QuickBooks Live Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About QuickBooks Live

QuickBooks Live is a tech-enabled solution that helps businesses of all sizes with their bookkeeping needs. This solution allows businesses to partner with a virtual bookkeeper to manage and maintain their books. Via a web-based...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4

Browse QuickBooks Live Reviews

71 of 71 reviews
Sort by:
Teresa
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 5/10/2022

Great Overall Product

Great experience. You do get tossed around some with the customer service as everyone is trained in specific areas. Easy to use though and setup.

Pros

Once everything is set up everything is automatic, especially that payroll portion. You don't have to back it up, it is automatically saved. You can access from anywhere.

Cons

You do get tossed around some with the customer service as everyone is trained in specific areas. It did take some learning to understand and setup everything properly.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Live

QB Desktop Pro is way to out dated nothing is automatic. You really have to know what you are doing with Pro.

Switched From

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Live

I like the automation and how you can access everything anywhere and anytime. You also don't have to back up your stuff all the time.
Laura
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/6/2022

QuickBooks Live is really a no brainer for managing my company's finances.

Prior to starting on QuickBooks Live my business finances were a mess. I was on QuickBooks but it was up to me to put all of the invoices and expenses where they go and I was not good at this. When I upgraded and also got a live bookkeeper it was a game changer for me. She helped me fix the errors in my past and get me on track. I feel so much more confident now and really enjoy learning this side of my business.

Pros

Cloud-based so able to access from numerous computers.

Cons

Inability to change all of the items / charts on the home page.

James
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 4/2/2024

The biggest waste of time and money I have ever experienced.

Horrible experience Worst service. I will never use again

Pros

Nothing Horrible experience Worst service. I will never use again

Cons

All of it Horrible experience Worst service. I will never use again

Top QuickBooks Live Alternatives

RUN Powered by ADP

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Quickbooks Online

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Laura
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

Stone Creek Surfaces

Live Bookeeping has been one of the best features we have used. The consultants are patient and very willing to help. If they don't know the answer, they get it.

Pros

Being web based, it is so much easier to stay updated on my business from anywhere. We were able to tie it in with our industry specific quoting and scheduling system which cut down on wasted time in the office.

Cons

It took a little longer to learn the software than I anticipated. I thought it would be easier since I had used the Desktop verson for years.

Gay
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/3/2022

The Best of the Best

We are a small pressure washing business. We have been in business for approx. 7 years and have used Quickbooks since the inception of our business. Originally, we used the desktop version but quickly moved to the online version. I am not an accountant, nor do I understand accounting concepts. I had difficulties balancing anything in Quickbooks. I decided to move to the Quickbooks Live Bookkeeping and I’m so glad I did. They have the patients and the ability to explain processes where I can understand it. Obviously, they use my real data, therefore, it is easy to learn how to update and maintain my books. We meet whenever I want or I can send questions to my Accountant anytime. It is very user-friendly and very convenient. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is so very helpful I’m just not sure what I would do without her. I know it would cost so much more to hire a bookkeeper and I wouldn’t be learning anything. I think every notice bookkeeper should try Quickbooks Live Bookkeeping

Pros

User friendly and the ease of talking to a real person.

Cons

You do have to know some accounting concepts which I do not.

Chrristine
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 20/11/2023

QuickBooks - Not so Quick

After the effort it required to get this up and running, I am not planning on going anywhere, but it is costly, and the support network, consideration for customers who use this product daily and can not afford the time to figure out what's wrong or relearn something that has changed is truly aggravating. Some real consideration for the customer would go a long way here. The Live Bookkeeper component is of value - although the sub-optimal messaging process makes it difficult to know when I need to do or provide something, not to mention the dozens of empty messages I receive from the mail robot.

Pros

All elements of bookkeeping requirements in one place.

Cons

Developers keep changing the interface and templates with zero notice. They have overwritten my primary templates on several occasions, and there is no way to recover them. The "help" people are useless, insisting on recreating issues repeatedly, but being unable to correct issues, and zero follow-up.

Joni
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/4/2022

Thank goodness for QB!

Our bookkeeper has many years of experience and can figure out what to do with all of our transactions. With the new “chat” feature, I can easily get an answer or communicate with my bookkeeper. Prior to that, the only way to contact was to book an appointment.

