Square for Restaurants Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Square for Restaurants

Square for Restaurants is a cloud-based solution designed to help restaurants of all sizes manage menus, tables, orders, payments and other administrative operations via a unified portal. The platform enables organizations to...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Square for Restaurants Reviews

45 of 45 reviews
Sort by:
Ryan
Ryan
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/1/2020

Super easy to use and convenient!

I enjoy it a lot and will continue to use

Pros

I really love using this software! It is so easy to use and is always quick to use, never issues with it! This is important in the restaurant

Cons

The only con is that the fees get a little expensive at times, especially when you manually enter info

Dannyelle
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Enough for what we need

8/10 overall, with unique issues to certain industries that makes it frustrating here and there. I'd suggest it, there's a reason it's the most popular POS system for small businesses on the market, but don't expect it to be perfect!

Pros

Easy to set up and adjust menus and such, does most everything we need it to do. Have to think outside the box to get it to do some of the things I need it to do, but overall, if you take the time to figure it out, you'll get there.

Cons

A few things are a bit narrow in customizability, I wish we could do more variation in things like loyalty programs and discount set-ups, and sometimes some adjustments can be a bit tedious to change. We're a brewery with a constantly changing menu of beer offerings, so having to make 5-10 clicks per beverage change every single week can be a bit frustrating, but it's overall pretty user friendly so I can't complain too much.

Alternatives Considered

Wix, Clover and Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

Relatively within budget, and popular enough that I knew it would be easy to find solutions to issues within online forums and other business owners across the platform. Had also used it before at a previous job so I knew I could integrate it into some of the things I also wanted to use.
Leah
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 9/6/2022

Glitchy Hellish Nightmare

Traumatizing. Glitches crashed our restaurant multiple nights in a row.

Can’t handle a complex restaurant. Fine for a 1 terminal retail operation, but RUN AWAY if you are a restaurant owner. Use Toast!

Pros

The price is the only good thing about this software. But you get what you pay for and it’s not worth the savings!

Cons

The software is so glitchy that it has been an epic fail! QR codes fail; printers randomly disconnect; the software double & triple prints tickets (but with delays so it seems like new tickets); tech support is terrible (often barely speaks English & can’t solve complex issues). No on-site support like competing products. We’ve spent thousands of dollars on staff trying to figure it out, but random glitches that have no explanation crash the iPads, QR codes and printing capacity. This doesn’t even scratch the surface of the issues we’ve had. The software cannot handle the complexity of a restaurant. NIGHTMARE!

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Square for Restaurants

Price. But it was not worth it. Get different software!

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

Price

Top Square for Restaurants Alternatives

Ruby
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/3/2024

Really great system

Pros

Easy to use, add and update products, very easy as well to train staff on how to use.

Cons

There's a few limitations with regards to comping/discounting

Camila
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 2/12/2020

the best POS for restaurants

Square was a huge help for us as a restaurant this year. With covid-19 businesses had to move really fast to the online market and Square provides the tools to get there really fast and easy.

Pros

It is really easy to set up, the price is way better than the other systems in the market, it works with wifi and you can use it on your laptop, Ipad, smartphone.

I love how they offer the CRM tool and even more I love how easy is to create a website for your restaurant with them.

Cons

they could improve some of the features so It is even easier and faster to select the items. for example to add more options to the conditional words ( add, yes, No, extra, etc...) they could put the option to replace (ex: replace Ham for turkey) so when we have a customer who wants to customize a product we do not have to write long sentences all the time, instead we can just click a few buttons and is done.

Alternatives Considered

Clover and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Square for Restaurants

Price, features, customer service.

Switched From

Revel Systems

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

The quality of the product was better and for a better price
Kevin
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/1/2020

The Obivious choice for Payment processing

The major benefits we experience are as follow: Payment processing is a breeze, we are able to integrate our system with Quick books seamlessly, the many option for accepting payment means we never miss out on being able to receive payment at any time, Customer service is very helpful and they genuinely care about helping your business succeed and the most important for us is we never have to think about it, it just works.

Pros

Square has streamlined my credit card processing immensely, We were using a different merchant service before that had higher fees and less intuitive features. Square is very useful for our staff accepting payments on site, at events, Bar Tending and processing catering invoice payments. it is fully integrated with our Quickbooks software for a streamlined process. The speed in which receiving credit to our bank account is also pleasantly fast. Finally being able to accept a credit card while in an out of service area (No Wifi/Cellular) is an excellent feature we have already taken advantage of.

Cons

There are no issues in the two years I have been using Square to report. The addition of NFC payments has made my life even better!

Alternatives Considered

PayPal and Stripe

Reasons for Choosing Square for Restaurants

Merchant Services LTD was our Payment processing company for over 15 years, At the beginning it was a great investment. As time went on the fees were increasing and the reliability/Customer service was decreasing. We reached out to see if there were a way to make it viable again but in the end we decided to give Square a chance and we have never looked back.

