Access PeopleHR Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Access PeopleHR

Access PeopleHR is a comprehensive human resources (HR) software designed to meet the needs of small to medium-sized businesses. The platform offers a range of features that help companies manage their HR needs more efficiently....

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Access PeopleHR Reviews

373 of 373 reviews
Sort by:
Holly
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2023

Great implementation process

We have only just commenced using the software, so this review is purely related to the implementation team. The process has been very smooth throughout. [sensitive content hidden] was always on hand to answer any questions before we made the purchase and [sensitive content hidden] provided help and support during the implementation period. Both were friendly, easy to contact and quick to respond to all queries which made the process quick and easy. [sensitive content hidden] , who conducted our training, was very knowledgeable about the system. Thanks team!

Pros

The software seems to cover everything we need it to administrate our HR needs. It is intuitive to use and the help videos and articles provide further detail when needed.

Cons

Currently the software seems to do most things that we need. We were not able to use the LOS leave accrual rules as there wasn't the option to award our staff with an extra day on their service anniversary.

Alternatives Considered

Employment Hero and Breathe

Reasons for Switching to Access PeopleHR

Employment hero looked great but data was not hosted in the UK which was too high risk for us. Breathe didn't have as many features as PeopleHR.

Response from The Access Group

Good morning - Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate it. Thanks again, The Access Group

Replied 27/2/2023
Maria
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/8/2019

Easy to use, affordable HR software

- Applicant tracking
- Performance management
- Housing policies
- Basic reporting
- Holiday requests
- Salary information

Pros

PeopleHR offers so many more features than most comparable software. I've been really impressed by the applicant tracking system, we've made many new hires through it and it has saved us a lot of money.

Everything is in one place and it's user-friendly.

Cons

There are a couple of bits that need refining, e.g. you can award someone half a day of TOIL but they can't enter it into the system on the same day as half a day of holiday.

The performance management is good but it would be better if it were a little more customisable in format, Managers are required to enter something in every box in order to close the review, which can be a menial task if they have no comment on that particular question.

Alternatives Considered

Breezy, IRIS HR Professional and BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing Access PeopleHR

Staff Squared cost about the same but had much fewer features. I think the performance management and ATS in PeopleHR were our main reason for switching.

Switched From

Breezy, IRIS HR Professional and BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to Access PeopleHR

Price point was more reasonable for the features and as we are a small business we couldn't afford a huge amount on HR software.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 13/1/2022

A terrible product

Pros

Honestly, nothing. It's not easy to use, it crashes all the time, everything is so many more steps than it needs to be, I can go on, but I'll save it for the cons.

Oh, maybe the mobile app, that's not bad.

Cons

This whole product makes no sense at all. Everything you want to do on the platform is completely extra confusing and not simple AT ALL. The program crashes almost weekly when you want to use it from a HR perspective daily, this becomes very annoying.

The user interface is from the 90's, extremely ugly. Almost every single task on this system is painful, it makes you dread want to use it. I've never experienced anything like it, it's very different to every other system in our toolbox, and for all the wrong reasons. They need to take a long hard look at this system and redesign it from the ground up. Yes, you have a nice app, but 95% of people don't use a HRIS app, they use the web page.

Alternatives Considered

Personio and BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing Access PeopleHR

We thought this was a better option, and hibob was trying to charge us extra for something we didn't need. Little did we know, we'd regret this

Switched From

Bob

Reasons for Switching to Access PeopleHR

BambooHR rejected our business

Top Access PeopleHR Alternatives

Nicolas
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/1/2024

Quite complete

Pros

Not the easiest one to approach as this is quite a complete solution, but once a few manual queries have been worked out, it then becomes easy to sort out all the reports needed on a monthly basis to work out the monthly payroll.

Cons

Somehow wish we could go further in terms of making scheduling and calculation even easier.

Teresa
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/2/2023

Implementing PeopleHR for acquired business

Great to have everything in one place, we were using several systems previously.

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use. Required little training for staff on the basic functions.

Cons

The link sent to users expires after a certain time. So once everyone had been uploaded, by the time we had told everyone about it the link had expired. Secondly, it is time consuming having to re-enter everyone's email address in order to re-sent them the link and because of the first point, had to be done for every employee. I assumed there would have been a "bulk" send option but there was not.

Response from The Access Group

Good morning - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate it, and we'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. Thanks again, The Access Group

Replied 6/2/2023
Alison
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 2/9/2019

People HR Review

No HR system in place so needed something that would easy to upload data from spreadsheets. Implementation was excellent and training very good with a great library of videos, helpsheets etc that covered all our needs. Highly recommended.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use and captures all that we need and very good price compared to competitors

Cons

just minor things - letter templates could be easier to use but better than previous systems used.