Pros

Our sales and expenses are automatically uploaded to Quickbooks which saves me lots of time. I can review and accept these transactions all in QB.

Cons

It was hardest in the beginning while setting up our account with all the vendors and categories.

Jacquie
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/3/2022

Live Bookkeeping

Pros

Quickbooks Live and Live Bookkeeping is, hands down, why I have been able to stop waking up in the middle of the night panicking about the financial end of my business. The bookkeepers are approachable, easy to work with, easy to access on a weekly or daily basis and the software allows for seamless uploading of any financial records they need to do their job. I have been able to use the extra time to update our agency's operations
and marketing and feel comfortable knowing that they are getting the detail work done for you. Also, they take the time to work with you and define the income and expenses of your business, so you have a clearer idea of your money flow. Recommend enthusiastically!

Cons

Before I used Live Bookkeeping, it was hard to know whether or not to use the different functions. I would recommend that you advertise within the software classes or Youtube videos for users to utilize. I had no idea we had access to training during the first 30 days so I would also highlight that option as well.

Andrew
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/8/2022

An Outstanding Service from Quickbooks

Very, very simple and easy to use software and fantastic support.

Pros

I started using Quickbooks as a new small business owner. Starting a small business with no prior experience was daunting. Quickbooks itself was a great start, but adding the Live Bookkeeping was a game-changer. It took so much off of my plate as well as removed any worry that I would not be doing things correctly or accurately.

The bookkeeper I was assigned was knowledgeable and very helpful. He was also available when I needed him and was very easy to get in touch with and set up live meetings with.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of. Quickbooks delivered everything that they promised with the Live Bookkeeping service.

David
David
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 1/3/2022

Indisputable the king of the Hill, but it can be pricey for small business

Experience has been great, other than some issues with customer service and limitations when it comes to customer service and customization

Pros

In all reality QB is the go-to solution for any accounting matter, it's hard to compete agains.

Cons

Not having a full-fledged CRM integration and the yearly subscription model for the online solution can become a burden, especially for small businesses.

William
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 15/3/2022

Software better than the service

Overall, I would grade the actual software an A- due to the depth of data, reporting suite, bank integration,etc. Would be an A+ if the software team can improve the messaging and support communication, it is very inefficient and clumsy in its' design from a user experience perspective.
From a service/Live Bookkeeping standpoint I'd have to say an F. Was an A-/B+ since beginning the service but trying to get a major problem (that I had to identify...very concerning an entire team of CPA's/Bookkeepers at Intuit didn't notice for 6 months that they were double entering the same expense, and understating my Net Profit for the business) fixed and unable to do so. Very disappointing, I'm most likely canceling the Live Bookkeeping service, keeping the software and will likely either need to do the bookkeeping myself or hire my tax accountant's company to do it. They have put me in a very bad position at the worst possible time during tax season, have caused me to delay meeting with my tax accountant several times and put me up against a wall, literally at my state business tax deadline without a clean 2021 P&L, whereas I was interested & otherwise prepared to file a month ago. No fix, no offer of compensation. Just an apology and another week goes by with no resolution.

Pros

The Reporting suite, depth of data, and integration with banks,etc.

Cons

The messaging system is not a good user experience. Should have direct access to Support, not having to make appointments to get help, and search through a poorly designed messaging inbox.
The UX for running reports, chart of accounts, bookkeeping entry, etc. are all very fluid; however, in addition to the actual software, I subscribed to the QB Live Bookkeeping Service which started out great, but right now at the most important time (tax season) is a disaster. Found a significant error that the QB Live BK Team didn't catch for six months (double recorded Workers Comp expense for July-Dec 2021; I was the one that found it). Then, they can't get my 2021 books cleaned and closed once and for all, 2 months later. There is an unacceptable "Reconciliation Discrepancy" line on my P&L. Very slow to address problems, and putting my business in a difficult position at tax time and adding unnecessary stress. Should've have been escalated, fixed and some sort of reimbursement for these issues. None of the above has happened.

Vanessa
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 16/9/2022

Beyond disappointed and frustrated

Disappointment.

