Redmine Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Redmine

Redmine is an open-source cloud-based project management solution based on the Ruby on Rails programming framework. It is a cross-platform and cross-database solution and allows users to manage multiple projects within the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.4

Browse Redmine Reviews

163 of 163 reviews
Sort by:
Matthew
Matthew
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/6/2018

Best Project Tracker/Management/Team Tool bar none

Excellent project/tracker management - faster execution of projects

Pros

You can get the bare bones redmine up and running in minutes using a bitnami stack. Out of the box it's built for speed and simplicity, but if you are prepared to put some minimal effort in to add plugins, you can add many features, all free, that take it to the next level.

Cons

The barebones version leads many (reviewers on this site included) to think that's all there is. It's built to be modular and extensible, so if you don't like the UI, you can simply add themes, if you want it to do additional stuff like tight email integration, agile (yes there are multiple free versions), helpdesk, Work Breakdown Structures, Charts, fully customized menu bar, repositories, Vault, Excellent Wiki, integrations to Slack and other ticket systems etc - you can do all of that. But because people see versions of Jira or Service Now running with more features (both of which require much more knowledge and effort), they think that redmine is underpowered. So imho that would be my main issue - it's reputation regarding functionality and security - both unfounded.

Nguyen
Nguyen
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2019

Good Opensource software

Many plugins but sometimes the plugins may contain some security bugs. Be aware of it. Becasue you might have some sensitive information on Redmine

Pros

ya, it's free. And we can optimize it as our own way. Becasue sometime you need to make it suitable for your organization. But for the Commercial software, you can only request them and wait for them. With Redmine, you can do everything you want to make it fit to your people.

Cons

End-user always complain me about the software is hard to use. For me, a tech, I fell it's OK. But End-user they might need something pretty, beautiful and more visualization.

Alternatives Considered

Jira , Trello and ONLYOFFICE Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Redmine

it's free and be able to customize

Switched From

Jira
Binigya
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Redmine - Mine full of possibilities

My experience with Redmine has been a mixed bag. It is free, so it was a good start to using a fully fledged project management tool and get used to the process. It had adequate tracking features and after a bit of time, our team got used to it. But its archaic UI, confusing UX and a headache during deployment and frequent downtimes can seriously impede your project management process. So, it was a strictly OK experience for me with some pain points that were too impactful to ignore, so we had to make a switch to a better, a paid option.

Pros

Redmine is a project tracking tool with good intentions. I like that it is free, open source and comes with comparable features to its paid counterparts. I love its Git integrations, flexible time tracking options and multiple databases support, even though it may take a bit of tinkering the first time around. But most of all, it is free and that is its biggest plus point. Anyone, with some configuration can get started with it.

Cons

Where do I start? Redmine is free, so we have to keep that in mind too as it allows you to dip your toes into the waters of project management tools. I really dislike the UI and UX. Granted, you have some themes but that doesn't help its case. The UI looks aged and the UX is somewhat terrible. Our team took a lot of time to grasp it and use it properly. And even then, we were making a lots of mistakes and couldn't find the data we wanted quickly. Redmine does have lots of features but most of them are half-baked. And also, according to the deployment team, the deployment was a headache. And we also got frequent downtime too. We were always getting 5xx errors and that seriously hampered our ability to track projects effectively.

Top Redmine Alternatives

Aaron
Aaron
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/12/2020

Been using Redmine for over 10 years - tried lots of PM tools but keep with Redmine

We manage all our web development projects through Redmine, over 2000 now in total. I've tried several other PM tools but none had as much power or as good of a price as this!

Pros

So I run a small web development team, working with medium to large projects for all sorts of clients. We've been using Redmine for over a decade now and have tried several other project management tools that look nicer, load faster, and are easier to set up. However, Redmine is a solid product that allows you to fully describe project tasks, assign to team members, and keep up with project progress. Once you have it set up, it's easy to use and free except for the hosting. We go with the self hosting option but there is a Redmine hosting service I've seen. Definitely recommend.

Cons

Redmine is clunky, lacks good design, and out of the box, each action requires a new page load. If you do the self-hosted option, you have to install and configure this Ruby on Rails application which is a serious pain in the butt. We hired a guy to set it up for us (3 hours) and the hosting (over 2000 projects now) is costing $22/mo. So even though it's clunky, it does the job well. We are planning on installing some add-ons soon to make it load via Ajax and look nicer.

Lecze
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2023

Redmine Software Review

Fun and smooth, having that feeling of sentiment not overshadowing it's overall usability.

Pros

What I love best about Redmine is the ease of using it, nothing feels too complicated. It's also free!

