User Reviews Overview

About DigitalChalk

DigitalChalk is a cloud-based learning management solution for small and midsize businesses. Primary features include e-learning, customizable course content, content library, track progress, reward and real-time analytics. Othe...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.9
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
5.0

Browse DigitalChalk Reviews

98 of 98 reviews
Sort by:
Chris
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2016

Forget looking anywhere else!

First Pro - Their Team
From the first demonstration with sales to technical support and client service, the DigitalChalk Team not only answered our questions but answered them thoroughly and offered other ideas to help our business deliver the perfect e-learning experience to our customers. It is not necessarily the service that is unique, it is the people behind that service that takes our experience to an entirely new level. You will likely see this said time and again from others but "They care about our success."

Second Pro - Technical Support
We have a limited team here that deals with our tech issues and questions. We have relied on J and Adrian so many times, I have lost count.

The turnaround on issues is amazingly quick and they even adapted to our unique request to allow a certain type of content to be accessed through our courses iFrame features. We proudly stand behind this tech team of DigitalChalk.

Third Pro - Course Delivery
We ran extensive comparisons on the other LRS and LMS options out there and we could not be more thankful that we chose DigitalChalk.

We have seen other student access portals and while some might offer a "prettier" appearance but can not hold a candle to the features we get through DC.

From branding to delivery format to tracking and the support options you can offer your students, it is an winning choice to go with DigitalChalk. To top that off, they are always coming up with new features. They even took a request from us to customize our exam delivery functions.

Fourth Pro
Notification of student or account activity. We are smaller, so we typically wear several hats at our organization. With that said, we never have to worry about actions on our course going un-noticed. DigitalChalk offers a full suite of notification options triggered by student or Admin activity that you can customize to fit your specific needs. If, by some small chance, they don't offer the notification trigger you are looking for - call support and, based off our experiences, before you get off the phone you will have a solution to your problem or someone will be working on it immediately.

We will go nowhere else!

A sincere Thank You from a loyal client.

Craig
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/5/2014

Excellent product and very easy to use

I've been using the DigitalChalk system extensively to produce online training, and I personally believe that it is the best learning management system available right now. The development team is constantly adding new features and their customer communication is clear and frequent.

- DigitalChalk basically covers everything one needs in order to produce online training and deliver it to an audience. A fully customizable, branded course catalog and shopping cart come standard, and it can blend smoothly into an existing website.

- The course editing GUI is intuitive and fairly easy to get the hang of when creating a new curriculum. All media uploads are optimized automatically, similar to how Youtube creates multiple resolutions for a single video. Students or trainees with slow internet connections will still be able to participate satisfactorily, while others with fast connections can enjoy higher definition.

- eCommerce and gradebook tracking reports are *phenomenal*, and probably the most useful (to me, anyways) part of the system. It is very easy to set up affiliate marketing links to track how effectively your courses are being advertised by other organizations.

- The only thing I would recommend is that DC eventually adopts a closed-captioning system. Youtube has an automatic one that doesn't work well at this point, and I know the technology is still in its early stages. Using third-party software, I have to manually insert captioning into my videos intended to be accessible for students who may have difficulty hearing.

At first, DigitalChalk is simple and straightforward. One can begin creating courses right away. As I gained more experience creating courses, it surprised me with the large amount of useful options and deep features it offered. Overall, it has been a very satisfying experience.

For those who are not tech or computer-savvy, or don't have the extra time, staff, or resources to devote themselves to creating and managing online training, I would still recommend using DigitalChalk. I would definitely call their customer support for guidance, or find an organization like mine that can personally guide you through the process and manage it appropriately.

Avi
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 19/3/2015

DigitalChalk shines with their customer support

Digitalchalk support team is truly stellar. They have always offered prompt and helpful responses to my numerous queries. And they speak like real humans. You do not feel like you are interacting with a disembodied company.

