Visio Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Visio

Visio, a Microsoft 365 solution, is a diagramming tool that can be used by businesses of all sizes to create visual charts for team collaboration. With Visio, teams can connect diagrams and charts to real-time data and automate...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Visio Reviews

3,130 of 3,130 reviews
Sort by:
Michael
Michael
  • Industry: Tobacco
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 13/6/2020

The tool for visual mathematicians

I love it for the purpose it was intended for. I don't think I could find anything better. Most of the time I have nothing but good things to say about this product. Just don't let yourself get in a spot where you need to write your own code to generate your charts automatically because the API and help for it would require another degree just for this product.

Pros

It can connect to a wide range of data sources to present data in your charts. It has a wide range of abilities through the various add-ons and tools. The range of standard drawing objects is huge and you can create your own if you know what you are doing.

Cons

It sucks for trying to program against it. Every drawing object has its own properties, methods and behaviors. It is a real nightmare if you need to integrate it into an automation system. The only one I have found that might be worse is Outlook and that would depend on what you were doing.

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD

Reasons for Choosing Visio

These versions had a lot of functionality but since our company bought the MS suite and Visio came as part of the package it just made sense to use what we had versus buying something else.

Reasons for Switching to Visio

We didn't. Our company purchased both and use them both for different types of needs.
Keerthi
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/5/2024

Best for architecture flow and design

Great for the purpose of designing and helps get the job done easier without any hastle.

Pros

Visio is great for explaining the architecture flow and designing the flow and connectivity part for the projects

Cons

It would be great if Visio can provide frequent updates and pricing can be made better

Chaya
Chaya
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 15/4/2019

Visio – professional in diagram drawing

Visio is one of the tools which is used by most of the people for drawing diagrams and charts. Because of the easiness in drawing and and professional look of the final product this application is more famous in the industry more specifically in IT industry.

Pros

Visio has become one of the major applications which is used in drawing diagrams in the industry. Visio has become almost an official tool in diagraming as it is vastly used In most of the companies in creating diagrams related to their business plans and projects. There are various types of diagrams provided through the application . So the users can draw any type of a diagram according to their requirement from the given diagram types. Because of the large number of diagram types provide by the application users’ does not need to search different software to draw different diagrams which saves both the time and money of the user. Visio offers different editions like Standard, professional and pro with particularly improved functions per each edition. Also Visio created diagrams can be imported in another similar diagram drawing software and do further modifications. Even the diagrams drawn by some selected software can be opened through Visio and edit them. Visio offers both desktop and online versions for the users which helps the users to use the product whenever they want wheatear they are connected to internet or not.

Cons

Visio is not a platform independent software. So far Visio is only available for windows operating system. It does not supports mac os or Linux or any other operating system. Which has limited the usage of the application only for the users using windows. Though there are different editions users have to pay for each edition with more facilities. And the price need to be payed seems to be unfair considering the same category applications. Though there is a desktop version in Visio it is not constantly updated. Updates are available for the desktop version within few years time period. So it is bit difficult to work with the desktop version.

Top Visio Alternatives

Ahmed
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/2/2024

Excellent Tool for Working on Flowcharts and Diagrams

MS Visio's powerful diagramming features, which enable users to produce expert and thorough visual representations of processes, systems, and workflows, are among its most notable features. Quick diagram creation is made simple by the large selection of pre-built templates and shapes, and customization options allow for fine-tuning to meet specific requirements. The ability to share and collaborate on diagrams, together with its seamless interaction with other Microsoft applications, improves team productivity and cooperation.

Pros

Visio is an excellent program for creating technical drawings, architecture diagrams, intricate flowcharts, and more. It makes it simple to collaborate with coworkers to work simultaneously and integrates with Office 365. Professionals in a variety of industries, such as business, engineering, and information technology, may find it to be an excellent and adaptable tool. But, much as with any other Microsoft Office application, there are occasionally delays in updates while working with colleagues. With the many customization options offered by Visio, users may produce extremely intricate and well-designed diagrams. Excellent tool for data connection, allowing users to integrate other data sources, like Excel, to dynamic visualizations. Simple to use for drawing intricate diagrams.

Cons

Diagrams are frequently reworked as a result of the unreliability of online sharing and updating. It can be difficult to follow version control instructions from peers.

