Azure DevOps Services Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Azure DevOps Services

Azure DevOps Services enables businesses to handle agile planning, collaboration, prioritization and repository management processes. The platform allows users to streamline release management, testing, package management and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Azure DevOps Services Reviews

137 of 137 reviews
Sort by:
Mo
Mo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/2/2022

Great deployment agent for Azure

We are automating a lot of tasks with Azure DevOps and saving our teams a lot of time doing repetitive tasks. The ability to create workflow like pipelines has saved us days of work and continues to keep automating tasks for us. It is like having another team member doing things...

Pros

My favorite is that their API can be used to do almost anything in the GUI, we use it heavily to store values across pipelines. The other option we use a lot is secure files for our certs, ssh keys and other text files containing important information which is encrypted and not output in clear test. Another thing that I like about Azure DevOps is that you can use it with any of the products that are on the market we use it heavily with Ansible to the point that we are able to get Ansible-tower like functionality without the extra license. Every day the community makes it easier by adding tasks to simplify working with inputs and outputs for example Terraform state file management, Ansible secrets, Packer Image Builder, etc. I can go on and on but the other major integration is with Security where we can scan our code at the time we commit and before running on our pipelines.

Cons

I cannot find a specific con but I can see alerts about service availability about once per month but hasn't affected my usability.

Alternatives Considered

Jenkins

Reasons for Choosing Azure DevOps Services

Microsoft Integration

Switched From

Jenkins
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/7/2021

Devops is a great alternative to other Collaboration tool

It's great for project management. I think it's an effective way for both large projects and small Proof of concepts. I personally found myself using it to manage small sprints on medium sized long-term projects

Pros

It integrates well with other Azure services. You can even have branches setup on the same project. Despite a few aesthetic changes, the UI reminds me very much of Jira and other management software. It's clean and intuitive.

Cons

I want to use it more to get a better sense of the shortcomings but coming from another platform, I find it to have less plugins and add ons than the others. Maybe it's to keep the clean boards and tasks but I'd like more 3rd party options.

Alternatives Considered

Jira and Basecamp

Reasons for Choosing Azure DevOps Services

Company proposed switch to MS ecosystem.

Switched From

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Azure DevOps Services

I wanted an alternative and my company was making a switch over from Jira to link it with our other MS 365 products
Charlotte
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 24/9/2020

Great Tool for Developers Only

Great for developers only--not a tool I would recommend for anyone outside of an engineering team.

Pros

Azure DevOps has great code management abilities for developers to build, commit & deploy their code. If used properly with the Scrum/Kanban boards, the ability to tie the work to the code is crucial.

Cons

This tool is truly only meant for developers to be able to manage their work and their code. I would not recommend any front-facing users (business or leadership-type people) to use Azure DevOps because it is not necessarily the cleanest or easiest tool to maneuver. The way work (stories, bugs, etc.) is shown on scrum & kanban boards (compared to other tools) seems overly complicated and not user friendly. The reporting & filtering capabilities are also minimal and the result is not ideal to send off to leadership teams.

Top Azure DevOps Services Alternatives

Gaurav
Gaurav
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/3/2024

Great Devops tool

Its comprehensive suite of tools offers end-to-end support for the software development lifecycle, promoting collaboration, efficiency, and quality. However, users may encounter challenges with initial setup and configuration complexity, as well as navigating through the extensive feature set.

Pros

One of the aspects I liked most about Azure DevOps Services is its comprehensive suite of integrated tools that cover the entire software development lifecycle. From version control and continuous integration to project management and deployment automation, having everything in one platform fosters collaboration, streamlines workflows, and simplifies the management of software projects.

Cons

While Azure DevOps Services offers a robust set of features, one potential downside is the complexity of configuring and customizing certain aspects of the platform. In some cases, navigating through the various settings and options can be overwhelming, especially for new users or teams with limited experience with DevOps practices.

Mangesh
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 4/6/2021

Product development in one place

Azure DevOps services helps individuals like developers, QA, Product owners to track the progress of the product on a single page. Once does not have to hop on to the multiple tools / software's to track the product progress.

Pros

One of the best tool for the organizations who follows agile methodologies. Azure DevOps services makes product/software development easy with its user friendly and everything in one place feature. One can priorities the backlogs in Azure Boards and implement the CICD pipelines in Azure pipelines with integrated Git repository.

Cons

Sometimes the connection to the Azure DevOps server slows down the response. Azure boards can be improved in terms of user interface like other ticketing tools.

Ercan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 4/8/2023

My personal view

I like the eas of use, very good integration possibilities in the already existing Office tools like teams or to-do app. I also like the Azure devops market place

Pros

I would like to see more priorization features like a priorization matrix tools on workitem base

Cons

The view of the work items are not always logical not always clear why some work items are not shown when filtered for example to assigned person

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Azure DevOps Services

Because already best integration to used tools and better price feature ratio
Vershley
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/7/2021

Amazing Devops Tool used so far

Very good experience so far. Did have some trouble in the beginning to locate my tasks, but then once the boards and sprints are set up properly, everything becomes super well organised.

