Microsoft Visual Studio Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft Visual Studio

Visual Studio is an application development solution that helps businesses create web, mobile, Mac and Windows-based applications and games. It allows developers to streamline processes related to debugging, testing, and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Microsoft Visual Studio Reviews

2,936 of 2,936 reviews
Sort by:
Abdul Wahab
Abdul Wahab
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/1/2021

The best Integrated Development Environment (IDE)

I enjoyed software development like a game throughout my experience of using Visual Studio for development of .Net applications for local and cloud environments.

Pros

It is the most featured Integrated Development Environment (IDE) with bulk of features. It is best choice for .Net developers for building powerful applications for local and cloud environments. Its functionality can also be further extended using plugins. It is also good for mobile application development. Its intellisense is the best among all.

Cons

It is heavy to operate. It occupies huge part of my disk space. It hangs sometime during operations. Lack of support to opensource languages.

Robert
Robert
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 8/8/2019

Visual Studio Great for All Developers

It allows me to fix errors and rebuild so that I can complete projects. It is easy to use so that I can focus purely on projects. I have experienced the following benefits: 1. Increased UI enhancement through Razor Pages, and Web Applications, 2. Comes standard with Bootstrap 3 and can be increased to 4. 3. Several languages and frameworks are added when updates occur. Note: user must download update via tools within visual studio.

Pros

Visual studio allows me to create dynamic web applications and websites for my clients and projects. It allows for database creation, code development and UI development. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to develop websites and web applications.

Cons

Slow Boot up time, slow build times, memory hog, increased CPU use. Recommended: Core i7 CPU processor or greater with at least 8GB RAM or higher.

Alternatives Considered

IntelliJ IDEA

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

Visual Studio is Microsoft based and is the easiest to use with C#, HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, ASP.NET, MVC and other front-end and web application based projects.
Moses F
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/5/2024

Best Coding Software Ever

My overall experience with Microsoft Visual Studio is amazing, awesome, and mind blowing.

Pros

The prompt out of codes when a user is writing a code. It makes work easier.

Cons

I haven't yet come across anything about this software that i don't like.

Top Microsoft Visual Studio Alternatives

Jamie
Jamie
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 3/6/2021

Visual Studio - a necessary evil in MS-land

I have had a love/hate relationship with Visual Studio for nearly 25 years. I've used it since it first came out as "Visual InterDev" back in the late 90s. Over the years I've learned that anything that Visual Studio automates for you will likely come back to haunt you. Couple that with the Visual Studio development team's inability to properly support legacy projects and it's a recipe for heartbreak, frustration, and thousands of lost work hours.

Now that I use JetBrains Rider for the majority of my .NET coding, I see that most of my suffering over the years was unnecessary.

Pros

For developing Microsoft-based software, Visual Studio is sometimes the only tool that really gets the job done. It can, on occasion and in very specific development scenarios, be very helpful and intuitive to use. In recent years, its performance and usability in those narrow scenarios has improved significantly.

Cons

Visual Studio is an outright pig when it comes to performance and memory handling. It is unreliable as an application, crashing often and typically freezing up several times during a development session. This can often be due to the fact that you aren't doing things in the "Microsoft way" but that way is usually not realistic when it comes to getting actual projects done.

Vaishali
Vaishali
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/2/2024

Coding Brilliance

my overall experience with Microsoft Visual Studio has been highly positive. Its comprehensive toolset, intuitive interface, and robust debugging capabilities have greatly facilitated my development workflow. While occasional resource consumption issues and update interruptions may occur, they are outweighed by the overall efficiency and effectiveness of the IDE.

Pros

Microsoft Visual Studio stands out for its comprehensive toolset, intuitive interface, and wide language support. Its powerful debugging capabilities and seamless integration with the Microsoft ecosystem make it a favorite among developers. With a vibrant community and extensive support resources, Visual Studio is the go-to choice for efficient and effective software development.

Cons

Microsoft Visual Studio can be resource-intensive, consuming significant memory and CPU, particularly when handling large projects.

Muhammad Abid
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/4/2024

Review of Microsoft visual studio

Pros

What I always loved about Visual Studio is it had an IDE for so many different languages and projects like Win32, WPF, Xamarin, Unity, Cordoba plus so much more in one product.
In my opinion, Visual Studio is the best coding software ever due to it's ease of use, and it is affordable to everyone.

