Cisco Jabber Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Cisco Jabber

Cisco Jabber is a unified communication software solution designed to facilitate the collaboration and communication needs of any business. With Jabber, users are able to utilize video and voice conferencing, messaging, and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Cisco Jabber Reviews

1,321 of 1,321 reviews
Sort by:
Benjamin
Benjamin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/7/2019

Excellent business-level communications

As far as chat/messaging utilities goes, you really can't beat this one since it easily integrates with many other cisco software products making for a seamless experience when working with others and communicating with clients.

Pros

It has most of the basic functions to allow easy communication and sharing of documents in an office environment. It also organizes any files making them easy to locate later when needed.

Cons

The history it stores for communications is a bit limited at times especially when you realize you need to go back to review a conversation only to find it was just outside the time limit it saves.

David
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 6/5/2022

Where did Jabber go?

When we used Cisco Jabber, it satisfied our business needs with ease 7 years ago, but with licensing moving to the cloud, it makes the overall solution expansive without giving much value back

Pros

Cisco Jabber brought great chat and video capability to the PBX platform with little difficulty to deploy it into the environment

Cons

With everything moving to the cloud, WebEx software is taking over the software adding unnecessary bloatware into the simple environment

Alternatives Considered

BroadVoice Cloud PBX and Zultys MX System

Reasons for Choosing Cisco Jabber

It came with our E5 licensing which is a cost savings

Switched From

Microsoft Teams

Reasons for Switching to Cisco Jabber

Since we were a Cisco shop with firewalls and switches, it was a great cost and easy deployment at the time
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 20/6/2020

Improvement needed

It does its job - transferring information in a very quick and convenient way. It's easy to find users and reach out to them via chat and/or phone, and also allows for file sharing. However, I would highly recommend changing the interface to something more modern/aesthetically pleasing, and instigating an update that hinders the application from crashing as often as it does.

Pros

Jabber is quite straightforward to use, it's nice having all of the chats lined up in the sidebar so it's easily navigable from person to person. It also has the option of erasing chats if the program is exited out, which is of course a benefit from a proprietary standpoint (less so if you need to reference something that was said, of course). Not a lot of bells and whistles, so starting up the program is quite fast in the mornings, which I can appreciate. Since it's through Cisco, it also easily allows you to call people's work phones through the system.

Cons

While the user interface is straightforward, it also seems incredibly archaic and dull. During start-up it doesn't pull up the main "chat" screen, and instead pulls up a type of "home" screen where you can access your settings/any voicemails, but to actually chat a person (which I feel is the main purpose of this program), you need to search their name in a search bar > click on their name/chat icon > and it pulls everything up into its own separate window, which I find to be a bit of a waste of time. Additionally, when trying to share screenshots (by dragging into the chat box) the screenshots take up the FULL width of the screen, so I have to deal with scrolling back and forth to disseminate all of the information. It also does not allow me to drag + drop (or copy-paste) a received screenshot anywhere else. I have to first download the image onto my desktop. Again, seems like an unnecessary amount of steps.

My biggest gripe, however, is that Jabber has the tendency to completely freeze and crash on a pretty daily basis. This has resulted in chats getting lost in the void, or being unable to go back and reference information that was sent mere minutes ago.

Top Cisco Jabber Alternatives

ICE Click-to-Chat

BroadVoice Cloud PBX

Cisco AnyConnect

Tony
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/4/2022

Useful and easy to use

Jabber has allowed our engineering team to stay in close contact during the pandemic so we can discuss solutions to problems and plan accordingly. In addition, our help desk started using it during the pandemic to discuss problems with the engineers, and request assistance or pass on a particularly difficult issue. We found jabber useful before the pandemic, and during it truly proved it’s worth.

Pros

Jabber is simple for end users to use, yet robust enough for IT professionals to use as well. I like the ability to personalize my offline notice. It is easy to have jabber set up on a mobile device as well as your computer, and both seem to work equally well. The ability to private message is very useful, and the fact that Jabber saves the conversations is very handy as well.

Cons

Sometimes messages sent on mobile do not show up on the computer. It is still saved on the mobile device, but it occasionally causes confusion.

Alternatives Considered

Discord

Reasons for Choosing Cisco Jabber

More options, easier to use in our environment

Switched From

Slack

Reasons for Switching to Cisco Jabber

Jabber was easier for our end users to use. It seamlessly joined with our active directory to allow our users to have access.
Timmy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/3/2021

A handy, referential client that provides IM support for Webex Meetings

Manage the client while many technical workers and executives within our organization message on it (both to me and without me, to one another). Group chats are easy to convert into video calls, fully-fledged Webex conferences, or both depending on the needs of they conversation.