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

When choosing Square I did a ton of research on other companies, from reading reviews and watching videos on how they work it was clear to me that Square was the no Nonsense approach we were looking for. If you are a small business looking to take control of your payment processing I highly recommend Square to you.
Christina
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2020

Business owner’s best friend

The choice to use Square for our credit/debit transactions was the best choice for us financially. Signing up was stress free, without a ton of confusing paperwork, and the fees were more than manageable. In less than a week I received a card reader that was compatible with my device, and free of charge. Transactions are securely managed by the Square app that allows me to track sales any time I want. A very small percentage of each transaction goes to fees and is processed immediately eliminating the monthly bill process. The app also features tools that track inventory, set up promotional offers, loyalty rewards, and collect feedback from my customers. On app tutorials walk you through everything with outstanding customer service for the bigger issues.

Pros

The financial side of any business can be very stressful. Square offers a wide variety of tools and resources that help business owners monitor sales, track inventory, and reward customer loyalty. It’s free to join, and fees are a small percentage of each transaction. Using the app eliminates paperwork giving me more time to focus more on customer satisfaction.

Cons

Not a software, but a very minor inconvenience with the round jack. The reader would occasionally turn during a card swipe, causing a read error. I secured a thin piece of sturdy plastic on the back side of the reader that uses the back of my device as an anchor.

Nick
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/3/2023

Square For Restaurants is A+++

Pros

Great features, easy to use, fast, great hardware and customer support

Cons

No cons come to mind. Square has pretty perfect for our needs

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Square for Restaurants

Better hardware and support

Switched From

talech

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

Square rep was friendly and supportive.
Bryan
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/3/2019

Swipe right material

Overall ok. Worked most of the time and I like that you can hook up your phone to the little swiping dude. Fix the tipping section at a buyer's checkout stage and you will do wonders. Lower CC fees please.

Pros

Working at a restaurant, this software made life easy for everybody (most of the time). Easy to set up a menu and add images, calculate tax, and reports.

Cons

When wifi went down so did our morale. However, the worst thing about this program was the Tipping Section. Customer's can't read the fine text at the tip checkout phase. They are deer in headlights. "Where do i sign?!" "What do I do" There is a big hiccup at this stage of the check out. Please bring up to your UX team. Square needs to make it simpler for end users. Bless them. I heard the fees are higher than most competitors.

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/9/2021

Square for Restaurants

My experience overall has been positive. I prefer to order where I select what I want and hopefully there is less room for not getting the correct item. It's convenient and saves having to use paper receipts.

Pros

Using square is a convenient way to order food and pay your bill at restaurants. Even in group settings you can split the check or have different people add orders to one bill.

Cons

I think as more restaurants go to a digital menu and checkout process I would assume that new features would be added. There is nothing that sticks out in my mind that we have had issues with.

Brian
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 16/1/2020

Not Ready For Prime Time

All the good things about Square exist with other systems that lack the bad things. They are new to the restaurant space and they are evolving, but they are not there yet.

Pros

The user interface is clear and simple. It works perfectly well for our servers.

Cons

The back of house reporting is a disaster. I’ve never worked with a more complicated, obtuse, confusing reporting function. They say you can customize your reports, but that’s true in only the simplest sense. We can’t customize reports so that all the info we want is in one place. We still need to bounce from report to report to find the data we need. It takes my bookkeeper far longer to reconcile sales to receivables than ever before, and occasionally we spend hours trying to make sense, on the phone with support personnel who also can’t make sense of the reports. Any positive reviews of the reporting functions are from customers that really use the reports seriously or diligently. If you care that your receipts are correct, Square makes it virtually impossible.

Angela
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 25/5/2021

An ok solution

It was easy to set up. Free version lacks features and credit card processing is a bit wacky. Plus or paid version send like it would fix most issues leaving a functional but lacking system.

Pros

Easy to buy local at Best Buy, easy to set up and great menu! I also love the daily sales report that I get via email.

Cons

Certain functions not available on free version (understandable) but even the paid version didn’t leave great options. Partial payment and leave tab open would be very difficult. And the support said even with paid software “it’s not set up for tab management“ I’m a bar all we do is run tabs. Also refunds don’t work well and to adjustment is extremely difficult! Oh and why only the white case? I didn’t want a proprietary system so their new black version didn’t work for me.

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems

Reasons for Choosing Square for Restaurants

Lightspeed integrated payments doesn’t want to approve me because I am a bar type 48 license and don’t sell food.

Reasons for Switching to Square for Restaurants

Revel misrepresented themselves as being able to function as a tab only bar with certain feature capabilities which they actually did not offer.
sarah
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/7/2019

Love it!

