Kaseya VSA Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Kaseya VSA

Kaseya VSA is a cloud-based IT management and remote monitoring solution for businesses of all sizes across various industries. It provides a central console for managing IT operations including handling complaints, ticketing,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
3.6

Browse Kaseya VSA Reviews

199 of 199 reviews
Sort by:
RJ
RJ
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/1/2019

Great Product

I have been using Kaseya VSA for about 10 years now. It has transformed my business. I travel less and less to clients sites and do most if not all work remotely for them. Their customer support is top notch and they work hard to help you. Their billing department could be improved, but they're working on it. They have Kaseya Connect every year in Las Vegas. I wish they would hold it somewhere other than casinos and strip clubs.

Kaseya is a must for your business. They can scale with you as you grow your business too.

Pros

Kaseya is awesome in the automation department. I am able to set scripts in place and have them run in the middle of the night. No more staying up after hours pushing out patches and fixes. I can set the patch management to scan for new updates, then push them out on a schedule that I determine.

Cons

The product works great on Windows machines, but updating a Mac can be tricky. I would like to see them move into the Android field more too. There are more and more Android devices coming into the work sphere that having an option to remotely fix androids would be great.

Charles
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/7/2019

Kaseya VSA - Not just for MSPs

Kaseya VSA has helped me overcome hurdles with outdated software, missing updates, and deployment of new software. I used Kaseya to locate which devices are using old version of Office and using Windows version XP, 7 and and 8 and 8.1. This has helped me in the process of updating all of our devices to the newest Office and Windows 10.

Pros

Kaseya VSA is not only for MSPs, but for anyone who needs help managing their assets in the office and in the field. I'm the IT Security Manager with all the hats in the IT world at a large confectionery broker. I manage over 250+ devices on my own, with the help of Kaseya VSA. I could not do my day-to-day job without Kaseya VSA.

Cons

I'm not a fan of the app as the functionality seems to be spotty. Right-clicking the client app sometimes brings up a menu, and sometimes it only offers a simple selection of "Refresh". This is my only gripe in the 3 years I've been using this product.

Alexander
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 10/5/2019

A powerful engine marred by lazy, ongoing GUI problems

We took on Kaseya largely for remote control of clients and Windows/Office patching. We quickly made use of its Agent Procedures and reports modules and then continued on, slowly integrating module after module.

Pros

Many powerful modules:
- I would not even consider Windows patching without Kaseya: it is granular, easy to use, pretty complete
- Agent Procedures and Policies allow enormous customization in what you can do - practically any script you can think of can potentially be run through here
- LiveConnect is smooth and fast and provides a wealth of tools
- Reports, Alerts, and Audit modules are clear (once understood) and provide tremendous detail and customization

Cons

Persistent, unfixed, obvious GUI issues spanning years and years after being reported:
- screens not refreshing;
- inconsistent filtering;
- misleading word choices in scheduling boxes;
- selecting multiple is a chore;
- "View" is powerful to *use* but clumsy and unwieldy to *manage/administer*

The way installation packages are created is terrible. If you have more than about a dozen OUs, you will see what I mean: you must create a new install package for each OU. We have 90. EVERY ONE OF THEM must be updated every time there is a new Kaseya client release (about four times a year). There should be one package that asks the user its OU based on a database that IT sets up.

Kaseya Anti-Virus and Kaseya Anti-Malware (which we used to use) frought with problems, in accurately reporting what was out there & in reliably installing or uininstalling packages. KAM in particular was so broken it caused us to dump the entire thing and switch to Webroot (though the Webroot integration module is a bad joke: it looks like an alpha product, nowhere near beta).

Patch rollback is difficult and usually impossible (though this may not be Kaseya's fault).

Top Kaseya VSA Alternatives

Network Performance Monitor

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Meir
Meir
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/4/2018

A full-featured product that could use better support and documentation

Remote Monitoring and Management of user PCs.

Pros

This software is very full-featured and allows quite a bit of granular control and automation. It continues to improve and has a nice amount of features that are included.

Cons

Features that would be nice to have in the base version must be purchased as additional plug-ins so that one feels somewhat "nickeled and dimed" every time you want to expand your feature-set.
The cost is on the higher end for a remote management product which could be justifiable if the support were better. I have found that it is a mixed bag of tricks in terms of how quickly you get a response and every time my ticket is addressed it is outsourced to someone for whom English is a 2nd or 3rd tongue. I don't have a problem with the outsourcing aspect but I often find there is more than a bit of a communication gap and it can be frustrating spending a solid chunk of time trying to get my point across due a language barrier. If this were a very low-cost product this would be more understandable but it is not.
There is also a very solid learning curve in terms of understanding all of the features. They offer a Kaseya University option to address that (which I am currently involved with) but it requires a subscription that keeps having to be renewed or you lose access. As the content is static, it would be much better to have a pay once and access forever -certainly for the same version.