Cons

I would say that UI looks as if very outdated, it has a look of the early 2000s. However, others may argue that this is stylish, and there is some merit to this, I'd agree.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 14/1/2023

Redmine for IT issue/bug tracking across Epics

Moderately positive. If you don't have the money for Basecamp or Jira, it's a cheaper alternative. The cost you pay is for the bugs you see while running it.

Pros

It was easy to use the software; most of it was intuitive and it had an impressive link-back and drill-down system. I liked that we could customize dashboards and pull some basic metrics out of the funnels. Since we were a smaller team that used it, we didn't have large amounts of issues/data problems, so it was nice to have everything loading in context and faster.

Cons

Open source setup, so lots of bugs. Some things like email notifications never worked properly. Was hard to integrate other things with it (though this may have gotten better). Sometimes we would lose access to tickets and issues, and sometimes they disappeared out of the system, or we'd see duplications.

Alp Kamil
Alp Kamil
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 1/10/2020

Good ticketing software

Easy to use and configure task management system.

Pros

Redmine is clear and simple, it's similar to JIRA. It works stably without errors. We use it to follow our projects and tasks. We can easily track and report people's efforts. We can manage our documents without the need for a separate tool. Nice to be open source.

Cons

User interface design does not feel very professional. Useful plugins can be added to further improve the product.

Allan
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/2/2024

Great Open Source Ticketing Tool

It's one of the best open source products we've seen

Pros

It was feature rich, fast, stable and had a heap of intergrations out of the box

Cons

We had to host it on premise, but we could have put it into Azure

Joe
Joe
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/9/2018

Not always intuitive, but it's all there

Redmine can be customised with themes, to suit it to your needs as a project management tool, built specifically with software/web development in mind. We've managed many complex builds using the tool.

Pros

Lots of features for managing software development with a team.

Cons

The interface can sometimes be a little clunky, and the WYSIWIG editor isn't always the easiest to use - but it does the job!

Santhosh
Santhosh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/2/2019

Ticket managment tool.

Pros

It is very good open source Ticket Management Tool, User friendly, Easy to understand & good User Interface.
Easy to Create a Ticket and update, We can also Upload the image, video and supported files.
We can easily filter the Tickets and Track it.

Cons

Some time i observed page loading and We can't upload more than 5MB data file

Flo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/6/2023

Best freely available project management tool

Pros

The advantage of Redmine is that it is freely available and can be freely extended by developing your own plugins.

Cons

Due to the openness of redmine and the possibility of extending it with plugins, it can sometimes take a long time after an update for all plugins, whether purchased or self-developed, to be adapted for the corresponding version.

Alternatives Considered

MantisBT , Jira and GitLab
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2018

Works better than it looks

Pros

Redmine has clear, logical functionality and there's a lot of power in using Markdown to create connections between documentation and tasks. The wiki feature was very useful for my team! I also liked being able to set milestones and easily configure ticket options (priorities, assignments, status). In this sense, it's similar to JIRA in that you can very easily edit information about tasks and produce robust, well-structured documentation.

Cons

The UI doesn't feel super polished, and the wiki feature would have been difficult for my team to adopt because you need to know Markdown in order to use it effectively. (Yes, Markdown is both a Pro and a Con in this review.)
Redmine also didn't have a chat feature or the kind of file preview options my team expected.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/3/2023

A great IT task management platform

I've been using Redmine for IT task management and I'm very happy with it. It's an open source solution.

Pros

Integrates with Subversion and Git, which is awesome for IT PM.

Cons

It does not have native Oauth2 authentication

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Switching to Redmine

Redmine is free open-source.
Javier
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 5/11/2019

There are better alternatives

As a first approach in teams organizations, it's an useful tool, but it should modernize its interface. The wiki section is well constructed, in fact, nowadays, after stop using redmine as a team/task planner, it's the only element we are still using. The proyect managing have been changed to Trello

Pros

Redmine was the first proyect manager / team planner we used and it was helpful in order to control task completions, progress and term deviations. The incorporated wiki section is useful in order to get all the activities well documentated between team members.

Cons

The interface is not so friendly, it seems 'old fashioned' and it's not suitable to use from a mobile device.
Nowadays that other tools let's you use its infrastructure, the first setup is only reserved to IT personal because it must be installed on the server side, so it's not a tool anyone can configure.

Ravikiran
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2018

Best open source ticket management system which is almost free

Free,easy to deploy and configure ticket management system

Pros

Easy to use and deploy
Good plug-in support
Easy to develop plugins for Redmine
It is open source and free
Easy to integrate with Many SCM software
It supports multiple languages
We can integrate with LDAP

Cons

User interface is not as good as JIRA, It would be good, team can follow the industry trends.
Plugin development takes more time than expects
Lack of developers available in the market

Emily
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/3/2018

Great tool for project management

Pros

Our company uses this tool to manage projects. It's very helpful for us because we have multiple offices in different states and teams are often working together virtually. Redmine allows us to easily upload documents needed for our projects, assign projects to different people, and see priorities levels and ETA on completion. I would absolutely recommend this to others.