Pros

The potential is great if they did what the sales guy said they would do.

Cons

The salesperson told me the live bookkeeper would work WITH me as I want to fully understand my books and I want to learn my bookkeeping front to back.

The reality was, I was completely shut out of the process, messages would not be responded to for days or not at all.

Making an appt to speak to someone would take a week or more. The first bookkeeper did nothing at all, the second one completed the cleanup but did not communicate with me during the process regarding my business, my processes or procedures, what they were doing or why.

My request is to do my own bookkeeping with their assistance guidance and oversight, they will not do this.

After the cleanup was complete, I found a massive error, I had attempted to communicate to them regarding my processes but apparently what I said was completely disregarded. It took my sister and I several hours to figure out what was wrong.

The problem was, I was taking owner distributions in cash without having logged the cash as having entered the company to start with. Yes, a stupid error on my part, this is why I wanted someone to communicate with and to assist me. How will I learn if I am shut out?

Obviously, the bookkeeper wasn't paying enough attention to catch the error, but had I been allowed to be part of the process, then together I am sure we would have found it.

So now my books have the "QuickBooks Livebooking Guarantee" for accuracy, which clearly means nothing now that I have found this massive error.

Luisa
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

overall review

TERRIBLE. MY COMPLETION DATE WAS [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. I UNDERSTAND THINGS COME UP PEOPLE GET SICK AND WHAT NOT, BUT EVERYTIME I REACHED OUT VIA MESSAGE TO [SENSITIVE CONTENT] ABOUT HOW MUCH LONGER IT WOULD BE TO GET MY FINANCIALS, I WAS GIVEN THE SAME RESPONSE WHICH WAS WE ARE REVEIWING YOUR ACCOUNT OR DOCS AND WILL REACH OUT SHORTLY. I AM NOW BEHIND SCEDULE TO FILE MY SCORP. I NOW HAVE TO FILE A EXTENSION AND this is gonna COST ME 100!

Pros

I did like that i got notifications- I LIKED THAT I COULD SEE ALL MY STUFF ON ONE PAGE. I LIKE HOW I COULD ADD MY ACCOUNTS TO VISIBLY SEE EVERYTHING COMING IN AND OUT OF MY BUSINESS..

Cons

not being able to call directly. i did not like that I had to speak to someone with broken english, I DIDNT LIKE THAT I WAS LEFT TALKING TO A PERSON WITH BROKEN ENGLISH AND I SAID HELLO HELLO HELLO MANY TIMES WHEN I THOUGHT THIS PERSON WAS INPUTINNG MY CONCERNS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT NO ONE WAS ON THE PHONE WITH ME ANY LONGER YET I COULD HERE NOISE IN THE BACKGROUND AS IF I WAS MUTED.

Erica
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 4/10/2022

From Chaos to Calm

Great experience, love that it's incorporated into the financial management piece. It's easy to align QB with other apps.

Pros

I had Quickbooks come in and clean my books over the course of several months. If I'm honest, they were a bit of a mess. I fell into my business, with an understanding of the back office business of business. I don't have an MBA or an accounting degree. My books were not in order, and I was embarrassed about it. However. Quick Books team came to the rescue. They captured all the data in a streamlined way. They asked clear questions. They clarified what was missing and helped me find what I needed. In a few weeks, by books were clean and ready to be managed for the long haul. I'm still learning the ins and outs, and their team has been great with giving tips and sharing how I can manage the day-to-day business. I now feel more confident that I'm moving in a direction that will help my business grow, and stay out of the way of the IRS! Thanks to the Quick Books team!

Cons

The software is great, intuitive, and useful. I do wish I'd gotten more information on the back end about how they use the chart of accounts, and what information is well. I had to ask for someone to teach me that when I didn't understand.

Nick
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 4/12/2023

Don't waste your time or money

Extremely disappointed with the service and inaccuracy, along with the lack of fixing things when you told them what was wrong.

Pros

It sounds great, guaranteed books for year end, economically priced, but in the end the cons far outweigh, dont waste your time and money!

Cons

Inaccurate book keeping is the shortest I can put it. They did not do an accurate job, did not fix it when I asked them to, and instead of a refund they offer accurate book keepers to go back and fix, but who would trust them to do that after they already stated that when you sign up? Now we'll spend double fixing their mistakes due to no refund option. Save yourself the time and money, others will do a better job independently for the same or cheaper.