Cons

It can be sometimes unresponsive or crash, and font rendering could be better. But I guess these are both problems that come with it being an Electron-based app.
Beginners will definitely be intimidated by how hard learning everything is.

Luis
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/4/2024

C# The easy way to program

It's not perfect by I like to program with Visual Studio.

Pros

It´s simple to use. Everything is accessible. The syntax suggestion is always available.

Cons

The setup generator could be better but it works

Edgar
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 8/4/2024

Great tool for programmer

Visual Studio is designed with a user-friendly interface that makes it easy for developers to navigate, organize, and manage their projects. The IDE's layout and customization options enable developers to tailor their workspace to suit their workflow preferences.

Pros

Visual Studio supports multiple programming languages, including C#, C++, Visual Basic .NET, F#, JavaScript, Python, and more. This versatility allows developers to work on a wide range of projects using their preferred languages.

Cons

Sometime i may find that it consumes significant system resources, leading to slower performance or longer load times.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2024

Microsoft Visual Studio is the best powerfull code editor

with the lightweight editor, it makes development team work easier, and a wide range of programming languages is provided.

Pros

the version we use is 64-bit natively which means more performance, and fewer out-of-memory exceptions. AI feature makes every character more on point. debugging feature that no need to stop to be able to see the change in the application we write.

Cons

Can be overwhelming for beginners, and can be slow on large projects especially when using large extensions.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/4/2024

MY EXCELLENT REVEIW OF MICROSOFT VISUAL STUDIO

Pros

I love its versatility, you can code free of charge from anywhere and the software is user-friendly as even a beginner can navigate through it easily.

Cons

i liked everything about the software and will recommend it.

Rodrigo
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/10/2021

It was great, now I just think it's enough

We use it daily to maintain systems in windows, web, uwp and apps. But the tools make easy tasks difficult. For example, you have a Xamarin that never really looks finished, with a third-rate xaml design, uwp that seems to repeatedly disconnect the IDE so that you need to recompile the project to make simple changes, and a total abandonment of Visual Basic. Microsoft doesn't seem to understand that if you like the productivity of VB you will NEVER WANT the complexity of C#. VS seems to be moving in the direction of being harder rather than easier. VS is it good? YES. VS is it productive? No more. Solve the task? YES. Do you have fun with him? Not here.

Pros

In an environment that becomes familiar with use, you have access to several built-in functions, plus a bunch of solutions (some paid or third-party) that deliver advanced design, development, source code protection, and publishing capabilities. Microsoft's initiative to maintain the community version is very good.

Cons

With each new version the tool becomes more complex, rather than cleaner. The developer expects little cognitive overhead, expects to be able to hide repetitive boiler plate tasks when they don't need to be seen, expects it to be easy to internationalize the application. There are more and more features that the smaller company will never use, such as live share, the translation of uwp apps is VERY confusing, the windows forms design is terrible and doesn't fit right to HIDPI. Lots and lots of things you don't care about and things that you really miss never come. It's a contradiction to create AI helpers that copy your code to "make it easy", while you want it to be an easy-to-use tool that displays complexity ONLY if you need to.

Alternatives Considered

IntelliJ IDEA

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

Honestly it was chosen mainly because there were legacy applications to maintain and convert to new platforms. Also due to UWP, for which there are no other tools. But in parallel we use JetBrains tools, as they are easier for some tasks. If XOJO were cheaper, it would have become our main development tool. Do not misunderstand me. Do I like Visual Studio? YES. Do I like the way the project has progressed over the last decade? SURELY NOT. Everything you get used to and like about Microsoft seems to be murdered by themselves in the next lap of the race. There seems to be paranoia around C# and F# and XAML (F# people also complain about abandonment), and an absolute meaninglessness in the future of these technologies: everything gets more and more complicated, more and more confused, you struggle to learn and evolve and when it starts to make money the technology is "mature" and is abandoned. Then Visual Studio once an essential productivity tool, today it's another useful tool that you like and dislike.
Cengiz Barkın
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/12/2022

Outstanding Software Development Platform

Overall, Microsoft Visual Studio is an excellent software development platform that offers a wide variety of features and customization options. It is an ideal choice for both novice and experienced developers alike.

Pros

Microsoft Visual Studio is an incredibly powerful and feature-rich software development platform. It has a highly intuitive user interface, an extensive library of code snippets, and a wide array of debugging options that make it an ideal choice for both novice and experienced developers.

Cons

Microsoft Visual Studio can be a bit overwhelming for new users, as there are a lot of features and customization options. Additionally, it can be a bit slow when running on older machines.

