User Reviews Overview

About Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses

Veryfi is an expense report solution designed to help businesses streamline processes related to receipt collection, bank reconciliation, job costing, document management and more. It provides mobile applications for Android and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
4.8

Browse Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses Reviews

155 of 155 reviews
Sort by:
Theo
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/8/2018

Veryfi review from Theo

Really good experience. Much, much happier than my previous service (SquirrelStreet). Their prices kept creeping up, and we would only know our final cost after the processed. Also if we were a few days late, we would still pay the minimum fee for the month and then get whacked with a huge surcharge—that doesn't happen with veryfi.

Pros

Cost, ability to hold backup files in Dropbox or Google Drive. Instant review and verification,

Cons

Not much. Yes I have to verify each transaction, and sometimes correct, but then I know that the information is there ready to use and accurate—no waiting a few weeks and hopping it was done correctly. It's a con which turns into a pro!
On some surfaces the auto detect doesn't work correctly or randomly. especially at Coles self serve checkouts. I tend to have auto detect off and then sometimes crop the image to reduce file size.

Robert
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

Indispensable

Pros

Point of Sale disposition of bookkeeping chores. Finished before I hit the door.

Cons

I can't resist getting into conversations with random people when they see me use it.

Response from Veryfi

Robert, Love your feedback! Thank you so much for your support.

PS. Don't forget to use your code in the referral program (https://hub.veryfi.com/referrals/) so we can credit your account for every user you share Veryfi with

Best,
Ernest

Replied 1/9/2021
Jake
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/11/2016

Solid Optical Reading

I have not used IQBoxy for long, but I do have some clients using it to track their business expenses. They take photos of their receipts and IQBoxy converts them to digital information and syncs with Xero Accounting Software.

So far, the information the software gathers from the receipts has proven to be both accurate and reliable, which is more than can be said for some other software I've used. It is able to pull the vendor name, date, amount, etc. and accurately sync it with Xero. I also like the expense reports and reminders to get your receipts entered. The expense reports can be printed from your computer to submit to your accountant or bookkeeper.

The one area that I find challenging is the integration with Xero. Though it transfers information well, the workflow still requires more steps than entering a transaction. Essentially, it creates an unapproved Bill in Xero for your accountant to approve (create the bill), then record a payment (or you can use the Expense Reimbursement feature of Xero the same way). To set the account and approve the bill, then create a payment to actually hit your general ledger is more steps than just creating a spend or receive money transaction. For that reason, the integration might not be the right solution for everyone, but overall, the software is accurate and helpful for tracking business expenses and keeping your receipts organized.

Pros

Accuracy in reading receipts.

Cons

Integration steps (which may not really be unique to this software).

Response from Veryfi

Jake, thank you for your great feedback and support.

We now have web app tool for accountants & bookkeepers to manage your clients from the 1 place. Check it out => https://www.veryfi.com/accounting-practice-management/

PS. IQBoxy has a new name! VERYFI ~ Read the announcement => https://www.veryfi.com/news/iqboxy-is-now-veryfi/

Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 7/12/2017

Top Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses Alternatives

Mohamed
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/2/2023

wonderful

i am happy with the results i get from the software

Pros

it is easy to use and give me the required info

Cons

i would like it to be less expensive it will encourage me to use it more

Response from Veryfi

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback, and are happy to see that our software is easy for you and your team to use. It looks like you may have tried our OCR API Platform free trial, you can continue to use that account after the first 14 days for free, for 50 documents a month. Alternatively, you can use our expense management app as an accounting practice with multiple team members, which is $15/mo/user.
Cheers,
The Veryfi Team

Replied 5/4/2023
Jamie
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/1/2020

Smarter, not harder

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], answered questions/concerns, provided 1:1 training, amazing customer support, and treated our 2 employees business like we are just as important as their big construction company clients.

Pros

Veryfi’s Intelligent OCR (Optical character recognition) made scanning over 2,000 handwritten/printed receipts simple, convenient, and accurate data extraction effortlessly.

Cons

When using the column filters or a specific date range the filter is not saved.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Desk and Shoeboxed

Reasons for Switching to Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses

Customer Support Simplicity of uploading receipts Accurate data extraction - including handwritten receipts Price/Cost

Response from Veryfi

Jamie, Thank you so much for the lovely feedback! I have shared it with the team and there were smiles all round. We are grateful for the lovely private note you left. Thank you again for the support!
Best,
Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 27/2/2020
Coy
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2020

CEO/ President

We use the Expense management product. During our first three days, we scanned 300 receipts. We contacted support and Veryfi raised our cap to 600. We readily used the additional allocation in less than three days.