Soon Kit
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/3/2024

Remain a default visual presentation of workflow and data flow

Pros

Easy to use diagram and drawing features

Cons

additional tool features is not intuitive. Need some time to understand how to use which will then brighten up the presentation done with visio tool

Hugh
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 6/5/2024

Visio org chart review

Overall the application does exactly what we want it to do and has the flexibility to adjust to management changes with little extra effort.

Pros

Visio allows me to copy data into the chart and move/adjust the various blocks to where they align properly. It also allows for detailed alignment down to the fractional L/W/H for exact hierarchical flow.

Cons

The auto realignment when attaching an employee to a manager sometimes moves the flowchart in ways I have to adjust.

Arthur
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/3/2024

Great tool!

Pros

Visio is very powerful to create flowchart.

Cons

To import data can be complicated. It should be improved.

Mustafa
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/4/2024

Upgrade your network diagram

Look no other if you are planning to start creating a network diagram. A great software for Network engineers and designers.

Pros

Creating a diagram for network high-level and low-level design is easy thanks to the features of importing ready-to-use icons. There are many options to use various network appliance icons from security to end-user icons.

Cons

It's not included in the Microsoft Office professional package.

Robert
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 10/5/2024

Vizio is great but can have issues with other Microsoft Products

Vizio does what we need it to do in creating diagrams, but the restrictions on workstation installations can be a nightmare. As a standalone product it is great.

Pros

Vizio is great for creating data flow diagrams that illustrate the flow of data from one device to another

Cons

Vizio does not play well with other Microsoft applications. If a user already has a Microsoft Office product installed, it is very difficult to install Vizio as well.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/5/2024

Packing Features of Newer Software

Great for tuning flowcharts that we have for legacy, but we don't use it for new models.

Pros

It's easy with the drag and drop features, and I'm used to it.

Cons

It lacks a lot of features and feels outdated compared to software like Miro or Figma.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Great tool to draw Flowcharts , Process flows and Network drawings!!

I'm using Visio for my daily work when I need to draw flowcharts, business process and more importantly for network drawings and rack drawings. Early I was using Ms word and powerpoint for these but both of them were unable to deliver what I want so I switch to Ms Visio. Visio is a great tool to get a professional quality output without much effort. GUI is very easy to use and templates cover most of the daily business requirements and even easy to find many templates online and use it. I'm using original stencils for all my drawings ( Network and Rack diagrams )which gives me perfect output. So overall I really recommend MS Visio...

Pros

Easier to learn and use it even for a beginner who never used Visio or any proper software.
The richness of the templates in the library and even the possibility to download additional templates as per your requirement.
Available many stencils with most of the brands (HP, Cisco, Dell, etc.) when using to draw network diagrams.

Cons

You need to pay separately for license costs even you have Office Professional or Office 365.
Need to convert to PDF or another version to view it , if you don't have Visio to see it.

Alternatives Considered

Lucidchart

Reasons for Choosing Visio

Early I was using Ms word and powerpoint for these but both of them were unable to deliver what I want so I switch to Ms Visio. ( Mainly professional look output and easiness to use) Visio is a great tool to get a professional quality output without much effort.

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Trust over Microsoft products. An existing good relationship with Microsoft. Easiness of use and to learn. Better features and functionality.
Mohammad
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/2/2023

Visio is the best visual software in the market.

I loved it. It helped my work daily in presenting what I have in mind to my managers. It is a great partner when it comes to completing tasks.

Pros

Templates are there to helps us complete projects fast and save time. Customer support is very good. Price is acceptable as well.

Cons

The drag and drop option is sometimes not doing a great job but this is something that might relate to the installation itself.

Alternatives Considered

ARIS

Reasons for Choosing Visio

The support for Visio is better. Most of the staff required that we bring Visio to the office as they have a good previous experience working on it as it is very user-friendly.

Switched From

Mavim

Reasons for Switching to Visio

ARIS were not that good in responding to our requirements. We though staff will love the controls on the interface but they found it none user-friendly.
Bradley
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/4/2022

Visio - Your Business Process Flow Simplified

As I have become accustomed to using this application and learned the great benefits from using it, I would happily recommend this product to people who are able to invest time in learning how to use this app.
Just be prepared for the software licensing if purchasing separately.

Pros

Visio is not difficult to administer and utilizes at all. It supports a wide range of graphs as well as graphics. It is well coordinated with other Microsoft items, to be specific office suite.

