Ayoa Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Ayoa

Ayoa is a project management solution that caters to businesses and institutions of all sizes across various industries such as education, food and beverage, graphics and animation, apparel and more. Key features include idea...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Ayoa Reviews

209 of 209 reviews
Sort by:
Helen
Helen
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2018

I love DropTask

It gives me a birds eye view of all of the things I need to pay attention to, and helps me focus in on them when I need to. I can collaborate and see where tasks are, and get things done.

Pros

There's so many features to like - it is visual and can be made to look just how I want, and I love the new planner which helps me nail down my priorities.

Cons

Adding a document to a task is a bit clunky, I'd rather go to the linked file in its native app or on my computer than bring it into DropTask. I would also like the task sidebar to have more space, as the boxes for writing updates here are quite small and you have to scroll a long way down. Perhaps an update would offer the opportunity to open up the task sidebar into a full screen view?

George
George
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2018

To Do or Not To DO

I search and used many to do lists; Google Tasks, ToDoist, apps for Google Tasks, etc. They all just fall short. On the nicer ones, they are great but you have to pay a business subscription to get simple functions like recurring, this is available as standard in DropTask.

I use it continuously throughout the day. I have projects for work and for home, I have never been so organised.

Pros

I like that you have have different layouts. As I am old fashioned, I have asked them to activate an old feature, the Calendar View, just so I can see task in a date order.

The recurring tasks work so well. I have tasks that repeat daily, every work day, every three working days, monthly and annually - it just works even in the free version.

Cons

Some tasks mean I have to go to an online resource. Other To Do management tools allows me to click on the link and take me to that resource. Although I have the link in the subject line. I have to go into the subject and copy and paste it in the browser. If you could support links in the subject link, it would make it a lot easier.

It would be nice to hide tasks that are not due for one month on the Project View, just to remove the clutter.

Robert`
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 16/11/2018

Feels like it is made for kids

Frankly, I don't feel I'll solve any business problems with DropTask that I am not already solving with my current system. The UI is very attractive, I will say that. Integration with other systems is great, although I see that same functionality with many other systems. The primary feature that I thought might be interesting is integration with iMindMap, which - at the end of the day - seems less useful than I thought. I use Mind Mapping for idea capture, brainstorming, and the like. I have not actually used Mind Mapping as a PM tool, and maybe I'd change my mind concerning DropTask if I did. At this point in time, however, I feel there are other task management systems that will do the job as well as or better than DropTask can, but a lower cost per user.

Pros

DropTask does have dedicated applications for all OSes, which is getting more difficult to find. I absolutely do not like PM tools that are all web-based. The web just doesn't provide all of the functionality that a native application does, including an icon on my Taskbar. I realize that may sound silly, but being able to get to my PM app quickly is very important to me. The fact that DropTask supports all OSes is a real benefit.

Cons

As a disclaimer, I bought a year subscription to DropTask because of a package deal with iMindMap. I really only wanted iMindMap, but figured I would at least give DropTask a shot as well. I'm currently using another task management system, which I intend to continue.

The short story is that DropTask looks beautiful and has neat animations and pretty colors and flying bubbles and drag-and-drop swimlanes...and I ended up feeling that it was all just fluff over the same task management system I use now. Pretty colors are great - they can be engaging. Further, I realize that DropTask is integrated with iMindMap, which promotes engaging the viewer. I just ended up turned off by the whole experience, however. I am happy with lists, not bubbles. Zooming in and out is fine, but a simple list would do the job. I spent a total of about 15 minutes clicking around and just felt that children would love all of the neat UI, but as a PM tool, I felt DropTask obscured what I need to do things.

Top Ayoa Alternatives

Jav
Jav
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/4/2019

Extremely Simple and Powerful Task Management Tool

I have used this for many years across many businesses and different roles. Would definitely recommend DropTask to anyone looking for a simple to use task management app.

