User Reviews Overview

About ServiceNow

ServiceNow is an IT service management solution that provides asset management, change and release management, incident management, IT cost management and problem management. It caters to various industries, including financial...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.3

Browse ServiceNow Reviews

147 of 147 reviews
Sort by:
Brandon
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/2/2021

I used ServiceNow in a Desktop Support Role

I used ServiceNow daily, almost hourly to be honest, as a Level 2 Desktop Support Agent. It replaced vFire which was getting slow and agonizing to work with. Tickets would come in and we would perform the work and move the ticket along and/or close it altogether depending on the job. I liked using it and felt it was very robust and powerful while still being nimble and problem free.

Pros

ServiceNow is fast and issue free so long as it's setup correctly. The interface is simple and easy to understand. The learning curve, unlike older software, is practically nonexistent.

Cons

Sometimes tasks can have subtasks that are nested so deeply that they can be missed on first glance. I wish the software had a simpler nesting system.

Victoria
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Using SNow since 2012

Considering how long I have been using the product, I find comfort in the fact that I know more on its capabilities so pay less attention to the limitations.

Pros

I like the scalability and possible capability to do more configuration and development for custom use.

Cons

The fact that I can not use SNow links for imbedding

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to ServiceNow

It wasn't my decision when choosing the product at the time
John
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 12/10/2022

Service Now - IT Help Desk tool that is complicated

Very disappointed with this tool from an IT professional point of view. Much too complicated.

Pros

Easy incident or issue escalation. You are able to assign issues to individuals or to teams. This functionality was quite valuable.

Cons

Not intuitive for everyday use. As an IT professional, my team and I found it very difficult to use. Imagine being an everyday user that has to use this tool.

Top ServiceNow Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/9/2022

as a Project lead we customize and use this Product extensevely.

I love this Tool because of its ease of use of the tool.
The way they develop the feature is great.
KB and Articles for support documents are good.
ServiceNow Community is great Help and they resolve most of the Issue there the way the Technical person explain and presenation is good.

Pros

all the Modules that we used are ease to use.
Documentation is well maintained.
Easy to implement.
easy to track the changes for Admin Team.
Reporting Module is Great for BIz team.

Cons

Cost and Product Support.
Product road Map dates are not clear.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Sales Cloud and Wolken ServiceDesk

Reasons for Choosing ServiceNow

Less code development. more Drag and Drop features.

Reasons for Switching to ServiceNow

Ease of use and regular Product upgrade by the ServiceNow Product Team.
Louwrens
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

ServiceNow really is simple awesome

Pros

ServiceNow really helps us to manage our customer and IT services from end-to-end. We make use of the ITSM, ITBM, IT Asset management, and CMDB features. Together all these features help us manage our clients, our services, and our assets.
There really is so much one can do with the software and once users start adopting this, it really makes such a big difference to how IT can assist the business. Even our other teams like finance started to use it as well now.

Cons

In terms of Backend Setup, ServiceNow does take some configuration to work really well, and this might not be an easy task for someone without previous experience.

Mayank
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2022

Experience with ServiceNow

Overall experience is amazing, best application available for ITSM.

Pros

I've been using this application for the past few years, and I think the real-time alarm triggering and search functionality are outstanding.
If the data we need is in the app's database and is configured, we can use it to find it quickly.

Cons

I haven't yet come across anything that I can point to as a negative aspect of this app. Nothing that I can think of that would make this app less desirable.

Matias
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/10/2022

Modern, integrated, and safekeeping of daily communication exchange

At first, feels complex and redundant, but while you pour into it, it starts feeling like a solution and keeper of daily work, management, and tasks. It is also incredibly functional.

Pros

Self-sustained, full environment solution, almost without the need for complementation with other gears.

Cons

Different user experience takes a while to learn how to navigate it.

kartik
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Amazing incident and change tracking software.

Pros

The nice part about this product is that it can be integrated with PowerShell scripts. Once the work is completed, the data is uploaded to the SNOW interface, where we can simply combine it with this email gateway and other products.

Cons

Product customer service might be improved, and it can be tough to integrate with current systems.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/10/2022

Service now administrator

Overall this is good tool to have for ITSM/ITOM .

Pros

This is one the good SaaS product available in the market for ITSM. Its easy to manage and support is also very good.

Cons

This is very expensive once all initial discount is over.

Chetan
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 7/9/2022

The super-APP for a large organization

My overall experience with SNOW has been good. There are platforms that are equally good, if not slightly better, but this would be my choice if I was running an organization of 1000+ employees. The user journeys can be confusing but if the pages are set up correctly and maintained, this app can be a boon for companies who are encouraging using SNOW and treating it as a homepage for all internal sites (like a company intranet). The platform allows third party integrations with Okta, Slack and Salesforce and also custom applications that can be hosted and run off SNOW.

Pros

I have been using ServiceNOW (SNOW going forward) for over 3 years at Nielsen now. The platform holds together a ticketing platform, a custom-built application, self-help, service desk contact information, and knowledge base articles. Our organization also has some integrations with our HR, IT and Finance systems and require a little more maintenance as we are currently committed to another well-established platform. My tickets are always visible, my approvals, etc widgets are very useful too. The portal is light, so it is fast and it also connects seamlessly with Okta.