There software works well for what it does, offering numerous options. Quite feature rich for the price you pay. Their per transaction fees are low, so you get to keep more of your sale price. We have some wishlist items about the Shopping Cart experience (login is required, so the first thing customer sees is a login screen instead of a shopping catalog). Some other features we wold love to see: play videos at faster speed (1.5x 2x Youtube and Udacity allow the same). But overall we are fairly happy with the software and the online experience.

They show online video at 720p HD @2200 kbps which is awesome and our users love that. Works fine almost all the time. Extremely rare for a user to complain about slow playback or other issues. Most of those are resolved quickly by the amazing support staff.

Top DigitalChalk Alternatives

Stephanie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/7/2017

Amazing customer service-easy to use

My students can easily register and pay for a class all in one spot.

Pros

Digital Chalk is an easy to use combined LMS/ SIS. It has features that I find superior to the biggest competitor, specifically the gradebook and connected payment system.

I also find the customer service to be beyond compare. I have often needed assistance and Digital Chalk staff reply swiftly and are very helpful.

Cons

The main thing I would add is a built in discussion forum are for courses. There is pay-to-play feature, but there are free options one can link into the course. (I use Piazza.)

While the fees are not exorbitant, they have grown significantly in the years I've been using Digital Chalk. I hope they are not going to rise any more.

Tom
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/6/2017

My experience with Digital Chalk has been awesome.

Digital Chalk was very easy to use out of the box, and we were up and running in a matter of days. It has allowed us to provide online training to our volunteers in a very user-friendly manner.

Pros

Digital Chalk is amazingly easy to use for the trainees, as well as the administrator right out of the box. The interface is very clean and appealing. It has all of the basics you would need in an LMS. The customer support is also amazing. I always get replies to questions from them in a matter of minutes.

Cons

It doesn't have all of the bells and whistles that some other LMSs have, but it also doesn't cost what those other LMSs cost. For example, course versioning and auto-reassignment of updated courses would be nice.

Stephen
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/2/2020

Easy to Use & Execute

Great experience, highly recommended.

Pros

I liked the ease of use, the fact that I could build the program out myself. There is a learning curve, but I did it all myself with no background in IT.

Cons

I wish there was a couple unique features that I want for my specific company, but not the end of the world.

Response from Infinity Learning Solutions

Hi Stephen, thanks for your great review! We're glad you find our platform easy to use. If there's any way you think we can make the learning curve lower, please don't hesitate to let us know at [email protected]

Replied 1/4/2020
Andrew
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2016

Excellent platform for online learning

We launched online learning across our UK business earlier this year and i am extremely pleased with it. Having launched e-learning in other companies; this is by far the best one i have managed and the range of functions is excellent. I would highly recommend Digital Chalk and my solution of internally creating SCORM and using the digital chalk platform is substantially cheaper than many other options on the market. I also think the fact the pricing structure is based on active users and published freely on the internet is a big plus as many of the competitors hide the prices for individual negotiation.

Pros

Flexibility in pricing, ease of use, various functions available. Tech support is impressive.

Cons

Areas of improvement would be to allow better managing of classroom (offline and non webinar) training courses. Also to use images within quiz questions without the need to link to external images.

Response from Infinity Learning Solutions

Thank you Andrew! We're so happy that you are enjoying your DigitalChalk experience! We will be adding the ability to upload an image directly to a question in a future release. For classroom training, we would love to get your thoughts on what would make this area of our system more effective for your organization. One of our team members will be reaching out. Thanks!

The DigitalChalk Team

Replied 27/10/2016
Carla
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/6/2010

Digital Chalk is the best system I've found for e-learning.

Overall, I loved this product. They contacted me to set up a webinar to make sure I felt comfortable using it, and they conducted a second webinar for two other people in the organization to teach them how to use it. The support has been fabulous. The only way you'll get what you need out of an LMS is to be comfortable with using it, and this company has a huge commitment to support.