Joe
Joe
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2017

Great software for our IT department. Increased productivity by 100%

Helps my IT staff with their day to day work making them more productive

Pros

Easy to use and very reliable. Love the remote access tools to keep track of all the systems in the office. Weather it be patch management, cloud backup. deploying software or just remote desktop support Kaseya has it all! If my user base is in or out of the office at a client site, Kaseya is there to help manage their computers with just a click!

Cons

Kaseya support is sometimes slow to respond and resolve tickets at times. I'm not sure if its a language barrier, or maybe I am just not explaining the issues clearly it usually takes a few attempts over a couple of days to get a resolution to an issue,

Eli
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 14/7/2019

A great product Until the Company Was Sold

I have switche3d most of my endpoint management to competing products because I have had much better results. Overall, I am not satisfied with Kaseya VSA.

Pros

Kaseya is a powerful product that allows you to complete a wide variety of endpoint management tasks. Reporting is stronger than in some competing products.

Cons

I was very happy with the product until it was sold a few years ago. Support used to be very good and management was quick to assist with problems that we found. After the company was sold, the quality of support greatly deceased and the product stagnated.

Alternatives Considered

N-central

Reasons for Switching to Kaseya VSA

At the time it was purchased, quality and support was greater than competing products.
Frank
Frank
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/7/2018

The Rolls Royce of RMM tools for MSPs. Not perfect, but better than its competitors.

Significant reduction in operational costs and increase in our ability to deliver value.

Pros

The feature set is huge and its automation capabilities are excellent. Support is generally good and their techs are knowledgeable more often than not. The company behind the product is one of its greatest strengths - no product is perfect, but it's easy to work with Kaseya and they go out of their way to make things right.

Cons

It can be finicky. We have several thousand agents on it and the database needs frequent pampering. Their support engages and helps willingly and quickly, but I feel this should be handled by the application or some support automation.

Erik
Erik
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/4/2018

Best package for the money

As a managed services provider, we thrive on all the diferent combinations of services that is easy created with Kaseya VSA.

Pros

No tool suits all needs but Kaseya VSA is pretty darn close. The sheer amount of functionality and integration makes it very easy to use as foundation for tons of easy to sell services. The user role system can be customized for many levels of security and the API-access is complete.

Cons

Apart from the basics, the learning curve is pretty steep and the GUI is in need of an innovative overhaul. The servicedesk-module had hugh potential, but was unfortunalty discontinued and left a big hole in the suite.

Michael
Michael
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/6/2016

4 out of 5 - Customer Support needs improvement

Kaseya is the most powerful Remote Monitoring and Management (RMM) software available on the market. It's easier to use than its competitors and it has the most robust Agent Procedure and scripting engine.

Pros

Automation
Ease of use
Fully Featured
Great integration

Cons

Customer support is terrible.
Purchasing new agent licenses is a pain in the butt. you have to contact a rep, they have to build a quote, you approve the quote, they send the request to tech to generate your licenses. now you have to pay them 3 time or 4 time a month for multiple agreements.

They should have a shopping cart, that auto-generates the licenses, or better yet, an unlimited pay for what you use model.

Bernard
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/10/2023

Kaseya VSA

Very good. Hard to do our work without anymore.

Pros

Ease of use, versatility, the information available, patching of Windows and third party applications.

Cons

Not very intuitive on where to find information

Aaron
Aaron
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/7/2020

Great Remote Management Software w/ Many Features & a Couple Limitations

The Kaseya tools for managing client endpoints are fantastic. I enjoy how easy it is to install the software on client computers and how quickly it syncs up so that techs can begin remoting onto the endpoint in very short order. Kaseya offers a plethora of tools that can interface with an endpoint without ever having to remote onto a client system as well, which is great for when I don't want to call the client up to get permission to work on their computer. Some of those tools have some minorly annoying limitations, but I'm still willing to give an overall glowing review to this software. We use two different remote management softwares at the company I work for, and I prefer using Kaseya over the other.

Pros

Beyond simply remoting onto client endpoints, I really enjoy the ability to carry out various tasks in the background without having to remote on, including:
* Running CMD and PowerShell commands
* Viewing/editing Registry
* Running pre-built and customizable scripts
* See installed software
* Manage the file system
* Etc.