Alternatives Considered

Ciphr, Breathe and IRIS Cascade

Reasons for Switching to Access PeopleHR

Excellent value for money; more features as standard than other products; customer service and responsiveness to our enquiry.
Gemma
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/8/2019

People HR- The best HR system I have used!

People HR has helped drive efficiencies across the business and as a stand alone HR role, it has definitely helped me keep on top of admin as well as ensuring Management are accountable for the HR actions in their teams. I would recommend this system to any HR professional!

Pros

The training we received from People HR on site was really informative and engaging.
It has streamlined Management admin- previously manual timesheets were being completed by all Managers across the business. I love the fact that People HR are constantly updating the system for the better- at no additional cost!
The 'Thanks' section of the system has proved very popular and it is great to see not just Management but other employees thanking each other, which in turn has increased our recognition score on our employee engagement survey.

Cons

It would have been ideal to have a rota system built into People HR as we are a retailing industry, but we had to purchase a separate system software for this.

Alternatives Considered

UKG Ready
Jodi
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2023

Easy to use HR software

Overall really happy with this software - it makes managing the team smooth and straightforward.

Pros

The interface is simple to use from a management perspective, as well as for individuals to request annual leave. I am not sure how we managed our HR / leave process before this software.

Cons

Some of the menus can be a bit tricky to locate what you are looking for initially.

Lonnie
Lonnie
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 5/12/2020

Useful but not always reliable

It is useful for maintaining mailing lists and grouping people, but I don't think it is always reliable. It could be more useful.

Pros

I like being able to keep track of contacts for people and putting them into groups for various mailing lists.

Cons

I've had times where I've updated mailing lists right before sending out and email and then when trying to send to that list, it sents to the unupdated list. I haven't had that issue in a while, so hopefully it is solved. I also wish it was more compatable with my phone.

David
David
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/11/2018

Pretty basic, but does what it needs to

It's perfectly adequate as an HR system. Does the job, probably won't be enough for larger organisations.

Pros

It's easy to use, and includes some nice touches like Bradford Factor for sickness tracking. You can upload documents that require acceptance/signature from your staff, which is great for signing off policies, etc.

2FA is included which is pretty much mandatory thesedays.

Cons

Nothing that I particularly dislike, it just seems a bit meh. Does what it says on the tin, but doesn't make me say "wow, what a great product"

Rebecca
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 21/5/2018

PeopleHR Review

Pros

- Good UX
- Link from recruitment to staff
- Ability to include a multitude of HR functions on Logbook - i.e. 360 reviews

Cons

Areas for development:
• With GDPR coming in, it would be extremely useful for PeopleHR to have retention dates on documents (this would show under the GDPR when we were required to dispose of the data)
• A automated chase for feedback. For example, if we could input the date of an event (i.e. appraisal) onto the individuals calendar, we could then set up automatic chases at specific time periods before the event.
• A look into how training can be better incorporated into the system
• Option for admin to see all employees calendars at once (similar to google calendars)
• A greater focus of customer service via phone – Online chats are good but email is time consuming. It is also helpful for the PeopleHR IT support for them and the company to be able to share screen to resolve problems
• Remove gender option. There is currently only a binary option for gender. Although we can add more through logbook, those who are already classified as male or female cannot be unticked.
• For admin to be able to view 2+ profiles simultaneously
• When refreshing the employee page, for it to not return to the alphabetically ordered current staff view but where you left of. Or, an option to choose in settings
• We have added our appraisal system via logbook. Our appraisals require individuals to refer back to a word/pdf doc. It would be great for our team to be able to access these documents through logbook when completing the appraisal.
• Statistics - feedback is a fundamental part of our business and the ability to analyse, for example, who has completed feedback over a time period would be extremely valuable
• For certain information to delete automatically on the day after an employees leave date. For example, work email.
• For salary updates to automatically calculate the salary per year based on the hours worked for part time staff
• To notify or automatically delete doubles in the ATS section

Georgina
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/8/2019

If you're looking for a staff management system, you can't go for wrong with People HR.

Overall, the software is good and I would recommend it to a small to medium sized company. The customer support is for the most part great and they do get back to you when you have a problem within an hour. The major technical difficulties we have encountered are frustrating as it creates extra work , however, they do their best to fix things as quickly as possible and keep you up to date with progress.
For us it has helped when the company expanded and we needed to be able to monitor more staff and this is where the reports and planner functions have been invaluable.

