Microsoft OneNote Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft OneNote

Microsoft OneNote is a digital note taking app that can be accessed via Android, Chrome, Windows, iOS and Mac devices. The solution is well-suited for individuals attending numerous meetings per week and working on multiple...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Microsoft OneNote Reviews

1,542 of 1,542 reviews
Sort by:
Afthaab
Afthaab
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/12/2023

Microsoft onenote, simple and efficient

Pros

Onenote eliminates the complexity of word, and makes it alot easier to record notes, and information in one convenient place, with ease of sharing.

Cons

Onenote often has to synchronize across all devices linked to a specific account, alot of people find it difficult to navigate sometimes as files may take long to load, or has been moved.

Tim
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/12/2023

OneNote Review

It has been a godsend as I need a way to preserve and organize hundreds of documents that were previously maintained by a coworker who was retiring. I stepped in as the new knowledge keeper of the department but needed a better way to make sense of years' worth of information. OneNote allowed me to hyper organize all of the documentation while taking things to an even more detailed approach.

Pros

This is an amazing way to maintain a knowledge base for my department in one convenient location instead of trying to keep track of countless documents.

Cons

There are several ways to own a notebook (cloud, local storage, etc.) so it can be confusing to end users when trying to identify where they notebook "lives".

Riaan
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 6/2/2024

Microsoft OneNote

I like the program as it is easy to use and also available on your mobile devices

Pros

It is a digital system with endless capability to store notes. It can be easily shared with other users. All notes can be saved in one place for easy tracking and search capabilities.

Cons

It needs to be syncing a lot and is mostly linked to a specific account. When one has more than two accounts this make the task a bit more tricky. Due to the syncing and collaboration of other programmes, it may take long to start up

Top Microsoft OneNote Alternatives

Ralph
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2023

The best choice for notetaking

My overall experience with OneNote has been positive. It does exactly what it's supposed to do.

Pros

OneNote is incredibly easy to use and the interface makes it extremely simple to add to my notes as well as search them. I have to use OneNote constantly every day and it is my preferred notation program thanks to ease of use.

Cons

When notebooks are shared via email or SharePoint invitations it does not automatically add the notebook to the users list of notebooks. I have had several users looking for notebooks which were essentially hiding under the "More Notebooks" button.

Alternatives Considered

Notepad++ and Fusebase (Formerly Nimbus)

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft OneNote

Integration with other Microsoft programs.

Switched From

Notepad++

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft OneNote

Microsoft OneNote is a Microsoft program and therefore easier to use with my other Microsoft applications.
Jim
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 5/1/2024

An obvious choice for those embedded in the Microsoft ecosystem, but probably not for anyone...

As a OneNote user for many years and with an extensive collection of notebooks there is little incentive to change, however the app is feeling increasingly stale and anachronistic. While within the Microsoft ecosystem it remains an obvious choice (unless real-time collaboration is required) but less so for toehrs

Pros

Bundled with Microsoft subscriptions and embedded into SharePoint and Teams it should be the first note management solution evaluated by anyone in the Microsoft ecosystem. The best experience comes with the Windows or MacOS desktop client, but the browser-based client and mobile apps are adequate.

Cons

For those not embedded in the Microsoft ecosystem OneNote is not an obvious candidate. For those that need to use the browser based client that experience is noticeably more limited than the desktop client, which Microsoft have threatened to retire. And Microsoft is promoting Loop, which is a more modern alternative.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 8/2/2024

Useful as a Student and now as a Professional

Overall this is a very useful tool for both notetaking and organizing. It has kept me organized both personally and professionally.

Pros

I like that it is really easy to take notes and organize them. I also like that I am able to import other documents and even a personal planner. It was so easy to use when I was a student and now I use it to take notes for meetings at work.