Pros

I love that IMs during Webex meetings made and/or hosted through Jabber will be saved, securely, forever. There are often times where a good point is made during a meeting and it's up to the secretary to remember the point, its context, and then send it out again. Jabber allows us to make and store these observations in real-time.

Cons

1-on-1 messages between users are stored locally on the disk. This can lead to problems with security if users are unaware their storage is local and their workspace security is compromised. Larger, group messages are encrypted and stored safely on the cloud, though.

Reynaldo
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/2/2023

Good to use Cisco Jabber for Meetings, internal chat and conferences.

reduced time between users to ask for some information and have meetings from each desk.

Pros

Is easy to use, users didn't have a lot of training to learn how to use it, they find some features by themselves. Also we have it synchronized with Webex for external meetings.

Cons

The implementation it was complicated, they help us a lot with the server installation and synchronization with phones, but after that, we saw there are many features, a little confuse.

Alternatives Considered

Skype

Reasons for Switching to Cisco Jabber

We have more than 5 years with Cisco Jabber, in that time we use a demo of Sametime but got a lot of issues, skype was an option too, but we decided for an internal chat, skype have the option for users to chat with external people.
Rico
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2023

No "Jabs" taken at Jabber

I am overall satisfied with Jabber as it allows our organization to work from home/remotely without interruption to our daily business operations. This is a vital component when considering the global transition adoption to remote work as a result of the 2020 pandemic.

Pros

I love the convenience and ease of use with Cisco Jabber. It has all of the features and feel of having a desk phone wherever the app is installed.

Cons

As with any product using VoIP, user experience can vary based on internet connection and speeds.

Alternatives Considered

Dialpad

Reasons for Switching to Cisco Jabber

Price, convenience, and the trusted Cisco name.
Heather
Heather
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/7/2019

Jabber

I use Cisco Jabber constantly throughout the day, daily. It is a great tool to communicate with co-workers when you may not be available by phone. It is very user-friendly. I found it easy to add contacts, as well as set up different groups within my contacts. One of the features I really enjoy is that you can open previous one-on-one conversations and look back at what was said.

Pros

Easy to use
Saves one-on-one conversations
Easy to do group chats

Cons

It does not save group conversations after the conversation window has been closed.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 30/6/2021

Overall its useable

Overall its a ok software to use

Pros

Easy to chat with team members and communication

Cons

Chat history takes longer to load and GUI is pretty bland.

Ravikumar
Ravikumar
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/2/2023

Jabber Review

Very Good and simple to use.

Pros

I like the video streaming quality and audio quality. Really very good

Cons

I think cost is the factor and ofcouse if you have a better negotiation then it can be sorted

shiva
shiva
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/3/2023

Cisco Jabber: Your All-In-One Communication and Collaboration Solution

Communication and collaboration: Cisco Jabber can help solve communication and collaboration challenges by providing an all-in-one platform for messaging, voice, video, and file sharing, allowing teams to communicate and collaborate more efficiently and effectively.Remote work: With the rise of remote work, Cisco Jabber can help solve the challenge of keeping remote teams connected by providing a platform for virtual meetings, messaging, and collaboration.Streamlined workflows: By integrating with other business tools and platforms, Cisco Jabber can help streamline workflows and make it easier for teams to work together and share information.Improved productivity: With features like video conferencing, screen sharing, and mobile access, Cisco Jabber can help teams be more productive and efficient, allowing them to get more done in less time.Enhanced security: Cisco Jabber includes various security features, such as end-to-end encryption, secure messaging, and password protection, to ensure the privacy and security of user data.Overall, the above benefits of Cisco Jabber can help businesses improve communication and collaboration, increase productivity, streamline workflows, and enhance the user experience.

Pros

Video conferencing: Cisco Jabber's video conferencing feature is highly impactful as it allows for face-to-face communication and collaboration, even when users are in different locations.Screen sharing: Screen sharing is another impactful feature of Cisco Jabber, allowing users to share their screen with others during meetings or presentations, making it easier to collaborate and work together.Real-time chat: Real-time chat is a quick and convenient way for users to communicate with each other in real-time, making it easier to exchange information and ideas.Mobile access: Mobile access to Cisco Jabber is impactful as it allows users to stay connected and productive while on-the-go, providing flexibility and convenience.Regarding the ease of use of Cisco Jabber, many users find the platform intuitive and easy to navigate. The user interface is user-friendly and allows users to quickly adapt to the platform and perform their tasks efficiently.As for integration with existing business tools, Cisco Jabber integrates with a wide range of platforms and tools, including Microsoft Office and Google Workspace, making it easy for users to access and collaborate on their existing files and documents. This integration feature can improve efficiency and streamline workflows for businesses and organizations.

