User Reviews Overview

About Bill.com

BILL (NYSE: BILL) is a leader in financial automation software for small and midsize businesses (SMBs). We are dedicated to automating the future of finance so businesses can flourish. Hundreds of thousands of businesses trust...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
3.8

Browse Bill.com Reviews

448 of 448 reviews
Sort by:
Jennifer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/2/2018

Bill.com is THE BEST software for managing accounts payable!

No mailing invoices/checks! The software prints the first page of the invoice on the bottom two stubs of the check. You can also pay your vendors electronically with a simple invite email AND the system emails your vendors to let them know payment is on the way!

Pros

I started using this software solely for its accounts payable function. You send your bills directly to the inbox, attach the document to the bill, then pay! You can even record bills paid outside of bill.com (credit card payments for example). You can also save vendor documents (contracts, W9s) within the vendor files. This software keeps us incredibly organized over multiple locations. HIGHLY recommend! (And it syncs seamlessly with QuickBooks!)

Cons

No cons! Great product! Keeps us organized and allows timely and effective bill payments to our vendors.

Response from Bill.com

Jennifer, your comment made our day! We're going to share with our product team, who always enjoy hearing positive feedback :)

Replied 16/11/2022
Stéphane
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/9/2022

Very easy accounting tool

Pros

Bill.com tool is very powerful to manage bills. It is very easy to pay supplier bills

Cons

I did not find any inconvenience, bill.com

Response from Bill.com

We're glad that you had a great experience, Stéphane. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review.

Replied 14/11/2022
Anna
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

Straightforward and time-saving

Pros

As a freelance artist, creating invoices one of the most tedious yet essential tasks, and it's crucial to keep track of payments. Bill.com automatically creates invoice numbers, and you just have to plug in your info into drop-down or fillable boxes, making invoicing much less dreadful. It's also integrable with Expensify and allows for direct deposit.

Cons

The inbox is a little confusing- when I upload a file, it seems to disappear. Luckily, I haven't had to use the inbox much. I have had no other issues using Bill.com.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Anna. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team

Replied 5/1/2023

Top Bill.com Alternatives

Emilie
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/1/2023

Emsin

Pros

I just started using this platform setting up the account was easy and it very easy to navigate the sysyem

Cons

I wish there was a place I could see all the payments made to us by the customers

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Emilie. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team.

Replied 23/1/2023
Oktay
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2022

View all your past payments and invoices in one platform

Pros

Bill.com provides the ability to configure multiple confirmations on invoices for checks and balances so that the same person who codes the invoices does not pay the invoice, allowing someone else in your organization to track the invoices. It has a very good interface.

Cons

No matter how secure the password verification process is, it is actually a security vulnerability that it leaves everything to us.

Response from Bill.com

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your rating with us. We're glad that you are having a great experience.

Replied 11/11/2022
Alexa
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2022

Great Accounting Software

Pros

I love the feature of notifying you when duplicate invoices or payments have been detected.

Cons

To date, I have not experienced any dislikes.

Response from Bill.com

We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying our app, Alexa. Thank you for your review!

Replied 2/1/2023
Anne
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 6/5/2022

Bill.com review

Bill.com solved a problem for us needing AP software but after 2 years we found that there were much better products out there for a fraction of the price of bill.com.

Pros

The ease of use for the inbox and being able to break apart multiple invoices in one document.

Cons

There is no customer service phone number, only chat or email. All problems I had were tremendously annoying to have to try and type out. The last big change to the platform took away security approval features. I was able to cut checks with no documentation which is not a good feature to have.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Anne. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app, and we'll be sure to get your feedback raised to our product team!

Replied 14/11/2022
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
1
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 30/11/2022

Bill.com is only good for small business

Pros

Ease of use, good for contractors and small businesses <1M in rev/payables

Cons

Inconsistent payment times, customer support rarely helps

Response from Bill.com

We're sorry to hear about this experience with our app, we'd love to help out if you're still experiencing any issues. Please do not hesitate to contact our team directly by taking the following path: Log into your BILL account and navigate to Support (lower left hand corner) and then type in your question in the bot that will appear in the lower right hand corner. After typing in your question, please select contact support. Thanks again and we look forward to helping you!

Replied 2/1/2023
Rizwan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/2/2023

A MUST choice for managers

Pros

It is simple to use and easy to integrate with, with lots of options to work around. It provides excellent tools to fulfill your ecommerce needs and very rigid on data security. Overall an excellent choice.

Cons

Nothing bad except little bit pricier and customer support is mid ranked sometime on weekends.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Rizwan. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 3/2/2023
Souaibou
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 1/1/2023

Billie.com

Pros

Best online invoicing and accounting software. Very easy to use

Cons

Customer service is second to none, all features work smoothly

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review,
Souaibou. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 12/1/2023
Ivy
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 3/12/2019

Fantastic AP Processing, with Some AR frustrations

Aside from a few minor irritations regarding syncing with Quickbooks and document photo cropping on the iOS app, Bill.com has been an amazing addition to our workflow. Things are easier on the operations and accounting side, and our record keeping and bill payments are more timely and more accurate. This software easily pays for itself.

