User Reviews Overview

About Google Classroom

Google Classroom is a cloud-based learning management system that is a part of Google Apps for Education. It is suitable for academic institutions only. Google Classroom enable students to access the platform from computers,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.4

Browse Google Classroom Reviews

2,217 of 2,216 reviews
Sort by:
Avash
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/11/2021

Simple and Easy solution for Online Teaching/Learning

After the pandemic, most schools have started teaching online. As our company has some schools as clients - we have suggested Google Classroom as one part of online schooling. It's not a complete Learning Management System (LMS) but is a powerful and easy-to-use tool that makes the online teaching and learning process easier. I highly recommend Google Classroom to anyone looking for a simple application to make the online teaching-learning process easier but one shouldn't expect it to cater to all needs.

Pros

The best thing about Google Classroom is that it's free. Another great thing about Google Classroom is that it belongs and so is connected to Google Ecosystem thus making sharing documents or classroom slides easy through Google Docs and Google Slides etc. We can also import files directly from Google Drive. Another good thing about Google Classroom is that it's accessible from any device - iPhone, Android, Laptops - Anything as its website is responsive and fits easily in any display size. Also due to its simple and intuitive User Interface (UI) - it's easy to start using it even if one doesn't have a tech background. I also like that announcements, homework reminders, etc are emailed to students automatically.

Cons

The only thing I don't like much about Google Classroom is its completeness. Google has created many software which are exceptional at what they do and offers all features that one might need while using its software. But that's not the case with Google Classroom as its not a complete Learning Management System (LMS) like Blackboard. Google Classroom is usable on any kind of device however, I have found that some features aren't available in the mobile application (Android) but that's okay as its the same with almost all softwares

Alternatives Considered

Blackboard Learn

Reasons for Switching to Google Classroom

Google Classroom is free and some teachers were already familiar with Google Classroom.
Kevin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/7/2020

A great online classroom

I have to say that I am impressed with the Google classroom and what its able to do. With the current state of everyone being home online classrooms became a must have. While I did have access to more advance CMS that are structured for an education being pressed for time I chose to use Google Classroom. I now have about three classes online with a total of 50 students and I can say that Google classroom helps a lot with the day to day tasks when it came to teaching and providing assignments. Student we able to join and with some minor issues they were also able to upload their work. The great thing is that its accessible on both PC and Mobile so it can cater to more students.

Pros

The interface is sleek as with most Google designs. The lay out is simple and you can easily find everything you need to set up your classroom. Since I had three separate classes, I was able to configure each separately adding students via the provided invite code that can be generated by the classroom. Work and assignments can be easily structured for use by students and I love how Google gives you a dedicated Google Drive for storing uploaded classroom content. This accommodates all types of documents and media. There is also integration with YouTube which means students can watch videos from the classroom. I can give assignments and students can also upload their projects. As a basic educational tool Google Classroom is great.

Cons

The biggest downside is that it is too basic and lacks some extra features or some of the features implemented are limited. Maybe this is part of Google concept where all services are separated into apps in their G-Suite, but it can be annoying having a conference call with students, then switching to the classroom, then having to switch to the whiteboard. If all these services where integrated, it would make life a lot better. Also, there a few features that you will have to search online for instructions. Student notifications only work when new content is added. It you correct errors or made upgrades you will need to manually alert your students.

Allison
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

User-friendly for faculty and students

Pros

Google Classroom is very user-friendly and easy to use. The organization of it is straightforward and has the ability to divide your course efficiently. The quizzes/assignments are also very user-friendly.

Cons

Some features that are missing are the ability to make individual timed assessments per student

Top Google Classroom Alternatives

Lynn
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Like Google Docs but for the Classroom

Overall at 4.5 out of 5 product that can be used by young and old to improve learning in the classroom.

Pros

Its was if use for k-12 students is something that really benefits the classroom and remote learning capablilites.

Cons

This could be eased into use for younger kids, its not easy for all kids to use and should be a bit more simple for them and also have more available for teachers as well.

Karlene
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 3/11/2022

Useful tool for information sharing to connect teachers and students.

I find Classroom useful in that it can house a great deal of information and partially sort it. What is not pleasant is figuring out what is due. If the assignment is done in class or on paper then it can manifest as incomplete. There could also be better deadline dennotations.Finally - does EVERY post have to copy over to an inbox email? It's information overload.

Pros

I can see what is see is being taught, the scope of the subject and the tools being used to teach the concepts. It is also good to see how other students communicate any questions they may have.