Cons

I don't like that some of the features feel outdated. The math help and the task manager which is why I don't use these functions as much.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 5/1/2024

Powerful yet easy to use tool

Pros

- Different Notebooks & Sections helps in organising notes.
- Password protection of notebooks
- Can attach files, images, pdf
- Keeps a history of page version & deleted notes

Cons

- If you are not using notebook from cloud (OneDrive) then import/export feature of notebook is painful when importing to Macbook from Windows.
- Copilot is not yet available for all users compared to its competitor Notion
- Macbook OneNote gets all the new features i.e. after Windows and Web application

Sasikumar
Sasikumar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/12/2023

Brilliant application to take the all our notes and organize in one place

Really a needed one for who takes note and organize the things in their work/activities

Pros

Synchronization between multiple application
Portability
Easy to categorize and organize the notes

Cons

Even though there are options to organize the notes, there is no easiest way identify the one that really needed at the right moment
Stacking the notes in one note sometimes seems complicated

Silas
Silas
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 13/1/2024

Quick Notes

It organized my day-to-day notes in a simple way.

Pros

Perfect for quick notes, especially if used together with all Microsoft/Office tools

Cons

Still little used by people. I believe it could be more publicized.

Harry
Harry
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/1/2024

A great documenting and collaborative application

Fantastic piece of software which is useful for many reasons; it's free for Microsoft users which is a bonus!

Pros

The ease of use, the ability to store in the cloud (via my account) for easy access anywhere on any application, along with having specific access to external users if needed.

Cons

I prefer the application based OneNote rather than the Web Based version; there are less features as well as the layout appears slightly different - such as being able to see the content boxes don't show on the web based.

Erin
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 4/2/2022

OneNote - Unified Resource

Overall, using OneNote for our team document/process library has been helpful because it's a central place for a wide variety of information and documents that were formerly in many different places. It can sometimes be tricky to decide how to organize the notebooks because there are so many section and page options, and sometimes content is relevant to more than one section - however, the search function is usually quite reliable.

Pros

The search features of OneNote are very useful. I like using OneNote for my meeting notes, as they are easily searchable and I can organize them in various ways.

It's also nice to use OneNote for our team process manual/helpful notes/new hire checklists/etc. We use OneNote as a centralized document library because it is easy to search and share content.

Cons

We run into frequent sync issues with shared notebooks, so it can be challenging to know if all team members are seeing the same content. Not sure if this is a PC issue, a security issue or a OneNote issue - our IT help desk offers various solutions that work for some users but not for others. It would be nice if the sync error notification was more obvious to let you know you're viewing outdated content.

Lex
Lex
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/7/2021

Not my first choice

I need to concede, that at the outset I had numerous issues getting myself set up with one note, however from that point forward, it has been an outright lifeline. The entirety of my archives are in one region, I can get to them from each PC I own and Id need to say I use it regular, I in a real sense couldn't abandon utilizing this program.

Pros

Microsoft OneNote is loaded with numerous highlights that go past taking notes; it likewise gives you a few different ways to change pictures over to message. For instance, the OCR instrument permits you to snap a photo of an archive, business card, flyer or whiteboard, then, at that point extricate that content. You would then be able to save that content in OneNote, Microsoft Word or Standpoint.

OCR's productivity relies upon a few elements. These incorporate picture quality, the intricacy of the characters it is examining and the intelligibility of the transcribed notes. So consistently make a point to twofold check in the event that it perceives everything effectively. Regardless of whether OCR doesn't get each letter, it is as yet a vital life hack, particularly for organizations and entrepreneurs.

Cons

Matching up can take some time , Unacceptable portable application, Average web cutting augmentation

Alternatives Considered

Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft OneNote

Already had an account
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/5/2022

Take the first step to a cleaner, less cluttered life.

OneNote is one of the most popular note-taking apps on the market, and for good reason. It offers a robust feature set, a wide variety of integrations with other Microsoft services and web services, and it’s free.
The app has been around for years and received several updates over time.
However, OneNote’s biggest update in recent memory arrived in 2018 with the release of Microsoft 365 — an updated version of Office 365 that includes all the latest features from the company’s productivity suite. With this new version, OneNote got a makeover and now looks more modern than ever before. It also brought a lot of new features to the table that make it even better than before.

Pros

It gives you an easy way to keep all your notes in one place.
It’s available on every device, so you can access your notes no matter where you are.
You can organize your notes any way that makes sense to you—by topic, date or even tags, like #work or #personal.