Cons

Call quality: Some users have reported issues with call quality on Cisco Jabber, with complaints about dropped calls, poor sound quality, and delays.File sharing: While Cisco Jabber has a file-sharing feature, some users have suggested that it could be improved to make it easier to share files and collaborate on documents.Virtual backgrounds: Some users have requested the addition of virtual background features during video calls, which is a popular feature in other video conferencing tools.Regarding the difficulty of use, some users have reported that it can take some time to learn how to use all of the features and functions of Cisco Jabber, especially for users who are not familiar with other Cisco products.As for integration with existing business processes, some users have reported difficulties in integrating Cisco Jabber with their existing business tools and platforms. However, Cisco Jabber is designed to integrate seamlessly with other Cisco products and many other third-party platforms, so it should be possible to overcome integration challenges with the right support and expertise.

Pawan
Pawan
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 22/2/2019

Could use a few good updates

Pros

I like the Meet Now and screen sharing capabilities. I like being able to set my personalized status and being able to get a hold of colleagues across my company instantly.

Cons

1. I don't like the fact that it does not automatically back up chats. I've lost a LOT of important information when Jabber shut down for one reason or another. It would be great to select which chat threads you want to save. That way, you can mark the chats to save as soon as you start them and the application would save them automatically in the event of a planned/unplanned shutdown.
2. I don't like the fact that sometimes documents can be dragged-and-dropped to send them to colleagues and sometimes it just doesn't work. So the chain of communication is broken when the documents have to now be sent via email.
3. A recent update causes the main Jabber window to automatically appear. It's pretty annoying.
4. Even though the telephony system is integrated, it seems that users cannot call others using that feature. Users should be able to dial any number using a keypad. An older product made by a competitor allowed users to do that.
5. It has a screen capture feature that allows users to send screenshots via chat, but if they try to copy that image (say, to send it to another person), there is no way to do that.

I hope future upgrades take this into account, or at least provide a way for users to get instructions on how to go about doing these things (noting, for example, if those features are controlled by the admins).

Jeff
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/5/2018

Overall an adequate chat app with features that tie to Cisco phones and Outlook.

I recommend this software if you utilize Outlook, WebEx, and Cisco phones.
It has a lot of features that allow you to manage communication to Contacts all from in Jabber.

Pros

The tie ins with Outlook, WebEx, and Cisco phones work very well.

Popup notifications for meetings and call notifications are clear.

Interaction Options selectable from within the individual contact screens are robust. This is most noticeable when you are connected to Outlook, WebEx, and Cisco phones. You can pretty much do anything to conduct or initiate a meeting from in the Contact window.

Automatic status changes when it detects your on the phone, in a meeting, etc works very well.

Cons

Lets start with if you don't use Outlook, WebEx, and Cisco phones you will not be able to leverage many features. In this case, you may want to consider other options.

I have some small complaints such as:
Inability to make the popups "on top" of any windows when triggered. When you don't already have Jabber chat open the only indicator is the icon on the taskbar is lit.

As a deployment: An upgrade of the client is not a simple install-over of the latest client. It requires (thus far) an uninstall of the prior, then install of the current. This forces planning and user notification due to the possible interruption. As mentioned, this ties directly into Cisco phones. User can be hung up on as the client uninstalls and reinstalls if they had a call during this time.

Jody
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 22/1/2022

Must have reliable internet!

When jabber is working well it is a great platform and I recommend it. When the Internet is not working well and the calls are frequently dropped it is unreliable and difficult to work with.

Pros

You can easily access the application from either a work issued iPhone or from your personal device. This allows access even went on the go. The ability to share protected health information knowing that it is secure is also an added benefit.

Cons

Unfortunately the Internet is not working well calls or Jeff dropped frequently. I am unsure whether this is a problem with Jabber or with the Internet connection. The reliability overall is low and often times we must use our personal cell phones to connect with other healthcare workers when jabber is not working well.

Rohit
Rohit
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/8/2018

For personal instant messaging WhatsApp is there but when it comes to Professio there is...

Instant messaging with coworker, desktop sharing, sending screen shot.

Pros

1. Small, simple and easy interface for instantly messaging in one in the work hour.
2. Desktop sharing is another cool feature i use it when get stuck somewhere and needed advice of senior.
3. One of the most interesting feature of Jabber that few people knows is Alert when available it;s not like you can not message a person when he is not online you do but sometime you just want to message them in real time then this feature work as charm and you get notified when that person become online.
4.Easy to create group and message them as a whole this feature comes in handy when there is birthday of any coworker and you would like to notify your friends that there is special kind of arrangement in pantry at once but yes you can do that personally as well.
5.Password protected.