Pros

I was asked to find an LMS for our state association, Texas Assn of Convention & Visitors Bureaus. They offer a lot of learning at their conventions but wanted a way to deliver it via the web. I researched a lot of systems out there, and Digitalchalk offered a free version that allowed me to get used to the system, learn how to use it, and see how powerful it was. I uploaded a video and PowerPoint that I created to test it out, and I was up and running. It was easy to add tests and other features. Bottom line, TACVB loves the system and will be building a set of courses using this software.

Cons

With any of these systems, you have a hurdle of having to figure out how you will create a professional quality video of the presentation. There is the option of not having a video cued to the PowerPoint, (e.g. using just audio instead) but that is not going to "sell" the e-learning for our organization. So you have to figure out a way to professionally videotape your speakers.

However, that is a challenge with any of the systems.

Cole
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/5/2014

DigitalChalk-- a major cut above the others

I have been with these folks for a couple of years. I recall the initial demo and committing about $400 to the cause for initial set-up. I played with the program for months, but for whatever reason, couldn't focus on completing a project.

There is now a lot of competition in this space-- really a lot-- and at the detriment of Digitalchalk, I have flirted with each one. All have their pros and cons, but I've come home to DC....

Pros- Simple user interface that guides you through the process of publishing a course
- $399 is an absolute bargain for a one time set up fee
- The pay as you you is attractive...meaning you pay for course delivery fees-- and they collect the tuition fees on your behalf.
- Delivery of a course is as low as $4.95- If you charge $19.95 for the course, do the math!

Cons-- It's not all wonderful.
-- To use PowerPoint slides, you must convert them to .JPEGs. This means you lose the animations and transitions of your original presentation.
-- I find the program line of "in and out" of the previously mentioned slides a bit confusing
-- Your catalog of courses (i.e. offerings) is somewhat bland. Other providers put significant pizzazz in your brand and online presentation. However, they charge you for this web design... DC does not.

Response from Infinity Learning Solutions

Hi Cole,

We are glad you are pleased with our platform! We've recently added a built-in PPT converter to the platform - that means you can upload your original PPT file without loosing any animations or transitions. Hopefully you'll find this tool useful. If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected]

- The DigitalChalk Team

Replied 5/1/2015
John
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/6/2010

DigitalChalk Systems

DigitalChalk is light years ahead of any other educational content development, deployment, and delivery system on the market today. Einstein is truly amazing in its intuitive, user-friendly system for creating and delivering courses for students at any level. It's pure genius.

Our experiences with the DigitalChalk team have been very gratifying because of their attention to details and to customer satisfaction. Their ability to respond to customer needs with accurate solutions is second to none in the technology industry.

We have had nothing but positive feedback from our students around the globe--from China, to India, to South Africa, to Europe, to the Caribbean--who are performing at a high level and actually enjoying their college education experience as a direct result of the DigitalChalk system and its application to our academic programs.

We have no hestiation in recommending DigitalChalk as the best and most dependable system for online educational excellence.

Pros

Creating educational content with DigitalChalk is so easy that it's too easy!

Dependability of DigitalChalk delivery to students ensures the fact that student complaints are virtually non-existent.

Creating and administering online assessments are simple and intuitive. Integrity and security of the assessment system is excellent.

Cons

We have found very little in the DigitalChalk system that is problematic, and even those things were solved in a prompt and satisfactory manner.

Mike
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/6/2010

Excellent Training System

I highly recommend the Digital Chalk platform for anyone looking to publish and sell training content over the web to anyone in the world. The system has great performance and an excellent set of features that also protect your content by always streaming and not leaving a video file on your customer's machines. We have been very happy with the product, the company, and most of all the people.

Pros

The Digital Chalk system has many advantages, specifically in the area of being easy to use. I found the upload process and slide-to-video synchronization to work exactly as I expected. We are very happy with the finished product and look forward to an updated launch of our content later this summer.

Cons

Being a video person, I elected to spend a little time to try and figure out what the best video compression method was that I should use for the best results within the Digital Chalk system. Based on input from their excellent support team, we quickly figured out the best settings for producing and then uploading our video content.

