User Reviews Overview

About Kaseya VSA

Kaseya VSA is a cloud-based IT management and remote monitoring solution for businesses of all sizes across various industries. It provides a central console for managing IT operations including handling complaints, ticketing,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
3.6

Browse Kaseya VSA Reviews

194 of 194 reviews
Sort by:
Josemaria
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/1/2019

Best tool for Sysads!

Super happy to have this tool. It makes life funu for our IT office which makes them even more proactive than traditional reactive. :)

Pros

Best feature... remote access to end-points! This allowed our small helpdesk team us to monitor and manage hundreds of end points (mostly desktops) all over different sites. No need to physically go to the office to install a patch or troubleshoot.

Also, it was very useful for our hardware and software inventory. The reports are easy to generate and use especially for budget decisions.

We get to monitor also unauthorised software, and sometimes, with the consent of the respective pc users, we get to monitor their pc activity in real-time.

Plus! It supports all our devices (mac to pc and even linux, iOS and android).

Cons

Functionality wise, I have no complaints. However, in terms of UX, it looks a little dated. Perhaps the interface navigation can be improved.

Charles
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

Kaseya VSA - Not just for MSPs

Kaseya VSA has helped me overcome hurdles with outdated software, missing updates, and deployment of new software. I used Kaseya to locate which devices are using old version of Office and using Windows version XP, 7 and and 8 and 8.1. This has helped me in the process of updating all of our devices to the newest Office and Windows 10.

Pros

Kaseya VSA is not only for MSPs, but for anyone who needs help managing their assets in the office and in the field. I'm the IT Security Manager with all the hats in the IT world at a large confectionery broker. I manage over 250+ devices on my own, with the help of Kaseya VSA. I could not do my day-to-day job without Kaseya VSA.

Cons

I'm not a fan of the app as the functionality seems to be spotty. Right-clicking the client app sometimes brings up a menu, and sometimes it only offers a simple selection of "Refresh". This is my only gripe in the 3 years I've been using this product.

Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 7/4/2021

The most buggy and useless pile of nonsense code in existence.

BUGGY, enough to drive anyone crazy. Take the tree structure drill down... They're actually drill UP, in that if you click ANYTHING, every "+" in the tree expands. If there are 300 customers in the tree, you've got to scroll like mad for an hour through everything you didn't want expanded, just to re-find what you WANTED expanded. Tons of applets in the program simply don't do work at all. The "Discovery" app, which should identify all devices on a given network actually can't identify anything that doesn't already have the Kaseya management agent on it, making deployment a totally manual process. The network monitor doesn't provide any meaningful information, just sends you thousands of emails telling you it failed.

Pros

Not one single "feature" is at all likeable.

Cons

Mostly it doesn't work, that is to say, it doesn't do what it's supposed to. When you ask support how to get a part of the app to function correctly, they just tell you "it's a known issue, we're working on it" The product has been out for over ten years, but they're working on it. One you pay them, say goodbye to that money, and they will never fix it. Why should they, you already paid them, so they have zero incentive.

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise Control

Reasons for Switching to Kaseya VSA

Forced to use it as part of the franchise.

Top Kaseya VSA Alternatives

SolarWinds Service Desk

ConnectWise PSA

Meir
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/4/2018

A full-featured product that could use better support and documentation

Remote Monitoring and Management of user PCs.

Pros

This software is very full-featured and allows quite a bit of granular control and automation. It continues to improve and has a nice amount of features that are included.

Cons

Features that would be nice to have in the base version must be purchased as additional plug-ins so that one feels somewhat "nickeled and dimed" every time you want to expand your feature-set.
The cost is on the higher end for a remote management product which could be justifiable if the support were better. I have found that it is a mixed bag of tricks in terms of how quickly you get a response and every time my ticket is addressed it is outsourced to someone for whom English is a 2nd or 3rd tongue. I don't have a problem with the outsourcing aspect but I often find there is more than a bit of a communication gap and it can be frustrating spending a solid chunk of time trying to get my point across due a language barrier. If this were a very low-cost product this would be more understandable but it is not.
There is also a very solid learning curve in terms of understanding all of the features. They offer a Kaseya University option to address that (which I am currently involved with) but it requires a subscription that keeps having to be renewed or you lose access. As the content is static, it would be much better to have a pay once and access forever -certainly for the same version.

Michael
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/6/2016

4 out of 5 - Customer Support needs improvement

Kaseya is the most powerful Remote Monitoring and Management (RMM) software available on the market. It's easier to use than its competitors and it has the most robust Agent Procedure and scripting engine.

