It duplicates, stalls and, after a month of waiting for customer support, ended up loosing several months of emails, attachments, images and documents that were supposed to be saved to job folders. Very frustrating. When we asked customer service, they didn't know why and didn't offer a solution.

Richa
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 13/2/2024

Reasonable tool for a small - medium business

It was OK for until we grew over 50 staff, beyond that, it is hard to manage projects, staff and financials

Pros

Ease of use, simple reporting and easy ti manage time sheets

Cons

Limited features and tools available, reporting is not very effective and inclusive

Todd
Todd
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/3/2015

Organized task specification and time tracking

Catamaran Marketing is utilizing WFM to boost overall efficiency and smoothen administrative tasks that can easily be mismanaged by any entrepreneur running their own business. Its organized structure and multitude of customization options has enabled us to track time on tasks more accurately than ever before. All tasks are fine tuned - avoiding things that fall through the cracks, which in turn, eliminates so many of the technical headaches that business owners waste time and energy problem-solving. Not only has scheduling vastly improved our customer service to clients in estimated turnaround, but its enabled us to process many jobs more quickly than ever! WFM has been the lubrication to help run Catamaran Marketing like a well-oiled machine and I now have more time and energy to devote to scaling up my business.

Pros

We love the job templates. Our business model is to do many things for a select group of businesses. Some are small and some are large. WFM helps us clearly define each type of job and create a template for that.

Sarah
Sarah
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/6/2015

Seamless Workflow for On The Road Coaching

As a consultant travelling to my clients I find Workflowmax invaluable. i can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I soend on my clientrs and therefore what I shoudl be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make themonitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldnt be without it!

Pros

Ease of use and access
Reminders

Jeff
Jeff
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/3/2016

Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting

My team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off.

With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.

Pros

Great timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities

Cons

interface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.

Mackenzie
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 8/10/2018

Functionality & Reporting

Workflow max helps to solve the issue of effective invoicing of time worked on each client. Workflow max has also helped our firm when it comes to GST time - the way workflow max integrates with Xero makes filing GST returns with Inland Revenue very simple, and lets you easily keep track of GST returns and to make sure that all returns have been filed before the due date.

Pros

- Workflowmax has the ability to let the user create and design their own reports, which can come in very handy for workflow planning purposes. Saves staff all trying to navigate through a single spreadsheet!
- This is an effective program to record staff hours, which also allocates your time entries to the jobs you are working on, which helps when it comes time to bill clients.
- The tax alerts on the dashboard are a good way to double check tax returns after they have been assessed by IRD, which is a good reminder to check any returns that have been assessed as different as it raises a red flag and makes you look into it.

Cons

The custom reporting can be a bit hard to navigate around, especially for any newcomers to the system.

Kenneth Jhim
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/5/2020

Now Xero Practice Manager - the de facto project management software for your Xero client

Despite the interface being "crowded", the software is still good at what it does. It helps you manage clients well. If you have an accounting practice, especially in New Zealand, you will realize the benefits that it provides in terms of tax filing for your clients.

Pros

WorkflowMax (now XPM) provides most of the project management's functionality that you need in for your Xero client. From adding the client in Xero, assigning jobs to staff, budgeting hours, etc. It has all your needs.

Cons

The software's interface is a bit crowded. There's a lot going on at each screen. It really takes time to master the software. What I find also confusing is that you can add returns for individuals under the company account where they are owners or shareholders.

Nathan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 7/6/2017

Pretty good overall, but just didn't work for my business

Pros

I liked the overall workflow of the software, including the quoting/pricing modules. They were pretty flawless and helped me make sense of a pricing system on the fly. Also, there is the intergration with Xero, which is the platform I use for accounting.

Cons

I wasn't a fan of how WorflowMax's calendar system worked. I also wanted a task system with Kanban style layout, and that just isn't in there..

Nick
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 29/3/2022

10 year seasoned user.

We use it because we have to, not because we want to.

Pros

It has lots of features necessary to effectively manage workflow.

Cons

Clunky interface. Antiquated UI and UX does not measure up to current standards. Has not seen any major improvements in over a decade.

Ross
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/4/2018

You lose your running time on down times

Please develop a front end caching for the timer so it would save it for a couple of hours in the browser cache.