Sharon
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/7/2010

Airline Dispatcher Training Long Distance Learning Course

Josh Quigley did a fantastic job of explaining the system, showing us how it works, and tailoring it to our needs. So far, I would highly recommend this system.

Pros

We have many foreign students, and they will be easily able to accomplish their training through Digital chalk. Also the fact that we can verify the amount of time they spend on each chalkboard lesson for the Federal Aviation Administration is invaluable. Additionally, the tests are timed, so that they must finish the test once they start.

Cons

The only drawback I see is the inability to tell how long the students will spend on the "Powerpoint" presentations and assignments. For example, we can see when the students log on and log off and how much time that they spend on the Chalkboard presentations, but not for the othe presentations or assignments.

Response from Infinity Learning Solutions

Thanks for your great review!

We appreciate your feedback and are always working to better serve our customers. We hope you have enjoyed using DigitalChalk for your eLearning needs.

Replied 17/10/2013
Matthew
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/1/2015

Time saving product!

I looked at over a dozen online training solutions before committing to Digitalchalk. They provided me with ample training videos to use in order to work my way through the set up process, and launch my courses. I was in a hurry and skipped a few and found myself going back to them. I should have paid attention in the first place.

After everything was set up and running, I was able to sit back and analyze the results. The one thing I i8mmediately discovered was the amount of time I was saving by going with the Digitalchalk process. Time is money, and this just adds to my bottom line.

The ease of the operation is a benefit to myself, but more importantly to my customer base. I have recieved numerous compliments on our training platform. Many repeat and new customers have commented on the ease and convenience.

Lastly, my profit margin has an overall icrease of 20 percent per course. Now, I'm waiting to see if I get anincrease in customers which would make it even more beneficial. I couldn't go back to my old system after this.

Bill
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/10/2010

Eeritiz is Expanding Marketing Opportunities with Digital Chalk

Once you begin working with the product and testing out all the components, you will find creative ways to employ each feature to maximize the user experience. At Eeritiz, we found the learning curve very reasonable and our ability to test out ideas with our clients in the free version before upgrading gives us a real business development advantage over the competition.

Pros

The product is well designed and implemented. Customer support is helpful and both sales and support seem to be sincerely interested in how we are implementing our client solutions and courseware. Digital Chalk has enhanced our ability to reach out to smaller businesses, educators, authors and non-profits with solutions they can afford.

Cons

We have experienced some soundtrack conversion issues with large QuickTime video files created in Keynote, but have implemented a work-around by converting the files to FLV before uploading them.

Andrea
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/5/2014

Best Ever

Digital Chalk has provided the most perfect solution for my online training needs. As an independent contractor for instructional design and online training my online hosting needs are variable. Digital Chalk has amazing flexibility and features that have easily accommodated all my various course development, registration, offering, and pricing needs. And the best part is their customer service. In the two years I've been using Digital Chalk, the support staff has ALWAYS been responsive, helpful, so nice. and so friendly. They're just great. If they can't answer when I call, I always get a call back within an hour.

The one thing they could improve is the online help documentation. But when I haven't been able to find the answer there, their support staff has helped me out.

Overall, I have been totally happy and satisfied with Digital Chalk and I can't say enough great things about them.

Jeff
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/5/2010

DigitalChalk Rocks!

I would absolutely recommend this product. It makes it easy to create your own training classes instead of buying off the shelf stuff. Their customer support staff is INCREDIBLE! They walked me through how to create my first class step by step. I spent 3 months looking for something like DigitalChalk and I'm so glad I finally found it. I'm the Director of Training for a company that is spread out all over the country so this makes online learning easy and fun!

Pros

DigitalChalk is so easy to use and build high quality video based training. Love the fact that it does testing and tracks the users scores and lets an administrator look at those scores. The best part is you only pay for what you use so no monthly fees!

