Acctivate Inventory Management Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Acctivate Inventory Management

Built for growing product-selling businesses using QuickBooks, Acctivate is a premium inventory management & multi-channel order fulfillment add-on that helps you focus on growth without operational limitations. Solve for...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Acctivate Inventory Management Reviews

111 of 111 reviews
Sort by:
Tim
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/2/2016

Very Reliable and Easy To Use

Pros

Acctivate is perfect for QuickBooks users that need a better inventory and sales order process. It is a bolt on product. You just "sync" it whenever you want to have QB and Acctivate talk to each other. It makes managing inventory really easy- and gives you a ton of room and vendor history so you can manage your costs. It also makes price updates really easy. Initial integration is easy- all of the details are handled by Acctivate thru remote sign in on your first day. I suggest to have an IT person in house just to handle the small details- so you can concentrate on your business.
I decided to go with Acctivate 5 years ago and have been Extremely Happy with this product. It is easy to use and is based on Crystal Reports - which means that you can get just about any report made - so you can get the specific dash boards you want or reports you want. Your employees will like using this product as well. My employees were using this by 10AM the morning we installed it.
Once you have this product 90% of the time you will be operating out of Acctivate. You only use QB for the Book Keeping for the most part. Inventory control and unique inventory situations are easily handled by Acctivate. Overseas shipments or Lead Time Inventory is not a problem- Acctivate has a solution for this. Your Pack Slip, Sales Orders and Invoices will look a lot better with this product. If this product doesn't pay for itself in 1 year or less- I would be very surprised. Excellent Product.

Cons

I dont have any complaints. After an initial set up- i do suggest using a 3rd party for special reports. But you dont have to do this. Activate can help you if you want work with them. I just like having a 3rd party vendor - but i make a ton of reports. Acctivate comes with enough reports to run your business.

Ken
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/7/2017

Acctivate is excellent; start to finish. It plainly works without any hitches! Plus, great...

Pros

The integration with QuickBooks works seamlessly.
The product is very easy to use; it is very intuitive. You just simply need to know the sequence of steps and in a few clicks, perfectly formatted forms are ready for printing.
The reports are well organized, informative, and great tools for analysis.
The customer service team is patient and hard working. Some tech companies talk down to non-techies, but Acctivate is patient and quick to educate in terms someone can understand, follow, and implement. Also, when educating, they run video seminars or can email screen shots to you very effectively. I cannot over estimate how much time they saved me, because they are so good in the customer service arena.

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like about the software, except maybe the cost. However, we are in business and they are in business, so I don't begrudge anyone for making a living and earning a profit. What would someone pay for an inventory management system that works without a flaw in a QuickBooks environment? If you were a huge company you may say tens of thousands. If you are in a small company like mine, you might say a few thousand once. Instead the cost is an annual amount and that's just the way they price it, which is okay.

Response from Acctivate

Ken, it was great working with you to implement Acctivate. I¿m happy to hear all the specific successes your business is experiencing after adding the power of Acctivate to QuickBooks. Our entire team looks forward to a continued partnership with Respect Foods and helping you all grow even more with the software. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going and helping others in their inventory software decision process. - Brad

Replied 21/7/2017
Sepp
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 24/8/2018

Can't function with Acctivate

We bought Fishbowl inventory in 2017 and returned it within a month. And then spent considerable time looking at options and reviewing them. We spend days and days with Acctivate before buying. And then we bought it. It took three or four months to get us to an 'active state'. At which point we discovered that the entire way we setup our product structure would not work. So we started over and now, 12 months after purchasing, we have finally invoiced the projects from November of 2017.

We have posted over 100 requests in the online help system and with a few exceptions been told that our ideas are not applicable to their users.
We have made the decision to not to renew our maintenance plan.
And Acctivate was not interested in extending our plan for a few more months give the total disaster we have had implementing it.
We did consider it affordable and the yearly maintenance costs reasonable given the platform.
However, we have spent lot of money on labor to get the system implemented AND still had to hire an outside consultant to build custom routines to be able to get reports that answer basic stocking questions.

We continue to find the interface prevents you from being able to make smart decisions at the moment you have to (when you can see the data) and is wholly lacking for a system with as much data as it has.