Cons

1. Older messages get automatically deleted I think at least till now I have not found a way to restore them back but yes I think there would be the solution.
2. I would loved it if they had this feature alert when offline that is quite similar to alert when available.
By this way I can track someone's.
3. Interface is easy at the same time boring.

Sanchita
Sanchita
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

Cisco Jabber - A Professional way of communication

Cisco jabber is helping us to manage communication with in the complete office. It's really a great professional instant message application that help to get connecting colleagues in the instant way.

Pros

Cisco jabber is an instant messaging application that provide the professional environment for communication with in a network . Integrity of Cisco jabber with Outlook & IP is really amazing and provide the real time update with it that other person is busy or on call or in meeting. Group chat is possible where a host can join it with a simple approval or setting the auto-approval. Screen share & Desktop control is also possible with Cisco Jabber. Their is a limited and some professional emojis also which help in expressing the feeling for our words.

Cons

The least thing I like in it is that we can not share the images in group chat. Chat history is also very important in professional world can Cisco Jabber should work hard to fix the bug of deleting the history and images that share on the chat, I will loving if they come up with an option of archive chat so we don't delete or loss our important chat. Their are some annoying default setting that company should fix it by default.

Vandana
Vandana
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/4/2019

Cisco Jabber a great collaboration tool

Integration of Cisco Jabber with Microsoft Office is great and helps in to fetch the meeting details from Outlook calendar. The Android Auto integration is great. The Multi-line allow the user to receive and call over multiple line with complete details of line being used.

Pros

Cisco Jabber is a great collaboration tool. User interface for instant messaging and desktop screen sharing enhance the user experience with its enrich features and functionality like popup notification for instant messages. Newly added emoji in Cisco Jabber 12.0 looks more interesting that add expression to your words. We can manage the group in our contact list. The group chat auto join is a great feature that helps to join the group in case you are not available to accept the group request. Jabber bots can launch the chats and calls.

Cons

We are using the Cisco Jabber from past four years. The search panel for chat is a missing feature and needs to be added. Cisco Jabber should also work on encrypted backup and archiving chat options. It also needs the features to hide the images under chat and should enable the image share on group chat. Groups should also come with history feature.

Kelvin
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/6/2021

Easy-to-use call and instant messaging application

Very good overall. The must-have application for remote working. Much more easier to use than other work messaging applications. And a huge plus for integrating chat functionality to the app. Highly recommended for anyone that works in the office or works remotely. Especially helpful for freelancers or frequently travellers that need to contact colleagues or anyone out of the house.

Pros

Cisco Jabber is very easy to use. It has various useful functions for work communications. It has call functions that reduces the need for a physical phone, so it is convenient for me to call anyone on the go using my work number without carrying an extra phone. Quality calls even for conferencing. It also has instant messaging which allows me to chat with colleagues easily without calling them, espcially when during meetings where I could not talk on the phone. You could paste any photos onto the chat easily, so it's quicker than sending attachments via email. It allows you to customise your status, so people would know if you are online (free to talk) or busy or away from your laptop.

Cons

Not a lot that I dislike about Cisco Jabber. But would love to have Jabber on mobile phone via app for easier remote working or on-the-go instant messanging!

Bheesam
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

it is awesome, easy to chat, group chat, screen/desktop sharing features are awesome.

i have been using this for more then 3 year and it makes my work like scheduling meeting , chatting with teammates singly or in group very easy. i do not need to look for my notebook or anywhere to find the phone number and email id to contac the person and it can be easily seen in jabber.

Pros

we can see the profile i.e online/offline status, phone number, mails id . Screen/desktop sharing feature is quite easy and consumes less bandwidth as compare to other software like slack.
'Send mail' option is really time saving . User can Customize status according to his need.scheduling meeting and easy integration with outlook are impressive feature, in one click we can see the meetings detail from jabber, can schedule a new meeting .

Cons

i don't see any option like slack where we can use any other app with in the jabber just like we do in slack.
on my personal PC i found that history get deleted automatically after few days, there should be option to retrieve the history which got deleted previously automatically.
Emoticons are less in Jabber as compared to slack

Anna
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/3/2021

Jabber

I use Jabber every day at work to communicate with my coworkers. It is especially useful now that I am working remote every day and cannot communicate with them in person, however, jabber has always been a useful tool even pre-covid.

Pros

It is very intuitive and easy to use. The ability to send screenshots is a definite plus (and I like the emojis).