Cons

So far I've not found any cons to this product

Doug
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/5/2014

Unmatched Customer Service

We looked at several online platforms when we started using an online approach to delivering educational content. Our selection criteria included ease of use, both by students and administrators/instructors; high value for the price; and customer service. Honestly, as relative newcomers to online training, we frequently find that we "just don't know" what to do in order to achieve a desired outcome in the platform. Our lack of knowledge is ably mitigated by DigitalChalk. In addition to their robust "Help" feature and FAQ capability driven by our questions, there is simply no match for the fast, friendly, and absolutely "spot on" support provided by the folks in DigitalChalk's Customer Service!!

Katrina
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/6/2010

Founder/Designer

Highly Recommend

DigitalChalk is for everyone! Whether you are a college professor needing to teach courses or a cosmetologist wanting to teach CEU classes, DigitalChalk is for you!

Pros

I love DigitalChalk. This software is rich in content and extremely easy to use. My favorite feature is that it is a pay as you go system, no contracts, which is very important during this day and age.

Also, love their customer support and sales team. They really care about people and really want customers to be successful. They know if you are not successful as a customer, they are are not successful.

Cons

I cannot think of any.

Anne
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/3/2015

Amazing customer service and professional results

So, the Customer Service people are amazing. Easy to reach, they understand my problem/question, and go out of the way to help me find solutions. My preference is to figure things out for myself, but some days everything moves so fast that I just need to call and they have never let me down.

We have created a very complicated course targeted to a specific audience and each step has been surprisingly straight forward. We feel that Digital Chalk has made it possible for us to present a professional product so that we needed only to focus on the quality of our information and of our videos.

John
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2010

New User

Outstanding

Pros

I am new with Digital Chalk and am just now setting up our initial programs. I am pleased to offer comments primarily for the outstanding customer service I have received from the first day I inquired about Digital Chalk. I heartily recommend this company to others. Keywords? I'd say, courtesy, patience, customer service, helpfulness, willingness to take the time to work with you.

John Cornelius
Cornelius & Associates
Columbia, SC

Cons

None noted

Trish
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/3/2015

It is super intuitive!

I rarely have to read any tutorials or contact the support desk for help. I can figure out Digital Chalk with ease, which says a lot about the seamless user experience. Kudos to Digital Chalk!
When I do have to reach out for support, the reaction from Digital Chalk is immediate and their response time is fantastic. I called them one night at 5:15 pm and the problem was fixed at 5:30 pm with a call back from the staff to my phone to let me know the problem was solved. Superb!

Matt
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/6/2010

Digital Chalk online course delivery

I would recommend Digital Chalk for organizations looking for a cost-effective platform to create and deliver web-based courses, backed by a friendly team of responsive staffers.

Pros

User-friendly system makes it fairly easy to build your own online self-managed courses.

Cons

Our needs are admittedly unique from the typical Digital Chalk user, so the requests we have to maximize our users' experience are not on the front burner for feature requests.

Katie
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 1/12/2010

Digital Chalk Support Rocks!

I do highly recommend this to other companies our size.

Pros

I have had nothing but excellent customer service from the beginning with digital chalk. Support is quick, and always helpful.

Cons

The program takes a moment to learn, but if you can follow the directions that are clearly written, and have some computer know how, you can get it. And if you can't, support is awesome!

Vasilios
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/6/2013

Great support from Bobby Juarez

A good product for a good price, particularly when compared with other LMS hosted services.

Pros

Feature rich LMS.

Cons

User Interface could be improved to make the navigation functions more intuitive.

Response from Infinity Learning Solutions

Thank you for the review!

Good news! We have improved the user interface with a new dashboard and the navigation is now easier than ever. We hope you enjoy these new updates!

Replied 17/10/2013
Ted
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/5/2014

Digital Chalk is an awesome platform for our online classes

We've been using digital chalk for several years now, and they have a great product that is easy to use, and great customer service to boot. Every time something comes up that could be done better, Digital Chalk steps up and works to make the changes they need to. They are constantly improving their product, and making sure their users are happy.

98 reviews