ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus is a help desk management platform. It includes core help desk and IT management applications, as well as project management, contract management and features for ITIL (information technology infrastructure...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.2

Browse ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

207 of 207 reviews
Sort by:
José
José
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2022

Good IT Ticking system

The easy and fast way to have the configuration done and running. The web interface and mobile work are fantastic.

Pros

The integration with the rest of the applications Zoho and ManageEngine have. Easy to set up and fast to be deployed.

Cons

If you are a small company, the best recommendation must work On a Cloud solution they provide.

Boyang
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 3/3/2023

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: A Comprehensive ITSM Solution

Our overall experience with ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus has been positive. The software has been reliable and has allowed us to streamline our IT service management processes. The cost is a bit of a barrier, but the features and capabilities that it offers make it worth the investment.

Pros

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus is an invaluable asset to our organization. Its intuitive user interface and comprehensive feature set make it easy to track, manage, and report on IT service requests. Automation capabilities, such as self-service portals, allow users to quickly submit and track their requests, while IT staff can quickly access and respond to service requests. The reporting capabilities are robust and allow us to quickly assess the performance of our IT services.

Cons

One of the drawbacks of ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus is the cost. For a comprehensive ITSM solution, it can be quite pricey. Additionally, it does not offer a lot of customizability in terms of the user interface, which can be a bit of a challenge for users who are accustomed to a certain workflow.

Alan
Alan
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

Way better Service Desk applications out there

Pros

When it comes to bare basics, ServiceDesk Plus can get the job done. The sorting by order of attributes is easy enough. Simple ticket resolution is easy enough. Inputting attributes such as location and the nature of the request is easy enough. Picking up unassigned requests is easy. The asset search function is actually quite useful when doing a quick track of company assets.

Cons

The search function is nearly useless and if you have a LOT of tickets in the immediate archive, good luck finding it. The inability to search tickets by requester name is non-existent, the inline reply of ticket requests is extremely limited to the point that you might as well simply contact the client directly through your own company email rather than SDP itself.

Top ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Alternatives

Alagie
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/2/2024

My experience with ManageEngine ServiceDesk

Our work has been made easier by helpdesk ticketing and we have been able to assign and manage our tasks accordingly.

Pros

What I like most is creating different user groups with different roles.

Cons

There's nothing that I don't like about ManageEngine ServiceDesk.
All its features are excellent, to be honest.

Gerardo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/5/2022

A very customizable ITSM tool

ServiceDesk Plus is a great ITSM software that help us offer and attend the end users' requests/incidents. We started using the Standard edition and now we use the Enterprise edition. You can increase the modules in time, is not mandatory to purchase the most complete edition at first.

Pros

The interface is very friendly, you don't need to have so many knowledge about ITIL and ServiceDesk Plus will help you to improve your Help Desk service.

Cons

The ZIA bot that is bundled only works in english, there are so many customers that needs spanish support and ZIA doesn't support it.

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

The interface of ServiceDesk Plus is most friendly for the end users and technicians.

Switched From

FootPrints

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus offered the same functionalities of ServiceNow for less money and ZenDesk didn't has the required modules.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/2/2023

Great product for its money

Overall this product is really well made and compared to its competitors is really well priced.

Pros

this product is well made and can be used for almost any company size, the best parts is ticket management and change management.

Cons

there are some functions inside some processes which are missing such as custom approval workflows in incident management or having the details in Asset management.

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

this product was a better fit for the organization.

Switched From

Zendesk Suite
Michael
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 2/2/2022

Good product, but support needs to improve

Overall experience has been good. SDP has made a significant difference to how we deliver IT to our business. ManageEngine's after-sales service needs to improve

Pros

Easy to setup and get started, mostly conforms to ITIL standards

Cons

Lacks some configurability and isn't as flexible as top-tier products like ServiceNow

Alternatives Considered

Freshservice and SysAid

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Limited functionality and was unstable

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Best combination of price, configurability, usability
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 8/1/2021

A basic Helpdesk software

I enjoy the product. We can spend more time handling tickets and less time managing the program that handles tickets.

Pros

It's pretty cheap and easy to setup. It is a basic helpdesk service out of the box, ready to go. There are no agents to install on computers, a plus for us. Updates are pretty easy to do as well.