Cons

It would be helpful to be able to bookmark/ sort/prioritize/flag assigments. When posts are being created the teacher might benefit from a choice of subject line or the ability to build a bank of subjects like: Extra Work/Online Students Only /Test Alert/Required Reading etc.Lastly - the teacher might benefit from being able to communicate the post as Personal Project vs. Finish at Home vs. In-class Assignment vs. Group Work etc.

Callie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Google Classroom for Middle School ELA

Pros

Google Classroom is a simple way for teachers to share information with students and parents. It can be used with a separate LMS or gradebook/attendance system. My district uses both Google Classroom and PowerSchool. Students and parents can access Google Classroom outside of school using the app. It is easy to learn and implement in the classroom.

Cons

Google Classroom gives parent access to student work. This is helpful, however, at the middle school level, parents require more access to assignments and materials. The current parent view only allows parents to see a summary of reports from each class. Parents should share the student view so that they can access all information.

Amit
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Affordable and One of the Best Alternative

Google Classroom also offers a range of additional tools and resources, such as creating and grading quizzes, creating and sharing class materials, and tracking student progress. Overall, Google Classroom is a helpful tool for teachers and students looking for a simple and effective way to manage and organize their educational materials and communication.

Pros

Google Classroom is a free and easy-to-use platform. It integrates with other Google tools, such as Google Drive, making it easy to access and share documents and other materials. It allows teachers to create and grade quizzes, track student progress, and effortlessly provide feedback. It is easily scalable and can reach up to the whole organization.

Cons

I didn't find any cons in the software. But found some technical issues or glitches that can disrupt the learning experience. And it is not been done on a regular basis. So, it is OK for me.

Tim
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

GC changed the way in which I teach after 3d years!

Being able to support my colleagues and students remotely during the most challenging time in my teaching career.

Pros

Online and remote learning was forced on us during Covid, we had to learn how to do something in a different way with little or no training. After a few issues due to lack of experience we managed to successfully use the software to teach lessons, have meetings and communicate remotely with our students parents and colleagues.

Cons

Make it easier to manage work created but students. Have an intuitive file management system and way of organising them.

Martinus Ignorence
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Google Classroom appropriate training

Google Classroom is one of the most proficient and basic ways of taking learning on the web for both in-class and remote research. It's free, utilizes the Google environment of apparatuses like Docs and Slides for simple materials sharing, and improves on understudy work assessment.

Pros

Google Classroom is really simple to access and works across - full breath - iOS, Android, Windows, Macintosh, Chrome, and basically whatever other gadget that can get a program window running inside it. For a developing number of K-12 understudies previously utilizing Chromebooks, this framework is impeccably fit to their equipment and how they're accustomed to getting it done.

Cons

Parent correspondences are meager; no guidelines based on evaluating choices.

Tina
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/12/2022

Google classroom review

Overall I have great experience with google classroom. I love using it and discovering new features with it. Students seem to know how to use it immediately so that also improves out productivity and efficiency

Pros

I like this software a is very easy to use for everyone from younger kids to older adults. It is very intuitive to use while also being priced at a good point

Cons

I think this software could be more secure and have better trainings for organizers of the classes

Alicia
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/4/2020

Diverse use for students

It has been a very positive experience despite the glitches. Every year, Google improves Google Classroom.

Pros

It is very effective in creating differentiated instructions for students. You can assign different students different activities, thereby providing for all levels of learners in a classroom.

Cons

There is not enough variety of images in the forum option. Sometimes there are glitches in the system and the notification does not always pop up when students complete assignments.

Alternatives Considered

Zoom Meetings

Reasons for Choosing Google Classroom

It is easier to purchase a domain from Google. Microsoft Teams restricts its users to have account associated with the company.

Switched From

Microsoft Teams

Reasons for Switching to Google Classroom

It has other options besides Classroom. Google Meet and Google Hangouts are also very useful.
Aniket
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/2/2022

Google Classroom: The Modern Virtual Classroom

I have used Google Classroom both as a student and as a teaching assistant. The features I thought that lacked as a student, were in-fact present beforehand which the teachers were forgetting to do, such as properly labelling posts/assignments, and arranging every student's grade in the application in itself. This basically implies that there is a learning curve to the application and is not as straightforward, which is due to the multitude of features present in the application.

Pros

Classroom makes it easy for teachers to create their classrooms and manage students in it. Counter-intuitively, it is extremely easy for students to register into their preferred classrooms. The administrators can add multiple teachers (teaching assistants) to help the main teacher help with managing the classroom. One can also sync the Classroom with a lot of apps from the Google Suite, such as Google Docs, Sheets, Slides and Meet.

Cons

Google Classroom currently lacks a search bar to search for appropriate post/assignment. This makes it difficult to search through the timeline for a post, unless it is appropriately labelled, which is usually forgotten by the teacher/instructor.