We generally use it for making flow process diagrams that could be linked to our daily operations and core business functions.
Free to trial for 30 days as well.

Cons

Unfortunately, every drawing object has its own individual properties and behaviors.
It takes a bit of time getting to learn how to use the software effectively at first.
The licensing costs are not up to standard as it is separate from the office suite which is purchased.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Photoshop and Lucidchart

Reasons for Switching to Visio

As Visio had to stand out images and add-on packs, it just made sense to get this product instead.
Jess
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/8/2019

Scientist Viewpoint

Overall, I like this platform as sketch pad (my hand drawings are terrible and hard to read). It has made my cross-functional collaborations much easier since I have a good method transfer ideas that other engineering disciplines can also work in before migrating to high level systems (CREO, Mentor, etc).

Pros

As someone who works in multi-functional engineering teams I find this to be a great collaboration platform. I can take my sensor idea and do some basic "hand" sketch type drawings to really highlight my thoughts and needs to my mechanical engineering colleagues. On the electrical engineering side I can create functional block diagrams describing my needs for the signal pathways and data analysis workflows. I also use this for test apparatus diagrams and mock ups for software user interfaces.

Cons

If you have no drafting/drawing experience this program can take awhile to get truly comfortable with. I don't find all the menus to be as intuitive as I would like. However, I only notice this if I am away from the software for an extended time period.

Chris
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 2/3/2021

The best flowcharting and diagram package out there

I design software interfaces and algorithms within the application and find it so easy to get my ideas down diagrammatically in order to turn them into real applications

Pros

Flexibility - easy to use for a multitude of tasks, from flowcharting to network design, swim lanes to manage teams, and so easy to view on mobile devices too with a plugin to view on the web, and an app to download both on Android and iOS!

Cons

Well, I would love Visio to be added to the Microsoft 365 system and be available as a editable app on iOS and Android, not just a read only application. For a new user it can be quite tricky to get started, but it is very simple to pick up

Evelyn
Evelyn
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 27/5/2022

Great tool but somehow outdated.

Visio use to be our main software to plan any project and describe work loads, processes, etc. Nowadays, there are several other platforms with full online capabilities and better team collaboration tools.

Yes, most of those other alternatives are not that good as Visio to create flow charts or any other diagram, but they are more than acceptable for several business lines.

Pros

Thea diagram creation tool is best in class.
Full compatibility with Microsoft Office Suite formats.

Cons

There is not fully free & functional online app for third party participants to join eventually into a brainstorming process or any other board of work.

Alternatives Considered

Whimsical, Trello, Microsoft Project and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Nowadays, we use Whimsical over Visio for most of our tasks, since Whimsical does allow us to have a better team work. I do still recommend Microsoft Visio for creating precise diagrams over any other alternative, but it is not that useful for Marketing environments, it is for Engineer ones though.
Muhammad Daud
Muhammad Daud
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/4/2022

Great Data Visualization and Mapping tool

Overall I found Microsoft Visio a very helpful tool for any management level (IT to Decision Makers) in an organization and it can be worked with according to their own requirement. I was able to achieve our organizational documentation through various tools and stencils and to elaborate them professionaly. Great tool.

Pros

I have found Microsoft Visio to be a great tool for any business to manage their flow diagrams, organizational structure, network diagrams, and document management. It is a vast utility to support various stencils as per the requirement of the organization or structure required. I found Azure Stencils to be great and detailed in order to elaborate on the cloud environment.

Cons

I found it a bit inconvenient that the built-in stencils for Microsoft Visio are limited and it requires extra time and effort to search them manually and apply them in the business model. Visio should be offering their own store to get Stencils and document management utilities.

Alternatives Considered

SmartDraw and Creately

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Other software were tested on a trial basis and I found Vision to accommodate all the features and ease of use.
Adolfo
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2022

Perfect program for meetings and idea sharing

This stage has truly helped my work and career in advancing novel thoughts and imagining them to get clear insights concerning what's to come plans.

Pros

Microsoft Visio is a superb stage through which one can introduce their thoughts outwardly as a stream outline or any customizable chart. Microsoft Visio accompanies extraordinary pre-assembled layouts which I can use to flawlessly construct charts and flowcharts. We have been involving this stage in our school because of various factors. As of late, we utilized it to make an imagined floor plan for our new grounds. We additionally Microsoft Visio for training purposes. We use it during the classes to clear up information perception and orders for understudies in an understandable manner. Visio is additionally utilized in our school to make feasible plans in an arranged way. Microsoft Visio accompanies a ton of components making it the most customizable chart manufacturer.

