Sage 100 Contractor Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Sage 100 Contractor

Sage 100 Contractor, formerly known as Sage Master Builder, focuses on the needs of small to mid-sized construction companies, including general contractors, service or specialty contractors, and home builders. A great fit for...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Sage 100 Contractor Reviews

407 of 407 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Excellent Software

My experience with this software was excellent. I had used a basic Sage Accounting software for years and before Sage bought this particular accounting software, it was Peachtree. I loved it.

Pros

Reporting is excellent. User friendly. Ease of teaching employees. online forums are spot on for good information. Immediate help via chat or calling with more difficult issues. I love that they can help by driving my computer when I could not figure out an issue. They take fixes seriously for the next update.
Very professional looking invoicing and reporting and very easy to get exactly what you need without a bunch of drop downs and reconfiguring of the crystal reports.

Cons

There is actually nothing I dislike about this software. It is by far my favorite accounting software.

Lucy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/4/2023

Sage 100 Contractor is a value adding 'asset'

Real and full visibility and near real time results. Utterly refreshing and makes my job that much easier. Excellent reporting.

Pros

Sage 100 C offers employment costing solutions. Following budgets vs. real expenses is crucial in the construction sector, and Sage 100 Contractor assists us (my client and i) in meeting this demand.

Cons

Data migration form the old software and Implementation was full of glitches but the client support were always available and willing to assist.

Alternatives Considered

Procore

Reasons for Choosing Sage 100 Contractor

Unreliability. Inaccurate financial reporting as a result of an aged and un-updated software.

Reasons for Switching to Sage 100 Contractor

The high level of product support form the service provider. In addition to wanting you to utilize their product, their customer service personnel also wants you to be successful in whatever goal you have for it.
Dennis
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Wouldn't Recommend for a Specialty Contractor

We use Sage 100 for all of our accounting/payroll/purchasing/subcontracting and project management.

Pros

I've been using the software for seventeen years --- drill down works great --- generally intuitive to use. Can teach others to use in a short time.

Cons

Reports are needing serious work that Sage just won't change, Some work arounds that we implemented when we first started using the product are STILL required seventeen years later. There are also STILL issues within the program that Sage just can't fix. Have had to hire third party consultants to help with some issues and reports.

Alternatives Considered

COINS

Reasons for Switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Seventeen years ago we were just getting started. Price/Functionality were a huge consideration. To say we've grown out of it is not a fair statement because we are still using the program.

Response from Sage

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage.

Replied 3/5/2021

Top Sage 100 Contractor Alternatives

UDA ConstructionSuite

OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Nelly
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/8/2021

Quick Easy Construction Accounting

Pros

We upgraded from an antiquated program called Great Plains we had used for 25 years, there was no way
to integrate or move our data to Sage. The process to get started was fairly easy, it was just a matter of reentering all our payable, receivable and setting up our GL. Once we got trained on it we found ways to streamline our work load.

Cons

The thing I liked the least was setting up my GL, they gave me way too many accounts and after entering them all, I discovered that I needed to delete half of them, they did not work for our business.

Linda
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/3/2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Overall, we are happy with the product although we do not use it to its fullest.

Pros

Most like the payroll software. Very easy and has a lot of extra features such as ability to do certified payrolls.

Cons

Finding some of the reports is counter-intuitive. Often we really have to search from what we are looking for - and sometime there is no report. Happens for audits when we are asked to provide a few years worth of data.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Timothy
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 13/8/2021

Sage 100 Contractor - Honest Feedback

It covers the basics of what we need, but really has not raised the level of service we are providing through technology. Sage 100 seems to have a good base, but needs a lot of development to make it standout.

Pros

We liked the fact that Sage 100 has Accounting, Service (work order management), and New Construction (Job management) in one package. Our goal was to make sure all programs are seamlessly communicating by having the same platform. None of these products really standout as special, but have the basic functions.

