CMiC Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About CMiC

For over 30 years, CMiC has delivered state-of-the-art software solutions, purpose-built for the construction industry. Since its inception, CMiC has maintained a laser focus on automating essential back-office functions – such...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.1

Browse CMiC Reviews

170 of 170 reviews
Sort by:
Rachel
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/4/2019

CMiC

After several years on CMiC software I would say that it is absolutely the best integrated project management and accounting ERP available. The implementation can be time consuming, but the benefits are definitely worth it. Everyone is up to date with the latest information on our projects, so it makes collaboration a breeze. Our management loves the ability to get real time accurate and detailed reports of exactly what they need to make business decisions. Great company and great software.

Pros

CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data and documents in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data. CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. No more calling around for information or searching through files. We believe that the reports from CMiC are a significant contributing to our organizations ability to make decisions and be successful.

Tip for Success: Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. Ask questions freely. And be sure sure to join CMUG, the CMiC users group. They have forums, monthly calls, demos, and are a great help.

Cons

The implementation process can be long. The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.

Hedaia
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/1/2022

The best integrated contract management tools, very suitable for construction projects

by using CMiC in your projects, you'll be able to track the progress of the project tasks, as well as the reasons for delays, so that we can arrange all of the project's activities more effectively. A well-organized database for a project is critical to its success. By documenting everything you issue or receive, you ensure that you know everything about the project and can then devote yourself to addressing lingering issues and directing your team in a proper manner. I strongly recommend CMiC.

Pros

When using a workflow management system like this, everyone is on the same page, which makes it much easier for them to provide input. It's easy to tailor the software to meet your project's specific business requirements, and it plays an important part in coordinating the work of your team. Subcontractor contracts, drawings, material requests, job requests, pour permits, modification orders, and other papers that are utilized in the project can all be managed through a single system. There will be no lost data thanks to CMiC, which organizes the project database and makes it easier to find information when needed.

Cons

I didn't have any issues while using CMiC; it was easy to understand and utilize for all of the project's disciplines.

Mike
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/10/2020

There are MUCH better options out there.............. did someone say PROCORE ?

This software was in operation when i joined the company and the internal IT department messed with it on a weekly basis to try to modify a round peg into a square hole. It was a daily nightmare. Maybe if it was unmolested and used for what it was intended it may be useful but that was not my experience.
I am no longer with that organization and thankfully no longer using Cmi C

Pros

Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about this software based on four (4) years of using it on a daily basis.

Cons

Way too complicated for simple procedures
Same info has to be manually entered on every line on the same project
Way too many drop downs to enter a simple value
Not remotely use friendly
No cell were auto populated - everything had to be entered multiple times
Excessive waste of time entering the same basic info multiple times

Top CMiC Alternatives

Alexandra
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

My Review

Well integrated system overall, but everyone needs to pitch in to make it great!

Pros

- Business Process Integration -
Job Billing module is fantastic from my experience. We can customize our contracts/bills ALMOST any way our users need (with the exception of some change order options).
- Gords passion - Constantly trying to evolve/innovate CMiC to keep up with what people. No one wants users to go and find another program to do something that they feel CMiC cannot do. Mobile and BI are some of the newer things that have kept us from having to explore other options.

Cons

- Performance/Speed is overall a bit slow
- We have BI in our DEV environment. It is on its way to becoming very useful for us, but it's not quite there, but I know it's still being developed. I wouldn't say that it's really the least favorite of mine, just that I am really excited to see what else is coming.

Kristi
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

Contracts Administrator Review

Explore as much as you can, there are so many things that this software is capable of to make your job easier!

Pros

I am the Contracts Administrator for Gramoll Construction Company. I use this software for many different purposes and once I have gotten the hang of some of the uses I have come to rely quite heavily on this program (when it is down I panic)!! When I have issues I have been very pleased with the support available (the most common asked questions usually will fix my problem) the customer service goes above and beyond expectations (always very friendly and helpful)! Overall I am very pleased with this software and the updates are wonderful!

Cons

I wish there was training more readily available...there are so many functions that I am sure that I am not utilizing but I find myself fumbling through trying to figure what they do and why.

Grace
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/8/2017

Payroll Manager

Pros

General payroll needs met by software. Would like to see more standard payroll reports. For data I can't get from a report, I have to download data from view screens, and create excel reports on my own. Would also like to see historical pay, hire/term/rehire data in a sub screen within the Employee Profile Maintenance screens, instead of having to go to Employee History Adjustment screen in Utilities.