Pros

It's great for timing tasks and has a great customer support as well. Easy operation, you can turn it on and off with ease when there are sudden things that happen that needs you to stop your timer on tasks.

Cons

If the site goes down or has a problem when you save your current running timer, there is a high chance that you would lose that data so keep an eye on the numbers.

Kyle
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 22/3/2016

Streamlined job processes

Pros

Workflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time.

WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.

Cons

There are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Great integration, not that great when compared to others

Pros

In a previous role I help with the app integration, i think the features can be good and when used by an SME in an accounting space it fits really well. It's really good for project budgeting and it gives you insights into your business running.

Cons

I didn't find it to be the best and for the price it has there's other competitors doing a better job.

Jon
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 4/3/2022

New to WFM

Overall it has been ok but a steep learning curve for us

Pros

Tracking of costs for projects, purchasing and time writing

Cons

Lots of mouse clicks to get around, some terminology confusing for first time users but would have improved with training.

Doug
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 5/9/2017

For the money probably the best option out there for production and distribution.

Scheduling an organization for manufacturing. The quote process has been made easier and standardized. Ability to keep everything in one location.

Pros

Easy to navigate, fulfilled all of our needs for the company as far as manufacturing, scheduling, easy to assign two different employees four tasks. Integrates with our current CRM. For the price I believe it's the best quoting software and Manufacturing distribution and organization software out there.

Cons

Not easily customizable. Very time-consuming to set up. And customer service was below average. The video tutorials don't go into depth as far as instructing on customizable features example importing and using customizable quotes.

Andrew
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 4/3/2019

Poor Service

Average

Pros

Nothing Particularly excites me about this software

Cons

The support is terrible, reports are clunky at times and you need to pay extra to unlock half decent reports

Carl
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/5/2016

Very cost effective job management product

We have implemented and support WorkflowMax for multiple clients across different industries both large and small.
It is an extremely cost effective product for all of the features you get to manage jobs and have all staff entering time sheets and disbursements.
We routinely set up custom templates for quotes, invoices etc for clients bringing on their own branding which works really well and is simple to use.
The reporting is great with the ability to customise your own and add extra fields throughout the system, the reporting is however limited when compared to more advanced systems such as SQL based systems as WFM does not allow you to set up your own data containers or queries to get all of the information you sometimes need on a single report.

All in all an extremely good, cost effective solution that integrates well with Xero and all of our clients are always happy with the solution.

Luke
Luke
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/8/2015

Bitter Sweet

We've been using WFM for as long as I can remember and it's come a long way. It has many small features you would not think of till you need them, its fantastic in that way. But lacks in usability, project time management and planning.

Pros

Pricing flexibility by client or team member. Good Xero intergration.

Cons

No planning tools. Like a simple gantt chart to plan out a day or week for team members.

Loreto
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/7/2018

Excellent Software!

Pros

Aside from it is very easy to use, what I like about this software is the accuracy of its report. The software has excellent functionalities, we like that we can estimate the project cost so easily.

Cons

So far I do not see any major concerns. I just lost my data when we had down internet connection, but not a big deal!!! So far the software is good.!

Jillian
Jillian
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2015

Outstanding Workflowmax!

I am a director of a PR firm which has a range of financial and rural company clients. I have almost been with Workflowmax from its formation - before Xero acquired the business! Workflowmax is a very easy product to use and has continued to innovate and add more features with ease. Despite being part of a big company it still operates like a small one - whenever you email them to ask a question they respond right away. I would highly recommend any PR consultancy or consultancy based business to consider using Workflowmax.

Pros

Workflowmax is very easy to use. Their helpdesk is awesome, and always friendly. The layout of the invoices is really clean and tidy.

Cons

There are none with this product.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/2/2019

Tasking time on projects made easy

Pros

WorkflowMax is very easy to use. You can add projects, devote tasks/time to your work, and easily gather reports. If you have a small business and you aren't wanting to pay money for a robust set of software than WorkflowMax is a very good option. You can produce invoices in a matter of a couple minutes.

Cons

If you want a more robust method of tracking time than the competitors may be where you'll want to start looking. You aren't looking at integrating your passwords, links, and documentation with this software. This is essentially maximizing the time allocated for a project and billing a client. Our corporation needed a much more diverse network, so we went with a competitor.

120 reviews