Pros

We use this program in concert with a remotely hosted instance of Quickbooks Enterprise Desktop edition.

My team can forward bills and upload receipts as they come in, and sit down once a week to process them all through to create bills that appear in Quickbooks. This has not only improved the timliness of our AP data, but it's also increased the accuracy of account and job allocations. We've also lowered our monthly CPA bills by about 40% because the reconciliations are much smoother.

The text recognition works very well and saves alot of time.

We use bill.com to pay 1099 contractors via a secure direct deposit, which has saved alot of time and effort mailing and hand-delivering checks.

Cons

I don't like that vendor credit memos cannot sync to Quickbooks.

I don't like that edits to invoices created in Bill.com won't sync to Quickbooks. To work around this, our sales team always clones and deletes invoices when they need to edit them. However this wouldn't be an acceptable workaround if we actually used Bill.com to send the invoices to our customers.

I don't like that the iOS app doesn't crop document uploads anymore. It used to do so.

Response from Bill.com

We highly appreciate your excellent review, Ivy! We're glad to hear that you find our service easy and helpful to use for your businesses. Thank you!

Replied 15/11/2022
Kelsie
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/2/2019

Bill.com for Account Payable

This is a big help for Account Payable. You can track and manager all pay out in an one place. You can see approval, requestor, total amount, history, etc. Also, you can deny the pay out without exchanging tons of email to the requestor.

Pros

1. Can store all your independent contractors' information including the contract and W9. There is an attached file option.

2. Can approve via mobile

3. Can track a vendor's history, payout, approval

4. Can add as many approval as you want

5. So easy to use. Drag the paperwork and upload

6. Email notification of status, from approval to pay out

7. Can add multiple entities for one user. For example, I manage two organizations and with one log in, I can access both

8. Communicates with other accounting software

Cons

The preview window can be improved. There is a preview and another pop up to write an expense. Somehow it is confusing sometimes.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Kelsie. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 15/11/2022
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/6/2018

Exceeds expectations

Pros

EASY set up and integration with QuickBooks online. Very intuitive UI. HUGE time-saver. It used to take a full day to do a weekly check run. I can now accomplish it in an hour and a half, MAX. Probably faster if we used more of the features. Has the ability to pay vendors via ACH and is less than half the cost per transaction than a paper check.

Cons

The add on to automatically enter invoices, while a very big value and totally worth the extra expense, doesn't take into consideration the vendors terms set up in Bill.com. So if you have an invoice from a vendor that says due upon receipt, but the vendor profile in bill.com is Net 30, Bill.com defaults to due on receipt. An override setting would be helpful. Getting vendors set up on ACH/EFT is a little tough for tech challenged folks.

Amanda
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/2/2020

Great for receivables or payables

Our bookkeepers can enter the bills, the manager can approve them, and the CFO can make the payments. The segregation of duties helps protect the company. Simple to use. Easy to see when a payment will arrive and when a check clears.

Pros

It makes it easy to have an audit trail for entering, approving, and paying bills. It also makes it easy for customers to send electronic payments for their invoices. Customizable user permissions.

Cons

When you invite a vendor or customer to use Bill.com, it requires them to give quite a bit of information in order to set up an account. Some are reluctant to do so.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. We really appreciate your review, Amanda.

Replied 15/11/2022
Kelly
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/12/2017

Bill.com is a great way to get rid of having to write paper checks.

Time saving.

Pros

I like that I can track when checks go out, if they've been cashed, and easily re-submit a check for repayment or for voiding. I like that I can invite anybody to pay via ePayment and they are in charge of entering their bank info in instead of me. I like that any paper checks that do go out, go out with a copy of the invoice you've uploaded into the system for ease of vendor tracking.

Cons

The refund or returned check feature doesn't always sync 100% properly with QBO (but 95% of the time it does).

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Kelly. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 16/11/2022
Anne
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 18/9/2020

Continual heartbreaker

Pros

It was my first experience with any robust cloud-based software (meaning besides online banking) and set a high bar for a long time.

Cons

I’m an accountant and have been a Bill.com user for over 10 years. I use Bill.com with my clients and have recommended it many times to anyone with a small to midsize business. That’s all in the past though. Bill.com seems to be absolutely hell bent on slowly destroying what used to be an amazing, reliable software. I feel things started getting worse around the time they went public, but that could be a coincidence. Pricing has gone up considerably in recent years. The newest platform is buggy and they keep taking away features or moving them around so you have to play hide and seek. Their customer support personnel used to be wonderfully helpful, and now many folks I encounter barely understand the basic functioning of the software yet are quick to mark your case solved. My clients are getting frustrated with all the reduced quality alongside increased pricing and I’ve started searching for an alternative because there are so many competitors.

Response from Bill.com

Hi Anne! We're sorry to hear you're not enjoying your Bill.com experience, though we would love an opportunity to make it right! The fastest way to get pass on feedback is through our Help Center. After you log in to the Bill.com account, click Support in the left navigation pane. In the Help Center, you can search for answers and click Contact Us to chat with us securely.

