User Reviews Overview

About NCR Aloha

Aloha POS (point of sale) is a cloud-enabled solution designed for various types of businesses in the restaurant industry that include casual dining, quick service, fast-casual, and fine dining restaurants. The Aloha POS system...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.2

Browse NCR Aloha Reviews

77 of 77 reviews
Sort by:
Scott
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/11/2020

Easy Choice

I've had great experiences with Aloha over the years. Customer support knows when to escalate issues and generally the response times are quick. The software is easy to learn for FOH and back office manager functions are intuitive.

Pros

Aloha has the capability to handle any concept protype in development then seamlessly transition into multi-units. Reporting structure is best in class with unit level metrics remaining a priority.

Cons

NCR Aloha is one of the pricier options which should really only be utilized with multi units. It's too robust and complicated for the average mom and pop place.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale, TouchBistro and Revel Systems

Reasons for Switching to NCR Aloha

Scalability, fiduciary confidence, security.
Andrew
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2020

My Review

Overall, it's been a mixed experience. Our local retailer got bought out by NCR and that's been a difficult process because the level of personal support changed for the worse. One of our largest deployments was delayed by six months+ because they couldn't supply us with hardware! Yes, NCR could not supply the stuff they manufacture. But again, that's not a software issue. Specifically software, it's been a good experience.

Pros

Device compatibility across windows workstations. Ease of end user use and ease of basic programming.

Cons

The worst part for us is the lack of the ability to push out changes to terminals without doing a complete system refresh and taking the entire FOH down for > 3 minutes. Often we'll notice a price or an item issue during business hours and have to take the whole FOH down just to update a modifier or something of the like. Also, there's no compatible tablets that work with chip and pin to line bust and run faster drive thru service. That's more of a hardware issue for sure, but it's a real sour note for us. Additionally the IBER process seems to be pretty fragile when using third party services like omnivore and even above store reporting suites. We'll have an IBER crash at least once a week during a busy shift.

Julia
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 7/6/2017

15+ years experience using Aloha POS

Aloha used to be more an industry standard but they are falling behind the times due to outdated software and ease of integration.

Pros

Ease of usability for Front of house
Reliable
Industry Standard/ Familiarity
Good customer service if you pay for that service

Cons

Outdated software
Limited additional software upgrades
Lack of reporting options/ We use secondary program to generate reports (CTUIT)

Top NCR Aloha Alternatives

Mad Mobile Restaurant POS

Square Point of Sale

Don
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Aloha Review

Aloha has worked really well for our restaurants. It is a workhorse. Could be a little better with 3rd party integrations.

Pros

Works well in the restaurant and is easy to train staff on how to use

Cons

Menu management is a little cumbersome until you get used to it.

Greg
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/11/2020

NCR Aloha

Our overall experience with NCR has been great. The product, while it may be on the higher side of pricing, is well worth what you pay for. You just have to utilize it properly.

Pros

We started out with multiple POS systems across our properties, NCR was the easiest to use and most user friendly for FOH and BOH staff. It is easy to train on and easy to deploy once you have multiple locations. We have tried many other POS providers out there and NCR has always been responsive and quick to solve any issues or answer any questions that may come up.

Cons

Built in reporting lacks compared to other providers, their online reporting tool is good but still has a ways to go when compared to Avero. The initial roll-out of connected payments was needed by us and I wish we would have not went with the Verifone pin pad product they offered at the time. They quite often break down and are buggy.

Andrew
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2020

Great back office product

Absolutely great across the board

Pros

All aspects of back office management is well integrated into one platform.

Cons

Sometimes has long lags in between screens.

Trishna
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/6/2022

Great way to streamline operations

Pros

Love that I can manage various aspects of my business-from point of sale, to inventory, and everything in between- via a single platform

Cons

It does take a little time to get used to all of the different features, and I find it takes a little too much effort to edit/change menu items from the back end

Jenica
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/9/2018

Just ok.

The system could have changed since I used it but I didn’t exactly love it where I am primary English.

Pros

It had a lot of different features. Many options for different reports(ie tax and sales) and customer information.

Cons

Once I learned the system it was easy but there was so many steps to get from point A to point B sometimes. Also I used this software at an old workplace and it was all in French. Although it had an English option not everything translated and some of the things that did simply didn’t make sense.

Chris
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/12/2017

Horrible System and even Worse Customer Service!

Cons

I wish I could give them a "0," because this is the absolute worst company I have ever done business with... They do not return phone calls or emails, routinely overcharge my account, deduct money without warning for chargebacks that I have no knowledge of or have received no paperwork regarding. I never know who to call for what because the company is so large and they source everything to different departments. I cannot express enough how much displeasure, frustration, and anger doing business with this company has caused me. I have reached my limit and will be switching our POS system as well as processing away from Aloha and NCR. DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID.... AVOID THIS COMPANY!

Gabriel
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 15/12/2019

Needs a major overhaul

Aloha has potential but overall all is cumbersome to use and not efficient.

Pros

Aloha has features that make it easy to adjust pricing and add menu items to tickets. It’s is simple to split checks and take multiple payment methods for an order.