Pros

It is easy and simple to use and navigate so any staff with basic IT experience can use it. It has some great features for pulling reports on basically anything within the database and you can customise them extensively if you want to. It has space for inputting lot of information for staff members and is great for time sheets and recording. Other features like the planner are great for giving you an overview of the months/weeks/days ahead and you can set yourself tasks which send reminders to your email if needed.

Cons

For the most part, it works fine, however, we have been using the software for a couple of years now and every time they do a big system update, something seems to go wrong somewhere else in the software. Namely for us, it's time sheets, which can (and has!) cause a huge problem, as we rely on this for a lot of day to day things, from pay roll to budgeting and costs, so when this element glitches, it can be a bit frustrating!

Gaynor
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/8/2019

HR in a nutshell

IT's made holiday maintenance and training recordkeeping much easier. All HR basic tasks are in one place and we have scanned all documents and attached to individuals, doing away with most of the paper files we used to have which is an obvious space saver and going forward is more ecologically friendly.

Pros

This is an excellent, all-in-one-place, HR package for a small company. It has restrictions, but on the whole it's easy to use with good support both in on-line guides and the support team. The structure is very straightforward, menus easy to navigate and covers everything a HR department will need from on-boarding, through induction, training, timekeeping, holidays, disciplinary proceedings etc to leaving.

Cons

Expenses section is an additional extra and is a no-go area. I spent more time on to the helpdesk to it than anything and ended up having to stop using it.
I dislike the fact that you can't order your employees to your choice and maintain that order - or go into that employee and then come back out to go back into the next one, you have to start at the top again and scroll down which is very time consuming if you are working through a number of employees.

Felicity
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/1/2018

Non-flashy well-provisioned HR IS

Having been using the system for only a month I am already finding it very useful, and think that going forward and finding my way better around the system will only improve it further!

Pros

The employee screens are useful, and a far better way of storing data than in Word docs (as we were previously). I also like the way icons for different leave types/ absences show up for staff who are away when viewing the full staff list.
We have recently undertaken our annual reviews in People for the first time and after some teething problems this also appears to be working well. The 360 form completions is again much better than emailing different reviewers and compiling feedback in Word.
Finally, I would like to give credit to some of the automatic features which make the HR Manager's job easier - for example, on return to work from sick leave a member of staff is automatically emailed and reminded to complete a Return to Work form. This is great!

Cons

The system has a lot of functionality and it can sometimes take a while to find what you are looking for. The UX is a bit clunky and there could be more ability to customise - i.e. I do not use a lot of the default items in the lefthand toolbar (e.g. training/ news/ notification) and if I could remove these it would mean I didn't have to scroll to the things I DID use.
Furthermore, the fact that in reviews it is possible for the Manager to write over the Employee feedback seems very strange - 1) it creates the possibility of erroneously deleting comments, and 2) it would potentially allow a manager to edit or remove negative or unwanted feedback.

Claire
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/2/2018

From Paper to electronic

Make sure you have a team to implement the software!

Pros

Great to track holidays, absence and employee details. We've gone from paper to electronic with these aspects and also personal development reviews. It has been a transformation for our managers to find everything in one place and it has reduced our administration - also stopped us killing lots of trees! Eco. We can process accurate reports very quickly which helps with reporting to the Board.
The ATS tracks candidates in one place, with full visibility as to where they are in the process for managers. When a candidate is successful, you can create them as a new starter in seconds.

Cons

We also bolted on the recruitment ATS module but we cannot report on the data from this which can be frustrating. It took us a long time to get our jobs boards to feed in to our careers page which then fed in to PeopleHR to have candidates all in one place.

Nithya
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/2/2019

A very cost effective and time-saving resource for HR professionals

Pros

This software was a blessing to our company and is highly recommend for small business due to the reasonable costs and time taken to implement it. Task automation, reminders, announcements/ company news, chat option and collaboration tools are great!

Cons

It was quite hard at first to get used to the set up guides. The company has done a good job of uploading video guides and hence it was useful. If not for the videos on how to set up, it would have been very hard to set up the software. Every time we make changes, the prompt captures the reason why the change was made to salary or start date etc. However, if something is entered due to typo and one wants to change it, it still asks for the reason, and it can get a little annoying at times. Apart from that, this product is a blessing in disguise for HR professionals 👍👍👍

Raquel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/8/2019

Great tool

Great

Pros

User friendly! And always with new features.