We can not say strongly enough that you should really consider your options before moving forward with Acctivate.

Pros

Lot's of handholding during setup.
Possibly considered affordable - unless you count your time.
At this point - not much - We have fought for a year to get the system online.

Cons

Lack of respect for the ideas and needs of customers
It hides important information needed to make decisions in the windows where you need to make decisions.
It doesn't auto update backorders
A huge list of other items.

Top Acctivate Inventory Management Alternatives

Randy
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/8/2018

Wolf Companies

The Costing trail for Inventory items lacks reports that show how current cost is calculated.

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Is a good overall value.

Cons

Lack of Print screen feature which is helpful when researching transactions.

Response from Acctivate

Randy, thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going with Acctivate.

Taking screen shots is definitely helpful and Windows can be used to capture your full screen, as well as third-party screen capture utilities, in which many are free.

In terms of seeing how cost is calculated, the Inventory Ledger report can provide the information you need. This is found under Acctivate¿s Inventory Management Reports > Transactions. Make sure to select a beginning transaction date and the report will show the true cost calculated by dividing the resulting value by the resulting quantity on hand. If you need any assistance with this, please contact support at 817-870-1311 or online at https://help.acctivate.com/requests/. - Erica

Replied 22/8/2018
Dustin
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/8/2021

Acctivate is Amazing

Pros

Acctivate is easy to use and helps us process orders, keep track of inventory, and create bill of materials among many other great features.

Cons

Integration was very easy, Acctivate is always willing to help with our needs.

Alternatives Considered

Avalara
Paul
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/7/2017

This software is very important to our business.

Reduced the time that it took to manually invoice everything. Before it would take us about 5 hours to manually invoice now it takes 5 minutes.

Pros

We sell in many different type of online marketplaces so it is great that we are able to sync all the orders from all the sites in one place.

Cons

This software is 100% eficiente in inventory control but it lack the capability to do some extensive accounting.

Response from Acctivate

Paul, thank you for letting us know how we're doing!

Yes, one of the main reasons people choose Acctivate is exactly what you described - reducing manual methods which speed up processes across the entire business.

We appreciate the kind feedback which allows others to make an important decision when evaluating the right inventory solution to help grow their business.

Replied 17/7/2017
Steven
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/3/2016

Acctivate is Active :)

It took a lot of work, but after putting in the time and learning all about the software, I have to say it is a great system, with so many options and ways to do things. It can be customized to work in most unique scenarios. The strongest points for us is the inventory Lot control, gives us more power over our inventory, and where its coming from, etc. The Activity feature helps us communicate and acts as a CRM for our reps. The way dropship PO's are handled is very helpful, and works almost perfectly for us. Using the mobile device changed the way our warehouse receives and picks products in a good way. Since the software's infrastructure is basically a database, it gives versatility for using with other products, like our shipping software and our website. The Reports side is dependent on Crystal reports, which opens up a world of possibilities, it does add some complexities, but the support that Acctivate gives with there product makes up for all complex situations. I have been helped and things have been fixed numerous times. The software is also in a stage where it will always be improving over time.

There are a few cons. Bugs and things not quite working the way they should require a dedicated person within our company to occasionally be working with Acctivate to clean out these scenarios and learn about limitations and potential future added features. The Credit card system is very limited and makes it a little difficult with the way we do things.

I find myself really loving the way it handles customers, all the different tabs to product history, comments, activities, transactions. The UOM has added a complexity that we needed when it comes to purchasing single units vs boxes vs cases. The ability to setup diff pricing for a product or a customer really helps with on sale items and contract pricing.

Teresa
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 9/4/2019

Helpful

Pros

It works great if it's utilized properly.

Cons

Invoice options are limited to certain fields and designs

Response from Acctivate

Teresa,
We are happy to hear that Acctivate is a helpful solution for your business.

We offer many resources to help ensure that users maximize Acctivate, and I trust that you have gotten use of them based on your positive feedback. I just wanted to provide more detail to inform others. During the onboarding process, an Acctivate expert works closely with new customers on using Acctivate for their specific needs; and the online help site (https://help.acctivate.com/) has plentiful resources, on-demand. After onboarding, our support team can be utilized.