Cons

Employees tend to get confused if the widgets are not correctly set up under the relevant sections of SNOW. The roll out time is quick, but the set up is the larger task. Custom applications running on SNOW can be a little buggy at times. The platform can turn into a administration nightmare if it is not maintained well.

Avinash
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/4/2021

Best in Class ITSM tool

This is one of the best ITSM tool. Aviable as SaaS and can be easily integrated with the SSO. Self service is a good feature .

Its just the regular upgrades and getting the data/configuration missing from the tenants during the upgrade is a concern.

No need to backup , high availability and best resiliency..this is one of the best ITSM tool in the market.

Pros

A brilliant ITSM tool and available as SaaS. The licensing mechanism is based on the fulfiller and approvers . The cost per licenses is a bit high for a fulfiller and hope service now can bring it down a bit.
The best modules are :-

Incident management , Change Management , Problem Management and CMDB.

Cons

The upgrades , every 6 months are something that always keeps us on our toes. secondly it Whatsapp and telegram can be integrated with service Now...

Alternatives Considered

ArcSight

Reasons for Choosing ServiceNow

Its the flexiblity to use and enough support avilable

Switched From

ArcSight

Reasons for Switching to ServiceNow

This is SaaS and flexible and can easily chose the modules that we need.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/9/2019

Best Ticketing Tool!!

On a daily basis, we had to pull a lot of reports and create graphs for the same. With Service-Now, it's very easy. We have saved all the filters and created a dashboard on Service Now. Now, we have shared the link to the dashboard to the client and all our work is taken care by the tool.

Relative time period is one top-notch filter, which has drastically reduced the time we were spending on creating the reports. It would take close to 4hrs to pull them and draft it for the client. Now, Service Now is doing the job and that 4hrs are saved for us.

Pros

The best thing about Service Now is the way we can handle all data and reports directly on the tool. It is really well designed in getting approvals and assigning tickets. We can also set the ticket assignment groups based on certain rules or configuration items, that really saves us a lot of time.

It is user - friendly too. Very easy to navigate and also has some built in buttons that are really useful.

Cons

Not a major flaw, but if it can create aging tickets report in the form of a pivot table, then there is nothing to beat this tool. We really don't need to rely on excel if we can integrate some into the reporting feature on service now.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Choosing ServiceNow

The previous tool was not user-friendly. It was really difficult to make reports. It had a very poor design as well.

Reasons for Switching to ServiceNow

Service-Now had a lot more features and most importantly it was very user friendly. Also, Service-Now was rated as the best in the industry.
Ewan
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/7/2017

Top Dog among Service Management Suites

An extremely robust platform with customization galore and full features comes at a cost but with very little holding it back. ServiceNow can really help on any ITIL initiatives and centralization of services. The unique focus of ServiceNow beyond just IT, is where its strengths lie. Most Service Management suites do ITIL for IT. ServiceNow takes the lessons learned from ITIL and extends them to the rest of the org (especially but not limited to Facilities and HR). Really built for Mid to Large Businesses.

Pros

ITIL based
Service Portal (Self Service Portal for quick searches spanning instance or specific areas)
Knowledge Base (despite that not being checked in the available features)
Full Service Management solution for the ENTIRE organization
Strong Workflow engine
Visible Table structures for clean data flows
Extremely customizable (Forms, Fields, Tables, Applications, Portal, Workflow, Knowledge Base, etc...)
Best in the business system architecture (fully redundant instances)
HI Administration portal and ServiceNow support are top notch
Service Now community is extremely active
Docs site (formerly wiki) well updated and complete.
Great organization and User groups
You get a cake upon launch!
Extensive Integration capabilities

Cons

Cost
Some out-of-box examples really don't match up to any organizations needs and leave you wanting more
Email rules are more complex than they need to be (some of this can be mitigated by free add-ons like Postmaster)
Configuration can sometimes be limited and requires some Javascript to get past basics
Mid Servers for integrations can be more work to maintain than desired

Soumalya
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 8/9/2022

Proper Categorization of tickets and Managing CIs properly

It’s far better than the last ITSM tool- Remedy on terms of efficiency and usefulness
Integrating with other tools is most popular in SNOW with easy REST API
Fast and Managing/Navigation are very easy
Most of the things can be done in IT user level with a configuration changes

Pros

Proper managing of incidents to respective teams with 3 tier architecture starting from Help Desk
Efficient management of system changes with agile methodology through proper state transition until deployment
Categorization of CIs based on CI class and their relationship like Application, Database Instance, Servers

Cons

System performance can be far better on node restarting
OOB baseline does not support some level of access control for change which it should have
Changes created by “Copy Change” can not be tracked separately
Can have more option of customizing service portal in configuration based way rather than angular
Reporting on Standard Template field values should be more user friendly

Chris
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/12/2021

ServiceNow Is the Best Incident Tracking Software I Have Ever Used

Incident management, configuration management, service documentation -- all are easy to use and critical to support our day to day support of our customers.