Pros

Automation
Ease of use
Fully Featured
Great integration

Cons

Customer support is terrible.
Purchasing new agent licenses is a pain in the butt. you have to contact a rep, they have to build a quote, you approve the quote, they send the request to tech to generate your licenses. now you have to pay them 3 time or 4 time a month for multiple agreements.

They should have a shopping cart, that auto-generates the licenses, or better yet, an unlimited pay for what you use model.

Joe
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2017

Great software for our IT department. Increased productivity by 100%

Helps my IT staff with their day to day work making them more productive

Pros

Easy to use and very reliable. Love the remote access tools to keep track of all the systems in the office. Weather it be patch management, cloud backup. deploying software or just remote desktop support Kaseya has it all! If my user base is in or out of the office at a client site, Kaseya is there to help manage their computers with just a click!

Cons

Kaseya support is sometimes slow to respond and resolve tickets at times. I'm not sure if its a language barrier, or maybe I am just not explaining the issues clearly it usually takes a few attempts over a couple of days to get a resolution to an issue,

Frank
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/7/2018

The Rolls Royce of RMM tools for MSPs. Not perfect, but better than its competitors.

Significant reduction in operational costs and increase in our ability to deliver value.

Pros

The feature set is huge and its automation capabilities are excellent. Support is generally good and their techs are knowledgeable more often than not. The company behind the product is one of its greatest strengths - no product is perfect, but it's easy to work with Kaseya and they go out of their way to make things right.

Cons

It can be finicky. We have several thousand agents on it and the database needs frequent pampering. Their support engages and helps willingly and quickly, but I feel this should be handled by the application or some support automation.

Daniel
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Effective systems management on a budget

Remote access, patch management, software/hardware auditing, asset management, VSA does everything we need it to!

Pros

Kaseya VSA offers functionality similar to SMS/SCCM or LanDesk at a fraction of the cost. In addition, it includes options for additional endpoint protection management.

Cons

I was not able to get the VSA front-end working on our shared IIS server, I ended up creating a separate VM for VSA which is pretty trivial but it's one more host to manage. I probably should have just contacted Kaseya Support for assistance, but since I had licenses and VM host overhead available, the most expedient solution was just to create a new VM just for VSA.

Erik
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Best package for the money

As a managed services provider, we thrive on all the diferent combinations of services that is easy created with Kaseya VSA.

Pros

No tool suits all needs but Kaseya VSA is pretty darn close. The sheer amount of functionality and integration makes it very easy to use as foundation for tons of easy to sell services. The user role system can be customized for many levels of security and the API-access is complete.

Cons

Apart from the basics, the learning curve is pretty steep and the GUI is in need of an innovative overhaul. The servicedesk-module had hugh potential, but was unfortunalty discontinued and left a big hole in the suite.

Char
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/8/2022

Manage all devices everywhere easily

We are now able to use all our tools under one umbrella; VSA, BMS and IT Glue seamlessly interact with each other making this a great asset to keeping everything fast and organized.

Pros

The automated workflow rules allow for easy ticket management. We are able to manage all devices/endpoints on one app.

Cons

Getting from an agent to Live Connect is a big laggy in time to connect.

Al
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/11/2016

Best RMM tool on the market. Period.

As an MSP (Managed Service Provider) in the highly competitive IT services market, our tool set is the backbone that enables the service delivery model that differentiates us from the competition. Because these tools are the skeleton of our business, we test all of them on a 3-year rotation to make sure we're using a best-of-breed solution that will make our services faster, more effective, more efficient and produce higher reliability and better outcomes for our clients.

Last year we evaluated our BDR (Backup and Disaster Recovery) and RMM (Remote Monitoring and Management) platforms with that backdrop. We included all of the major players (for RMM that was Kaseya, Labtech, N-able, Maxx, etc.) and a few free/near-free 2nd and 3rd tier players, and again Kaseya was the hands-down best-of-breed winner.

That's not to say it didn't have some short comings. It's a piece of software so yes, there are some bugs but none of them are heart stopping or business-critical, and we're an IT company! - we can get them resolved very quickly. And the bugs are no more or less than the issues we found in the competition - so on net it was wash against the competition.

But the overall scope and quality of the product, the depth of functionality, the myriad vendors that it integrates with, and the support team that we found responsive (slightly better then the competition) gave them a nod over the competition. Add to that the lightweight agent, integrated, lightening fast remote desktop access and HUGE user community where you can find a script for anything you need put them head and shoulders above the rest.