We use two different remote management clients, and I find Kaseya to be the faster of the two when it comes to deployment and availability after deployment. Sending commands through the background interface is also much faster than our other software.

Cons

Navigating the registry and file system using the background tools is very clunky. There's lots of scrolling involved, and it doesn't cache all of the entries, so if you need to navigate back up to a parent folder, you need to scroll down all over again and wait for items to reload, which can be time-consuming.

Also, in comparison to our other remote management software, it is not as convenient to upload or download items from my computer to the client endpoint using Kaseya. There's nowhere to do so from the remote connection interface.

Rick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/7/2019

Longtime user

Pros

We have used Kaseya for quite a long time. Over the last decade, we have tried to change to other providers when we felt issues were mounting, but never felt like we could find a better option. After a number of years of fighting through a variety of issues, we have seen the product settle down for us. We did recently deploy MSPassist with our VSA and hope that it helps add a lot of functionality we were missing with straight VSA. The pros for me center around the agent and scripting. These are much stronger than others we've used in the past. They have modules for other add-ins like Webroot, Veeam, etc. These are nice, but they sometimes are inconsistent. They have made some acquistions recently with IT Glue, Rapidfire tools and IDagent that are exciting with regards to possible integrations into the base VSA.

Cons

My main issues with Kaseya deal with support. We have had many times where it was difficult to get an issue addressed if we didn't "light a fire" or raise the devil with account managers. This even extended to professional services and some problems completing scope items. Also, reporting could be better with product. I generally craft my reports in other applications with information from VSA.

Ryan
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 6/12/2017

Powerful software, difficult company

If I were to make the decision today, I'd choose a competing RMM. However after investing hundreds of hours into custom scripts and researching and designing monitoring.. switching RMMs is not an easy task. Consider that accordingly when making your decision. Also know that no solution is turn-key out of the box and that to make the most of your RMM, you will need to invest tech time in such R&D and customization.

Pros

Kaseya built out one of the first and still most powerful RMM tools on the market. They have wide-ranging integrations, a very mature scripting language, and a web-based single-pane-of-glass user interface that is simple but effective. Their remote control tool is extremely fast.

Cons

Dealing with Kaseya as a company has been the stuff of nightmares since I first used it in 2008. Despite massive growth, management overhauls, and continued change.. the company has and still seems to feel as though their clients are an afterthought. I got my hopes up a few times with promises of change and was let down. Pricing has always made me feel a bit "nickel and dimed". Acquisitions and integrations have been a bit buggy (KNM... you had so much potential!!) and have been their focus instead of improving the core product.

Hugh
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 31/1/2019

Good Platform for MSP's

I would say our overall experience has been a 3/5, the alerts and information on agent workstations come in handy. The file transfer feature to and from agent systems crashed a few times in our early days when transferring between MacOS and Windows. The chat feature needs improving as although it opens a browser window it doesn't automatically go to the chat which can result in users on agent systems sometime closing window not knowing why it's opened. Would be nice if chat just opened up in a window directly. A mobile app has been promised from sometime now and would be really appreciated. Ease of deployment for windows is great, however it's best to wait a month or two before updating to the latest MacOS release as we've found the Kaseya agent isn't always updated at the time of MacOS new releases. We also love the feature to update the agent icon to our own branding, again this works great on Windows but found icon reverts to stock image on MacOS after a few reboots.

Pros

We have both Windows and Mac admins and the ability to be able to administer from both platforms was a key a factor in our decision to use Kaseya VSA for our MSP business.

Cons

Connecting to an agent desktops can be delayed, we sometimes found we had to close and reopen the live connect app multiple times to connect to a host. This however works a little better when trying to connect directly from a browser.

Gene
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/7/2019

Kaseya Customer

I have been with them for about 10 years and didn't always appreciate the company as a whole. Their current CEO has changed all of that. It doesn't matter your size, they will treat you as if you are a much larger organization.

Pros

The company behind it and the direction they are headed in. The account reps I have had for the past several years have been amazing. You need to get to know as many people as you can at Kaseya and learn to work as a team with them and you will be very happy. Their recent acquisitions will make their products better and they will continue to pull away from the competition.

Cons

It's doesn't seem intuitive at first. You need to invest a little to get things setup properly. All software is like this. They need to do a better job coming out with patches in a timely matter. Go to the conventions and get the certification and it will point you in the right direction. The networking at their conventions is priceless.