Dvock
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/6/2023

A Versatile and Powerful IDE for Efficient Software Development

Overall, Microsoft Visual Studio is a powerful and feature-rich IDE for its comprehensive toolset, ease of use, and robust integration capabilities. I recommend it as the best choice for software development projects.I give high regards to the software for its robustness, versatility, and the comprehensive development environment it offers. However, individual experiences may vary depending on specific needs, preferences, and the complexity of the projects being worked on.For me as a user, through its comprehensive set of tools and features, it has guided me in providing a seamless development experience for building my applications especially the web applications.

Pros

I like Microsoft Visual Studio since it stands out due to its extensive range of desired features that cater to different development needs. Its user-friendly interface and intuitive design make it easy to use and navigate. Furthermore, its seamless integration with external apps and services enhances productivity and simplifies various aspects of the development process.

Cons

With numerous features and settings available, it can take time for users to explore and understand all the functionalities. Additionally, occasional performance issues or delays in startup time, especially when working with large projects or solutions, can impact the overall ease of use and user experience.Lastly, the level of integration and support for specific tools or services may vary, and developers may need to spend extra time configuring and troubleshooting integrations with certain external tools.

Lenon
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2020

Program practically alone!

In our organization the use of VS Code is essential, we have developed several codes and scripts, it has countless plugins that enable incredible use and unusual use of the tool!

Pros

We program in different languages with the software, plugins facilitate this. It is light, simple, intuitive and for our use it is a hand on the wheel, because we adapt easily, it is incredible!

Cons

We found nothing wrong with the software, it was easily adapted to our routine, and it works above expectations!

Alternatives Considered

Sublime Text

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Visual Studio

We exchanged the VS code for free, and it fits our demands for using GitHub better!

Switched From

Sublime Text

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

Because it is free and the whole team has adapted to its use and found it simpler and better to use compared to another tool!
Samridh
Samridh
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 1/2/2019

12 years of Visual Studio and Still love it

A powerful tool from Microsoft. It's foothold on the code development market is strong and will probably stay strong for a very long time. There are lot of forums and discussion sites dedicated to Visual Studio so learning VS means you have access to lots of resources. People have built their career on this tool so I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Pros

I have been using Microsoft visual Studio for past 10 years plus and it just keeps getting better. It is one of the most advanced product from Microsoft and it is very well known throughout the Engineering industry,

- Code writing and storage
I use it on a daily basis for development of code in C, C++ and C#. The IDE is extremely strong and full of useful libraries. It has lot of features that aids in the proper design and development of the code.
- Code comparison
One thing that is really powerful about Visual studio is that you can extend the software capability to many other areas. Using Team foundation Server (TFS) from visual studio one can store code and perform revision control with different change-sets. It is a very strong tool to also compare codes between different change-sets or with the directory on the desktop.
- Allowing Extensions
Microsoft Visual studio allows third party extension which makes this already powerful tool even more powerful by being able to expand the platform.
- Replication with Application
With the powerful IDE platform, debugging is like a piece of cake. Development of Graphical user Interface (GUI) can also be done through studio and release it as applications that can be installed in many computers.

Cons

I don't see many cons of Visual Studio except,
- Price
It is a powerful tool so of course getting multiple licenses will be pricey.
- Error codes
it could do a lot better in analyzing the source code and explaining what the error is. The error are pretty vague and one would need some learning curve to understand what is wrong
- High load on the system
Visual studio is big, massive and will require some powerful machine in order to not feel like the computer is lagging. Usually I shut off all my applications if I am working on VS.

Radoslav
Radoslav
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/4/2019

Visual Studio Review

I have been mostly using this program for student purposes. I study Computer Technologies and I needed a software where to code my programs and one lecturer show me VS when I was for the second year, and since then I do not want to use another program for developing software. I just enjoy the work with VS - it brings me happiness and comfort when I work with it.
I pretty recommend it, because it is worth program, it has free versions, which are perfect for juniors, and it is very powerful though, also it is with very pretty and intuitive design and the programs makes you feel comfortable when working with it.

