Sage Timeslips Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Sage Timeslips

Never lose another second of billable time! Timeslips is the leading time tracking and billing solution for attorneys, accountants, and consultants. Timeslips is built for any business needing to capture their time, deliver...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.3
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.2

Browse Sage Timeslips Reviews

257 of 257 reviews
Sort by:
Patricia
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/5/2023

Highly Recommend for Any Law Firm

Love this product. Wish the pricing was more afordable for a small firm, but we have no plans to change.

Pros

There are other billing platforms and products out there, but the consistent reliability of Sage Timeslips and its features make it a must-have for accurate law firm timeslips entry, billing, accounting, and maintaining client contact. Our firm has used Timeslips for over 20 years now. The customer service is one of th best for tech support as well. Timeslips tech support are incredibly knowleadgable and courteous. They often fix an issue within minutes of initiating a call for help, and they will also make sure to run a full diagnostic and fix other matters we might not know exist to ensure no additional problems arise.

Cons

No tech support on weekends. We sometimes have issues arise on weekends, and it would be ideal if there was support even if it was for a shorter time-period on the weekends. Since support is provided remotely, it is not clear why weekend support is not provided. For a business, we operate 24/7 and use TimeSlips daily. We cannot have a lack of access or some other issue crop up and wait till Monday to fix it. This cut-back was one major disappointment, especially given the costs for annual tech support contract.

Megan
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 9/5/2023

Timeslips Review

Overall, Timeslips is the only program we have used at our law firm but I do wish customer support was better and that it was more user friendly.

Pros

I appreciate that Timeslips has client history and that we can view previous bills with ease and without having to print them out again. I also like that there are numerous reports that can be run but there are so many options that you can get lost in the process. We have also used the abbreviations and have found them to help get more slips entered faster.

Cons

There are a few things that I have been underwhelmed with. For one, depending on version you are limited to customer support options. Knowing that our version only allows for 3 chats under our subscription, I have had to save questions for months to ask when you finally do get someone to respond to you. If you are willing to do a live chat for hours before you can get someone on the phone, then I guess this would work well for you. I will say, once I finally got a representative to remote into our Timeslips, it was Extremely helpful to explain numerous issues with someone seeing your problem on the screen. I was able to get most of the questions I had to reserve answered. Even though I had support on with me they could not understand why Data Verification would not work to resolve client balances, I was told that an upgrade effected that in the program and it hasn't been fixed yet. How will we know when it is fixed? Another thing that absolutely drives me crazy is the NUMEROUS clicks and messages that pop up just to get one invoice printed and sent to LEDES. We are also having issues trying to close client accounts without going back through each and every invoice and AR transaction to find the solution.

Courtney
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/5/2023

Cathy Ann Helmstadter CPA's & Associates, Inc. Sage Timeslips User Review

Our company is an accounting firm. We were quite overdue to upgrade to a current version of Sage Timeslips and did so in 2020. We have experienced numerous challenges since the upgrade. [sensitive content hidden] and myself as a user, were disappointed with the training that the company paid for with the purchase of our program upgrade. The training was pertinent to billing for a law firm and did not apply to our billing needs. It would be very helpful if a variety of training options were available for different types of industries. We have tried to utilize customer support for various issues and found the "Chat" version of support ineffective in getting a definitive resolve. Also the inability to access or to print a copy of a Chat support session after it is ended.

Pros

The availability to customize a variety of features. In example, reports, timeslip & expense entry viewing, account receivable transactions for viewing, etc.

Cons

The process of preparing the billing of invoices is very time consuming. We have found the customization of invoices to be difficult to format. Templates that we created to optimize a variety of client billing needs, have been inconsistent. Although we have chosen the exact same customized template for several clients, the invoice appearance from client to client is not the same.A suggestion that would help to save time when preparing the invoice billing is, to have the ability to hold or bill multiple time or expense entries all at once. It is quite time consuming that the program requires this process to be done to a single entry at a time.

Top Sage Timeslips Alternatives

Curt
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/5/2023

Worth the Effort

I have used Timeslips for nearly thirty years. I would hate to have the expense of recreating my database, and while other programs indicate that they can translate my old database and copy it, I am comfortable with the software, although the increased expense and limited utility of the last several years of updates makes me assess how much longer it will be before I switch to a competing program at a lower price. I certainly am not receiving any discounts for customer loyalty.