Pros

Ease of use. Out of the box solution. Implementation is extremely simple. User friendly. Our CPA firm is overjoyed! They continue to evaluate Veryfi expense management and other product offerings.

Cons

The 300 receipt limitation is bothersome for new users, but I understand Veryfi rationale.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses

Al and Machine learning. Fast, reasonably exact.

Response from Veryfi

Coy, great feedback! Thank you so much.

Re unlimited data extraction, check out the Veryfi OCR API which has no limits using per scan model.

All the best!
Rusty

Replied 2/6/2021
Roger
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/8/2018

Easy to use, convenient, great for tracking receipts

Saves me loads of time, I don't lose receipts and they're not flying all over my car, littering my desk and getting washed in my pants. I have an accurate record of what I spent and when I spent it. Easily integrates with Quickbooks.

Pros

Love this app. I capture my paper receipts within minutes of receiving them. That way I don't lose them or they don't fade. Once a month I edit the record and tag the receipts to upload to QB. The categories b/w Veryfi and QB are nearly 100%. Also, sending e-receipts to my Veryfi email address works as advertised. Love the feature that they recognize most vendors and attach vendor logos. A+ rating from me!

Cons

Occasional hiccup and I have to take photo of receipt twice.

Laura
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/3/2018

Wonderful product!

As accountant I save time and money because with Veryfi do some task on my work are just taking seconds, Also generate automatically reports are very useful for me to compare my expenses and take decisions on my business.

Pros

Easy to use, amazing support 24 hours, and the most important thing I save a lot of money using this product, good job Veryfi team!

Cons

Nothing everything is perfect, new features each week and that's fantastic! waiting for android version of logbook app

Nathan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2023

Improves Quality of Life

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and how well it picks expenses up from the receipts you provide.

Cons

I wish theres was an easier way to track miles from the app itself.

Response from Veryfi

Thanks for your review! We're happy to see that our software is improving your quality of life! That's why we do what we do, and it's fantastic to see that we're helping you.
Cheers,
The Veryfi Team

Replied 5/4/2023
Karen
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2022

What is an incredibly put together OCR & Expenses software

Such incredibly powerful OCR software that I've had an incredible experience using

Pros

This has to be one of the best OCR & Expense software I have ever used it has all the major features you would need from easy OCR recognition to full-time tracking and payroll

Cons

The software can become a little cumbersome do the all the features it has and it takes time to learn how to get everything set up and working like you want it to

Response from Veryfi

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your business and your positive comments, and are happy to see that our software is making expense management easier for you.
Cheers,
The Veryfi Team

Replied 5/4/2023
Jason
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/8/2018

Was skeptical at first; now convinced it's the best receipts / expense manager for small...

My overall experience with Veryfi has exceeded expectations. As a small business owner with invoices and receipts of all different shapes and sizes, I was quite impressed by how quick and accurate the OCR software was in Veryfi. I was originally skeptical of using Veryfi as it wasn't a proven name in the industry like Expensify, however I am glad I made the choice to use Veryfi as it's far better than its competitors for my purposes.

Pros

The software is highly intuitive and easy to learn. The process of uploading receipts, editing previous entries, or changing a vendor name, follows a familiar flow nearly all smartphone users will feel accustomed to.

What I enjoyed the most about Veryfi are the certain features I never had on my list of requirements (or thought to be important) in an expense manager but turns out to be extremely helpful. For example, extracting the vendor address from a receipt is something I thought of as a "nice to have" but not a requirement.

Now this feature is something I can't live without as it helps automate my purchases based on the proximity to my business. This is helpful for large chains and big box stores with many locations, I can now split out personal and business expenses far more easily.

This is what distinguishes good software from great software. Good software completes a task in a way you wanted it to; great software completes the job in a better way than what you had in mind, and that's what Veryfi does with receipts.

Cons

Not sure if this is Veryfi's issue, however the integration with QuickBooks online can be improved. I never get the confidence of whether a receipt has been uploaded and matched on QB, aside from the green QB logo being red. If there was a better way to bulk manage expenses and how it's uploaded into QB, and what it's QB status is (ie. matched, no match, amounts not matching, etc) that would be helpful.

Response from Veryfi

Jason, thank you for your feedback!

I'd love to understand what we can do more to improve QBO experience for you. Please reach out to us on [email protected] so we can connect for a quick phone call and improve your QBO experience :-)

Ernest

Replied 11/9/2018
Joseph
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/8/2021

Has made my accounting life 100% easier

Best OCR easiest entry customizable reports secure interaction (machine only) can run it all from my cellphone has made my accounting so much easier no more dread.