Pros

1. It is very easy to install.
2. It supports a variety of programming languages you can use in your projects - from desktop Applications, to Web Applications, C based programes and much more.
3. I like how tabs and panels are organized - everything is grouped and you can easily find what you want.
4. There is an entire search engine, which searches all the functionalities of Visual Studio, in case you cannot find something.
5. It works pretty well, even on slow performance PC's.
6. You can build very powerful projects with this program.
7. There are different versions - for the purposes of students, of junior developers, through small bussiness and for the big bussiness.
8. Very Good intellisense.
9. In every latest version of VS, you write fewer code - it becomes easier to do it - just with some combinations, or snippets, or embeded hints.
10. Very pleasurable to write and read code in the editor.
11. You can even capture the resources your program uses.
12. There is a debugger, which is very cool and good working.
13. There is a dark mode - even you can download different themes, which can protect your eyes when working for long hours with the program - they almost reduce the white spaces, and make the colors look greater, with better contrast and with care for your eyes.

Cons

For my purposes I haven't experience any difficulties or problems with the program, in order to have any negative oppinion for the program.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2019

The Gold Standard for IDEs

Started using visual studio because it was the only IDE a particular vendor had support for. Quickly tried to find more excuses to use it. The intellisense, code-folding and beautification defaults are much better and work much more consistently than any other IDE we've used. We use quite a number of different IDEs, but VS intellisense has been one of if not the biggest productivity enhancement we've had from a single feature. It's amazing how much better done intellisense is in VS than most other products.

It particularly makes a big difference for people who do not have extensive backgrounds writing on particular projects, because it saves a lot of documentation lookups if the design is done well and api documentation is included (we require this to maximize benefits here). More than from a utility perspective, vs intellisense is so responsive it's FUN... which we think accounts for more benefits (again esp for people who are less familiar w/a codebase, cause it shortens the learning curve).

Visual studio is also very good at staying up-to-date with latest apis and techniques. Obviously you probably want to be a user of microsoft's API stack in some way (.net), but you can code in most major languages with it.

The primary drawback is that it does not presently play well with linux OS. There are some efforts to improve this-most noticeably visual studio community. Community is cross platform but not full ide (and doesn't use same VS intellisense).

Pros

Intellisense is off-the-charts fast. So quick, it can make coding feel like a video game.
The most-widely-integrated IDE- plugins for everything.
Compatibility between express and full visual studio makes it easy for full-fledged developers to work on same project/product with entry devs, interns, and even open-source.

Cons

While they have made some improvements here (w/regard to visual studio community edition), the full visual studio IDE doesn't run on linux (at least not without VM, wine or jumping through a lot of hoops).

Luis Daniel
Luis Daniel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 24/12/2019

The Standard for Windows programming

I basically use Visual Studio daily. I have no complaints other than I wish they had more customizability like it's little brother Visual Studio Code is getting and with time, Visual Studio Code just does what it's big brother does better. But yet, nothing can replace Visual Studio in my work flow and that won't be changing in the next years to come.

Pros

You can almost use/code in any language on the IDE, if you're missing features, you could look for extensions/plug-ings that add them, like DevExtreme or ReSharper. I mostly code in C# and the Community version for me works fine, but the Enterprise and Professional tiers are also really good. The IDE has been more open in the recent years and that has allowed for more straight updates than rather waiting for service releases or new year branded releases. You can code websites, mobile apps, desktop apps, console apps, service apps, anything related to Azure can be done in VS and yeah, you can easily debug and now in the latest versions, you can live-share a project and have a coworker assist you or work with you on the same project and both debug it. You can also use the live-share feature for teaching someone how to code.

Cons

Sometimes, extensions can be a little buggy. Azure Services, I would recommend a stable connection because it can get laggy. If you're going to use SQL Server in Visual Studio, you're better off downloading Azure Data Studio, because it is more versatile, strong, quicker and responsive than the options Visual Studio provides you. The community can cover you anything you need, but if you're looking for huge enterprise projects, you might want to invest on the paid options, but they can be expensive.

Maaz
Maaz
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/7/2021

Microsoft Visual Studio

I have been using Microsoft Visual Studio from the beginning of my Software Engineering studies. It is the best programming software I have used. Also its huge online community is very useful to ask for help when solving a problem faced in Visual Studio.

Pros

Microsoft Visual Studio is the best option for working on writing, testing and developing a program or application. It is capable of carrying out complex and heavy programming. It fully supports all prominent programming languages like Java, Javascript, C, C++, Python etc. Ms Visual Studio assigns different colors to different blocks of code which makes it easy to keep track of your progress and find a specific block. Its code debugger is extremely efficient and instantly identify the error in the code. Apart from built-in tools and features, it has a plethora of plug-ins and libraries available online to serve the specific needs of a user. Also navigating it to look for files is very easy in it due to its folder and file structure. The biggest plus point that it offers especially for the students is its Community Edition version which offers almost all the vital features of MS Visual Studio and that too for free of cost. Also its user interface is very pleasant and feels good on eyes. In short it serves the need of every programmer from novice to expert.