Pros

Timeslips takes time to imput data, use and customize. But once you set up your system and create what you need, it speeds up your billing process and enables you to create very accurate billing records, and template vast amounts of information for subsequent use. The service and technical assistance providers generally come up with serviceable solutions and are very courteous and responsive, and I like the feature in which they send transcripts of the conversations after so I can use them and effect further repairs as needed.

Cons

Over the years, the program has grown and become so much more complex, and some aspects are harder to use. I wish the "knowledge base" was easier to use for those of us who are less social media based and less involved in internet "chats". I would prefer a database of short tutorials on basic usage issues. Also, although it is part of the industry, I really hated moving from owning the software to "renting" it and paying substantial annual fees for the software. For a smaller practitioner, this is very expensive and the updates don't really provide much benefit to me - my use of the software really has not changed over time, even though the software becomes more complex.

Christina
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 2/5/2023

Timeslips for Billing

Pros

Our firm has used TimeSlips since I started here over 5 years ago. We almost went away from it to go cloud based but the migration was too difficult. We recently upgraded our service to three users and pay monthly for the services so we are able to contact customer support to get answers to tech and other questions. Recently, I have not been able to use the instant messenger feature which was why I switched to begin with. If they could make that feature more user friendly it would give it a better review. We have so many clients already in this database it makes it very difficult to get rid of.

Cons

The difficulty getting a hold of the help desk for reports etc.

Alternatives Considered

MyCase

Reasons for Switching to Sage Timeslips

Already using
Jane
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 4/5/2022

Timeslips Billing Software

It was a good software for the basic purposes that it served, i.e. timekeeping and billing. But I do recall that there were a lot of user issues and lack of tech support.

Pros

I recall that Timeslips was the first billing software I used as a full-time practitioner, and it was a good way to get a sense for how a billing software works, and to learn the value of keeping track of time for making money! I learned the business side of a legal practice in part from using Timeslips!

Cons

Our firm used Timeslips several years ago when the then-managing partner had purchased a limited number of user licenses for the software. After new partners came into the firm, and the firm was growing, the limited number of licenses became an issue, and I recall there were times when different attorneys could not access the system due to limited license usage issues. Then, the office manager and the firm partners were looking into whether it was possible to purchase additional licenses, and I think cost was an issue. We also didn't have access to tech support, which frankly I don't recall why except for maybe that service did not come with the type of licenses we purchased, or it was simply too much money than what the firm was willing to spend at the time.

Shannon
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 5/5/2023

Robust software, but somewhat clunky

Pros

We have used Sage Timeslips for 20+ years and it has worked for us. There are many positive features of the software like the customization of reports, the billing process and all the many features.

Cons

We have run into some issues with being able to invoice clients the way some of the attorneys wish to do so. The software updates are worth updates are crucial, but notifications for new updates are not consistent.

Alternatives Considered

AbacusLaw and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Sage Timeslips

We stayed with Sage because it was what we knew. And the other software was not much better.
Juanita
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 2/5/2023

Worth Figuring Out How to Use

Easy to use once you get the hang of how to use

Pros

The best thing about TimeSlips is easy access to payment and time slip histories. Monthly billing statements are easy to print. However, statements do have their cons, which I will address below. I also like being able to customize tasks and assign flat rate time to those tasks, if applicable . So many features as a small, one attorney/one staff office we do not even use. We have had this program over 10 years and it still performs as expected without issues.

Cons

Get connected with gmail for electric billing, not everyone uses outlook. Also, set up a way to not have to print the recap of billing on future bills since it can become a waste of paper and an expense on small offices for paper and ink with clients that have several pages of previous billing pages.

Karen
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

Billing & Reporting Since 1999

I do love the program. I just need more custom fields in the slip entry that can be used in reports.

Pros

Multi-user time capture and billing system. Easy to run single invoices that need to go out daily and large quarterly billings. Easy to look up details of past projects for clients and also running time reports of employees/per department.

