Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Spiceworks is a free cloud-based help desk and network monitoring solution designed specifically for systems administrators and IT professionals. The solution helps in managing tickets raised by clients, providing customer...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Reviews

561 of 561 reviews
Sort by:
Jesica
Jesica
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/3/2019

Spiceworks will answer all your questions

Spiceworks suggests free solutions so, it would be stupidмн not to recommend you this amazing software. It is an easy platform and, believe me, you won’t have any problem to use it. I should also mention that it well suits to small companies but larger companies should probably search for another solution.

Pros

There is one feature of Spiceworks which I appreciate the most. It gives you the opportunity to check your network and find out what devices are connected to it. This means that it provides a lot of information about those devices such as their IP addresses. Another advantage of this platform is that it is completely free. If we compare the quality of work of Spiceworks with other platforms, it will become obvious that this help desk can do freely more than other expensive platforms. I think it is hard to find a person who knows everything about his profession or field of work. From time to time everyone needs to look for some help or extra information. In these cases you should at least know where you can find the required information. People engaged with information technologies already know that Spiceworks is their best solution. You can find the answers to your questions in the forums or you can type your question and get feedback.

Cons

The first issue I should mention is the app itself. As for the mobile app, it is heavily text-based, it would be nice to see more graphics there. In addition, I would like to see one app which shows the community and the form together.
Unfortunately, there is a lot of commercial which can be annoying but on the other hand, it is understandable: the platform is free and it depends on ads to get some income.
I wish it could be easier to work with tickets and especially the deleting function.

Luis Miguel
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/6/2023

This is the one solution to start with Servicedesk solutions

This is a great solution, it was our first service desk platform that give us excellent results.

Pros

Spiceworks is a high valuable solution with multiple levels, very easy to deploy, it could be setup as a level entry service desk solution but includes great features that you have on hand starting even with the free version.

Cons

As Spiceworks have several modules some of them remains with an effective use and could be great to have a configuration menu that disable that tabs not configured on the setup

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 14/9/2022

Spiceworks is good for small companies

It was great at the beggining but whe the company grew and the tool was not able to grow with us.

Pros

It's free and very useful for small companies, they don't have to spend any money to have a ticketing tool.

Cons

It doesn't have a knowledge base.
The asset management was fine at the begginig but with more than 200 assets it became useless. Always was down because of the database management.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Choosing Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Because it was very difficult to configure and to manage.

Switched From

GLPi and OTRS

Reasons for Switching to Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Because of the price.

Top Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Alternatives

SolarWinds Service Desk

Microsoft Excel

ManageEngine Endpoint Central

Donald
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/9/2022

Spiceworks Help Desk

Spiceworks has been very good for us as a Help Desk software. My admins and users had an easy time in implementing this software

Pros

Of course the cost since it is Free. Easy to deploy and users to understand

Cons

Does not have all the features and reports that others have, but that is offset by the price

Noor Shehra
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2021

Spicework Review

It is one of the best software for the inventory management and the software can be accessed anywhere in the same network through the specified URL which will keep a whole record of the networking devices.

Pros

Inventory management is one of the best, with few tweaks on the user end, it is easy to scan all the computers and printers in the network from serial number to installed software in each computer that will come handy in the audit.

Cons

Few basics were missing like currency value of different countries will making a purchase invoice for the new bought devices.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine Endpoint Central

Reasons for Switching to Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Spicework is basically free if you host the application in your server comparing to the other inventory softwares
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 28/11/2022

Great community, basic features and many integrations

Spiceworks was great to begin with but as the company grew, the features and requirements we needed also grew so we needed to move away. For a small company, this would be a great starting point.

Pros

The helpdesk is the main feature of Spiceworks and works well, the community as well are very knowledgeable and welcoming which is great when you have any issues or queries, you don't need to directly contact Spiceworks Support but rather you can discuss it with the general community. The software being free is also a big positive because unless you're a big company, it's another expense which you can avoid and still get a great service desk.

Cons

The UI was the most disliked feature of this software, it felt very outdated and the theme customisation was very minimal as well.

Ian
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2022

Spicy goodness

Spiceworks was great when i worked at a small non profit for my needs

Pros

The inventory and ticketing are very useful in smaller businesses however when i have to research an issue i normally end the search term in google with "Spiceworks" as i know i will be returned with a wealth of expert knowledge

Cons

I find the bandwidth usage quite high, other than that it is value for money which was zero for just the helpdesk. There are other applications i have not used

Jeffrey
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/12/2021

Spiceworks helps multiple departments with more efficient reaction time and decisions.