Cons

Basic functions in Accounting were set up strange and go against GAPP principles. Payroll is cumbersome to manage and Sage does not have a really good field time capture solution. SSO is basic and inconsistent. Basic navigation to look up customers and manage service contracts are not streamlined. It takes to many steps to access information and no easy wildcard "look up" functions.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceTitan and Viewpoint Team

Reasons for Choosing Sage 100 Contractor

CUC Soft was purchased by Service Titan and shut down.

Reasons for Switching to Sage 100 Contractor

The ablity to have all three components of our business in one platform.
Tonya
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Good Software for the price

I came in right after they had gone live with Sage, I see things that should have been done differently, but now it's too late.

Pros

I do like that you have more lock down control than you do with Quickbooks. I also like that there are several ways to get to something.

Cons

The reports need serious improvement, and that you can't have more than one address for a vendor. I also don't like that the attachments link can be broken so easily. We got a new server and moved everything over, but it broke the links to the attachment data. Also, we purchased Sage because we were told Procore would link to everything, well, here we are 2 years later and we still cannot push invoices from Procore to Sage 100. The ability to correct some issues are difficult if not impossible.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Lisa
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

New SAGE 100 user review (General Contractor)

Pros

SAGE 100 has been a great tool for us as a GC operation. It gives us lots of ways to manage job costs including those associated with uninsured subcontractors. Once training was completed (albeit remotely), our personnel found that the software was easy to use and navigate.

Cons

Transition and rollout of SAGE 100 Contractor took much longer than expected but this was not well-communicated by team that sold us the software. Transition team was remote but effective - they assumed we had extensive accounting knowledge when, in fact, the sole operator of SAGE 100 in our office is a part-time bookkeeper, not an accountant. Payroll calculations are rarely correct (we use an outside Payroll processor) even though tax tables are up-to-date.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Shannon
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/8/2021

Good Software for Construction

Pros

This software has each feature that we need. Payables, receivables , payroll and you can see a budget vs. actual

Cons

That you need to have it on a server, it would be nice to have it on an online platform. It feels a little archaic

Rick
Rick
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/4/2018

Overall a very good software package. Very robust and is very good to tie things together.

We moved from Quickbooks to Sage 100 Contractor. The job reporting, job costing, and percentage of completion accounting was key to our move.

Pros

Job data, inventory and vendor data are all tied together so you can run job cost reports and drill into the data easily.

Cons

At the moment - limited abilities to push/pull data through API's. Payroll works well - but the one timekeeping system that has API's into Sage 100 Contractor did not work for us.

Mary
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

A few items to improve an already great product.

Pros

My boss has a lot of money going out; with that in mind, I start my bank reconciliation early and keep it going until month end.
Sage far surpasses all other accounting software in this particular process.

Cons

Searching for an item could be improved dramatically!
Also, if I issue a check by copying an old one issued to the same person. It becomes a journal entry and if I ask the computer for all payments issued to that person that journal entry is not always included. I need to be careful and check job costs, not just payments made.
One other item, when issuing a check, I appreciate the manual check choice being added, I would suggest a small tweak, I wonder if you offered the verbiage "Debit Card", as well.
I would be curious to attend short 15 minutes or so, info meetings- that would focus on educating users on particular features, for example in estimating and scheduling.
Something that would have visual aids not just reading in the Sage Help.
Maybe a recording in Zoom or YouTube a meeting accessible through your help site.
I am a visual learner reading does not help me as much as a visual coach.

One last item I would like to see implemented, I doubt it can be but here goes.

If possible when I need to start a help ticket, sometimes what I need say is complicated. I need to type 2-3 paragraphs. I wish there was a streamlined way to get a person to talk to.
Using the chat box is great unless it is a complicated issue, I wish I could type ## or something and that would direct me to the call back Que.
Thank You so much for asking.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Michael
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Construction User

We have had nothing but great experience with the software and customer service has be great.

Pros

The software help tracking expenses and history of job cost is top of the line. Progress billing is the best and easiest we have seen.