Pros

The visual interface makes this a simple tool to work with.

Cons

I still like to print out my daily task list. Unfortunately, there is no simple way to do this in Droptask, you need to export your entire list by project.

Daniel
Daniel
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/7/2020

Love it since ever

It helps me manage my business opportunities and projects and collaborate with the team and many others.

Pros

It’s so easy to use and it does a lot. Just need to explore as it has a quick learning curve.

Cons

Still looking for...
Well, I still miss some features present on iMindMap

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/10/2021

Does not get the job done

The limited team size allowed did not help us test how we can properly design and execute a subproject. It was good for brainstorming and mind mapping, but that was it.

Pros

1. Mind mapping and sharing it with team members as a trial. You can't start paying apps for 10 people and then check if it works.
2. Formatting an idea into different ways - a very useful capability

Cons

1. The graphics environment does not make online collaboration easy (UI is kind of heavy as well)
2. The trial version does not allow the onboarding of a testing team to find out whether this is a good fit
3. Does not offer canvases or templates to cover the most popular team activities. You need to jump to another app

Alternatives Considered

MindMeister

Reasons for Switching to Ayoa

It looked like offering more capabilities with canvases
Jay
Jay
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 3/9/2018

I love mindmaps and this is my mindmapping tool of choice

It’s an easy to use tool - I mindmap all the time and always reccommend using this

Pros

Just totally love this app - I use an external keyboard with my ipad and it is really easy to create mindmaps using just the keyboard. I use it from small maps of ideas on a particular topic to (what is one of my favourite uses) as a mindmapping tool when at a conference or event to take all my notes. I can create maps so easily and quickly that by reviewing the map it is like I am still at the event taking in all the details

Cons

Sometimes I mis click and it thinks I am wanting to assign project related items to a line - but it is easy enough to remove afterwards

Sebastián
Sebastián
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/8/2018

The best of the best in mind mapping!

I being working with iMindMap for more thst 7 years and I have to say that it has being awesome because this is truly one of the ways to really show information in an easy, simple, dynamic and fun way. It has made my life so much easy!

Pros

Well I have to say that I like everything about iMindMap but the things that I really like are the exporting tools and presentation options because they allow me to present my mind maps every where with the quality and settings I truly want without losing anything just like if I was presenting in IMindMap.

Cons

The only thing I can say that I dislike is the price but that will be all because iMindMap is by far the best in the game.

Mark
Mark
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/8/2018

Best software for MindMapping

Pros

The way MindMaps are drawn is very close to how people would draw one using a pen. You have all the needed flexibility to do what you want.

Cons

It is too much interfaced with other products that I Don't need. Good to have but I never use these functions.

Natasha
Natasha
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/5/2019

Collaborate and plan your activities with ingenuity

We have used it internally to verify the material of the courses and the logistic of realization, it is excellent to have a clearly visual approach of everything and to see the fulfillment of the processes that lead to the fulfillment of each task. It is ideal for assembling the academic program of the quarter and visualizing the progress in each of its phases in detail. Being a visual platform facilitates the detection of obstacles and obstacles to correct.

Pros

Planning and monitoring with a visual focus is what makes it attractive for organizing, collaborating with co-workers and sharing information. Its interface is innovative, modern, attractive and intuitive, synchronizes in good time between the different devices, and has perfect integration with the Google calendar.

Cons

Not very easy to use, generates difficulty at first understand how to generate the drops and list the tasks

Daniel
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/9/2019

I am truly excited for Ayoa's future.

I'm so excited! Ayoa seems hard at work and the product is getting updated and improved rapidly since the merger. It's good enough for now, which says a lot, but has more potential for sure!

Pros

Ayoa is really something special. I am currently transitioning from Trello as my daily task manager to Ayoa. Trello is and was fabulous, but it was lacking something, and that is why I started looking for a replacement. What was it lacking? The big picture!