Pros

I use to dread the hours spent with a huge pile of receipts trying to enter them into software and then fixing all the mistakes that the OCR made this software helps me to do all my accounting from my cellphone as I go and at the end of the month I just generate a report so simple and easy and far more accurate than anything I have ever used plus the security I didn’t want my accounting and receipts left unsecured and they have the best security.

Cons

Some of the merchant names make multiple names for the same merchant you can fix it by hand but is time consuming.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Response from Veryfi

Joseph, I love this detailed feedback! Thank you so much for your support.

Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 1/9/2021
Aidan
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/9/2019

Fantastic software, desire personal version

Overall a fantastic experience. I hope that they will include a personal finance option. I know that they will continue to improve the OCR with each update to the mobile software.

Pros

I love this software, it is fantastic with keeping up with receipts, the software pulls most if not all of the information off the receipt automatically, which is a great feature. The overall OCR function works great, and it works great for tracking certain transaction categories to keep an eye on spending. It’s been great to use for reimbursement itemization while I was interviewing.

Cons

Their OCR could be slightly improved as I’ve had issues with the camera recognizing the receipt for more than a second, cycling through shapes and having issues with taking a photo and having it select a shape other than the one in the last cycle.
I also wish that they had a personal finance option as I would love to manage my own finances without some of the selections or details of a company.

Response from Veryfi

Hi Aidan, Thank you for the great review and awesome feedback!

Since you posted this we have dramatically improved the OCR. Hope you noticed it with every scan of a receipt.

Regarding a personal option - you can add up to 3 profiles (accounts) per subscription. So your 2nd one can be personal and then used in a different way than your business account.

Recently we also launched a bunch of new videos on Veryfi features and how to turn things on and off. Hope this helps => https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLkA-lFc8JUY5WXYFxFrHTvzFybcCR918r

Best,
Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 28/2/2020
Jay
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

Long time user of Veryfi.

Love it and have recommended it to many business. Easy to learn and to use across entire organization.

Pros

The mobile receipt scanning is my favorite feature. The rule based options are unlimited on how you set things up to run for your workflow. Fast and efficient across any platform.

Cons

The only issue I have ever had is when there is an update for the software. The app will crash after taking a pic of a receipt. It’s easily fixed by downloading the new version but is frustrating at times.

Response from Veryfi

Jay, thank you so much for your nice feedback and support!

Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 3/9/2021
Mark
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/2/2018

For capturing receipts, head and shoulders above everything out there so far.

Pros

The receipt capture is by far the most compelling feature this app offers. Not having to wait 24 hours to have my receipts captured (ReceiptHog lol) is a huge deal. It's instant with this app.

Another huge plus is that my receipts aren't being sent to some offshore sweatshop exposing my data to god knows who? (Expensify which I used previously) These guys are using AI, which is cool, machines aren't going to sell my data or do anything nefarious.

The other pro for us is that it integrates with our existing accounting software, it was an easy sell to us.

Cons

The app looks a little ugly ? Maybe that's just the nature of boring accounting software but it's a minor quibble.

Response from Veryfi

Awesome! Thanks for the feedback. Yap an ugly duckling :P which product do you think needs UI love - android, ios or web? ~ Ernest (founder)

Replied 13/2/2018
Alberto
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

The absolute most essential and easy to use receipt management app

My overall experience is exceptionally positive.

Pros

The thing I like most is the ease of use.

Cons

I do feel as with all apps, there’s room for improvement. Currently I feel like the refresh rate on the receipts page could be improved. As is the split function as well.

Response from Veryfi

Alberto, Thank you for your nice feedback and support!

Re split function, this is currently getting revamped (rebuilt). Stay tuned :-)

Best,
Ernest

Replied 1/9/2021
Simone
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/10/2019

GREAT APP - A LITTLE PRICEY

Pros

I've been using Veryfi since it was called IQ boxy, so more than 2 years now. I very happy. it's easy to use and very effective. I had some issues with my subscription and the customer care has been very helpful.

Cons

I think the subscription price has rised too much

Response from Veryfi

Hi Simone, ahhh yes IQBOXY days :-) Thank you for your feedback and rating! Appreciate the ongoing support.
~ Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 28/2/2020
Brigid
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

Best receipt software out there

Saved me so much Time!

Pros

I love the receipt tracking feature so much. It has saved me so many days of tax preparation. My favorite is the ability to tag everything as a schedul C expense and have all the receipts total with the click of a button.