Cons

Lack of Customization - It's not possible to customize any of your notes or notebooks in OneNote which can make it difficult if you want something more advanced than what it offers out of the box. Microsoft OneNote doesn't have any open APIs or integrations with third-party apps like Evernote does.

Kristin
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/8/2022

Great for Notes and Tracking!

Overall this is an amazing tool for note tracking and can even be used for project management. Its does take a little bit of getting use to if you are coming from something more simplistic like Sticky Notes. I have began using this to track project notes, and even notes for calls. You have ability to share among teams, copy and paste pages from one "book" to another. One nice feature is that you can sort of "bend" the system to be used for what you would like it be used for- meaning that you may use it to track one way, but you co worker may use it in another manner. Perfect example I am more of a Book and multi pages with no table, but instead bullet points! My manager loves tables to be inserted and linked out to other items! Both work perfectly and are easily sharable and understandable no matter how you choose to manage your own One Note!

Pros

This software is awesome for tracking projects, notes, and progress! It is customizable and can be used how ever the user would like! I personally like to section my work out in columns with bullet points, where may manager prefers tables. Some coworkers prefer multiple "books" instead of the method that I prefer is one book, such as Training with multiple pages underneath one book! The system is different if you are coming from a more "basic" system like I was, such as sticky notes! This is Highly Recommended for any member of you team that needs to keep track of notes and even project progress!

Cons

The only thing "negative", which is really not horrible, is I wish there was more customization to the "blocks". When you start typing on a page, you will see a "block" appear and you can customize the tab color, the size of the box, the font, color of font, and size but I wish you could add a "hue" to the back ground of the boxes to make them stand out a little more- almost as if you were adding different colored sticky notes to the pages! I did find a work around and I am able to highlight the typed notes with a "lighter" color highlight- which works just as well, just does not look as uniform as the rest of the program! Still a highly recommended product!

Rubie
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/8/2023

One Note: Business Leader must have

Excellent program that have help me have everything in one place and perfectly organized.

Pros

I am a leader in my organization and because of my position I have tons of meetings. This an excellent program for meetings preparation, take meetings notes and keep tracking of meeting next steps. You can create independents notebooks and you can share the notebooks with your peers. I monitor group vacations, birthdays, recognition, project status, metrics, etc.As leader I keep tracking of 1:1 meetings that I have with my staff by person and by dates and can monitor developmental plans, performance status and next steps. This works perfectly with excel and Outlook. You can share by e-mails all the minutes taken in a meeting.

Cons

The program by itself it is simple to use, but if you are going to use linked with Outlook could be difficult to use. I asked for help to be able to do it.

Claude Real
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 6/10/2023

Good Notes taking tool but must be use carefully

Excellent note tool for personal use.

Pros

Great note taking tool with great features to personalize the note. Also the features to link the files to the notes is awesome. The tool as a great integration with Microsoft Teams.

Cons

There is so much features in that tool that using it in a company can create operation issues because some users have a tendancy of using it to almost replace word, excel and even sometime Planner and SharePoint list and create conflict in processes internally. If you allow access to use for users, I recommend that internal trainings and monitoring of the tool be applied.

Alternatives Considered

Google Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft OneNote

I was on Apple iNotes and I switched only because I change my infratructure from Apple to Microsoft to reduce monthly cost and also because SharePoint and PowerPlatform offer more options than what Apple offers for the same price.
Prasath
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/5/2022

Microsoft One Note - A free Office 365 service

I like OneNote because it is an easy to use, and a free application. It allows me to organize my notes and save them in a way that I can access them any time and anywhere. For me, OneNote is perfect for my usage because it is easy to use, it is easy to organize notes in a way that I can find them any time and anywhere. I’ve been using One Note for a couple of years now, and I’m an avid user of it. I use it to manage my projects and ideas, keep track of tasks and projects, and even keep track of the tasks and projects I’m currently working on.