Cons

Its not easy to thaink of or find any mentioning worth lackings in such a sophisticated softwarr like this, but to mention one, it is a heavy program desiged to carryout complex programming, it consumes a lot of processing power and RAM memory of a computer which is a bit annoying for students using it of their personal computers.

Guillermo
Guillermo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/2/2022

The good and the bad of Microsoft Visual Studio

Code maintenance, development of business applications, activities such as updating systems of the same company. As our company has its development department, we are based on .NET so we use this program, usually the projects we work with are developed in C#

Pros

I like that its installation is simple, unlike other development environments, Microsoft Visual Studio, it's just a matter of a few clicks and that's it, nothing else needs to be configured. Direct integration with GitHub is very useful for team projects, without the need to download extensions, the tool is already integrated, we just have to log in to our GitHub account and we can use it. Another thing that I liked is that it comes with an integrated database engine such as SQL Server, we may have to download add-ons from the installation package, but they are details. Its good graphical interface, customization, choosing the language of the interface, make it very pleasant. Connectivity with Azure seemed interesting to me for managing projects, storing information, creating, managing and deploying applications in the cloud. Speaking of development, I use it a lot to program in the C# language, personally I like the way it orders the code, the prediction of words, such as when creating functions, methods. It has many development tools, for example, when creating a graphical interface for an application I have a whole toolbox, with which I can add the elements one by one. It is somewhat simpler than other programs I have used. I can expand this toolbox, which I like, as it gives me more features. If I have complaints about this program, they are very few, but I will detail them later. It does have to improve some small things, but it fulfills its purpose very well.

Cons

I have had problems that the program stays in: "not responding". In many cases it closes by itself, I have a computer with good hardware characteristics, so I am surprised that this happens to me. The same thing happens to my development group. Another detail to keep in mind is that when compiling it usually takes longer than normal, and it even stops for a while, but then it responds without a problem, I think it could need optimization due to its large memory consumption, I have used Intellij IDEA which is a very good software for Java development, and it is very agile, very responsive, consumes resources considerably, I hope that Visual Studio reaches that point. These are inconveniences that have happened to me, as well as to other colleagues. For the rest I have no complaints. I clarify that I use it in Windows 10, to be more specific with my review.

Taddes
Taddes
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

The best most customizable development environment!

My favorite development environment

Pros

VS code is the gold standard of IDEs and development environments. Aside from being a terrific text editor with features and third-party libraries like syntax highlighting, there is a big community of developers who offer modifications to make your workflow easy. It has in-build GitHub source control, ease of changing from one language interpreter to another, numerous linters and debuggers, fully functional terminal and endless plugins like live servers, deployment pipelines, etc.

VS code can basically do anything and furthermore be customized to do even more. It allows you to write code efficiently, effectively and reliably and synchronize with all your other development tools.

Cons

Very little, though configurations for cross-language features like indentation from one language to another can seem unintuitive. There are occasional times updates and features can be dropped from one update to another, but the features are frequently addressed and bugs quickly resolved.

Alternatives Considered

Sublime Text

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

More flexibility and features
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 3/10/2019

I use Visual Studio to teach programming to beginners

I have been using Visual Studio for close to 10 years. It is the best IDE for working with Microsoft languages. It is also very robust and beyond educational environment, I have also used it in a professional setting as a software engineer. In my opinion this program is well suited for both use cases (education and workplace).

While there are some significant issues with the Mac version, overall just making the IDE cross-platform is a wonderful improvement because it allows my mac students to use it outside lab sessions.

Overall I am happy with this product and will continue using it in the future.

Pros

I am currently using VS 2019 as an instructional tool at a university to teach programming to beginners. These are the pros:

* Cross platform versions for PC and Mac users

* Many compiled languages to choose from (I use C#); I feel compiled language is easier to learn because of the immediate feedback that you see in the UI

* Having many features within one IDE is good for beginners as students can gradually move from console apps to more advanced programs as they acquire more skills, but without having to learn a new IDE

Cons

During instructional lab sessions I have encountered a few issues, primarily with the Mac version of Visual Studio, and the following are the most significant cons so far:

* From a beginner perspective the installation process can be challenging because there are many options to choose from (some of the students worked through these independently through trial and error).