Mark A.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/3/2020

Google Classroom is still a classroom

Our overall experience with Google classroom is favorable. We have used it in conjunction with our 1:1 technology initiative with student issued Chromebooks. We have no plans to switch products at this time

Pros

-Ease in disseminating information and assigning work to students.
-Accountability for each student as student work can be easily monitored.
-seamless interface with google drive and G-suite
-Ability to communicate with students.
-Students communicate and collaborate with others

Cons

-Upgrades are not announced, so what you have done one day might be different the next in terms of using the classroom. I would just like to know when an upgrade is occurring or has occurred rather than being surprised and having to figure it out.
-Settings are hard to switch. You have to go to settings and then to advanced settings. Still when you have changed your setting you aren't sure you have done it...there is no way to verify other then monitoring your classroom...or asking the students face to face in real life.
-Settings changes are not global. So you have to go into every individual classroom to change settings. That can be quite tedious after a while.

Lena
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/2/2022

Google Classroom is a Must Have

Google classroom is a must have software especially during times of illness. It allows us to have full communication with our team and class from anywhere at anytime. So my child can learn from her bedroom live with her class, and be able to see the teachers screen as they are learning. I am able to share training with my team and have them interact on their end while communicating with each other. I am also able to live broadcast to our clients. This gives them peace of mind and offers a professional atmosphere for everyone. I highly recommend this software if you need to teach/learn or meet with a team of people without a physical meeting space.

Pros

I like the ability to meet and collaborate anywhere, anytime, and on almost any platform. It has all the functionality and features needed to learn and share information easily with live interaction.

Cons

Like most Google software, it doesn’t have many flaws.

Alternatives Considered

Workplace from Meta and Zoom Meetings

Reasons for Choosing Google Classroom

Google offers more features and accessibility

Switched From

Zoom Meetings

Reasons for Switching to Google Classroom

Google is most cost effective and has the best functionality.
Merriel
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 5/3/2022

Teacher review

Overall Google classroom has helped me and my team, and I will continue to recommend to others.

Pros

I love that it helps me to communicate in real-time with my students, especially throughout the pandemic, this app is a lifesaver and a life-changer for everyone.
Everyone in my country uses this app and will continue to use it.

Cons

Virtual learning can be challenging but due to this app my school were able to communicate with each other effectively, I did not have any issues with this app so I am just looking forward to any added features.

Cyrel
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/7/2022

A Review about Google Classroom

To wrap up everything, this software is not perfect but it is the best so far. I really like the user interface and the simplicity. I would love to continue using google classroom and recommend this software to my colleagues.

Pros

The best thing in this software is it has a very clean user interface and it is very easy to use. The google classroom also has a mobile application which makes it more accessible for the user anytime and anywhere they want. I also appreciate that google classroom is compatible with pretty much all devices that have a browser window such as Android, Windows, Chrome and of course iOS.

Cons

There are only few things that I don't like such as the capacity of the submission box for the assignment, it is quite not suitable for large files. It also lacks features for active interaction.

Kyle
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 9/9/2020

Save Paper With Google Classroom

Google Classroom is an amazing modern tool for all teachers. Its interface allows for easier communication with student and teachers and more convenient school and homework. As a middle school and high school student, I really appreciated having access to these tools that didn't exist a couple of years before then. And with the following years, I hope to see more features added to Google Classroom.

Pros

Google Classroom has been a stable feature of my middle school and high school career. Almost every teacher in the school used Google Classroom as a way to make it easier for us students to turn in assignments and for us to transition into a newer more convenient way to get school and homework done. What I really like about Google Classroom is its simplicity. In conjunction with Google Docs, Slides, Sheets, etc. Google Classroom really shines as a substitute to standard turn-in baskets using paper. It's the ultimate tool for teachers and students because all of it costs no money. The only thing required is a Google Account which is just as easy to set up as a Google Classroom. Being able to turn in assignments whenever via the internet is a huge benefit for students because it makes it so they don't have to sort through their binders to look for a paper they may have forgotten at home. All of your files can be stored in your Google Account which can be accessed by almost every device and therefore there is less stress when turning in assignments. Google Classroom is a strong option for most teachers of any grade and its ability to make work less of a hassle is in my opinion makes it one of the best tools for school.

Cons

Like most of the Google softwares, Classroom does not need much to improve upon. I suppose Google could add a dark mode if they haven't already. I haven't used Google Classroom on my phone but if they don't have this feature, they should add notifications for when your assignment is about to be due. Personally I don't have any issues with Google Classroom except its design. I feel like it could change it slightly however this is not really something that Google needs to worry about. One thing I would like to add would be an easier way to connect with Google Docs, Slides, and Sheets. For example, when I finish writing an essay in Google Docs there should be a classroom button that allows me to turn it in without having to manually go to the Google Classroom website and turn it in there. These are just suggestions but Google has made a strong application that has little to improve upon and is fine the way it is.