Pros

Easy to connect to repos and link to tickets. Easy to find and locate any kind of tasks. Easy to set up sprints and locate tasks.

Cons

Might be a bit tricky at first to navigate all those menus and features, but once you get the hang of it, super easy to use.

Naumaan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/2/2020

Combine Kanban Boards, Code, and Automation into one tool

An excellent all in one tool to address DevOps from one place

Pros

The versatility of this software is immense. It has the ability to track work items using Kanban boards, store code using TFVC/Git, and the ability to automate deployment as per CI/CD for your pipelines.

Cons

The learning curve when it comes to the automation part for preexisting legacy process can be a bit difficult to understand and set up

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Azure DevOps Services

Versatility of the pipelines and code repositories
Sanchita
Sanchita
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

VSTS DevOps - A complete solution for pure DevOps.

VSTS DevOps is helping use to manage team ,code and operation. We are using it with Azure Cloud and the experience is really good. vNext build is able to build the .net Core application easily.

Pros

VSTS DevOps provide the complete integrity with Development and Operational work. The architecture is helping in boosting the development & Operational process. VSTS take care for complete CI/CD pipeline. Best and loving part in it is that it provide freedom in selecting the TFVC or GIT as version controlling.
Integrity with Azure Cloud is also good which it make this tool a complete DevOps system so that it can be achieve the deployment part with zero outage. XAML and vNext build help in deployment of 100's servers without any human error, as it just need one time setup for builds.

Cons

Installation architecture of VSTS DevOps having a lot of curves, Build Controller and Gated Build need time to setup and Microsoft should make it easy to under and setup. In last few years I am seeing the changes the it moving towards the web-based application, Console like security and permission are now only available in web base pages only.

Greg
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/10/2023

Outstanding flow and control

Pros

Pro - Communication. The flow of information between the frontline helpdesk team and the DevOps team is greatly increased result in great end user satisfaction

Cons

only con I can think of is cost. But that is the con for eveything...

Marco
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/3/2020

The DevOps unified solution

We use Azure DevOps Services for every aspect of the Application Lifecycle: requirements and tasks, Git repo, pipelines, bug tracking, Package management, Test management.

Pros

Smart agile tools, unlimited Git repos and modern services to build and ship our software products

Cons

Need to improve the Task boards features (in particular reports based on effort/story points)

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing Azure DevOps Services

No more maintenance tasks

Reasons for Switching to Azure DevOps Services

More features
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/6/2021

Awesome solution to deliver projects at scale

The experience has been very positive and feedback from my coworkers has been positive in how the tool has helped meet the needs of the broader organization. Given that our team operates in an agile sprint environment, we were able to customize and tailor the tool exactly to our needs so that anyone involved or brought into a project mid way through is able to easily go in and find all the tasks associated with an individual project.

Pros

I have most liked the ability to record, track and optimize the processes that go into internal collaboration between developers and projects managers. The ability to track the steps and progress of any development projects and the project hierarchy within the front end interface makes it easy to drill down and view details about any given task in the platform.

Cons

The account manager who has been assigned to help us with customer support has not always been responsive and thorough in providing answers to questions that have some complexities. It was not ideal when needing a faster turn around time for specific development and product needs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/2/2019

Controlling and automate your software development using agile

I have used it with a scrum team to manage all steps of a complex software development project.
Consultants, analysts, developers, the Scrum Master and the product owner can collaborate and control all their activities, with high visibility of entire progress and particular issues. It helps to improve the delivery of prioritized and most valued tasks, enabling get results early and keep people motivated.

Pros

Fully support to scrum's artifacts and processes.
The far away the team is, you reap the benefits of an integrated management tool that offers panels, kanban, and notifications that can not be fixed to the wall.
The investments and ongoing costs are insignificant, given the immediate collaborative environment that it establishes.
No overhead of management tasks, people keep focused in the product development and it reduce work time.

Cons

Need improvements in pre-configured reports and dashboards.
Continuous integration and continuous deployment are complex to setup up and keep running.
The control of product backlog items that spend more than one sprint (like Epics) is weak and make you confused as if the work was delayed.

Matt
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/9/2020

Great Software development platform for companies of any size

Azure DevOps is how we do everything at our company. It helps us with every step of the process and we rely on it 100% and it is always able to deliver what we need.

Pros

To get up and runnign for the first time when we were a small company with only a few employees was quick and simple. As the team and our needs grew, we were able to scale the TFS/DevOps infrastructure to suite our evolving needs. The capabilities around automating software build/release pipelines can handle tasks of any complexity and are well designed

Cons

Many of the features rely on developers putting hour based time estimates in tasks, and we try to estimate at the User Story level with story points, it would be nice to have all the same velocity and burndwown features if only using story points.