I had built up a backlog of hundreds of tasks with no way to view them at a distance. Ayoa allows you to build a mind map that displays every aspect of your project/business/organization. Broken down in every category of tasks. **Here** is the magic. Now you have your "task mind map", you can click on a branch and start adding tasks, then adds them to "task boards". Then you have a "My Planner" that is separate​ from the big task boards, just for "up next" stuff.

A lot of flexibility​!, there are limitless ways to use this software.

Cons

There are LIMITLESS ways to use this software. It took me a couple of weeks before I could even figure out how I was going to organize everything. (and I'm still not done yet) It's not clear yet how people are using this software for business, there are not many example templates that are useful to me. So for now you just have to figure it out.

There is also no ability to integrate third-party​ SaaS products like we've come to expect with most enterprise software these days.

Response from OpenGenius

Hi Daniel, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to hear how much you're enjoying using Ayoa! We're all about the big picture and visual working here at Ayoa so it's good to hear that that's something you're excited about. Lots more exciting features to come over the next few weeks so stay tuned!

Replied 1/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/10/2018

DropTask beautifully scales up.

Because DropTask is web-based, I use it both at home for personal tasks, and at the office to manage my own work. My company uses Outlook 2010, but I don't enjoy the task list there. My function is business analyst. When I write user stories, I organize them in the Canvas view in DropTask. This is for my eyes only; no colleague is invited since this is not an office tool.

Pros

DropTask is versatile: you can use it as a simple task list, as a collaborative system, even as an agile tool... Most of the time, I find what I need just by looking where it seems to make sense - and there it is. The interface is beautiful and well thought through. My company uses Jira to manage workflows. It's great, but heavyweight. I could imagine small companies or teams using DropTask.

Cons

I don't know what happens to the files I attach to a task. Are they ever deleted? Are they kept somewhere? I am reluctant to attach files because I don't see DropTask as a safe storage place. I wish there was a way to attach files through DropTask to Google Drive, OneDrive, DropBox, on another dedicated service.

Response from OpenGenius

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I just wanted to make you aware that if you upload a file to DropTask, the file is stored securely in Amazon's S3 cloud storage service. The only people who have access to the file are the people who have access to the task that the file is attached to. Once the file is deleted from the task or the task is deleted, the file will be permanently deleted from Amazon's S3 cloud storage service.

If there's anything else that you're unsure on, please feel free to drop us a message at [email protected], where out customer support team will be happy to answer any questions that you may have. :-)

Many thanks,
Rowanne

Replied 30/10/2018
Percival
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/6/2022

AYOA is excellent mindmapper and task software.

I love AYOA overall. It's not as useful for task management as ASANA but the way you can view your mindmaps, whiteboards and the tasks you do in a visual, dynamic environment is 2nd to none.

Pros

I love the way that AYOA renders it's mind maps in several views. Same for task management that actually allows you to have the different categories in large moving "bubbles". it even has a Pulse which is a team blkast that I use as a daily diary.

Cons

Not enough hotkeys and the email to task method could be more focused.

Ian
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/3/2021

Mind Mapping at its Best!

A wonderful tool that we have incorporated into the heart of our business - indispensable to how I work.

Pros

SEARCH! SHARING! I compared ALL of the various options on the market, and after spending a long time evaluating each one, Ayoa - which started as a complete unknown - ended up taking the prize.

We then converted 400 mind-maps into their system, and have been enjoying the new features and working with the development team.

Cons

On more than one occasion, a bug has caused some topics to be lost while copying/pasting - this is very intermittent, but has happened.
I would LOVE a better export/backup option - years worth of work are now contained within the product, and having a good backup would make my anxiety decrease a lot!

Alternatives Considered

XMind , Miro , MindMeister and Lucidchart

Reasons for Choosing Ayoa

Search, Sharing.

Reasons for Switching to Ayoa

Search and that sweet, sweet SHARING.
Miles
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 2/9/2019

Simplicity

I have used Ayoa since its inception as Droptask and have been very impressed with the way the developers have listened to the users and developed a most useful planning and collaboration tool.