Pros

1.Microsoft One Note is a software package which enables individuals and organizations to create and share notes and diagrams. It is a simple, straightforward, powerful tool for recording important information.
2.It allows users to create individual notes, which can be attached to each other, to themselves or to websites. It also allows users to create digital flipbooks and create annotated PDF files.
3.It is a cloud-based notes program that has a focus on helping people to stay connected to their work even when they are away from their desk or desktop.
4.One note is a note taking application that is easy to use and very flexible. The application supports PDF, Word, Excel and PowerPoint files. This application is compatible with Windows and Mac operating systems.
5.It is a free Office 365 service that makes it easy for you to create, organize, and share your ideas. It helps you take notes, brainstorm, and collect your thoughts with ideas that come to you anywhere, on any device.

Cons

1. The main disadvantage of using Microsoft One Note is that it can be difficult to use because of the way it is laid out. In order to find information, you need to scroll through the pages and pages of data.
2. It is difficult to share the content with the other users. As a result, the users have to re-enter the content which is very difficult and time-consuming.

Simone
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/6/2023

More than one way to use OneNote

OneNote has been an excellent app that I have utilized for notetaking at university, and continued to use to create school-wide documentation and teaching and learning materials. It is a fantastic platform whose benefits outweigh the minor challenges.

Pros

OneNote offers an organic tool to create and curate a curriculum for an educational setting. It allows a great amount of freedom for users, you can create layouts that are free-flowing and visually engaging, or more linear structured documents.

Cons

There are difficulties exporting or printing pages from OneNote; as there are no page lines, if you export a page as a .pdf file it usually does not fit traditional A4/A3 measurements. Also, there is a current shift from OneNote for Windows 10 to the original app, which has a significant impact on how OneNote appears to users.

Alternatives Considered

Google Docs, OneDrive, Google Workspace and Google Drive
Mevasoa Benjaniana
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/3/2022

The best free note-taking application

With regards to picking the best note-taking application, there are two clear victors: Microsoft OneNote and Evernote. Both are PCMag Editors' Choices, and both have pluses and minuses. OneNote is greatly improved assuming you need a free application. Evernote has an alternate construction that makes it simpler to sort out, tag, find, and offer data, insofar as you're willing to follow through on its precarious cost. While the accompanying survey of OneNote is anything but a no holds barred correlation with Evernote, it's hard not to match them up in at minimum in a couple of regards. In general, and contrasted and all the other things available, OneNote is obviously one of the most outstanding note-taking applications. Whether you'll favor it to Evernote comes down to what you esteem in an application and how you use it.Can be slow and burdensome
Not really good or bad sharing choices
Web trimmer requirements improvement.

The amount Does OneNote Cost?

To utilize OneNote, you want some sort of Microsoft account, yet it doesn't need to be paid. Only having a free Outlook.com login will do.

OneNote is accessible to download for nothing on Android, iOS, macOS, and Windows. There's likewise a web application. You can involve it for nothing with practically no component limitations. You in all actuality do get a modest bunch of additional elements like Sticker and Math-assuming you have a paid Microsoft account. Free OneNote clients get 5GB of space.

Pros

Rich with highlights
Can separate text from pictures
Liberal free form
A lot of capacity
Condition settling

Cons

Can be slow and cumbersome
Not terrible, but not great either sharing choices
Web trimmer necessities improvement

Mohd
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/3/2019

A centralized location for all your notes

Currently, I used OneNote to organized my meeting's notes and to attach them into an email so it's easy for me to send it to my colleagues. This is sometimes very useful when you are in hurry and wanted to inform what are the points were discussed in the meeting. Secondly, it is also very convenient to use it on all the platforms whether I wanna use it on my phone or my computer. I am exploring more ways as this is a powerful tool and has very few limitations which make it value for money.

Pros

it gives you the ability to create your notes as you create on a physical notebook, moreover, this notebook can be accessed from anywhere as long as you have access to the internet. The most unique part of OneNote is you can add multimedia and create your documents as much presentable as want. These documents can also be shared with others like your friends or colleagues, it would make this software as a one-stop solution for most of the writing and editing of your notes. I used many older versions of OneNote and then after upgrading to new versions of OneNote I came to know that your older note will not get erased. you can also use OneNote app for your smartphones which makes easier to modify your changes or to view any documents on the go.