Pros

Easy to log incidents, update status and communicate with the customer about their tickets. Great for storing service documentation -- all of our services are documented in ServiceNow so that as tickets come into our queue, we have a repository of knowledge base articles to refer to in order to resolve the issue. The visual task board facilitates daily team standups to discuss status and priorities.

Cons

The only thing I could think of is it would be great if the visual task board had more Trello-like features, especially their power ups (custom fields, burndown chart, etc).

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/8/2022

A wonderful and probably the best ticket and change management tool

Pros

Search feature is very powerful and easy to use as it is globalized search.
Allows me to see the ticket distribution across my teammates.
Supports customization of the change management process.

Cons

The frontend design looks a bit old and not much attractive to me personally.
Also it is little bit costly. Apart from these 2 things, everything else seems great about ServiceNow.

Alternatives Considered

Help Scout, Zoho Desk and JIRA Service Management

Switched From

Helpjuice
Vinayak
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 6/11/2020

Best IT service management software

Pros

The most advanced and easy to use software for all Service management needs.

Cons

The cost is going high and becoming heavy software which might be a differentiator for the future

Alternatives Considered

BMC Helix ITSM
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/5/2020

Very flexible ITSM Tool

Pros

This tool is very flexible and allows even Business Users to configure processes and worfkflows.

Cons

The license is rather difficult to understand and must be re-considered over time.

Dakshina Singh
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/7/2022

Review by DB - ServiceNow

Pros

This feature is very very impactful in day-to-day IT business.
From incident management to customer engagement, it provides end-to-end solutions.
You have multiple options to display your data in graphical or list formats.
It gives multiple filters to generate effective reports.
It provides a very easy and feasible way to onboard the users and manage the customer accounts and their cases. Our IT department uses ServiceNow helpdesk services to manage the employee data. The support features from ServiceNow makes it easy.

Cons

I do have a few things in mind that ServiceNow can upgrade:

1. They should give the option to edit the comments we make on cases/incidents/changes etc.
2. They should provide the option to perform the search specifically on comments and it should be optimised.
3. There should be option for grid view instead of list view, such that user can go to the next case or incident and update them side-by-side. Currently if we filter out 10 cases, we have to open them all in separate tab to work on it. It should be managiable using same tab only.

Earlie
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/1/2020

More than a Ticketing System

I enjoyed Service Now and believe it's the best ticketing system tool out there.

Pros

Loved Service Now! This made managing our help desk easy and our tech were able to work efficiently and effectively. The interface is VERY easy to read and user friendly. The application has so many different functionalities like: Knowledge base, Equipment tracking, RMA, chat, etc. I even enjoyed the Mobile App!

Cons

I wish there were different/more theme colors you could customize/choose from. Also the mobile app was complicated setting up.

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing ServiceNow

Phased out Lotus Notes to go SaaS

Reasons for Switching to ServiceNow

Service-Now's interface was easy to read even to our end users.
Monika
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/9/2021

Best Ticketing tool for IT Helpdesk

I was utilizing ServiceNow daily, as a Level 1 support executive. We can easily customize the dashboard according to our choice. Exceptionally simple to create change requests. I loved utilizing it and felt it was incredible.

Pros

It was simple and easy to understand. User friendly. Easy to customize the dashboard. We can keep track of tickets according to the ticket status, which made my life easier. It is the best tool for maintaining incidents, SCTasks, change requests, and organizing work. We can have the history of work done.

Cons

New clients should be situated on the most proficient method to explore through this device since it is very confusing to clients from the beginning.

Ryan
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/7/2021

As Flexible as it is Functional

We've been using ServiceNow for 5+ years and it has really transformed our Service Desk and Customer Service teams ability to work with the customer.

Pros

ServiceNow is such a user friendly product. Their out of the box modules require very little customization to get you up and running using a wide suite of available modules, there's not a lot ServiceNow can't do.

Cons

Over-customization can make upgrading time consuming but there are plenty of guides to assist you with this process.

Venkatesh
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/5/2022

Effectively manage your ITSM

Great ITSM management through Service now product

Pros

Service now is part and parcel of our ITSM system over the years. We have migrated from other vendors to Service now.Its very critical for IT enterprise to handle incidents, requests and to daily business as usual activities .Its also Critical for reporting metrics to management on a periodic basis. Service now also provides robust usage through Service now anywhere web interface. It just provides ease of use anywhere in a remote work setup for the larger team.

Cons

Service now customer support can be improved.

Satish
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/3/2020

one stop shop for all type of tickets

Excellent

Pros

one stop shop for all type of tickets, easy to use, fast to search

Cons

Performance need to be tuned a little more

Alternatives Considered

BMC Helix ITSM
Gajendra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/7/2021

Service Now Review

For me it very good, specially the change.very easy to create change and follow up with the different parties.

Pros

Amazing tool for change incident and CMDB management. I am using this tool for change and incident and I found it best among the tools I used.
Design the too the way you want.

Very simple user interface and make process very easy. With any experience user can use this tool

Cons

Nothing as I am aware of as for me this is best and the way service now is improving , I have nothing what I can this as an improvement.

147 reviews