MYOB Business Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About MYOB Business

MYOB Business accounting software is designed to help businesses of any size across Australia and New Zealand take care of GST, invoices, reporting, expenses & payroll (including Single Touch Payroll). Designed to save time,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.7
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.3

Browse MYOB Business Reviews

128 of 128 reviews
Sort by:
Ivan
Ivan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/9/2018

A Solid Piece Of Software

Pros

I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

Anthony
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/11/2022

MYOB Accounts Plus

overall good

Pros

Online and off line accessMobile scanning of receipts

Cons

some search features could be better. Doesn't narrow down search when entering items or descriptions

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

easier to use
Paul
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 29/9/2019

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

We chose MYOB Essential based on their reputation as a simple inhouse accounting software solution.

Top MYOB Business Alternatives

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Cashflow Manager

Adam
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/9/2023

MYOB Easy

Pros

Application layout makes it easy to navigate

Cons

The upgrade feature needs to run in the background.

Nicole
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

One of the top software for bookkeeping

Pros

I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

Cons

glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

Ellsi
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/1/2023

Good to start but difficult with finer details.

It worked well as a start package for the small business and didn't cost anything for the first year so was a great starting option. However it was difficult to learn and take further with lots of niggly issues.

Pros

Good app availability to easily capture expenses and receipts. Simple to get started and underway with and often free with certain banks etc for the first year.

Cons

Beyond some basic functionality it was difficult to understand how best to do many things. In addition it was very difficult to reconcile amounts where a bank fee had altered the incoming amount. Often resulting in adjusting the original invoice rather than simply applying a fee during reconciliation.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online and Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

Ultimately it was offered free for a year so was a good starting point compares to paying.
Karen
Karen
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/1/2019

MYOB for business

Pros

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

Cons

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 2/11/2020

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, Xero and Reckon One

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

I didn't choose it in the end.
Thomas
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/7/2023

Thomas Review

A great experience for first time accounting users.

Pros

It's a great, easy to use product that would suit any type of business.

Cons

It's limited by that it doesn't allow multiple businesses for consolidated accounting, so it'll always lose to bigger systems.

Peter
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/6/2018

An industry standard, needs better support

Pros

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

adam
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/9/2020

not to bad...quit easy to use.

Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros

Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons

No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

Gavin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 10/3/2021

MYOB essentials before it was put on the accountright platform was excellent.

Mostly problems compared to the old software.

Pros

Payroll is ok it has some nice features on pay items but nothing the old essentials could do easily.

Cons

The list is far too long. The old essentials is excellent. All that needed to be done is have the option of reports it had be converted to excel rather than PDF. The decision to go to accountright will be fatal.

Steven
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 8/9/2022

If you find something good, stick to it.

It has been an essential tool in running our business effectively and maintaining legal compliance since we started in business in 2011.

Pros

The wide range of features and varied reports that can be produced to assist with trackingn expenditure , budgeting and forecasting.
Regular updates keep us compliant with tax law.

Cons

I do not operate the software. Unable to answer.

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/8/2021

Upgrade of platform rubbish

Very frustrating, dissatisfaction and disappointment.
Will be looking at Xero.

Pros

Nothing about the new upgraded platform, all information has to transferred over.
Too many gimmicks of cartoon characters , boxes with useless information and graphs taking up half of the dashboard. Support of myob is very inexperienced and wasted 3 hrs on the phone to resolve payroll issues.
Did not ask or want the upgrade now paying more for a useless product.

Cons

Navigation is too complex, nothing is clear and simple.
Super is not calculated correctly, some of the information has not migrated over with the new platform had to re input details. A lot of wasted time.

Jan
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 26/3/2022

The Updated Version is Catastrophic for a very small business

you wait for hours to receive help then get cut off as the wait time is so long

Pros

Not much, the old version worked perfectly, we were given an ultimatum

Cons

Undeposited funds should not be automatic, you cannot delete

Mark
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/8/2020

MYOB Review

Pros

I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons

The lack of development and modernisation of the product

Alternatives Considered

Xero
Chris
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/2/2017

This is great accounting Software thank you

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Beverly
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/4/2022

MYOB software

Pros

Process was easy to set up, had some good features that were used frequently

Cons

Needed more features added to make good use of the accounting,invoices were limited

Michael
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/5/2021

MYOB keeps us on track and informed

Pros

Ese of use, accessibility, features are simple, seamless integration, reporting functions, governance

Cons

None, it is clear and easy to use daily.

Edward
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 8/12/2021

MYOB Review

Pros

Ease of use. Pricing
Easy interface
Online storage

Cons

Limited reporting and search functions
Limited customs report

Karen
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/1/2017

Mostly good

I've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.

Pros

Fairly easy to use; robust

Cons

You have to have internet connection to use your company files.

Paul
Paul
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/6/2021

MYOB for Tradies

I had little to do with the software save reading my payslips and annual payment summary. These werre accurate and easy to read.

Pros

I received my payslips from the office and they were done on MYOB. They were easy to read and showed everything necessary

Cons

There was no app for my to use at the time to record timesheet activities. I had to make a google spreadsheet and email it. If I had an app then my pays would be uploaded and so less mistakes would have occurred.

Alexander
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 22/7/2022

MYOB User

Positive

Pros

The easy to use features help me keep track of my accounts when I have so much going on

Cons

There’s not much I don’t like, I’m pro MYOB Business

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 12/6/2018

Good software for offline accounting. you can work on Myob for all your accounting &and...

Good for accounting & Book-keeping offline.

Pros

Its functioning is good. You can easily get your Accounting data customized by preparing P&L account & Balance sheet

Cons

1. You have to take backup by your self no self backup facility.
2. Difficult to understand the reporting process.

Travis
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 15/5/2019

Fun and simple to use for small businesses

Pros

Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons

There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

128 reviews