Cons

One thing I would ever want in OneNote is the integration between various platforms, Currently, Onenote allows you to create notes or documents to share it with only OneNote users, whereas if I want to share it with Evernote users it will not give me an option for that. Moreover, I can not even import Evernote's documents notes into OneNote or vice versa. There are other ways through which you can do it but for that one has to download a migration tool. The security is also one of the issues which I always take into consideration when creating any personal note where I wanted it to be encrypted with a password. There should be some ways into OneNote where you can have a personal space which can be used for those secure documents.

Nolan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/2/2022

OneNote Review

I keep a few main pages and have them broken up into broad categories, and then spilt the categories into pages to have a more streamlined way of keeping track of notes, links and files. It's really helpful for keeping track of tasks you don't do very opften, or if you are helping to onboard a new coworker too. I even keep a daily to-do list running, it's such a great help for staying organized and ahead of the game.

Pros

What I like most about OneNote is it is my one-stop-shop to staying organized and on track without having to open a bunch of tabs/folders &/or documents. My favourite feature within OneNote is the ability to search, so if i can' remember where i stored some text or a document it just takes a second to find. Super easy & very efficient!

Cons

I'm being very honest here, i can't think of anything that would make OneNote better, it's truly something I couldn't do my job without!

Muhammad Daud
Muhammad Daud
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/7/2022

Managing tasks and To Do List along notes in one Place

Overall I found OneNote a very handy tool and the use of OneNote is very effective in an organization where they have to constantly make notes of things and keeping the track of the information.

Pros

I have worked with OneNote for over 4 years now and I have been really impressed with the way it handles the data, Creating Workbooks and sheets, and sub-pages, and manages the sync with the cloud on all devices. It is very handy to keep note of every little detail and manage the To-Do List. Search functionality is great as it can scan through all pages and exporting the data is very easy.

Cons

OneNote should use Addin to extract the information, sometimes formatting with text from various sources/platforms develop issues with the OneNote and the format changes.

Alternatives Considered

Evernote Teams

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft OneNote

Ease of Use, Search features, Fast Sync
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/8/2022

One Note Review

I’ve been using one note throughout my medical school journey. It has been a necessity with my note taking and studying regime. Can’t imagine my university life without it.

Pros

OneNote is easy to use and allows for easy documentation and filing for various notes. It’s appeal is that it actually closely resembles a digital notebook. This software allows for notes to be divided into sections which allow for the ease in note retrieval. I enjoy the ability to share and receive notes from other users as this enhances collaboration. This app is fantastic for organization as it allows for the creating of tables , the addition of pictures and embedding of videos.

Cons

My only qualm with OneNote is that when sharing, the files and documents are very choppy with some sync issues.

Ujwal
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 6/8/2023

Would suggest OneNote over Notion and Evernote

I love the fact that it has a similar interface to that of Microsoft Excel and Word for being part of the Microsoft Office suite. It makes it easy to get familiar with the tool.

Pros

It is pretty simple to use over other Knowledge Management Tools like Notion, and Evernote. The best part is that one can get all his notes just by logging in to his Microsoft account and can also share access to specific pages.

Cons

It is difficult to navigate over a page with a lot of information. Also it can be confusing to navigate through the pages while using the search and filter feature.

Dana
Dana
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/3/2022

It's Been My Second Brain For a Long Time

It lacks some basic features that their competitors have but that's the game, right? There's always going to be different software for different needs. But even in that, I think OneNote is a gem of a note-taking app and fits perfectly within the Microsoft 365 Suite, and within my life and business.

Pros

I think my favorite thing about OneNote is the ability to password-protect certain notebooks. Notion or Evernote doesn't allow that so I keep OneNote running as a backup specifically for this option. Once you dig in, the interface is intuitive and simple and just makes sense. Being able to highlight, draw and annotate is really great as well. I love Notion but it doesn't allow that quite yet so, again, OneNote has been a keeper for that reason as well.

I have notebooks from when I first started business (back in 2007, before Microsoft 365 came around) and they're still safe, password protected and sync flawlessly. I appreciate having that level of confidence in a piece of software that has stood the test of time and kept my data saved and intact.

Cons

There are times I wish I could transfer some of my notes easily to other platforms (like Notion) but haven't found a streamlined way to do this as of yet.

1,542 reviews