Eileen
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/9/2017

Solid no frills project management software

Our team was able to manage projects on a very basic, no frills level. It got the job done, and had just enough features to get us through our day to day tasks and projects.

Pros

Very simple interface, quick layout for project and task entry, good filtering system for sorting through tasks by users, status, etc.

Cons

Feels somewhat dated, doesn't keep track of tasks and updates by the minute like some of the newer or more advanced softwares.

Miswanto
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/4/2022

Redmine make my project easier

Overall, I'm really excited and get helping from this software. Thank you for making great Project Management software that can make easier to use and increase my time to get another thing than coordination manually to the team.

Pros

Task management, and collaboration can be set up within minutes. It can increase our time to manage other things and make sure the project running well from update in Redmine.

Cons

Resource booking not shown more effective, maybe Redmine team can improve some point in Resource Booking feature

Julián
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 24/2/2021

A versatile bug tracking system

This is a good tool for managing projects. Almost all the project workflow has been merged into this tool: we can also generate automated changelogs and time-tracking reports. It has a plugin repository where you can find some useful extensions, like a template manager for writing issues based on a specific format. We take advantage of its API to notify when a task is delayed, or to give the end-user a voice, so he can write the tickets directly into our platform.

Pros

The most important thing is its simplicity: from the configuration to the end-user usage, everything is easy and practical to setup and start writing issues. It acan be integrated against LDAP-based authentication systems. The workflow of the issues can be configured easily in the admin panel. Its interface can be changed using templates where you can put your own logo and relevant information regarding your business logic.

Cons

The set-up was very difficult, but it can be easily achieved installing with docker images. Due its simplicity, the business logic may not be described in terms of the application, so complex workflows may need light modifications to be compatible with the Redmine platform. Readmine doesn't handle agile tools like Scrum or Kanban boards, so if you or your company uses agile methodologies, Redmine may not fit your business workflow. Of course, you can extendend to agile if you purchase or install extensions, but it doesn't support it natively.

Giuseppe
Giuseppe
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/5/2022

Good application for project management and issue tracking

Pros

We use this application for the management and tracking of issues of an opensource software. We collaborate in 3 companies and I must say that everything works perfectly.

Cons

While I prefer Redmine to Easy Redmine, here too I believe that the same thing applies to Redmine too, a more intuitive interface would be needed.

Martin
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 21/12/2022

Perfect value for money

I like this app. It is quiet old looking but things getting better in-time. Perfect for lower budget organizations.

Pros

App contains lots of different features for issue tracking and management. You can provide lots of details in issue. Also time tracking and expenses feature are perfect.

Cons

This app is very good for low budget projects. You can get better alternative but mostly for more money. The UI looks a bit old and it can be a bit harder to find some feature.

Emily
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/8/2017

Great tool for organizing projects

Pros

We use this in order to manage our projects at work. Not only is it helpful to keep track of everything that you have going on, but it can also let your boss easily see what you're working on without having to ask. It is also highly collaborative which is helpful for us as our office has locations in multiple different states.

Jean Baptiste
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 8/2/2023

Nice tool to follow precisely tickets

Pros

Status, priority, affectation follow cases...

Cons

Not enough user friendly an a lack of optional tools

Mateus
Mateus
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/2/2022

Don't let Redmine's interface fool you: it is one of the best project management softwares out...

My own experience with Redmine has been very smooth and I could certainly understand all the benefits it brought to the team and to the managers involved in the project.

Pros

Redmine has a great number of features that are extremely useful for any team working on a project. You can store important files in its Wiki, allowing information both from the project and the company itself to be stored in a unique and well-organized place. Tasks are easily created and assigned to one more person and tracking the task's progression is extremely easy. Besides that, the Gantt chart and a couple of other tools allow for easy visualization of the project's progress and how each person working on it is doing.

Cons

Redmine's User Interface is, honestly, not that pleasing to look at. It really feels like software coming from the 90s that is old and clunky. That assessment is incorrect and Redmine actually works really well, but it's still not beautiful at all.

Pinki
Pinki
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/8/2022

Manage team task and projects

Its very good experience to use this tool. We are using it to manage our time tracking and to check the progress of the task.

Pros

Its very easy to use and manage. Provide all basic features which need for an organisation to manage projects. It is usually for managing the team time tracking and managing the task.

Cons

It has less integration support of other tools. It is good for small organisation.

163 reviews