Cons

The expense of this instrument can be a bit pricey, compared with its rivals and there are many web applications accessible that accomplish a similar work liberated from cost. Microsoft Visio ought to publicize a portion of its remarkable elements. 2) Instructional exercises and preparation ought to be given to the novices to cause them to understand the maximum capacity of this stage else almost certainly, the client will not hold it for a significant stretch of time because of the significant expense. 3) The powerlessness of utilizing this stage on working frameworks other than Windows has led to a few issues as I need to get my PC to work with graphs.

Sreekumar
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/7/2018

Awesome professional diagrams and flow charts

Pros

As a Business Analyst cum Product Manager in Software Engineering, tremendous amount of documentation including business process diagrams, and flowcharts were part of my role in my previous product organization. Before learning Visio, I have tried many free apps, and capabilities with in word and struggled a lot.

While we make enterprise solutions by offering customization in our product suite, it is quite normal to study and analysis complex business processes of every new customer. To make a case - the process to be automated, solution, estimation, and design, diagrams and flowcharts were inevitable. Making diagrams eat a lot of time before Visio. Visio helped us to streamline this particular activity. It is pretty simple to copy an old diagram, make a few modifications and use it in another document. Another advantage in using vision is scope for modifications and less time to edit the diagrams.

The beauty of Visio is stencils and drag and drop feature to build diagrams. Also it is awesome to have an excellent repository of shapes.

Couple of times, I have used the organization chart feature. The import feature is very much helpful when we have a comprehensive reporting hierarchy.

Live data overlay which enables us to visualize live data in the context of a org structure, a business process, or a manufacturing process flow to get the big picture in one glance.

Once you master Visio, it is less likely that you switch to any other tool for diagrams and process flows.

Provision to collaborate on diagrams simultaneously is a big relief when many users work on a diagram

Cons

It is a fantastic tool and no doubt on its capabilities. However pricing is heavy and the solution is subscribing to online version.
If the shapes show some meaning or suggest the purpose, Visio can be a bit more intuitive.

Zubairu
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/2/2023

My Visio Honest Reviews

Pros

These are what I mostly like about Visio: 1. Versatile: Visio allows you to create a wide range of diagrams and charts, including flowcharts, organization charts, network diagrams, process diagrams, and more.User-friendly: Visio has a simple and intuitive interface, making it easy to create and edit diagrams even for those who are not familiar with the software.2. Customizable: Visio provides a range of templates and shapes that can be customized to meet your specific needs. You can also create your own shapes and templates to save time in future projects.3. Integration: Visio can integrate with other Microsoft Office tools, such as Excel and PowerPoint, making it easier to import data and graphics into your diagrams.4. Collaboration: Visio allows for real-time collaboration, so you can work with others on the same diagram at the same time, which can be particularly useful for teams working remotely.

Cons

These are limitations of the software:Cost: Visio is a paid software, and the cost can be a barrier for smaller businesses or individuals.Limited platform support: Visio is only available for Windows operating systems, so Mac and Linux users may need to find alternative software or use a virtual machine to run Visio.Learning curve: While Visio is user-friendly, there is still a learning curve for those who are not familiar with the software. It can take some time to understand all the features and tools available.File compatibility: Visio files may not be compatible with other software or platforms, which can be a problem if you need to share your diagrams with others who do not have Visio.Limited online features: Visio does not have a robust online collaboration or sharing features, which can be a disadvantage if you need to work with others in different locations.

Marat
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2021

Visio review

I started using Visio before Microsoft purchased it so I have quite big experience with this great application. I'm still using it a lot to visualize text information into graphics almost every day.

Pros

In my opinion the Visio is the industry standard and definitely the best tool to build different kinds of drawings (graphs, diagrams, charts, etc). It has many built-in shapes and templates (stencils), lots of options to connect to wide range of data sources. The Visio diagrams are easy to understand for both technical and non-technical audiences.

Cons

Microsoft Visio is not part of Microsoft Office Suite anymore (it must be purchased separately). The Visio license is quite expensive. Microsoft Visio is not available for Apple Mac and Linux platforms. Web (online) version of Visio would be great alternative to standalone application (since it must be cheaper).