For the invoice design/field limitations, there¿s a few options available: You can use Crystal Reports, which integrates with Acctivate to customize any report/doc; you can reach out to our support team at 817-870-1311 or [email protected] for minor modifications; or we can recommend an Acctivate Consulting Partner for larger customization projects.

Thank you for sharing,
Erica Avila

Replied 11/4/2019
Otniel
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 14/4/2018

I am using this program for about a year and a halfe it is a good program with lots of features

Pros

I find it very usefull for order management it is a perfect program to keep track of your orders. The atta hed email section is very usefull. You can always keep track of conversations between a user and clients.

Cons

I don't find it to be stable all of the time it crashes a lot unfortunately. It is also difficult when you want to edit a product when you make a mistake you will need to close the program and opend it all the way again because it does not let you continue with your work.

Response from Acctivate

Otniel, thank you for your input. One of our team members will be reaching out directly to discuss our recent update, Acctivate 10.3 that can deliver more stability to your system. ¿ Erica Avila

Replied 17/5/2018
Andrew
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/4/2016

I have implemented 3 successful Acctivate implementations.

Pros

The product integrates with Quickbooks better than competing products (i.e., Fishbowl). The product is stable, in SQL, and the database is well organized, normalized, which lends itself to reporting. I like the posting process overall (much easier than a batch system - i.e., Sage 100). The vendor provides excellent support and has outstanding, knowledgeable, helpful support staff.

Cons

I compare the product to other mid-market software that I implement (i.e., Sage 100, Great Plains, NetSuite). The product has limited functionality in some key areas: user-defined fields are limited, importing data into data entry processes such as purchase order, the data entry flow leaves much to be desired - having to click on fields, tab sequence, limited ability to default values in sales order entry to make the data entry process go faster, smoother. This can lead to errors in data entry.

Brandon
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 26/6/2017

The system crashes periodically, and there are some glitches.

We are able to keep account information, process and track orders and manage most of our complaints and returns.

Pros

We can use it with QuickBooks. I work with complaints, and the activity feature is useful in this department.

Cons

There are some glitches like when an order is made next day air, it will show as being shipped ground in Aactivate. Invoices will only show one shipping tracking number. The system crashes periodically, which is particularly difficult when I have multiple windows open.

Response from Acctivate

We appreciate your transparent feedback and apologize for any inconvenience you have been experiencing.

Our Support team reviews each and every request carefully so we can better understand how to fix whatever challenges you are experiencing.

If you are still experiencing difficulty, please give us a call at 817-870-1311 or open a request at http://help.acctivate.com, our experienced support team is standing by ready to help you (Monday - Friday).

Replied 17/7/2017
TINA
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 15/2/2021

customer service is very poor

they set everything up, even quickbook categories with no explaination and year end i had to hire a certified quickbooks person to fix my reports with no help from acctivate

Pros

clean screens not too busy. can access everything on one screen

Cons

alot of screens to update inventory, too many steps and screens to update. they do not know much about quickbooks

Pete
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/5/2016

Acctivate vs. QuickBooks Enterprise (with AI) - easy decision

Pros

Acctivate goes far beyond QuickBooks Enterprise, even with Advanced Inventory. It brings preferences down to the customer and item level that are only available in QBES at a global level. It has CRM, customer service, bar coding, multiple warehouses, serial and lot number tracking, location and bin tracking, cost methods (LIFO, FIFO or Average Cost) at the item level, multiple units of measure at the item level and much, much more. For manufacturers and distributors with complex inventory management or compliance requirements, Acctivate can relieve all the pain points that you currently encounter with QuickBooks.

Cons

Can't think of anything. Terrific sales and support teams.

FAITH
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/4/2016

Acctivate User for Five Years - Love it

Pros

I love the drill-down capabilities, the search options, copy functions, the wizards, reports, etc. So much that I enjoy. Great system!!

Cons

There is no vendor box in Acctivate, like how there is a customer box. We are limited to the vendor info we can pull up unless we have Quickbooks on our computer, and not everyone has QB in our dept. Really wish they would incorporate that into the Acctivate program.