Three things I really like about CMiC:
1) Ability to download data to excel.
2) The system is able to recognize state reciprocity/non-reciprocity and withholding tax accordingly
3) Ability to find specific data using query operators/functions

Cons

User should have proficient excel knowledge to get desired data from system.

Luis
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

Integrated Accounting and Project Managment Solution

If you are an operations-oriented firm (as opposed to an accounting-driven firm), this is the right ERP system for you. It is also the best commercial construction ERP system for your dollar. Like most ERP systems and large-scale software implementations, CMiC will take significant resources, planning, and training to deploy and maintain.

Pros

The fact the CMiC provides an integrated platform for our accounting and operations personnel to have real-time visibility into our projects without the need for custom-built integrations is the primary reason that we switched from Viewpoint to CMiC. This also provides us with a unified database to perform real-time data analytics through our BI applications.

Cons

- Environment Management (patch testing, hot fixes, bugs)

Rachel
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

CMiC - A Valuable Tool for Collaborating and Reporting

Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. And ask questions freely.

Pros

CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. Setting up CMiC was a lengthy process for us, but with CMiC's help, we were able to get to fit our needs. The most important aspect of the software for us is the reporting capabilities. We are able to access our data and provide great real-time reports and analysis. CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data.

Cons

The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.

Vanessa
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/10/2019

CMiC - Finally we’re Mobile

It’s been a learning curve, but I think overall, we’re happy.

Pros

I love the Mobile Field app for our in-field users, it’s clean and simple and still improving.
The drawings management module is great, better than anything we’ve had in the past especially for tracking versions of drawings.

Cons

Honestly some of the things I came to User Conference wanting to “complain” about this year, they’re already on top of improving. I still think where some things are located don’t rally make sense, but they’re getting there.
I also wish I had more control over how reports look or generate.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 9/8/2022

CMiC Integration to Paycom

Pros

We are converting from CMiC to Paycom 4th QTR for Payroll and HR functions. I am looking for anyone who has done this integration. We have so many questions and can NOT get any help resolving the some issues with Paycom.

Cons

We are staying with CMiC for all our construction needs, just moving payroll and HR to Paycom.

Pascal
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

A Complete ERP solution

If your team has some programming knowledge, this software can do wonders!

Pros

Our business, being in the construction industry, has some particular needs and protocols to respect, and CMiC offers the perfect solution. It gives us the tools we need to do most of our project management, and also provide an easy way to customize and add modules we developed ourselves.
1. Highly customizable
2. Lots of shortcuts, and navigating in the software is consistent.
3. Their development team is consistently working toward new and innovative solutions.

Cons

1. Currently between 2 technologies. "Forms" is old and not well adapted for latest computing protocols. 2. "ADF", even though appealing, still has some unresolved issues.

Bhavin
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Bhavin's Review

Go through the tutorials and play around with it. It takes some time to get used to, and I can understand the frustration when something doesn't work the way you want it to.

Pros

CMiC's software is very user-friendly, and navigating through the software becomes easier the more you go through it. There are some redundant components with regards to submittal logs, but the tutorials CMiC offers help ease the difficult portions of the software. I like how user-friendly it is, especially for beginners that have never used the software before. It is also very adaptable and the organization throughout the software makes it easy to navigate through the different sections.

Cons

There is some redundancy throughout the different sections. The amount of information within each section can be a little overwhelming. Saving after each step can be a little irritating.

Connor
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

CMiC's Development

Take time implementing the software, do not do it all at once as this was challenging.

Pros

We have been implementing and using CMiC now for 2 years. While challenging to implement at first, CMiC has grown into becoming an excellent communication device between field and office employees. With the added enhancement of the financials, CMiC benefits both field and office employees when tracking costs of each project. CMiC has been worth the time and money that was invested to implement the software.

Cons

1. The cost and time to edit and change certain report formats.
2. Slow support time when tickets are submitted and at times it is difficult to speak with somebody.

Becky
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 24/4/2018

It was a long road, but we are finally seeing a ROI

Pros

We are on the cloud based version which seems to be going well. It's a new version, so it is constantly being updated/improved. Support team is easy to reach and nice. We generally get the same person which is huge since they are familiar with our setup.