Richard
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

Love QB

Great!

Pros

Well organized and easy to navigate with just a little usage.

Cons

I was told by my bookkeeper for over a year our company should not be paying the top tier price of $600 because our accounts receivable fit into the $400/month middle range, i.e. our average monthly expenses fell in the range that we should only have been charged $400/month. I just cancelled my account last month in hopes of getting someone's attention to this. Does anybody read these? Call me [SENSITIVE CONTENT]

Alisha
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/6/2022

Hire the Best. You won't regret!

Pros

My bookkeeper [SENSITIVE CONTENT]is amazing! He is very patient, and understanding, and ensures that I understand my reports and what they mean. We meet monthly to discuss my books as well as answer any questions he or I may have and they prepare and deliver my reports to me each and every month. I also love the fact that because they have become familiar with my month books, they send me a checklist each month on exactly what to provide so there isn't any guesswork on my end which makes the uploading process super simple.

Cons

I don't have any cons to be honest. Quickbooks makes it very easy and simple to use.

Michael
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

More Productivity, less worries.

Pros

Being able to provide estimates for projects and invoice client against these estimates. This helps with project monitoring and cash flow. since using QuickBooks live, my books are up to date and my staff and I can focus more on being more productive.

Cons

Being able to link labor time with project estimates.

Tom
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/8/2022

Quick Books Live is a great resource for small companies

I have been using QB Live this year after working with another organization in the past. The experience has been great. It took a bit to get the process down but now it's pretty straight forward to get our reconciliations done.

Pros

Monthly reconciliations are much easier now that we are working with QB Live.

Cons

I wish that QB Live did more. I would pay to get our books done correctly and to have more accurate information.

Anthony
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/6/2022

Highly Recommended!!!

Nothing big; Quickbooks did have trouble for a few weeks that wouldn't allow me to pay my monthly bill via my credit card.

Pros

The software is great and my Live Bookkeeping Service is even more amazing.

Cons

Nothing big; except they wouldn't charge my credit card for a few weeks.

Alternatives Considered

RUN Powered by ADP

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Live

Live Bookkeeping Service
Jennalynne
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/3/2022

Rocky but Great!

Our First Business / Balancing books So QuickBooks office help set up. We didn't realize we had some specialty that needed customizing how to set up our books. It took a while to get that right, but Quick books Customer Service ALWAYS helped and was patience with me learning. We figured it out and it has been Flawless since!

Pros

Great customer service and ability to learn!!

Cons

Set up needs to be a little more customized for special "Criterial" (Not doing invoices through QuickBooks Not needing Credit card machine transactions to go directly to QuickBooks - causing duplicated transactions) -- in special situations

Kristin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

Saves me so much time!

Pros

Having the bookkeeping check my work is such a peace of mind. They are an invaluable tool for me as a business owner with so many hats on.

Cons

There has not been anything about this product that I do not like and appreciate.

Lyndon
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

My QuickBooks

I chat w my accountants via phone or text weekly

Pros

Easy to learn and use. Complete enough that I rarely get questions from cpa or tax agencies

Cons

Nothing yet. I have incorporated my son into using

Candice
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/3/2022

Why I use Quickbooks

I joined Quickbooks live when I was falling behind in the daily task of updating my books. I am so busy at the studio that I was unable to handle the day to day basic accounting for the business and then closing out the books at the end of the year, etc. I pay a monthly fee to have a live bookkeeper keep all my books in order. I meet with them monthly or sometimes more if I need something. They are ALWAYS helpful and willing to assist me with all my bookkeeping tasks. I did not realize how much work goes into keeping your business books up to date.

Pros

Ease of finding reports I need for all sorts of reporting. I can customize my report to fit my need. They are handy and efficient to use and easy to understand.

Cons

I find it difficult to categorize my expenses and thus making sub categories for different expenses.

Skyla
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2022

Great experince

Pros

Easy to track customers and helps alot with product & loss for our company

Cons

Sometimes the system will be slower then usally on some days which makes it harder to bill coustmers.

71 reviews