Gustavo
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/5/2020

Your best companion during your studies

Google Classroom has become an essential part of my graduation. The ease and speed with which teachers can post assignments, reading materials and classes, in addition to the interaction between students and teachers, make Google Classroom a great ally of our studies, and its relevance is even more evident in these times of social detachment and quarantine.

Pros

With Google Classroom, teachers are able to easily offer their students new study strategies and track each student’s progress in detail. In just a few steps it is possible to send reading materials, recorded lessons and assignments to all students that can be completed through Google Forms. The students' answers can be easily accessed and also easily transformed into data capable of showing the performance of the room and the questions that offered the greatest difficulty. For students, this teaching platform allows quick interaction with teachers and classmates, who can post comments and questions publicly or privately, in addition to being able to receive individualized feedback from teachers.

Cons

Even with all its qualities, Google Classroom has some technical flaws that do not make any of its features unfeasible, but that can make them less intuitive. Viewing videos posted by teachers depends on integration with the Google Drive platform, and this communication may be flawed on mobile devices. It is common for the video preview to close when Google Drive is started automatically, and it is necessary to reselect the video in Google Classroom to start it in Google Drive. Another, less common but equally frustrating flaw is the lack of notification for some tasks that are approaching the deadline.

Robert
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/10/2021

Nothing to fear or worry about Google Class. It was made for you.

I have that Google Classroom has saved many schools from giving up learning especially during the Covid 19 pandemic. The fact that I can have my lessons last as long as I want and have all these tools and options and ensure learning continued even schools closed. I have enjoyed using the facility and continue to use it for all my online classes because it is very easy to use and adapt to.

Pros

For starters, there is hardly a learning curve here. The software is easy to use and the transitions from one part to another are seamless. Furthermore, I believe you grow with the software so the more you use it, the more you discover and find things that work better for you. One of the features I use most is the one of "reusing posts" even from archived classes.
The other feature I like is the ability to create topics and populate that with material and assignments and supporting links, videos and other material.

Cons

The only thing I struggled with is in the recording option not being able to pause the recording. I would like to pause the recording for example when I am not explaining and looking at the students work and then continuing when that is done so we do not have videos of blanks spaces.

Ana Regina
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 1/4/2022

Easy online class software

Really good software to give and watch classes, user-friendly, and integrates with other tools such as calendar and google drive, making it even easier to use.

Pros

I started to use this software during the pandemic to teach classes online. It is easy and user-friendly for all people that use it, doesn't matter their age. It helps you to have a track the assignments, exams, and finals through the calendar which is automatically shared with all users present in that classroom. We can say the same about the class material, which is easily shared with all participants through google drive. Everything is done and shared easily, not only by the teacher but also by the students.

Cons

I think that it would be good for students and teachers if the assignments, grades, and due dates on the calendar could be shared with parents. Some students struggled during the pandemic because they didn't know how to manage their time and also because studying from home is stressful sometimes. Thus, if all assignments and due dates could be shared with their parents, I think it would be helpful. So the parents wouldn't have surprises and could help better their child.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 2/10/2020

If You're Not Using GC, Get on Board!

I used many different work arounds for creating templates and having students turn work in before I started using Google Classroom, and once I made the jump it changed my life. I couldn't believe how much easier it was to send work out, keep things organized, and view everything in one place. I no longer have to deal with students losing their work, or not knowing something was due. It has made all of our lives easier and enriched the learning that takes place in my classroom on a daily basis.

Pros

I can't describe how easy Google Classroom makes managing my assignments. It's the best platform for organizing work, creating templates, providing examples for students, accessing student work in real time, providing feedback and housing student work in general. It is very user friendly, and I would not be nearly as effective at my job without it.

Cons

The only feature that I can think of that I would want on a regular basis is the ability to see things from the student side of the portal as opposed to the teacher side. I often record videos and have to describe to the students what they will see even though what they are seeing on the screen is what I see. I don't think this would be a difficult feature to add. Facebook has a feature where you can see what your public profile looks like, Google Sites has a feature where you can view the published version of your site (what others see), it seems like it would be something they could offer. It won't stop me from using the software. It's just one small thing I often wish I had access to.

althea
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/6/2021

Google Classroom: an encyclopedic memory, in "little cloud" perfect style.