Cons

The implementation process was tedious, time consuming, and slightly painful. We thought we were setting up things correctly, but since then have had to make a lot of corrections. Setting up our accruals should be fairly simple but have taken a long time and are still not calculating correctly. Very little customization. Getting a custom report is expensive and takes months.

Greg
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 6/9/2017

Cmic feedback

Pros

Three things I really like about CMiC solution:
1. Project management integration with accounting, it's built natively on the same system
2. Possibility for a single source of truth
3. Job billing back up albums

Cons

There is a learning curve with CMIC. Some things are intuitive where as others are not. We are trying to use more and more of the system but get to a point when we have to start customizing reports or we have really good ideas and we have to pay for enhancements.

Tim
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2017

WT Review

Pros

Whiting-Turner has been live with CMiC for a few years now and I would say that it has resolved our dilemma of managing data within multiple software. In the past we used a 3rd party for Project Management and Accounting and now we can safely say that CMiC has answered that need. We can manage everything that we use on a daily basis with CMiC. The way the system integrates AP with Project Management is a huge win.

Cons

Basic understanding of bid items/billing codes and billing contract can be confusing to many.

Seth
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 16/11/2021

Works but lacks any real support

It's okay. it does what it's suppose to do.. but is pretty slow and has a lot of bugs that go un-fixed for a long time.

Pros

During the initials setup CMiC was in it's hay day.. Many construction companies our size were dying to get something like it.

Cons

Current cmic seems to almost be forgotten. very hard to get support on cases and lacks any real feature updates when they come out

Craig
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/8/2017

Beck's CMiC Experience

Pros

Beck has used CMiC Enterprise and PM for many years. We love the integrated database, strong financial and job costing and the ability to customize when needed.

Cons

Either go all in and really get behind leveraging the power of the system and making improvements needed, or don't use it. If you are only partially committed and keep using other systems at the same time, you will continue to be frustrated.

christina
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 9/5/2017

Project Accountant

Pros

The simplicity and diversity of the software. Accounting functions make processing payments and billing very simple. It offers us the ability to customize pay applications based on clients. CMiC consultants are very friendly and helpful.

Cons

Errors that occur when processing applications. Standard reports that are not available. Sometimes functions do not work. Software is not fast.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

After a year in...

Familiarize yourself with the software before going live, if possible.

Pros

As a new user, learning the system was a bit challenging and there are many items we have yet to utilize. There is a lot of potentials, and it seems like it is being constantly improved.
I really like:
- Real-time job cost data
- ability to import/export from Excel
- Cloud-Based

Cons

Ease of use in certain areas (e.g. "select all" buttons would be nice), inconsistency in advice/set-up from trainers, would like there to be an interface for paying payroll liabilities.

christina
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 14/6/2018

System offers many capabilities however is slow and kicks you out often

Wish the software was faster

Pros

Easy to run reports, query data, is efficient in some areas oppose to our previous software, it allows up to upload images which is paper efficient.

Cons

System very slow, especially after 3:30, its not forgiving, sometimes kicks you out in the middles of data entry, does not allow you to view previous screen in some areas.

Veronica
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 9/10/2018

CMiC Review

Pros

What I like most about this software is that you have two different sides to this software which you can work on accounting entering upload and processing to a work flow where you can have uper management approval invoices for payment so it’s like two sets of eyes liking at your work before you process payment. We have a project side where each project manager can see owl and what is going on in their projects

Cons

The software still haves a lot of glitches.

Ryan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/11/2017

Construction Manager - in the weeds

Pros

Everything had its place. The system for the most part connected with others. Web based able to work anywhere.

Cons

Lots of buttons to push in order for system to work properly.
Too many checks and balances to complete something quickly.
Estimating modual was not quick or efficients

Maritza
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/3/2017

Cmic review

Double check your data output.

Pros

Once you learn it, it is easy to navigate.

Cons

Custom reporting options are limited.

Mike
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Great product

Enjoy! It's a great program, glad I recommended it to Focus Construction.

Pros

Makes everything nice and easy to manage costs and submittals and everything in between!
Three things I really like about CMiC:
- Cost Reports
- Submittal tracking
- RFI tracking

Cons

- Some of the forms do not look good when printed
- Need quicker resolution on issues
- Meeting minutes could use some tweaking

170 reviews