Replied 24/9/2020
Alex
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/4/2018

Easy to use, simple, organized

Pros

Helpful in keeping track of everything you've paid. Syncs easily with QB. Easy search features allows you to go back and view previously paid invoices. Fast payments. Tells you if payment is outstanding or not.

Cons

Sometimes can be a bit too simple. Would be nice to have some extra features. E.g. you can set up a recurring payment but you cannot edit any text that will appear on the check and it defaults with a date. Unable to add a contract number to a recurring payment.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Alex. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 16/11/2022
Chad
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 11/12/2020

Terrible Customer Service Team

My experience has me looking at the competitors as they seem to be struggling to keep this company together.

Pros

We were up and running quickly! No more printing checks in house.

Cons

Customer service is terrible. If you have problems you will need to wait at least a day or two after making an online appointment. Then you only get 20 minutes with the representative whom will offer a quick solution and not follow through with the rest of the workflow. This will leave you setting another online appointment, wait a couple of days and the process keeps repeating. Very frustrating! No one is on the same page! Three different answers from 3 different reps and still having workflow issues!

Alternatives Considered

AvidXchange

Reasons for Switching to Bill.com

Bill.com was quick with setup/onboarding.

Response from Bill.com

Hi Chad! We're sorry to hear you're having trouble with our Customer Support. We'd love to hear your feedback if possible. The fastest way to get your questions answered is through our Help Center. After you log in to the Bill.com account, click Support in the left navigation pane. In the Help Center, you can search for answers and click Contact Us to chat with us securely. From there, please request to chat with a member of Customer Support Leadership. We look forward to hearing from you!

Replied 16/12/2020
Margaret
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/6/2018

upgrade from schedule fly, integrative

Pros

I like that we can integrate our sales from our POS, Aloha, to our HotSchedules account to forecast sales and help control our labor costs.

Cons

I wish that the request off features were a little less confusing for our employees, and that we could view the total number of people scheduled on a certain shift at the bottom like with older versions of Hot Schedules.

Response from Bill.com

We highly appreciate your review and thank you for bringing this to our attention, Margaret
and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 16/11/2022
Amy
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/7/2020

Bill.com

I've used Bill.com with our business and personally for several years and have not had any problems at all.

Pros

Bill.com is very easy to use and the app on my phone makes it even easier. I use Bill.com personally and with our business.

Cons

We had to cut down on our users in the app because of the cost. I wish there were options for multiple users that wasn't expensive.

Response from Bill.com

We're glad that you are having a great experience, Amy. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your review.

Replied 15/11/2022
Jill
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2016

Great product - but pricey

Great customer service, onboarding new clients is much improved from when I first started using them years ago. Only issue - per client price is high considering we are also paying for usage. As a firm it would be great to have better pricing.

Pros

Easy of use - capturing all documents in one place for one client with a dedicated fax number and email address.

Cons

Price

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review, Jill. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 16/11/2022
Amy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/2/2018

Used to be a leader, falling behind

Pros

The permissions are customizable, you can be very particular about how the QuickBooks sync happens, and the approval workflows are great. I appreciate being able to connect to Hubdoc, QBO, and Tallie, among other apps.

Cons

The customer service is awful. It used to be great, but now you’re lucky to get an email back at all. That is my biggest complaint. Coming in second is the other side of the customization piece: there are lots of ways to make things happen that you don’t want to happen. There are cheaper, simpler solutions out there for the less technologically initiated.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Small-Mid Cap Business AP and AR Automation

Overall I would recommend using Bill.com to automate your AP and AR functions. It provides easy to use guides and the customer service is on point.

Pros

I use it every day to keep track of bills and to pinpoint what needs to be paid. I really like that there is AI built in the software.

Cons

I don't like how the software handles international bills. The UI is different between the United States and when we use our subsidiary account.

Response from Bill.com

We highly appreciate your excellent review! We're glad to hear that you find our service easy and helpful to use for your businesses. Thank you!

Replied 15/11/2022
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/7/2018

A quick and nice way to drop in and keep track of all bills for your business.

How easy and quick it is to run and payout your vendors.

Pros

I like the feature of dragging invoices to the desk top, just letting them load and autofilling your information to make sure your bills are paid in a timely manner. They also have really great customer support that care about helping you get the information you need.

Cons

There is a feature of auto adding bills, which is ok but slow compared to a person entering it. Also sometimes when it syncs with other softwhere it get duplicate messages, so again a person will have to manually correct it. This is pretty rare though.

Response from Bill.com

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying our app and we'll be sure to get your feedback up to our product team!

Replied 16/11/2022
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/8/2018

Bill.com is the best out there

This software is a key piece of software in my business, which allows me to pay bills from anywhere not just in my office. Plus I never have to write a check.

Pros

This software is extremely easy to use and their support is excellent to work with.

Cons

The software is slow to respond when moving through multiple pages.

Response from Bill.com

We're glad that you have a great experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your review.

Replied 16/11/2022
448 reviews