Cons

It does have a deep learning cure but once you are past that it is easy to use software

Alternatives Considered

Samsung Pay

Reasons for Choosing Sage 100 Contractor

There data base could not handle our needs

Switched From

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Compatible with windows

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Elaine
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/5/2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Very good.

Pros

It has more detail than our previous software. I really like the drill-down capability.

Cons

I would like to be able to work with someone at Sage to improve their Progress Billing fields. It is good for a basic set-up, but many of the Contractors that we bill have custom forms, requiring more fields that require the use of the Custom Fields tables. Good that the fields are there, bad in that they do not appear on the screen while billing. Makes the progress billing seem clunky. Also, would like more flexibility in the report writing (such as Outer Join, Left Join, Right Join).

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 1/6/2021
Brittany
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/8/2021

Good software but would like to make some changes

We use Sage for billing out contract for long term electrical work projects and for quick electrical repairs. I personally do not have much to compare it to as the only other system I have used it Sage 50.

Pros

I like how we can use this software for both residential one time work orders and jobs that last consecutive months.

Cons

I dislike that when you search for a part you cannot search it by a key word in the name of the part. For example if part is named 4' risers yellow, I can only find the item by searching "4", I cannot find it by searching "risers".

Alerts sometime seem to not work. I know my co workers mentioned that to me and since I have been shy of using them.

Michelle
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Sage 100 review

Overall, we have become more acquainted with the software which has lessoned the frustration. That and having a great IT rep to help us through issues is a tremendous +

Pros

Our company was with American Contractors prior to SAGE. There are some areas
that are an improvement over AC. With the help of our Sage IT, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], we were able to work through the initial frustration of a new system. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a tremendous asset to us!

Cons

Not as user friendly as we hoped for. We have worked now with Sage since 2019 so things are easier.
Originally, we thought it was an older platform and that is why some actions were outdated and still are.
For instance, coding material sent to jobs through payroll. Not an option to code to the job at time of entry. We have to print the report, and do a general journal to apply.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
John
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/5/2021

Sage 100 Contractor

Sage customer service/tech support, used to be great, but now you are forced to start with chat, which is typically sub par even from 1st tier support. You do finally get things resolved but it just takes a lot longer and for a user who is out in the field with limited time it becomes inconvenient.

Pros

Accounting, Payroll, Billing, Job Costing

Cons

Proposal/ Quote, implementation needs a lot of improvement

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to Sage 100 Contractor

Quicken doesn't have AIA billing.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 1/6/2021
Andrew
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/8/2018

The bookkeeper who loves bookkeeping

Overall I really like Sage, but it would be so much cooler if it was cloud based

Pros

The way Sage is set up is that it will not let you make mistakes. As in you can't change things at will you have to dig in and change transactions from the source. This means that everything will be correct, this also means that it's a lot more of a hassle if you make a mistake. Still so many features that slowly our team is incorporating into our everyday systems that I think if used properly can make your life so much easier

Cons

So unless you are a coder/ super IT guy, there are many things with Sage that will give you trouble, like report writing and getting all of your computers to talk to each other, and now they have it so you can't call them until you chat online with them which is Sooooooo annoying. I have had really good customer service and really bad customer service with them, just depends on who you get, and how willing they are to help you.

Chad
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 11/12/2020

Difficult to Use

It has been a hard road that we have had to travel with very little guidance. Sales speaks highly of software and then there are no staff to support it. Everything is very expensive!!!

Pros

Reports that are available, all in one software

Cons

Hard to navigate, customer support is horrible or maybe nonexistent

Response from Sage

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage.

Replied 28/1/2021
John
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 14/8/2021

Sage Contractor, my company control center

I have been using it for about 30 years, since before it was Sage.

Pros

Compiling a detailed estimate and then turning it into a document to tracks the jobs costs, bills the client, tracks the subcontracts is nearly flawless. Connecting external documents into the AP or AR process is only a couple of mouse clicks. Pre loaded reports are easy to obtain. And you can customize your desktop for what you use on a regular basis.