Cons

There are many times that I would like to share my screen in a group chat, and Cisco Jabber does not allow you to send screenshots/images in a chat with more than one person.

Aki
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/6/2021

Jabber is the old WebEx

It was ok during 2016 but not ok now. The overall experience was fundamental, not really something wow. Jabber has done its job and we should give the credit. However, in 2021, with its features, I don't think it will survive and outlast the competition.

Pros

Jabber is pretty nice during its time. I first use Jabber on 2016 where it was considered a serious competitor for Lotus Notes Sametime. It's very basic, features are fundamentals. You can send a real time chat, you can know if a person is online, you can share small files. There was also Jabber voice which is an extension of the chat, it works ok, but found to be wanting.

Cons

Real-time messaging platforms evolved and Jabber did not, or at least I think its the end of product life for Jabber. Cisco has replaced it with WebEx Teams during that time, which now rebranded to WebEx. The chat feature is a lot more advanced and richer than Jabber. The voice has also evolved which made WebEx Teams a serious consideration of upgrade compared to Jabber.

Yeni
Yeni
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/7/2018

Jabber is a must for the corporate environment.

Pros

Jabber enable everyone in my organization to work efficiently as a group ,even without having to be physically present in the office environment. I love how Jabber effectively combines audio messages ,instant messages ,web conference and video conference into one powerful client on my desktop and smartphone.
I love the smartphone app.(Android), it has been a reliable way to stay connected with my team while on the move. Allowing me to join conference calls or dial personal numbers right from my smartphone.
It integrates well with Cisco video phone and we recently imtegrated it with Webex,making it easier to launch webex meetings.By integrating with my phone ,I am able to manage my missed calls ,and listen to messages dropped by callers on my voicemail.

Cons

Inability to search my conversation history is a personal grudge I have got with Jabber . Am also wondering why anytime I leave a group ,all of my conversations on the group gets removed.

Lakin
Lakin
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/4/2019

I wish my company still used Jabber

I switched over to Cisco Jabber months after the rest of my team switched over to Cisco IP Communicator because I had already used IP Communicator and didn't like it. By using Cisco Jabber, I was able to provide more consistent and efficient support to my customers as I did not have to circumvent technical issues.

Pros

I have used both Cisco IP Communicator and Cisco Jabber. I found Cisco Jabber to be much more user friendly and I encountered very few technical issues when using Cisco Jabber. I continued to use it until my company forced me to switch over to Cisco IP Communicator. I also really love the address book feature that Jabber has, as I would use the address book to quickly call the repair centers my company is partnered with.

Cons

Cisco IP Communicator frequently has issues where the phone will restart continuously to the point where you cannot log in. There will also be issues where it registers someone else as being logged into your extension even though they are not, which also makes it to where you cannot log in. I never encountered these issues with Cisco Jabber, so I do not have many qualms with Cisco Jabber. The only recommendation I can make is that it would be nice if Jabber had a more compact version, as this is one of the few pieces of functionality I like about IP Communicator.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/7/2022

Decent but not the best

We used Jabber for internal collaboration (primarily for chat communication and occasional screen sharing). It does the job for the most part and is easily able to collaborate and communicate with the team members. While it does the job for the most part, we had our share of problems before moving to Teams

Pros

The messaging piece of Jabber is simple and easy to use and seamlessly integrates with the single sign-on. The user interface is decent and the application comes with a strong feature set. File sharing, backing up of the messages, group chat, and personalized status are some of the useful features that help in day-to-day collaboration.

Cons

The experience was not so great and it is even more evident after we started using Teams (and ultimately replaced Jabber). Occasional logging out (going offline), heavy memory consumption, and dropped messages are not uncommon. The call quality is poor and unreliable at times.

Jamie Anne
Jamie Anne
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/2/2019

Powerful tool in the workplace

Overall, I love Jabber's simplicity. Work itself is tedious and it is relaxing to use a tool that is pleasant to the eyes while allowing everyone to connect and get the job done. It is indeed a Unified Communicator.

Pros

I used Cisco Jabber for over 3 years. I worked in a large call center and it was very essential for each agent as it helps us communicate even without going to someone's desk. Call centers are busy and customers could not afford to have unnecessary background noises. I like Jabber because the instant messages, calls and video conferencing are secured. I also love that we were able to create group chats and actually name them and we were allowed to share files, attachments or screenshots. Another plus point is it's MS Outlook Integration. The user interface is also friendly and simple.

Cons

I think Cisco Jabber can improve on its Mobile Application. There were times when it lagged that I had to re-install.

1,321 reviews