It's easy to use once setup by most anyone. It does not have all the extra features that are typically not needed by 90% of the companies so it makes admin easier.

Pros

Its a feature rich and functional product for an amazing price. They keep adding more too.

Cons

Setup can be a bit of a bear depending on how much you want to customize it.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Having experience with Freshdesk which is a good product, the price sold it on us for the
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/3/2020

Amazing for the Price (FREE)

I don't know why I didnt try this soon, i think you presume if something doesnt have a high price tag then it wont be any good, but i was very wrong.

Pros

I love the ease of the ticketing system and the professionalism of the emails that come out from it. I have used some other IT help desk platforms but this one works really well.

Cons

The app isnt particularly slick but it works. I think in they could spend a bit more time on the app it would increase their portfolio tenfold. For the price it is a gem and you cannot go wrong.

Mitchell
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2023

Spiceworks Help Desk is a great tool

Overall Spiceworks Help Desk is a great tool to get your company Help Desk up and running with little effort. Highly recommend it.

Pros

Spiceworks Help Desk is a great tool. It is free, easy to setup, easy to configure, easy to use, It creates a ticket number if setup to do so with an auto reply. Inviting team members is simple and all the history is logged. Very Nice!!!

Cons

Spiceworks Help Desk is a great tool. However the Knowledge Base usually comes up with zero search results.

Bob
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 12/12/2022

Spiceworks - You Get What You Pay For

We were not happy with the outcome as it was more limited in it's reporting capabilities and it's ability to properly track metrics. We made it work but eventually had to replace it in our organization due to the limitations previously mentioned.

Pros

It was a low cost option that provided most of the features and functionality we were looking for in a Help Desk system.

Cons

The reporting features were minimal and the ability to create usable ticket flows was limited.

Alternatives Considered

aPriori and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Cost and ease of implementation (or so we thought).
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2019

SpiceWorks does the job, for free-ninety-nine.

Prior to SpiceWorks we relied on emails from users with issues, and each IT person might manage those emails in their own way - flagging for followup, marking as unread, subfolders of their inbox, reminders, etc. Issues often were forgotten before being resolved as they moved further down in the IT inbox. We would often work on issues that another IT person already knew the answer to, thus wasting time. Spiceworks has made it so much easier to keep track of issues and their resolutions. IT supervisors can see at a glance if any of their people are struggling, and how quickly issues are resolved. Each ticket is categorized (Phone System, PC Hardware, Network, etc.) so its easy to see if things are getting better or worse. You can reply to a ticket with a suggested solution, categorize it, and close it, all using the "Tickets Anywhere" keywords.

Pros

It allows us to prioritize tickets, identify recurring problems, and prevent requests from "falling through the cracks". It provides our employees a single email address for getting help without them having to know who in IT does what. It is fairly configurable to meet different needs - we use it for warehouse and logistics issues as well as IT Help Desk. Tickets can be assigned, categorized, closed, etc. using "Tickets Anywhere" keywords when replying to the email so you don't even have to open the site to work tickets.

Cons

Emails sent to Spiceworks are converted to plain text with attachments, so tables and in-line images are lost. Due to this we sometimes have to ask the user to forward the email directly to us in order to see the original. There is a delay of between 1 and 5 minutes after an email is sent to Spiceworks before the Spiceworks email is received by team members, so we occasionally have more than one person starting to work on a ticket at the same time - especially if the ticket can be resolved simply by replying to the email.

Jeff
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 6/2/2020

Bang for your Buck, especially when it is free!

I have used Spiceworks in 2 different IT Shops now and will continue to use them. I have attended SpiceWorld twice and will be attending it again this year. They bring the best IT companies together.

Pros

It's Free. It has a great mobile app that allows my techs to have access to the portal from anywhere. It is simple to use. It is cloud based. It comes with a free remote control tool (ZoHo) as well.