Everyone can find something they will love in Kaseya.

Pros

Robust features, lightening fast remote desktop access and huge user community producing thousands of scripts to cure every/any problem or request you may have. Full access to SQL database in included.

Cons

Slightly above average support response times and longer lead times for enhancements. Their SaaS version is slower than some of the competitors (altho the on prem is blazingly fast).

Rick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/7/2019

Longtime user

Pros

We have used Kaseya for quite a long time. Over the last decade, we have tried to change to other providers when we felt issues were mounting, but never felt like we could find a better option. After a number of years of fighting through a variety of issues, we have seen the product settle down for us. We did recently deploy MSPassist with our VSA and hope that it helps add a lot of functionality we were missing with straight VSA. The pros for me center around the agent and scripting. These are much stronger than others we've used in the past. They have modules for other add-ins like Webroot, Veeam, etc. These are nice, but they sometimes are inconsistent. They have made some acquistions recently with IT Glue, Rapidfire tools and IDagent that are exciting with regards to possible integrations into the base VSA.

Cons

My main issues with Kaseya deal with support. We have had many times where it was difficult to get an issue addressed if we didn't "light a fire" or raise the devil with account managers. This even extended to professional services and some problems completing scope items. Also, reporting could be better with product. I generally craft my reports in other applications with information from VSA.

Matthew
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/7/2019

A Review from a user and an administrator of the Kaseya VSA

Overall I (and our business) have a very positive experience with the Kaseya VSA in our day to day operations. The VSA allows us to centrally manage all of our customer remote operations including Endpoint Security, Backup of differing technologies, Patching, monitoring and remote access. The VSA also allows us to provide many of these same benefits to our customers which we support, enabling them to have a similar positive experience when needing to access their own systems.

Pros

I am most impressed by the functionality and ease of use of the Kaseya VSA for everyday operations, from the perspective of a managed services provider. Supporting our customers in a way that allows quick resolution of their issues is a driving force behind our software purchasing mandate, and the Kaseya VSA allows for this without being cumbersome to use.

Cons

My primary issue with the Kaseya VSA is around the licensing model. We run an on-premise VSA, but would prefer to have the flexibility of a monthly subscription service around our licensing as this is how our customers consume services in the cloud driven era we live in.

Geoff
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 1/2/2019

POS Support Made Easy

We selected Kaseya because our retail locations run 'Peer-to-Peer' (IE no Active Directory). We found most of Kaseya's competitors required AD joined machines.
We were also looking for a solution that provided inventory, scripting, and remote access (RDP) to end-points. Kaseya has all of those in one package.

Pros

Pros: very reliable, any outages have been either due to general system maintenance or patching. Makes for a very effective and information rich support environment.

Cons

Patching: tried switching from Patch Management to Software Management, but found Software Management lacking in essential features such as ability to spec and set 'file source'. Also Software Management seemed to find relentless issues (excuses), all over the map, different in almost all cases, not to install patches. We have reverted to Patch Management.
Scripting: Kaseya is 32-bit. Most of our clients are 64-bit Windows 10. 64-bit registry is essentially out-of-reach for Kaseya scripting. The '64-bit' procedures provided simply do not work.

Prosper
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 10/5/2019

Combionation VSA and Vorex

We use AzureAD. Only AzureAD. This means we don't have a legacy Active Directory. As we don't have legacy Active Directory, we don't have group policies. We do have Intune but Intune is not yet mature. We needed to find a way to control our pc's. We started with VSA at first. We do want to move over to full Intune and we did move some management tasks over to Intune. Still we do use VSA to have a quick overview of our pc's. Also VSA feeds our Ticket and Assets system Vorex.

Pros

We do have a good and fast overview of all our pc's. We can see where a laptop is logged in and who was the last person who was logged in.

Cons

Pushing policies and scripts cannot be don at startup of logon. Wen you reinstall a pc a pc is duplicated in VSA. This costs double on licenses and gives a distorted overview. Deduplicating must be done by hand.
It would be nice to have a serialnumber check or something.

Mike
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/4/2018

Long term user, very happy with progress of the product

Flexibility, control and strong management capabilities.

Pros

Policy Management has been a big change to the way settings are enforced and monitored. Ease of use with KRC and LiveConnect Extensions has given our level 1 techs faster resolution times. The product has come a long way with integrations and the new Webroot integration is the easiest deployment of AV I've ever seen from Kaseya. Warranty Master is also a very useful integration.