Cons

We need more custom fields in the slip entry so that we can capture more information needed in our reports. Requests for Proposals are requiring more information and timeslips does not have the capability to capture all the necessary information that we need for most of our reports. Most RFP's ask for five years of information so it would really be nice if I could house all the information in a slip entry verses running a TS report and combining it reports from other systems.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 2/8/2023

Antiquated compared to the options available today

Overly complex and antiquated. Takes too much time from both the end user and administrators. We are way happier using Avaza and Quickbooks than we ever were on Timeslips.

Pros

There wasn't much to like about Timeslips except maybe an abundance of reporting

Cons

Clunky and over complicated. Interface was outdated. Started on the locally hosted version which was nearly impossible to upgrade and required keeping a really old computer around. Did demos with Sage to see about getting on a newer version and I wasn't impressed at all with their offering compared to other products I was looking at.

Robin
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 9/6/2020

This company is sketchy af

20 years ago, they were a decent company and put out a decent product. Now they have built in glitches, designed to take your system down 12 months after you purchase their product so that your billing information is held hostage until you pay them the required amount.

Pros

It is simple to enter the time in. My employee pick up on entering the information fairly quickly.

Cons

I purchased the program, and not a subscription. You can count on the fact that in 12 months after you purchase the subscription, you will suddenly and magically begin to have glitches. Then they will tell you that that version of the program is no longer supported, therefore you have to spend some random amount of money to upgrade to a version that is supported. Some years this is been $400, some years it has been over $1,000. Meanwhile they hold your information hostage with the built-in error message/glitch that they have included in the program to start appearing within 12 months of your purchase. Run from this company. They will hold your billing information. They will tell you this is not their problem. If you chose not to run from this company, you better pay the extra ransom money for the service plan, but beware, eventually they will just give you the advise that you need to upgrade again.

Marc
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 6/5/2023

Functional but needs updating.

I am a practicing cardiologist who uses Timeslips to track time and provide invoices for the time I spend as a medical-legal consultant. I database has been accumulated over 20 years. This is what I have not changed to a competing software product. The lack of integration with the web makes this product very outdated.

Pros

I have been using this software for > 20 yrs. I am familiar with how to use it don't want to learn a new system.

Cons

In the 20 years I have had Timeslips, it has changed little. It has gotten more expensive each year and currently requires an annual subscription. Tech support now requires an on-line submittal with follow up phone calls. Their tech support hours are not convenient if you work away from your home office. I pay for unlimited tech support since each call is very costly if you do not have the subscription.

Claire
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

Customer Service Fell Way Short

Pros

Not sure, we have been using it so long that we just continue to use it.

Cons

Unfortunately, i had a really bad experience with customer service and i was not pleased with the lack of help or rude attitude that was presented.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online
Penny
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 28/4/2023

Price goes up, support evaporates

i get bills out, that is all and if i have a problem I am on my own. I was told i could use it on my phone and we lost all the data! I am about to retire but would never recommend this to anyone.

Pros

I have used Time Slips for 30 years, it used to have support, then you paid according to the type of support. Now the price is insane and there is apparently NO support, when you reach someone they say make an appointment or go fish. I am not sure why the price has sky rocketed with NO SUPPORT at ALL

Cons

There is no longer support and too many bugs that make my bills gibberish. I love telling the client "pay no attention to the miscellaneous charge, no one knows why its there or how to get rid of it."

Hideko
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

Technical Service: Good but Extremely Hard to Reach

I liked the old version, where I purchased the program, better. This is very expensive and not user friendly.

Pros

I think this program is great but usability and technical support to address issues is extremely elusive. Live Chat, which I am required to enter, more often than not, during regular business hours, is unavailable. There is no other way to get to Tech Support. Then, if I am lucky and can get to live chat, there is always a long wait.

Cons

The unavailability to get tech support help timely. I pay a lot per month for this program, and I am very unhappy with the availability to get help when the program malfunctions.

Linda
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 8/6/2017

Have Used TimeSlips for Years

We are comfortable with it. Our office has been using this software to track individual user hours and role rates for decades. I am quite sure our accounting software has a time feature, but we are happy with TimeSlips.

Pros

In our accounting office, we have used TimeSlips since I have been there (over 18 years). We have only updated our version once during that time. It is a basic time, expense, and client tracker. We are a small 3-person firm, and it meets our needs. We haven't updated our version since 2011, so our product is no longer supported. There is a quirk in our version, but I have found a workaround, and the savings in not being required to upgrade our software is worth the workaround.