Alternatives Considered

Lucidchart

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Visio is more flexible and easy to use.
Mandeep
Mandeep
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2018

Microsoft Visio is the best software for your diagram design and documentation of organization...

I have been using this software as a part of my daily job requirements and I can say this is the best software one can get to work on various types of diagrams to suit to your business and organizational requirements.

Pros

Microsoft Visio is the best software for serving the purpose of diagrams designs. It's capabilities to provide the best diagram templates for data flow diagrams, floor plans, building plans are among the best features.
I have been using this software for preparing DFD's and flowcharts as part of my regular job requirements and I can say this is best software for such accomplishments since it offer varities of templates that I can just pick and go for doing my job with ease.
According to me what makes this software stand out is its ability to pick the data from the MS Excess and MS Access which makes it best piece of software for working on diagram requirements in an organization.

Cons

Though it is very easy to use for those who have a little bit of experience using the Visio, however if you are starting with the software the you may find it little bit difficult to understand and get going so I would recommend anyone who is planning to use the software to spend some time with the software and get used to it and then you will find it easier and very useful and effective to accomplish your requirements.

Mohammad
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 23/12/2022

One The best Diagram Tools out there.

I have been using this software for more than 5 years and the best thing about it is part of the Microsoft family the workflow of the Microsoft product is almost similar and I am pretty much ok with that and it doesn't affect the work I do with good software for my company.

Pros

I Like Visio's adaptability! It differs from other software because of its capacity to efficiently organize, visualize, and layout complicated projects. With its many templates and shapes, I can enrich my presentation with specific drawings or papers while using underlying data points comparable to excel to properly map out our project goals - repeatedly demonstrating why this is such a crucial tool in today's business portfolio! By dividing difficult tasks into simpler ones and providing a range of comprehension levels for these graphics, this makes planning more approachable.

Cons

Since purchasing Visio, Microsoft has made some really annoying adjustments. Instead of being easily adjustable by default, features like automated snap-to-route and object are significantly slower and heavier than it ever was. Additionally, instead of obeying the rules you specify, the connectors try to guess what you want, which makes workflow far more laborious than it has to be.

Traci
Traci
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/12/2021

Easy and simple diagram

It gives my presentations with diagrams and graphs a unique appearance and helps me understand the processes when they are more complicated since I can elaborate them by threads or by parts. Its templates are versatile so when I draw it is easy and I can communicate with my colleagues by messaging from this tool. I can save everything in the cloud.

Pros

A variety of diagrams can be drawn with this software including flow charts, organization charts, construction and floor plans, data diagrams among many. Automatically generate org charts from data sources such as Excel, Exchange, or Azure Active Directory. Simple or complicated diagrams can be made quickly and easily. It has a stencil gallery to determine the items in a room for example. It allows you to preview bone to see what the fonts and diagrams will be like before running it with the option to modify it by another tool.

Cons

you need to understand the program well to use it well. It is paid and its license is expensive ranging from $ 290 to $ 580. Their service to users is poor. It is not compatible with other operating systems only Microsoft. Their updates are not periodic since they take up to 3 years to make an improvement. It can throw errors during its installation and takes up a lot of hard disk space.

Amit
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/5/2020

Excellent tool for mockups and workflow

Microsoft Visio is one of the best application for designing of wireframes, mockups, workflow etc. You can find various alternatives over the web but when we talk of performance on desktop system, Visio will come at first place. My overall experience is good and its really wonderful. I am able to express myself in terms of designing wireframes successfully through this.

Pros

Microsoft VISIO is awesome application. I am using it since 2008 and have used various versions of it. Visio is wonderful desktop application which runs smoothly. It consists of many inbuilt tools andd diagram shape which helps you in creating awesome documents such as 1) Mockups 2) wireframes 3) Flowchart 4) Workflow design 5)creating network topology diagram 6) Process documentation etc.

Its drag & drop feature elements, grouping/un-grouping feature is awesome. Micorosoft office related shortcut commands work perfectly.

Cons

The problem with microsoft applications that these are costly. Visio is similarly costly product and its lighter version not available for cheaper prices. Product feature wise i can say that its is weaker on mockup design for Android and iPhone mobile apps wireframes, microsoft should add such stencils also in this application so that people continue to use it.

3,130 reviews