Cons

Advertisements. You have to expect that with anything that is free. We may upgrade to the paid version this year. Limited options in regards to the User Portal.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk and Zendesk Suite
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/4/2019

Free help desk and ticketing system with integrated AD-compatible inventory

We have used the Spiceworks ticketing system for a few years and have been very pleased by the customization options, support, and overall performance of it. It has helped to streamline the efforts of our tech team and help us to effectively organize and delegate. From the ticket overview, you can see what tickets are new, outstanding, and who their owners are (if any). The customer portal side and automated responses are very customization as well, which helps to get your tech communications effectively branded for your organization.

Pros

The fact that it is a free product helps it to stand out. Beside that, when we did have an issue, the support was fantastic in helping us to track down and remedy the source of the problem. We really like the amount of detail you can see at a glance when using the help desk because it can aggregate the data from inventory which can include hardware devices and users. There are also many very handy plugins for Spiceworks that can help in countless ways.

Cons

Since our users had a habit of submitting tickets with numerous large attachments, the ticket database became kind of unwieldy and there wasn't a clear way to actually delete tickets or their attachments from the database. This is good and bad, in that there's no accidental deletion of ticket history, but it can be frustration if space on the hosting server is very limited.

Racey
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/12/2017

Easily the best completely free helpdesk software out there

Pros

I like that it works well for a small to medium sized environment, I like that it has never crashed or given me a single problem in the five years I've used it as our only help desk ticketing solution, and I like that it costs absolutely nothing. It includes some other features like network monitoring, SNMP monitoring, etc., but we've never used any of those features. If you really need that type of functionality I'd recommend going with a more robust solution built for that purpose. All we needed was something to handle support request tickets and it has been great for that. If you have a very large environment you'll probably want to go with a more robust solution, but for our 100+ users this has been completely fine.

Cons

If I had to find something to complain about, I guess I would say that I don't care for the fact that its HTML based and is rendered in a browser window. I'm sure many people don't find this a con, I'm just personally used to working with an application installed locally and find the interface to be a little laggy compared to the snappy performance of something like Autotask. Not much to complain about in a free solution though.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 29/8/2018

Considering the cost, it's a VERY powerful application

Very happy we got it. It is one of the most stable, reliable things we run here. It has genuinly made things smoother and easier for my IT Department. And yes, we are running the free version (so you know it's not a "paid indorsement"). If I ever changed jobs, Spiceworks would be the FIRST thing I installed at a new place. So much bang for low to no cost and a short learning curve

Pros

Does a great job of managing our help desk ticketing system. Nobody likes making tickets, but with 4 techs watching the que, problems get resolved faster. We have been using the system for years. Very stable. The inventorying is reasonably robust - will let you quickly spot machines that are not up to spec for a planned upgrade.

Cons

The polling and reporting on down devices is weak. You find out a device is down long after it actually went down, and then for DAYS it continues to aleret you the device is down (even though you have brought it back up). If you try and close the ticket, spiceworks gleefully creates another one, even though the problem is long gone.
That said, we did not install this to be a network monitor, so any monitoring functionality is just icing on the cake.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/2/2019

Perfect starter IT Help Desk software with additional tools for Small Business sysadmins

Our small 3-person IT team needed a basic and easy-to-use helpdesk software for our technicians and end-users. Spiceworks was easy to install and meets all of our requirements, with a little bit of feature bloat (but it's free!). While I am sure we could pay money for a more customizable, modular, ad-free system, its simplicity and reliability is incredibly valuable in our IT department.

Pros

-Offers basic helpdesk features - email to ticket, email notifications, simple reports/metrics - and a simple interface for L1+ technicians. No training is required
-Knowledge Base is a great place for documentation, and to refer users for duplicate tickets
-No frills, easy to setup, requires virtually no maintenance when hosted on a Windows server (we do not use the cloud version)

Cons

-Inventory and Network Monitor just seem to add bloat for the minimal usefulness that they are - we can do a better job with other free tools like The Dude
-Paying to remove ads still won't reclaim any screen space that they take up, just a replacement with your own graphic - I don't believe this is worth it

Michael
Michael
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2017

100% free help desk and ticket resolution solution.

As I mentioned previously, a majority of our users are primarily mobile and being able to stay in touch with each other and with the client (who we can set up to receive notifications of their own when a ticket they created is edited) is essential. Further, there's no reason not to try it out because there is no financial commitment to worry about.

Pros

As I said above, it's FREE. For lower volume IT houses it's pretty great. We have a basic setup where emails sent to a support address automatically open a ticket. I operate almost exclusively from my phone and we've never had an issue creating, working on or closing tickets in the field or in the office.