Cons

Customizing the templates is difficult, and for some reason this year, the "billing assistant" box cannot be moved or minimized once it is opened (this is a 2017 glitch--had not experienced till this year).

Pamela
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 2/5/2023

Pick a different time and billing software

It used to be excellent but over the past year it has been awful.

Pros

It has decades of my time and activity records on it, and after all these years I know how to run it.

Cons

It's buggy - it keeps breaking down, and using customer service to get it running again takes multiple calls and a lot of down time. It's also hugely expensive - since December I have paid nearly $4,000 for a one year subscription plus separately for an upgrade of the program (to fix the most recent breakdown) plus separately for a service contract that doesn't include a program upgrade.

Norma
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 4/5/2023

Liked previous version better

I have had thirty years using Timeslips. Always get excellent help.

Pros

I really my previous versions of Timeslips. There is one thing not available anymore - reference to have multiple jobs for one client. For the most part user friendly. Been using this since 1992.

Cons

I really liked my previous versions of Timeslips. I had the ability to add a reference if the client had several different jobs. The cost is also too high.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Sage Timeslips

History
Mark
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

Best time and billing software, but not perfect

I have been using Sage Timeslips since 2008, and by and large the experience has been incredibly positive.

Pros

I love how Sage handles multiple types of billing and billing arrangements and it's multiple time and expense tracking feature.

Cons

The biggest downsides about Timeslips are that it is pricy and that it is not 100% cloud-based. Regarding the latter, in the new age of remote work, it is a huge detriment that the entire system cannot be managed online or fully integrate with other cloud-based software, such as case management software.

keith
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

Sole Proprietor CPA practice review

As noted above, I have used this program for my time/expense tracking for over 2 decades. That say more than any words could describe.

Pros

I have used Timeslips since just prior to the turn of the century. I am familiar with many aspects of the program and like it enough to retain.

Cons

It was more cost effective when I could purchase the program and upgrade only every couple years. Now it is annual subscription based which tripled my cost. I have experienced difficulties it generating differing invoice layouts.

Leslie
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/5/2023

Good product but hard to get help

Overall, our experience is good to average. I feel like the price is high on a subscription basis.

Pros

Timeslips is easy to use once set up. We use it to input attorney time and expenses and to produce bills/invoices at month end (or on demand).

Cons

It is hard to get assistance when needed. The online "help" sources are not often helpful when we have questions on specific items related to our firm.

Mayra
  • Industry: Judiciary
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/5/2023

Great Software

Pros

Sage Timeslips is very user friendly. I like the easy of being able to adjust the date of bills and preparing reports.

Cons

There aren't really many things I've had issues with. However, I did notice that I am unable to delete a client name if it was entered by mistake. I did see that you can change the status to closed or inactive. But it seems like in the case of incorrect entry it takes up a lot of space instead of being able to actually delete the entry.

Hanna
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 5/5/2023

Solid software

Works well to keep track of attorney billing but would love more flexibility to design invoices and reports.

Pros

Entering attorney time for billing is simple and intuitive. Interface is unfussy and easy to navigate for the most part.

Cons

Lack of flexibility to design invoices - the design platform is difficult to use and unnecessarily complicated and rigid. Similar lack of flexibility with reports.

Katie
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/5/2023

Long time user of Timeslips for law firm

Pros

Timeslips is easy to navigate and has the functionality and reliability you need. The billing stages of Proof, Revision, Audit keep you straight where you are at in the billing process. For a small law firm, the software is just what you need and easy to train users.

Cons

Sometimes the reporting is limited, but that could probably be improved if I had the time to play around with customizing reports.

Claire
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2023

My Use of Timeslips

Pros

Timeslips is very user friendly. I have used it for the majority of the 32 years that I have practiced law. It has the time and expense feature to allow tracking oy my time spent on my clients' cases and the expenses that they are required to pay. It has the ability of using different hourly rates for different clients. It also has the capability of drafting different amounts non-refunable retained and the use of Funds to apply refundable portions of retainers differently.

Cons

We have had to update our Timeslips software on occasion and in that process lost some information that we had to recreate; however, it was not information that I didn't have backed up. I cannot suggest any changes for my specific use of Timeslips.

257 reviews