Pros

Ayoa allows me to plan ahead for projects and set reminders months or even years from now if needed. I use the calendar view every day to plan my day and set priorities for what I must achieve in that day. Being able to look ahead at the rest of the week gives me a good idea of what’s is coming at me. Having been an avid user or Mindmaps it is great that this is now incorporated in the system, I use this each time I start a new project.

Cons

I have no issues with Ayoa, it does all of the things that I need and has many useful features that I am sure I will use if I work with a bigger team.

Response from OpenGenius

Hi Miles, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear you're enjoying using Ayoa! Keep an eye out for even more Mind Map developments over the next few weeks...

Replied 10/9/2019
Pasquale
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/2/2020

It is the best software to draw organic mental maps faithful to the principles of Tony Buzan

I use iMindMap every day to take notes, brainstorm or just clear my head

Pros

I love iMindMap and for years I have drawn maps useful to clarify ideas, take notes or pit long and complex documents. It's an easy, colorful and fun tool. The Mac version allows you to copy and paste images from the web or draw them by hand. There are a lot of features, not all of them perfect, but overall it's a really good product

Cons

Some sudden software closures are annoying and perhaps denote a certain obsolescence of the technology with which it is developed. The iOS version is definitely practical, but with much less functionality than that Mac or PC. The synchronization of proprietary (paid) cloud maps is also a bit cumbersome and not always accurate.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/4/2019

Super flexible task management

I work for a wide range if client groups and in a range of settings. DropTask is the only project manager I have tried so far that enables me to track all of my projects effectively because of it’s flexibility. Most other trackers seem to confine you to only one or two views.

Pros

I love the flexibility that allows users to track project tasks in the way thsy suits them. Kanban style/calendar Style/priority style/the most visual task board style was what originally drew me to DropTask because I like to have an overview before I drill down. I use most of the view options at some point.

Cons

On smartphone I find that entering data can be fiddly so I do most of my inputting on iPad or Desktop.

Tracie
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/10/2018

Droptask could be brilliant

Had to stop using as the circles prevented tasks from being described usefully, which is a shame as the program is superb

Pros

Love the ability to move tasks around a canvas, I find the concept of this absolutely brilliant and this feature alone would make me convert to Droptask completely and never look at another task management tool again but.....

Cons

The circles... I'm sorry Droptask but as much as they are great to look at, they are a nightmare to work with. You simply cannot fit enough words on to make a task recognisable. I signed up for 3 years because I really wanted to use Droptask but I have had to stop using as my team said they spent far too much time clicking on every task to find out what needed doing If you just added the option to have rectangles instead of circles I genuinely think I would send you cake.

Response from OpenGenius

Hi Tracie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you're not already aware, you're able to switch to views such as Workflow, Planner or Urgency Lists where your tasks will be displayed as rectangle tasks. We're always looking for ways to improve the Canvas and circles in DropTask, so I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team.

Thanks again for the review.

Kind Regards,
Rowanne

Replied 30/10/2018
Wojciech
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/1/2019

Creative thinking in business

I use iMindMap as management tool - to support communication.
It's easy to create advanced, innovative diagrams with elements, relations and contextual information in notes and attachments. It's very useful as presentation supporter with internal mode to do it. As mindmapping user - I often exchange data between application - for example iMindMap, MindManager, XMind etc.

Pros

Very powerful tool in visual management area.
It's possible to create visual trees of data and present them as maps, Gantt chart, timeline, brainstorm or scape diagram.
It has "freehand" mode so it's really easy to present creative views of knowledge and concepts.
iMindMap has many options of data sharing: import and export from and to other formats, so it's very useful and can save time in document creation process.

Cons

I would love to see more options like:
- tags and group of tags
- number calculations
- advanced filtering.