Cons

The product is updated almost monthly and when we do get time to update, there are a bunch of them to do. They are all incremental and can't just run the latest.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

It was cheaper and seemed to do the basics we needed it to.
Andrés
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2021

Excellent tool to start operating a service desk to align with ITIL

The solution is very easy to deploy, operate and manage, and it is also ready to install and use. It is required to have basic knowledge in the administration of help desks to be able to administer correctly.

Pros

It is very easy to implement, very friendly and out of the box "install and use"

Cons

The manufacturer invests a lot in developing the part of requests and incidents but has left aside modules such as problems, projects or changes.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote, Freshdesk and SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

The cost is within budget and the functionalities are aligned to ITIL
Peter
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/5/2020

Sevdesk - easy to use bookkeeping software

It has certainly saved us time on monthly bookkeeping and made a life for our accountant easier. It is a great solution for medium-sized businesses

Pros

It is really easy to use and understand with all the necessary plugins. The linking of documents is really easy with the bank statement import

Cons

There could be additional integrations to CRM systems, such as Hubspot etc. The CRAM is very basic and needs some additional features to be useful

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/5/2023

Good ITSM platform for its money

A good product with offerings to meet its competitors in the market they focus upon. Many features, which are useful in routine ITSM operations with integrations to number of platforms, including Microsoft Teams. A bit backwards comparing the automation capabilities based upon AI like in competing products. However, can say that the product offers a value for money s upon spent it.

Pros

A really good product with value for money offerings. Nice dashboards with intuitive and user-friendly UIs to keep you attracted towards the product. Relatively easy to set-up and deploy with easy integrations to other product offerings from Manage Engine. The built-in templates are really helpful and can be employed with customisations based on requirement basis to need clients unique requirements.

Cons

Product support has been a concern which is one of the key reasons for the product being not getting the respective place in market against competition. There are many features and would require the support of the vendor to get them up and running perfectly. On-premise deployments tend to give lots of trouble, specially in the domain of getting them updated and patched. Further, would require additional components from other products to get the entire capabilities of an ITSM suite and thus would require to either deploy an agent along with the management consoles.

Alternatives Considered

Motadata ServiceOps
Łukasz
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 7/11/2022

Central and highly customizable ticketing system for the entire organization

Central and highly customizable ticketing system integrated with the monitoring OpManager system

Pros

Very simple and intuitive graphical user interface, highly customizable

Cons

Notorious problems with application updates

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

There are no more advanced options in OTRS

Switched From

OTRS

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Integration with the monitoring system
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/3/2023

Sdplus is a fantasitic IT ticketing system at a great price.

Overall we have better insight and better time to resolve because everything we need is right inside Sdplus. Even data and tools from other systems, integrate with Sdplus to make things like user password resets a 1 click affair.

Pros

All the customization options. We were really able to tailor the product to our processes. The pricing is fantastic and saved us thousands. Sdplus just integrates with nearly all other ME products. You can make your ticketing systems a one-stop shop for supporting users. Love that there is a mobile app that our staff can use. Specifically our IT staff when it comes to inventory as they can use their phones as a barcode scanner to track inventory. One less device they need.

Cons

There are so many features, initial setup can take a while to configure everything.

Aman
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2019

Easy implementation with highly intuitive configuration set up

Good overall experience with purchase and implementation of the product. Easy to configure and use for both technicians and users.

Pros

Implementation and configuring was easy. Integration to AD to create user profiles. Intuitiveness of features for both the user community and technicians made it easy for all to use the product. Wholistic list of functionalities and features.

Cons

Apart from minimal verbiage changes that was not allowed in the application, so far most of the things are positive looking. You can submit a feature request for modification to the application.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 7/12/2018

You are the beta tester

This ticketing solution is not suitable for enterprise grade operations that require quality functions. Many of the solutions offered by ManageEngine do not work well together and each product has it's own support teams which handle support cases differently resulting in very inconsistent experiences. SMB businesses may mind the functionality adequate for work that does not rely as heavily on workflows, automation or stability with a 1000+ user footprint.

Pros

The environment that hosts this product is the most stable part about it. Updates and upgrades are available with extreme frequency.

Cons

Support is limited and always takes several days to resolve. Bugs and Bug Fixes are plentiful and patched at a blistering pace which opens new issues. Opening a support ticket will usually result in a custom patch or request to update to latest patch.

Ryan
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/6/2018

The product has enabled us to more quickly and seamlessly provide support for our staff.