Cons

Customizing reports is not that easy. The available Takeoff formats are limited, although they can be sent to Excel and from there be customized, but that is an additional step. There is no built in scheduling. Learning curve on the system is on the mid-steep side but once your know who things work (and where they are) it is smooth sailing. Their support has changed over the years to a "Chat"...which is not great.

Colleen
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/8/2021

Thank you

I like working with sage, I think it is a decent job cost accounting software.

Pros

Cost accounting is most important to me.

Cons

Needs a better way to track sales to cost ratio. What is out there now depends on you starting with the budget projection and my contractor owner does not work from the ground up, he has alot of this budget and cost numbers in his head, but wants to see the end results of cost vs profit at job end, and with out starting with the budgeting function it doesn't give me the ability to back up and show cost vs profit.

Kat
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

Easy to Use, reliable softward

I use Sage for multiple construction related companies in payroll, accounts payable, accounting, and human resources capacities. I have been impressed from the beginning with the ease of use. I was able to easily train a backup employee for my position as well.

Pros

I was not employed in the construction field when my company implemented Sage. However, it is the most user friendly of the accounting software I have used in any industry I have worked in. Now nearly 7 years later, I am still just as happy with the easy of use. The ability to copy and paste between programs and download to nearly any other standard program helps so much in the accounting, payroll, reporting, and auditing side of things.

Cons

I honestly don't have complaints about Sage. Sometimes we get a slight hangup after an update, but Support has always been quick to walk us through fixes.

Diann
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Sage experience

I have currently relayed to my current employer when we have to put together reports that involve posted checks with invoices how Sage has a way to scan and attach A/P to the invoice posted in Sage making quarterly and yearly reporting for us easier then going through multiple draws, pulling checks with invoices and making copies when all I do is open the attachment and print.

Pros

I really like the A/P section and hoping to intergrade the scanner and the online A/P approval process within my current company as I have used it at another company and loved the process made A/P run smoother and faster.

Cons

There are a lot of reports to choose from, but I need to take the time to develop my own reports that would benefit the company more.

Response from Sage

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage.

Replied 3/5/2021
Tracey
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/2/2018

Now have used for 2 years

Our business is in construction and real estate, so we use it for the cost accounting and it is very helpful in keeping track of our costs. It is also used for customer service with our warranty repairs. We look forward to taking it to the next level and using it for Estimating/Purchasing.

Pros

It is easy to use and is very simple being organized by the category you wish to review. F1 help is handy and resourceful. Reports are simple. Love the drill down ability it is very helpful when trying to get to the root of an issue, because you can do it on just about every report you have open to get to the beginning.

Cons

F1 help is vague and some things are not easy to understand they way they are written. There should be more use of the space and give details as to how to resolve an issue. It explains but does not give steps on how.

Richard
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/3/2021

Sage Contractor 100 Review

It is good, but it would be beneficial to the user to have a more in-depth accounting purpose such as quickbooks would.

Pros

The ability to work across different projects and have everything flow through to the proper financial levels.

Cons

I am not a fan of having to void incorrect transactions rather than simply correcting them. If something is not in a closed period, it should be able to be easily adjusted.
The bank rec feature is not very user friendly. I can easily see non accounting professionals mess this up.
The reporting functions are not that great...

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied 3/5/2021
Katie
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2021

Good Estimating Program

I do like the fact that I can copy over a quote previously done if I have another client that wants the same thing or something similar. This saves a good amount of time.

Pros

I have been using this software for the past 13 years. Because I have been using it for that long I am pretty familiar with it when it comes to producing landscape quotes and invoicing. Other people in my office use it for inventory and budgeting among other things.

Cons

Sometimes I will produce a quote, which can take a long time where there are many materials, notes and line items and when I go to save it and print it, it will say out of balance. There is no way around this and I have to re-do the entire quote which is very frusterating.

407 reviews