I really enjoy no many sections on Classroom. One section is for streaming view. Plus, during the stream, you can write a pubblic or private message to the entertainer, for request something, answer, or just communicate.
Other section is very usefull, because is a place where you can view the past lessons, so it's like you have the teacher inside your home 24hours, and can replay the lessons every time you are in need.

Pros

As many Italian unfortunately did, during the super first Covid period (about 2020, March), I was following an up-to-date course of studies, about my departement (dental hygiene).
University organized for all of us, students of its course, a serie of on-line video-lessons, advising all the students that in few time we could started use "Google Classroom System".
Great discover.
Good (not perfect, but almost good) quality of video. Plus, we need to consider it was a period full of people who were using the same option, so big channel traffic! It was very easy even for person who were not so able to move online.
School asked us to open each other an Aruba-domine e-mail. To be honest, I don't know the reason. Maybe just an organizative-motivation, but I still don't know if it's necessary.
Anyway, just an Aruba domine e-mail, a download of application if you're connecting by phone, or just follow a link if you're via web.
The same link, FOR ALL THE TIME OF THE COURSE, can connect you to the course you need to access.
So, definitely, one-year course, one only link for all. DON'T LOST IT! (I joke!).

Cons

What i like less of this software... to be honest, I really think it's usefull and well done, maybe they need to work on a privacy mood. People can view your access because system need to record access time and time you leave . But once you access, you have to take care, because it starts the videocam and audio, too. You can manage your preferences, but take care, anyway.

Brittany
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/5/2020

Google Classroom for distance learning win!

Overall, I find Google classroom extremely user-friendly for all ages and levels of experience. It is very easy to upload assignments and documents. The fact that it is compatible with so many other websites makes it a huge plus in my book. If it would just add a few more customization tools, it would be the perfect platform to utilize within the classroom or through distance learning.

Pros

I absolutely love how compatible Google Classroom is with other websites and programs. While I have used this program for quite some time, my students have not (lack of technology within the school unfortunately). It is super user friendly overall for all ages and experience. It is aesthetically pleasing to the eye. One major bonus point for me is that there is an application for your phone as well and it sends me notifications when students submit work, write a comment.

Cons

While there are a lot of websites and programs compatible with Google Classroom, I don't feel like there is a ton of customization within GC itself. I would ideally like to create folders right there within the page and cannot do so. I do wish there was the ability to use different fonts, sizes, etc. Versus using another program to continuously copy and paste back on to Google Classroom. Another slight issue I do find time consuming is that there aren't any notifications like on the phone app, that tells you when a student submits work, private messages, etc.

Daniel Anne
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/4/2022

User-friendly and an accessible classroom for all, especially in the new normal of learning.

My overall impression of Google Classron is that it is user-friendly. The program is simple to comprehend and manipulate. As a teacher and a student, I benefited from this software. We converse and study my lecturers' lectures as postgraduate students, and we discuss relevant subjects in our field. Furthermore, as a teacher, I provide grades to my students' work and provide feedback to help them better or recognize their work.

Pros

This software is user-friendly in my experience as a teacher and a student, especially while discussing my lectures with my students by sharing my presentation via the share-screen option. You can also send audio and video without using your microphone. Furthermore, this software includes a forum board discussion that can promote fascinating discussions between students, even if just remotely. It also assists me in condensing all of my students' grades because their grades can be quickly gathered.

Cons

Since I've been using this software for about three years, I've come up with several ideas to improve and enhance the quality of education, because kids are easily distracted, especially when they're at home. To round up their classroom experience, I believe other interesting activities should be added to the Google Classroom, not just for learning but also for fun. They should not be stressed when they hear the words "google classroom."

Debora
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/7/2020

The best ally of students and teachers

It has been over 3 years since Google Classroom has become one of my main tools in my work as a teacher. I can quickly and easily post classes, activities and reading materials to all my students. It is a program that has become even more relevant with the popularization of distance learning.

Pros

In a few clicks, it is possible to post recorded lessons, reading materials and homework for all students. The correction of the activities becomes much simpler and faster, allowing me to identify the exercises in which the students had more difficulty or even the students who are performing very differently from most of the room. In every post, students can debate among themselves or write questions that I can answer in real-time since I can choose to receive notifications on my smartphone. Another very useful option is the possibility of sending individual feedbacks to each student, ensuring privacy and better communication.

Cons

Minor bugs can make using Google Classroom less intuitive in some cases. Some activity deadline notifications may not appear on your smartphone, only in your Gmail. Another annoying flaw is that when viewing videos from Google Classroom, the program needs to connect to the Google Drive servers, but often it does not connect on the first attempt and returns to the post page, requiring a second click on the video.

2,217 reviews