Cons

Nothing more serious than the occasional hiccup when an update is released for the mobile app and features are either shuffled around or changed so much they aren't easily uncovered again. Also, if it did more to auto-populate the fields for the name of the person who submitted it, what it pertains to, which software or hardware they're looking for help with, that would be great.

Troy
Troy
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2018

Great Help Desk Portal

When we moved from our prior software provider to Spiceworks, our technicians and users all immediately began to notice a great improvement in usability and functionality. From being able to interact with the software via emails while our technicians are on the go, to updating users when comments are posted and issues are resolved, this software have greatly improved our help desk's day to day productivity.

Pros

Spiceworks is a free yet versatile help desk portal for users to submit tickets, technicians to track tickets and for administrators to generate reports. With the vast community support behind Spiceworks, its very easy to figure out to to customize the look and feel to meet the needs of your organization.

Cons

While Spiceworks is great, [I assume] because of the free nature of the software and the companies business model, updates aren't very frequent. Security issues within the software can take a long time to get patched, and new features and few and far in-between.

Zyren Christian
Zyren Christian
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/5/2021

Spiceworks makes it spice!!!

Pros

For us IT helpdesk/Specialist, this product works like a magic. We can easy monitor and keep track of our ticketing management, we can also check the reports very well and it was so organized.

Cons

Only when I was accessing it with my phone on web, the product seems not be responsive on mobile phone(browser access). Nevertheless, the app is so great and such an important tool to us

Daniel
Daniel
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/4/2019

It's great, setup is a pain

We used to rely on word of mouth or emails that would generally get lost. I am now able to keep track of all user submitted tickets to see where my staff is and ensure that things get completed. It also makes it much easier for users to report an issue. Previously users were discouraged from reporting technical issues because there was no guarantee the issue would ever be addressed. We now have accountability.

Pros

Extremely easy to use as a user and an administrator. Users simply send an email to a pre-defined email address ([email protected]) and a e-ticket is automatically generated. My IT staff receives notifications via email as well as the mobile app. IT Staff is able to assign tickets, respond to users, set categories, etc. very easily. Best of all, it's FREE.

Cons

Set up was very difficult. It took us a few attempts to get it working. But once it was up and running, it keeps on going.

Doriann
Doriann
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/6/2018

An excellent trip to the organization, control and monitoring of my company LAN.

I get control of the company's computer park and with software's functionalities I was able to get all the information about their life time. It also allowed me to carry the statistics of activities and faults in LAN allowing me to study their numbers and attack the problems with greater precision.

Pros

It is a Swiss Army knife for network administrators allowing inventory, equipment monitoring and failure tracking and activities within the same package. It is great to be able to have everything you need within reach of an IP address, in addition to being able to receive as many notifications as you want and of what you want within the operation of the network.

Cons

The hardware requirements are many, leaving out all those equipment with few features. Although software as such does not merit investment, it concentrates on the necessary hardware.

Clint
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/8/2021

Very good for free

I liked it, but my boss didn't like the tracking and reporting end of it

Pros

It was free and easy to use. Lots of support from other users that also help out with other software.

Cons

Asset tracking wasn't the best, inaccurate and the reporting isn't the greatest.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

It was free and easy to use
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 8/1/2019

Great Helpdesk product and it's FREE!!!!

I have had an overall great experience with this product. I have used it at two different jobs over the last 10+ years and it has always stayed free and always gotten better.

Pros

The fact that it is 100% free is amazing. Secondly, it is very easy to setup, maintain and to use. It solves all of our needs for documenting our work via a ticketing system. Its reliable and also the Spicework Community is a great resource for answering technical questions. We actually use two installations of this: one for the IT team to document their work and also one for our Maintenance department to document maintenance requests and tickets and it works great.

Cons

The software is not perfect and sometimes locks up or stops working and must be restarted. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Travis
Travis
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 9/12/2020

Best Free ITSM you need

SO i came from a government contract and our ITSM is all based on lowest bidder, Spiceworks excels far better than those software's I used .

Pros

The ease of putting in tickets and meeting resolution target without much communication loss is imperative to all IT operations.

Cons

So i used the free version of the software being in a start up environment, that being said the software has a ton of adds.

561 reviews