Cons

It is complicated to customize an order of the presets for an item are not programmed in. Deleting or voiding items is not simple and you cannot easily combine tickets. The sales ring in through aloha do not always show up in the main accounting software used by our company.

Robert
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/5/2018

Best POS enterprise on market

Have used over 4 different POS enterprises. Aloha and NCR is best service and options no questions asked

Pros

Have used full service, QSR, and mobile pos products and always have been satisfied. Hosted services are a huge plus. Customer support is always painless and quick to produce a solution.

Cons

A little pricey but worth paying. If app is implemented it is based off POS database making some changes to the app not feasible

Raleigh
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 8/6/2017

Aloha POS

Pros

Aloha is amazing if you know how to work it.... You can run everything through it, reports, inventory, sales. It tracks what the employees are entering and who is voiding out tickets.

Cons

You have to take a class in order to really understand the full potential Aloha offers. We have used the system for 4 years and i am still having trouble figuring out each function.

Richard
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2017

Aloha POS

Pros

I like the ease of use. Even a brand new employee of a company can jump right in and use this intuitive software. Also you can use it as an in house system or could based.

Cons

Setting up in house can be more confusing if a restaraunt or store is doing it themselves. Takes a little bit of tech knowledge to setup.

Sean
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 8/8/2017

Good customer service, quick reslove.

Pros

Easy to use at POS. Easy to train someone on. Easy to program new products, prices or menu's on. Quick speed.

Cons

When downloaded new version, lost most of old stuff. Sometime when calling for support we get someone that really doesn't seem to know what their doing.

Katherine
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

User Friendly

Pros

User friendly at the restaurant level. At the programming level, Aloha has added new options with each upgrade that make programming easy.

Cons

Some functions do not work even with the support companies assistance such as Movies at clock in. I understand there are companies that have been able to make the movies work, but those are larger companies with an IT department.

With the 12.3 release I am unable to drop in data bases to the file server. This function was removed when they moved to a sequel server setup. This has greatly complicated the programming function at multiple locations without paying more money for another service.

Timea
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 4/6/2018

Not bad, could be better

It's not bad, but make sure that you have clear plans for implementation if you are a start up.

Pros

Easy to use, most of our employees used it before, we didn't have spend time on training them, it can be customized to meet your needs

Cons

With all the customizing it's easy to make mistakes. One field can interfere with the other. It's a nightmare to get it integrated with our payroll.

krista
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/4/2017

User Friendly and Quick to Learn

Pros

Of all of the systems I've used in restaurants, Aloha is by far the most easily learned and widely used. Employees with food service experience are likely already familiar with the interface. Changing items in the menu is a breeze.

Cons

I wouldn't say it's the prettiest system, I am not sure if there are newer versions with a nicer looking interface, though. I wouldn't suggest having this screen facing customers (which I often see in restaurants) because of this.

Julius
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/7/2019

Aloha is simple and reliable

With Aloha POS we are able to receive high number of payments during our conferences with ease using various payment methods as opposed to the past when the process was slow and ineffective.

Pros

It is easily customisable to fit different industries we used it to accept conference payments while other people use it majorly for restaurants, it's affordable, works in almost all operating systems but not my Chromebook but works online so I have nothing to worry about, the design is user friendly.

Cons

Learning how to use all the features effectively was a task but after I understood it I enjoyed it.

Tanner
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2.5

4.5
Reviewed on 11/4/2016

Very user friendly and customizable

Pros

Honestly it helps managing the big picture of the restaurant using your sales, labor and sales mix to control your shift.

Cons

Sometimes support takes a while to get back to you.

Hannah
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/7/2019

Worth the expense

Pros

Data tracking, ease of use, quick system updates

Cons

None other than it needs a big computer system to run on

Jamie
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/9/2017

Preferred POS software

Pros

I always found Aloha very user-friendly. It is easy to navigate and customize to your company's needs.

Audrey
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 31/3/2018

One of the best restaurant POS systems out there

Overall a rounded score of a solid A!

Pros

A restaurant POS system powerful enough to run an entire restaurant on. Aloha is definitely an easy-to-use software. The core features are designed specifically for restaurant success.

Cons

The cost is really the only cons that I could say for the software, however, with that said, you get what you pay for.

Kathy
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/12/2016

Aloha review

Aloha is highly functional and easy to learn POS system. It is in my opinion after working with others the best on the market. It sometimes has issues but most people in the customer service department fix them promptly. I wish many of the cool features were not all additional costs. It seems most things we want to do sometimes mean we pay extra. Even simply labor tracking.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/1/2019

Too expensive

Would be nice to have a unit that is accessible to smaller scale restaurants.

Pros

It seems like a solid system which would be durable and good through wear and tear. Can have multiple units in one restaurant as well.

Cons

This product is for too expensive for a small company to use. I made a call to
The company and We couldn’t afford to use it.

John
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 24/10/2017

Outrageous customer service

This company sells inferior products as new them rip you off when you need to replace

Cons

The staff that supplied it, rude , unhelpful, always out to rip you off. No service support unless you pay ridiculous fees

77 reviews