Pros

The ease of entering in new items and organizing the screens is great and easy enough for even staff to do. We have worked with them to get certain end of day reports we needed but overall the accessibility to access what you need whether it be item sales per day, hour, category, etc. is really simple. Sending refunds, looking up transactions, or sending coupons is super fast and way easier than any other system I have used. The staff loves it because their tips have tripled with the suggested percentage buttons on the customer screen.

Cons

At first it was hard for me to gain access to troubleshooting help as a manager because I am not the owner of the company. They seem to have changed protocol lately so now when I call it is no problem. There are constant updates so sometimes there are changes in the system and certain ones we don't like or want. However, I have been able to call and they can talk me through how to change the settings.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 24/7/2021

"Square for Restaurants" is not for Restaurants.

They slapped the words 'For Restaurants' on a product that has not been properly optimized for restaurants. For very small, very simple operation (e.g. coffee shops) it is probably fine. Beyond that steer clear if you are a restaurant. The convenient tech on the backend does not justify to the awful day-today, and utterly useless reporting.

Pros

Setup is easy. HR, on-boarding, benefits, payroll, CC processing all built in is very convenient.

Cons

Unfortunately this is all overshadowed by the day-to-day experience of using the POS for an actual restaurant, especially if you are using a combination of online ordering from a Square website, and in-person dining. Creating new menu items is very tedious, even when duplicating. Drill-down reporting is almost non-existent, stops at the category level. E.g. I have a category called "Beer" that contains 8 different beers. I can see how much gross sales the category does, but I cannot look into the category to see any more detail than that. I have to look at the entire inventory itemized sales report and pick the beers out 1 by 1 to get info on which ones are selling.

Jarrod
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 8/3/2022

Super Intuitive

Pros

We are a food truck and catering company. Square is by far the most intuitive and convenient P.O.S. for our business.
I cannot say enough about how simple and effective square is as a P.O.S for a food truck.

Cons

Really and truly we have had no issues with square. Any time that we did rung into something it was solved by customer service and was usually user error.

Alternatives Considered

Clover
Elizabeth
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Square for Restaurants

Pros

POS is easy to use and set up. Its a straight forward POS that my employees have no problem using.

Cons

Orders are in a list view by date ordered. If they could be in a calendar for by date and time of pick up it would be game changing for my business. I currently use appointments embedded in my website which has its own issues but because it presents in a calendar it keeps me organized for preparation and pick up.

Lori
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Great for my small business

Pros

Inexpensive, very easy to set up and use.

Cons

Some of the software features on the Square terminal can be clunky would be great if certain features could be turned off/customized by the end user.

Larry
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Hot mess

Great all around system

Pros

Easy system to use and made to where anyone.

Cons

Not enough loan options when you really need them

dario
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 11/10/2022

SQUARE POS and its issues

Processing orders and time keeping

Pros

Trying to improve the reports and order processing

Cons

No onsite help to set up properly so consequently not able to use all it's features

Harry
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 30/1/2020

Not really for full service restaurants

The advantage is that you can get into to it inexpensively. But if you have experience in a full service restaurant, you will immediately find where it is lacking. No way to start tabs, back end reports are not helpful, occasional payments disappear, not real support set-up, no real-time off site reports available.

Pros

Easy to set up and inexpensive, financed equipment

Cons

Doesn't handle large volume well, back-end reporting lacking, customer support non-existant

James
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/3/2023

Great addition to our food truck

Pros

Ease of UseCompact size and portable POSSimply display and user friendly

Cons

More payment options needed. Ie cashapp. Need reporting that shows alternative payment options

Katharyn
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2023

Love Our Square POS

Great

Pros

How easy it is to use and how it changed our lives

Cons

Started charging for staff scheduling for the basic program.

Jonathen
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2021

Great as long as you got it

Pros

I loved how in depth and detailed one could get and that it considered things like substitutions and such.

Cons

Heaven forbid something wasn't working on the machine and we needed customer support. Always was a hassle, especially if it was an issue involving the POS system not wanting to be online.

Malecia
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/11/2020

All Things Effective

My overall experience has been well, I always tend to get either a paper receipt or an email receipt and a survey about my service.

Pros

What I like the most about square processing payments is that it makes it very easy to restore that customer's information such as email, phone number and past transaction history and payments.

Cons

There's nothing that I dislike about the software. I have run into no problems thus far. It is pretty effective.

Karen
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 26/6/2020

Advertises as free But takes high % and functions are extra

It works ok. If you purchase the full upgrades you try in the trial
The reality of the free version is woefully inadequate

Pros

The integration to inventory management system and xero and payment system via online store too

Cons

Its expensive. Starts around 1.7% of your sales. The free version has massive limitations on functionality.
Standard POS functions like end of day closing reports and having different users permissions /access are all part of the upgrade version. I feel they deliberately limit key functions to force you to upgrade whilst heavily promoting its free. Upgrade is Maybe another $200/mth. So 1.7% of your total sales plus $2400 p.a.

45 reviews