Cons

There is a massive learning curve for my developers understanding some of the procedure development methods. It's very powerful but sometimes counter-intuitive for people with a background in common languages. Some settings that you would think would be under a certain module are hidden in other locations, but that's understandable given the development changes.

Bernard
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Long Time user

Kaseya user for over 10 years, and only now looking to change, that should give you an idea

Pros

Kaseya has been pretty much consistent since day one

Cons

No local support, VSA not managing blackout windows and causing Windows 10 update issues with clients. Would like to use Webroot module but not as good as company dash board. Have been totally disappointed to have t wait over 4 months to get patching sorted, no amount of calls could fix the issue that made us look so incompetent to our customers. With so many opposition suppliers on our door, there is not much time left to get it sorted before we start looking to change after over 10 years with Kaseya.

Herman
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/7/2019

NetCad Group feedback

We cannot work without the software. It changed the way we do business.

Pros

We can do 90% of all support service remotely.

Cons

You need to pay extra for good new modules

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks and SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to Kaseya VSA

Due Long-term relationship
Lynn
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/6/2018

Managed Service Provider Review

Nice to have the automation so I don't have to higher staff to due work that can be automated and repeated consistently.

Pros

It is a extremely flexible product, which allows you to make your own end point management tools, but you can also buy the scripts too. Lots of bolt-ons, so you can add as you grow your MSP.

Cons

Needs a bit of work on the remote control tool as it has limited tools on the remote control screen, but then you have to open another management tool for advanced functions. I would also like to see the permission cleaned up as you have to login to see what restricted users can see...not labeled well

Samuel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/2/2019

Agent

I feel that Kaseya VSA is an great tool, however the agent required to install on customer's end still required much education in convincing them to open firewall port.

Pros

Ability to manage customer's assets including end user computing and servers including VM. Unable to generate reporting for customers for their information as well as strategy business planning for hardware refresh. The reports helps the customers for their auditing as well.

Cons

Agent which required to be installed on customers end, due to security unwilling to open firewall port.

Bradley
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 9/10/2018

A professional VSA you can depend on

We have relied upon Kaseya VSA to be the bedrock of our managed services offering for 7 years. It is dependable and provides a diverse toolkit for our engineers and vCIOs.

Pros

We rarely have problems with the software. It just runs. We are constantly asking it to do more and it always performs. We depend on it to service our clients and rarely if ever lets us down.

Cons

Promised updates and features usually take longer than promised to make it to us. Not an uncommon issue with other major software developers but they get us excited about a new release and then we wait...

Rajendra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/4/2018

Excellent tool to automate regular system admin activities

The feature set is good and it is stable overall. It has been very good at alerting, monitoring and backups.

Pros

Patch Management, Remote Monitoring and Scripting
LiveConnect, plug-ins, Automation Exchange.
Automation Ease of use Fully Featured Great integration
The feature set is good and it is stable overall. It has been very good at alerting, monitoring and backups.

Cons

terrible customer service, NO Support, slow, lousy features for the price

Constantly have to uninstall live connect and reinstall. Seems the only way to maintain good connections.

Bianca
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 21/2/2018

Power management tool

I have been using this since 2013, there still a lot I need to learn, this program gives you a lot of opportunities if configured properly. You can have hosted or on premises either way it will cust you some change, you license per administrator and per agents.

Pros

This is a very powerful tool, you can set scripts, updates, manage networks and set alerts and policies for one interface.

Cons

It can be very complicated to set up, support is good but not over the top, there are a lack of reporting tools compared to what you can automate.

Richard
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/4/2018

I moved to Kaseya VSA from N-Able's N-Central product. VSA definitely has more features.

VSA is allowing me to scale my client base at a far greater rate than I could without the platform. Automating tasks & automating the monitoring of infrastructure saves me lots of time.

Pros

I have found that VSA is so feature rich that you can do basically everything you need from an MSP standpoint. I have appreciated the prompt support when it was required & have found that VSA will really scale quite well. Kaseya gave me 2 free 1.5 hour long sessions with a VSA expert to remotely assist with the initial configuration & to go over all the features.

Cons

Sort of a positive negative comment, VSA is such a vast product that the initial setup process is quite a mission. Probably one of the more negative things is the lack of a quality iPhone/Android application to assist with monitoring alerts.

Ruston
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

The perfect management tool for our company

Pros

Computer asset tracking, fast remote control, scheduled scans and tasks, patch management and bundled anti-virus all in one place.

Cons

I'd like to see information on deleted agents and better tracking of certain changes made to agent PCs and Macs, specifically more than a month's worth of logs.

194 reviews