Julie
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2018

Droptask

I use droptask to track jobs in both work and home, and use the canvas view for original brainstorming

Pros

I really like the ability to choose the way in which information can be presented, and the new layout with rectangular task shapes.

Cons

Cost of a yearly business subscription if you are not using it as part of a team. It would be nice if category headings in the workflow view were not automatically sorted alphabetically and you could choose what was at the top of each list.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

2
Reviewed on 2/3/2020

This program is far from Tony Buzan's mind maps.

Pros

Other features except mind mapping are very useful (visual task management, focus on progress etc.).

Cons

The developers say the program was designed specifically based on Tony Buzan's technique. However, the maps are not like the maps in Tony Buzan's books. Tony Buzan says, start by drawing a picture in the center. But there is no drawing option in this application. You can only add an existing picture on your computer, emoji or unsplash.com picture. Moreover, there is no emoji or unsplash.com option in the iOS version. You cannot add a picture and emoji or 2 different emoji on the same branch. Tony Buzan says the branches should be the same length as words. However, you cannot shorten branches as much as the word length in this program. You cannot play with the thickness of the branches. You cannot change the font. Font size can only be increased limited. If you try to make an organic map like Tony Buzan's maps with this program, you may be disappointed. Drawing and writing feature must be added with Apple Pencil for iPad version. I regretted buying the program.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/9/2018

Just what I've been looking for

Pros

Ease of use, range of views, well thought out stuff in the tasks like check lists, reminders and due dates, priority and importance. Task management is all about weighting what needs to be done so that the list you need to get on with now can be manageable and this is the first software I've found that suits my needs. Of course the catch the eye bit is the canvas view but even without that excellent feature this would be the best task management software around.

Cons

There are still some issues to iron out but I can see from the blogs that Drop Task is listening to its users and improving all the time. I've talked through my concerns with the Customer Service Manager and I believe they will actually do something based on my issues. These are that the list news take up too much screen space, you can't edit or perform actions on multiple tasks, navigating between the views take a few too many clicks and assigning the tasks to categories could be a bit smoother. These are niggles but for me not fundamental problems.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/4/2019

I like it and it can be better

Pros

The visibility and function I can use on it, such as urgency, deadline.

Cons

Inability to modify multiple tasks at once
the tasks move too far away from where they originally are and this makes it harder to look for them later
the task motion is slower as my task numbers increase

Anthony
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 15/9/2019

How do I print tasks, why are my mindmaps now limited in function and printing

Less inclined to use

Pros

Not as happy as I was, I did like drop task and imindmap

Cons

I cannot print tasks or mindmaps, I have lost my imindmap

Response from OpenGenius

Hi Anthony, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review!
Please refer to our support guides below to help you export and print your Task Boards and Mind Maps:
https://support.ayoa.com/support/solutions/articles/44001766626-exporting-your-mind-map
https://support.ayoa.com/support/solutions/articles/44001513687-exporting-a-task-board
Good news! iMindMap-style Organic Mind Maps are coming to Ayoa very soon, so you'll see many of the iMindMap features you're familiar with. If there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know [email protected].

Replied 17/9/2019
chandramouli
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2018

Droptask is helping me manage my projects better

Fun, effective in task assignment and review with my teams. They update progress on their own - so it saves me the time of having to go on chat to ask them for updates. It empowers them too, because they too plan their tasks to the next level and are in control.

Pros

Ease of use, colourful and functional. I like the way it integrated with Mindmap and the way i can generate a .CSV report and share it for my reviews. The colloboration feature is also great, though my team and i started using it very recently.

I also like the colourfulness of the software. Unfortunately, i am unable to use all the feautres because of security restrictions in my office. eg: I cannot upload files or emails.

Cons

I would like to see a Monthly goal view and a yearly goals view. We always begin the year with broad directions and then pick topics to work on every month. Droptask does not have this view - where i can just go and see my goals.

209 reviews