Cons

I wish the interface was slightly more user-friendly. It has improved - I’ve been using it since it was OneReceipt.

Response from Veryfi

Brigid, Thank you for your feedback and support!

I'd love to hear what we could improve on the user-friendly side. Is it a mobile or web app and which parts. Please let us know at su[email protected] so we can make these changes for the better :-)

Best,
Ernest

Replied 1/9/2021
Rich
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/8/2021

Excellent receipt management

Pros

Love being able to track and place receipts for each job and tracking the spending. Gives us time to do other important tasks instead of having to go through hundreds of receipts

Cons

I wish the users were able to add their own specific jobs to the app. They have to wait for an admin to add it in

Response from Veryfi

Rich, Thank you for your feedback and support!

I'd love to hear more about your need to allow users to add specific jobs to the app. Can you please reach out to [email protected] and mention this post so we can make this work for you?

Cheers,
Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 1/9/2021
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/12/2018

Veryfi Review

Pros

- I like how I can organize my receipts project based as we work heavily project based on accounting and finances.
- I like how easy the integration between Veryfi and Quickbooks Online, which is our primary accounting software.
- I like how quick it is to scan a receipt. I've tried demos of many other apps and Veryfi is by far the fastest and most accurate option when scanning receipts as the machines work for you, not people as in competitors.
- I think it has a very fair pricing.

Cons

- Tax syncing is not always accurate from the receipt. Sometimes I have to manually adjust the correct tax amount.

Response from Veryfi

Thank you kindly for your feedback and positive ratings. Best, Ernest (cofounder)

PS. Please reach out to suppor[email protected] so we can look into the tax syncing point you made.

Replied 4/12/2018
Justin
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/4/2021

Simple Intuitive Software that is so POWERFUL!

Well thought out software that has been designed to be as easy and efficient as possible using the technology most business owners already have at their finger tips.

Pros

This software makes financial administration so much easier and less time consuming. It is a pleasure to us and this powerful technology will make your life a lot easier and give you your time back.

Cons

There were not really any cons but it would be good to have a folder system for supplier monthly account receivable statements that can be forwarded by email directly to them if that function is not already available.

Response from Veryfi

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback Justin! ~ Ernest

Replied 2/6/2021
Nick
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/2/2018

Use it for 6 months and save my time on tax preparation. Well done, guys.

Pros

Because it categorizes and transfer to Excel and other formats. So instead of collect each receipt and keep it physically and spend a half day before Tax day, you can just open Excel and everything is ready for your Tax preparer person.

Response from Veryfi

Thank you for your support Nick! Great review & feedback.

Replied 13/3/2018
Sergio
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 9/6/2019

Nice expenses management

Pros

Ease of use and straight forward. It will help you have control of your expenses

Cons

Can’t edit categories from the app. Too expensive for individual or personal use.

Response from Veryfi

Hi Sergio, thank you for your feedback.

To edit categories inside the mobile app all you have to do is swipe the Inbox > Categories > Category cell to reveal the edit option.

Inside the web product it's pressing the button with 3 dots stacked on-top to reveal more options around managing Categories. This video explains nicely how to manage your Inbox https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArwDHUPTdeI&list=PLkA-lFc8JUY5WXYFxFrHTvzFybcCR918r&index=3&t=0s

Feel free to reach back if you have more questions.

Best,
~ Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 28/2/2020
Marie Debbie
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/2/2017

The easiest way to save receipts!

I use IQ BOXY for both personal and business, I started with the free subscription and after trying it out for a couple of weeks I decided to get the paid subscription.
Their customer service is outstanding, emails are answered in less than 24 hours.
Extremely helpful, looking to improve and add other features all the time.
It is easy to use and a very clean looking app.

Pros

Easy to use, very responsive customer service. Modestly priced.

Cons

Their web version needs some improvements which they are working on.

Response from Veryfi

Marie, thank you so much for your lovely feedback and support! Much appreciated.

PS. IQBoxy has a new name! VERYFI ~ Read the announcement => https://www.veryfi.com/news/iqboxy-is-now-veryfi/

Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 7/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/10/2018

Since I am a solo owner business this app makes it super easy for me to track expenses in a way that does not take hours and hours. it's easy to set up and use.

Pros

great and simple experience setting up and using this app. I love how simple it is to set up and use. it makes my business expense tracking really simple and straightforward and easy and that's pretty wonderful.

Cons

So far there is not a single thing I can think of that I would change. it's all great to use and all very easy easy easy!

Response from Veryfi

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and ongoing support! Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Replied 24/10/2018
155 reviews