Karol
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Great tool for developer teams

Pros

Free for small teams. A lot of functionality, complete tool for developer team.

Cons

Sometimes the path to do something is very counter-intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/2/2020

Good service - covers everything from task management to VCS and release management

Good overall. I'd recommend this if you're in a corporate environment and already use other Microsoft products - this will feel very familiar. Also, if you don't want to combine multiple services and just want to pay for one thing and get everything you might need.

Pros

It's a one-stop shop for everything you need in an R&D group - includes everything, with integration between the different features of the product.

Cons

It doesn't have the best integrations around (especially vs. GitHub for example), and also the task management system feels clunky at times - more old fashioned than alternatives like Monday.com or Asana, which makes it annoying to check up on my work daily as an IC.

Brian
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/4/2022

Robust, Effective Tool

Overall still very happy with the product. Like it much more than Jira.

Pros

The ability to manage our large portfolio of work amongst our teams.

The traceability of being able to tie code to user stories is great for auditing purposes.

Release mgmt functionality is great.

Cons

Wish it were more robust from Portfolio Mgmt perspective. We had to go with a different product to meet the needs of our organization. So we need to double enter work from our portfolio mgmt tool into azure dev ops.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 7/2/2020

VSTS Review

This tool will help us in planning the sprint by recording resource capacity, goals and task status for a sprint.

Pros

Dashboard which can accommodate different project task and its status tracking. Getting a burndown chart for the day to day progress.

Cons

A little bit of confusion when you are looking into the backlogs, taskboard, and current sprint task management.

Adam
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/2/2021

CI/CD and project management workhorse with a lot of integrations

This become and essential tool to manage our projects (not only strictly devops) and aggregate the effort on a single platform.

Pros

Azure DevOps has been a natural choice for a Microsoft shop; it has a number of super-straightforward integrations with other tools like Sharepoint, Teams, Flow, GitHub, and more. While started as a project management tool, the ability of deploying pipelines and maintaining the code has proven invaluable. Also, measuring and reporting time spent on tasks and projects is what we use daily.

Cons

GUI could have been slightly more user-friendly, as well as slightky more flexible. A few concepts cause me to rather work around them without the option to adjust to my taste.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/9/2022

Best and user friendly Devops services

Excellent and for any kind of user , developers, testers, devops professionals, managers it's very much user friendly than any other tools in the market.

Pros

User interface, setting up build processes and release process was quite easier as compared to other devops tools , integration of third party tools was also easy by follow official Microsoft documentation.

Cons

Nothing as such as of now, maybe sometimes when multiple people accessing the same task from Azure boards the behaviour is not consistent.

Philip
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/2/2023

A reliable devops tool for our development team

overall this is a grate SAAS for DevOps, our development team relies on it in day-to-day operations.

Pros

The CI\CD process is straightforward, easy to use and setup.

Cons

the project management function is not as good as other competitors, so our team did not move our project management part into it.

Aaron
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/5/2019

Excellent for Software Lifecycle Management

Pros

I've been using VSTS DevOps for almost a year now. It's an outstanding tool to manage your software development projects. It's so much more than just source control, you can use it to manage your release cycle as well, letting TFS handle all your deployments to dev, test and production environments. You can setup automated or manual tests, multiple approval levels . . . there's an insane amount of control available if you choose to use it (or don't - it's totally up to you!)

Cons

It's so complicate, and capable of doing so much, it takes awhile to learn it all. I feel like I'm still learning!

Charan Raj
Charan Raj
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/4/2022

Best Project management tool for any kind of industry

Excellent tool for project management

Pros

The best part of this tool is we can plan, prepare and execute using this tool.
Can use CICD pipeline
Developers, Testers, Managers, BA, POs and clients at one place

Cons

Nothing least, it's costly comparatively
Need some documentation

Keerthana
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/4/2023

Azure DevOps

From this tool, you can easily deliver the tool with an efficient and faster.

Pros

I have used this tool for storing the process and have tried the CICD pipeline, it's easy to create the pipeline to build, plan and deploy and also, it provides a powerful platform for a software development. You can track the project by using tool itself. You can easily access this tool with the single go and in a smooth portal. It provides end-to-end test management capabilities.

Cons

Azure DevOps is complex and difficult tool to set up.

Manju
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/8/2021

Great platform for project management

Great tool for Agile / project management. Store data and can be created in private repositories. Offering verity of extensions and options.

Pros

Azure offers verity of CI/CD tools. We can create private repositories. Very easy to access and navigate. Easy to integrate with Office 365 accounts. Secure.

Cons

There are many features and extensions in Azure DevOps Services, sometimes it is hard to find a suitable one.

137 reviews