Joel
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 10/11/2016

Not for my shop

This product has a low learning curve and easy to set up and use. It may be good for some businesses but it is not worth the money for ours. It works great for tracking inventory and bringing completed goods into our system and tracking them through to a sale. This is where it breaks down. We are a small business and do a lot of custom goods and small run manufacturing. There's not a lot to offer for the manufacturing side of our business. For a small shop, most of the functionality of this software can be done in Quickbooks. This product still requires quickbooks for accounting as well. The yearly maintenance fee, hard to swallow for what it does for our buisness.

Pros

Easy to use and update

Cons

Many glitches and bugs
Little help with manufacturing

Pedro
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/4/2019

Good inventory management program

It has been good so far. Tech support has room for improvement, but overall it has been a good program.

Pros

Acctivate provides us with the accountability, stability, and organization that our company really needed.

Cons

Need to have some SQL Server and Crystal Reports experience beforehand. Auto syncing would seem like a nice feature to add.

Response from Acctivate

Hi Pedro,
It is great to hear about the improvements that Acctivate has brought to your company.

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We look forward to the continued partnership with you and your company.

Kind Regards, Erica Avila

Replied 1/5/2019
Ken
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/4/2016

ACCTivate! Easy, Powerful, Very Reasonably Priced

Pros

The system is robust and always improving. The value for the price is unmatched

Cons

There is really nothing that I don't like about ACCTivate!

Kelly
  • Industry: Farming
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

2.5
Reviewed on 29/4/2016

Overall good software

Pros

Reports are optimized to run quickly with large database.

Cons

Limited ability to add detailed cost information to a product. Would like to have better CRM functions. Very poor support communications.

Tom
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/4/2016

Overall, we have seen the benefits of inventory counts and integration with Quickbooks

Pros: Ease of use and training for other employees. Overall this is a good product and I would recommend for inventory management.

Cons: Real time quantity available while making assemblies to know if you have enough product to build your assemblies.
Ability to add vendors in acctivate would be helpful. To have the
ability to see workflow on assemblies in progress on alert screen.
I would like to see adds to control shop floor movement of materials related to manufacturing, via being able to team members sign in and out of jobs.

Teresa
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 6/4/2016

Great inventory system, difficult to understand the concepts of use.

-Pro-Great inventory system. Great reports. Has been an added bonus to our organization for the last 7 years, I believe.
-Cons-There are some changes I would like, and have requested concerning how inventory is tracked. Returned items awaiting credits.
Customer service is slow to respond when there are issues. It usually takes 2 requests and a phone call.
I feel the new version is very bulky. We have had to retrain employees :(
I am however, very pleased overall.

Jaspal
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 9/11/2016

Acctivate Inventory Management

It is a smart quickbook for our inventory operations and management.

Pros

The ease of use.
it is flexible and highly scalable

Cons

More features could be added to it
It requires skilled training to operate

Suzanne
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/3/2016

It is easily self taught and reasonably priced for small businesses using quickbooks.

Pros - user friendly, easy to get processes created, handles inventory with transparency.
Cons - implementation needs more clarity from Alterity, more prep should be discussed.

After getting thru the fact that we did not prep correctly, we straightened that out and get back on top of all the details needing to be addressed it is a well oiled working software. The benefits from using ACCTivate now, out weigh any hurdles you may incur.

joe
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/4/2016

Acctivate Review

Acctivate is a great program for our manufacturing company. It is very easy to use. It allows us to track product in a very easy way. It synchronizes with QuickBooks very easily also. The only problem we have had in the past eight years is that every time there is a upgrade, the crystal report templates get screwed up. They don't seem to transfer well. One time we lost all our custom templates and had to have them remade.

Amber
Amber
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/4/2016

Long Time User

We've been using Acctivate for many years with our company and have been very happy with it. I appreciate the ability to build just the right set of modules for what we need and particularly like its ability to handle our complicated inventory system. The few times we come across issues, the support team is very quick to respond and resolve them. I would highly recommend Acctivate to other users.

Amber
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2013

Great software with tons of options, capacity and adaptability

Pros

It is appropriately scaled for a small/medium business, both in complexity and price. It allows for the challenges of both manufacturing and selling of non-manufactured products and purchasing/warehousing and selling in different related units.

Cons

I wish it had one extra field for an option on products so that color variations or grind type (we're a coffee business), didn't have to be a separate product code. Using custom fields for this works until trying to link to a website for import, and then those fields are inaccessible.

111 reviews