* The Mac version of VS2019 does not have live wrap -- this is a very basic feature and should be added

* For some console solutions when opened from a zip file and executed on a Mac, VS executes the code by default in a custom command line window (not in mac terminal). User cannot type in this window which prevents console input. To resolve this issue students created a new solution and copy pasted the code into the new solution.

Anjali
Anjali
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/5/2018

I have been working with VS from past 8years and i enjoy playing with this software&its...

Pros

I have used this software from version VS 2010 to up to date VS2017. Its very handy to work with. It offers a lot of features and functionalities that are really easy to understand. It offers a lot of integrations whether it is Resharper or any coverage tool or your website azure deployment.
For me learning azure deployment was way too easy as it is just a matter of 2-3steps alone.
There are easy steps to find some matching texts that too can be filtered with the type of file you want to search in. The solution explorer offers simple shortcuts to rename a file or just move a file from one location to another.
The find and replace functionality that too can be customized whether you want to match case or not.
The software's integration with Nunit code coverage helped me a lot in gaining confidence in the quality of my tests as while coding I can see the coverage of the lines. The tortoise git integration is something that is really helpful. You can easily see your commit history and differences. I personally like this software very much. Try it.
It has a lot to discover.

Cons

The only problem that I see is the heaviness of the software as sometimes it hangs my system and you need to have at least 16gb ram to work greatly with this software. VS2017 is the latest I have worked on and although it has great features but it is a very heavy software and with heavy extensions it become slow.

Surender
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/5/2019

Best development tool for implementing web, desktop and mobile applications

I highly recommend Microsoft Visual studio to everyone who wants to develop application for web desktop and mobiles plateform.

My overall experience is superb with this and highly satisfying the company needs.

It can be used in large and small scales enterprises.

Pros

Here is a list of reasons why we adopt Microsoft Visual Studio for development:

1. It supports more than 60 programming languages.

2. Team foundation server feature is awesome where we can deploy our changes on server very easily and can rollback the same with ease.

3. Dock able features of script tabs and windows make it easy to handle various windows at same time.

4. It provides script bundling and it is just easy process.

5. Visual Studio provide inbuilt sample code templates and by using them we can same development time up to large extent.

6. We can integarte third party tools with ease.

7. Intelligence window is one prominent feature.

8. Intermediate language debugging is very good feature.

9. We can edit images or icons with inbulit editor and no need to go for other third party editing tools.

10. Last not the least is that its a quality unit testing features.

Cons

I never noticed any cons till now but below are some suggestions if Microsoft can add:

1. Team foundation branching is quite complex.

2. Software is quite taking high CPU memory and takes 3-5 minutes during initial loading and its too bulky and taking near about 3 GB space in c drive.

3. Licence fee is quite high because its a brand product but it is okay if we are dealing with quality software which is highly reliable in current competetion.

Isheanesu
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/2/2022

Very simple Microsoft Visual Studio coding environment review

Microsoft Visual Studio is a very powerful software, and majority of the organisations, schools, students, everyone who wants to venture into coding need to learn to keep up with this age. It has been simple and most effective.
As a programmer, Microsoft Visual Studio has become an essential when i think of doing any coding work. It has given me the best experience and I have been using it since I was a beginner and it just keeps on getting better with the years. I don't think I would recommend any other software program to anyone other than this one.

Pros

Microsoft Visual Studio is an excellent coding environment software program. It is very easy to use and user friendly. It is easy to manipulate and navigate with clear station of features and buttons. You can never get lost looking for the create new projects or forms. it gives thoroughly detailed options for your choice in forms, especially when choosing between backend coding (it gives the console form) and frontend coding (it gives window forms). The design of the the software program and its option to choose between three types of themes to work in comes as a bonus for a user, I especially like the night / dark theme. Microsoft Visual Studio is a no brainer for me as a programmer because it is flexible when it comes to using different languages like VB, C#, xamarin, sql, html, javascript etc. It accommodates all and thus the first go to coding environment for me, even when i was a beginner up to now a frequent user. You can never go wrong with Microsoft Visual Studio, you'll definitely love it. I would suggest purchasing the software and beginning your positive coding experience today.

Cons

As all technology, there are a few drawbacks, I think microsoft visual studio should have a feature for adding gifs and videos to the windows form when designing an application. It would be easier to create applications with more visual and interacting with such a feature.

2,936 reviews