Cons

Not able to send and collect feedback from employees (automatic surveys).
Not very customisable.

Alternatives Considered

Cezanne HR

Reasons for Switching to Access PeopleHR

Pricing
Suzie
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/9/2017

Great customer service!

A really great system ideal for a small to medium sized businesses where budgets need to be carefully considered. The support team are always willing to work with you to help resolve issues and even accept feature requests. I recommend this product highly - it has made the administration associated with my job much easier to handle.

Pros

Almost instant replies from the support team which are always helpful and well thought out. Feature requests are accepted which is fantastic. The support site is full of useful 'help yourself' answers and the system has been built with HR rather than IT in mind.

Cons

That we don't use more of the functionality on offer - there is a wealth of features and modules which I think would be useful to many businesses, unfortunately we just don't use them at the moment. I am hoping this will change very shortly.

Maria
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/4/2018

Very user-friendly system

PeopleHR is a great system and all employees find it very easy to use.

Pros

PeopleHR is a very user-friendly system and it both the HR team and the employees can work with it comfortably, without any prior training. It is very easy to add new employees/remove leavers and built reports from scratch so it can help a lot with different HR metrics. You can also add different fields on Logbook which will help each user track whatever is that they need. Great customer service with very speedy replies from the Admin team.

Cons

Not much to say here as PeopleHR offers solutions for most of our needs. It would be beneficial if there was a whole new section about probations/reminders/outcomes (instead of having to use Logbook)

Peter
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2018

PeopleHR - Your central HR assistant

An affordable HR system that can track and record all aspects of hiring, on-bording and leavers.

Highly recommended.

Pros

Easy to use
Excellent Support
Always evolving with new features
There are some great visual reports available
You can create your own queries or request help to create new ones
Set up user access levels for different people (Managers, Minions!)
Company overview on Holidays, retention, sickness etc

Cons

Not really that much I can say is not good, if you use it properly and utilise all the features then it will work well for your organisation.

David
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/6/2017

Simple and Efficient to use

Be great to buy paid support time (by the hour) for company specific tasks.
Overall extremely satisfied with product and the helpful support team.

Pros

Ease of use - very easy to pick up without the need to watch too many training video's.
Removes need for paper files - do like the Company Document / Log Book areas.
ATS is amazing - just managed first job advert completely via People

Cons

Queries - These can bit tricky to get the hang of and generally need support to assist with.
Sickness / Reports - More standard data and exception reports would be useful.

Chris
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/12/2017

Great features for a care home

I spent a long time researching options before deciding on People HR & I am glad I did.

Pros

Customer service has always been incredible. We've been using People HR for years & our staff have really adopted it well.
It has quite a pretty interface and the team always seem to be adding new features and improving on existing features!

Cons

Some parts still feel a bit disjointed and cumbersome. Although I think in fairness this is to be expected in order to meet as many clients needs it is to be somewhat expected.

Carl
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/9/2019

People HR is a good product, but some of the feature could be improved

Pros

People HR is a great piece of software to organised employees data in one place easily. The system allows you to store data in a easy and confidential way, GDPR was easy because of this as it allowed us to go completely paperless

Cons

Our company is 24 hours, so it was difficult for using the tap in/tap out system as this product works more on a traditional office environment. However, for the most part this was the only product we found which suited our needs

Xavier
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Competent product

Maintain the quality of your chat support team. Don't try to cut corners on that area as they've been fantastic thus far.

Pros

The best part of PeopleHR actually has nothing to do with the product itself but with the chat support feature. Anytime that I've had an inquiry, the team on chat support have been extremely helpful. It's good to know that there are people on standby to support me should I need it.

The user interface is also pretty well done once you get to grips with it. Obviously user interfaces will always be extremely subjective but PeopleHR goes for a clean look. Don't let the the temptation to cram in new features cause PeopleHR to become bloated over time.

Cons

I'm still fairly new in terms of experience with PeopleHR, but I do wish the performance reviews feature set was expanded upon. It's a bit confusing and doesn't fall in line with how I would personally prefer to use it.

It would be nice if there was way to better keep track of performance reviews on a casual level. Perhaps a simple system where you can only insert new review dates once the relevant document for the previous one has been uploaded.

jaini
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/8/2019

It's the best one we have used

Pros

Its very easy to use and helps you store all documents in one place. It allows all other employees to access their documents anytime, anywhere. It is very efficient and in general makes life easy.
They keep releasing new things on the software all the time which means it is constantly improving.

Cons

sometimes when there are releases other things get messed up on the software. Sometimes there is alot of down time.

373 reviews