Pros

Workflows for tickets such as automatic approvals for new hires by a hiring manager
Multiple forms of entering a ticket (web, email, keywords in email)
Replying to user within ticket for a seamless end user experience
Separation of tasks within a ticket for different groups
Management of our contracts with automated reminders
Ability to import asset information and create relationships for identifying staff ownership of assets
Easily create solutions that both end users and technicians can refer to
Software is constantly being updated to meet needs of user base

Cons

- Support can take a bit to get back to you on issues
- It would be nice to be able to be able set up different support groups that could have tickets round robin assigned instead of the auto assigning applying to the entire set up technicians.

Motwakil Osman
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/1/2024

ManageEngine Service Desk review

A very good experience helped me alot with inventory

Pros

Ticketing system is top and every aspect is covered

Cons

A little difficult to implement for beginners

Alternatives Considered

Zabbix

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Easier and more rich and customer support
Mike
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 7/10/2020

ServiceDesk Plus - Manage your Helpdesk with Ease

it has been an invaluable tool these past years to keep track of our helpdesk tickets.

Pros

The software is great for tracking our IT helpdesk tickets. It provides easy to configure analysis options. Another plus is the option to keep and manage a knowledgebase of common solutions.

Cons

You have to be careful when assigning tickets from the main menu. I once clicked on the wrong check box when wanting just to select the very first ticket and thereby assigned all open tickets to one technician. Took us a few minutes to get all the tickets reassigned to the correct tech.

Billy
Billy
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/3/2018

Among the top

Organization is the best benefit that I received from this software. Additionally, maintaining proper process flow and accountability for resolving issues was another.

Pros

Feature rich! Automation ability is great. Affordable if you are going to use the features that it ships with. Additional modules available for additional features.

Cons

Setup is a bit intensive since there are so many pieces parts and features to configure and setup. A bit difficult to navigate at first when everything is enabled.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/3/2018

Great ITSM Software with on-prem and Cloud options!

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus is one of the software I've used with the feature of having on-prem or cloud version as well. It allows the organization to have the data in its own infrastructure or in ManageEngine's cloud. ServiceDesk Plus is ITIL ready with processes as Incident, Problem, Change, Service Catalog, CMDB, etc. Also includes automation features, mobile access, reports configuration, and asset management.

Cons

It's poor in integration variety as integrates mostly with other ManageEngine solutions which I see as barely limitative if you want to expand your approach with other solutions.

MRUDUL
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 4/6/2019

Under Utilization Of Tool And Almost No Support From Vendor

The tool provides with various features of which we at our company are using only Incident Management & Change Request Feature, there are other various features which are available like Asset management, but since there is no one from support team working or timely feedback taken from customer for improvement the tool is very much under-utilized.

Pros

Incident management report which is very critical as being part of service delivery

Cons

Product support from vendor is not upto the mark

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/5/2019

Tracking Your Progress

Overall, my experience with servicedesk plus has been great and i would recommend it to any other company i work for

Pros

ServiceDesk is a great tool to manage the tickets you are working on, as well as, keeping a track of all the assets within your company. This provides great audit trail for all of the work that we do

Cons

I am not too fond of the general user interface but it gets the job done nonetheless.

Tawanda
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/7/2018

It has made producing reports easy

Pros

It is ITIL based and makes me manage projects, changes and incidents under one console .users are able to log tickets using email and portal which gives them options .

Cons

The System is not integrated with social media handles like twitter, Whatsapp and facebook where some of our users want to post querries .Users also highlighed that they want to log using sms of which it is not possible .

dc
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 31/8/2016

Tech support actually best part of the product

The product itself started out really poor in the early days (3 yrs+ ago). Nowadays with the current version it's still pretty unfriendly and unintuitive compared to the competition. Their price is okay and their support while often unfriendly and hard to coax into actually assisting, has been mostly knowledgeable and capable in our experience. It does all the basics out of the box and can be programmed to do more but it still needs a lot of help in being user friendly - for technicians and end users alike.

David
David
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/4/2019

One of the top helpdesk ticketing platforms.

Pros

Upgrades are easy, the GUI is VERY fluid and easy to use. Support is pretty good also but definitely not a TAC type support, but still good. Pretty much anything you need is on their website somewhere.

Cons

I wish there was a better alerting platform which could alert you when a ticket becomes expired or has been open for X amount of days.

207 reviews