Prosper
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 10/5/2019

Combionation VSA and Vorex

We use AzureAD. Only AzureAD. This means we don't have a legacy Active Directory. As we don't have legacy Active Directory, we don't have group policies. We do have Intune but Intune is not yet mature. We needed to find a way to control our pc's. We started with VSA at first. We do want to move over to full Intune and we did move some management tasks over to Intune. Still we do use VSA to have a quick overview of our pc's. Also VSA feeds our Ticket and Assets system Vorex.

Pros

We do have a good and fast overview of all our pc's. We can see where a laptop is logged in and who was the last person who was logged in.

Cons

Pushing policies and scripts cannot be don at startup of logon. Wen you reinstall a pc a pc is duplicated in VSA. This costs double on licenses and gives a distorted overview. Deduplicating must be done by hand.
It would be nice to have a serialnumber check or something.

Rob
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/1/2020

Kaseya VSA - Powerful, but for the faint of heart

Pros

As a Managed Service Provider we were initially attracted to Kaseya for its Windows patch management and Event Log monitoring. The powerful scripting agent has allowed for us to deploy software and patches quickly.

Cons

Over the years they have bolted on several features and while they have polished up the interface quite a bit the navigation is not intuitive and there are times where you might need to go to several places to get the information you need. The remote access tool to endpoints is slow and does not always connect so we ended up using something else that was more efficient. The canned reports need a lot of work before they can presented to a client.

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise PSA
John
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 15/8/2018

License renewal horror story

Pros

Was generally easy to use and met all of our requirements for management.

Cons

The software renewal and support is bad. I have had a ticket out in support for 2 months and was never resolved. The software then expired. They are trying to force me to renew a 1-year term before they will even consider looking at the support ticket again. They refuse to resolve the support ticket and I don't want to commit to a product that I can't be sure will work. I asked for 30 days to turn back on the license to give support a chance to help fix the issue but they refused. I even offered to pay for that month still no resolution. They say that there is a EULA that covers non working as intended software but the catch is that you still have to pay out your contract. (Even if its broken your still paying for it. Seems logical to me.) Its sad they treat their customers like this. The software is good the management team over there is bad.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 26/1/2019

Hopeful for change and more efficient software

Much better than the first experience I had with them. The people are good people and I trust and hope things are going to get better. It takes a while to implement all of the new changes that need to be done to keep up with all of the changes that Microsoft is making to the patching engine alone.

Pros

I like the web based application and the abilities that it currently has. Much better performance that the previous systems we have used. I like having all of the modules in one pane of glass.

Cons

The slow development cycle. Icons reverting back to non-customized images every other upgrade. New modules that are released are not ready for prime time and are lacking in functions that we need as MSPs. There appears to be no partner beta program, which is unfortunate.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/4/2018

Kaseya VSA is made for a company that is 100% Remote

VSA gave us the ability to manage completed remote laptops from a central console. Something as simple as changing the administrator password remotely is priceless to us.

Pros

We are a 100% remote company with strict SOP's and guidelines. We are required to manage laptops that never connect to a domain, no VPN. With the new Software Management Module, we can easily perform all security updates and have a record of these updates in one central location. This new module detects all vulnerabilities (including 3rd party software) and can be as automated as you want it to be.

Cons

Reporting could be better, but that seems to be the case with most software. Reporting what is installed on machines is somewhat difficult.

Herman
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/7/2019

NetCad Group feedback

We cannot work without the software. It changed the way we do business.

Pros

We can do 90% of all support service remotely.

Cons

You need to pay extra for good new modules

Reasons for Switching to Kaseya VSA

Due Long-term relationship
Reggie
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/4/2018

Very good experience.

Increased productivity.

Pros

The breath of features. Central remote control across all devices is great. The polices and monitoring are great assets for supporting a lot of devices with fewer tech people. We have been very satisfied with the product.

Cons

Even thought it is a positive the quantity of features can also be a little overwhelming. We have had the software for several years and we still do not feel like we utilize the software the way it could be. Not sure if we do not know the best channels but having more support would be helpful. We talk to sales people more than support people.

Reinhard
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 13/7/2018

No significant Product Development and poor Support

We have one product for most of our servcies.

Pros

The modular architecture covers everything a Managed Service Provider needs in order to provide automated Service for its customers.

Cons

The Overall stability of the program Code (Agent) is very bad. The availability of funcionality and features are not given. Very complex database. The GUI is not intuitively to understand. There are no actual templates for Monitoring. High Support costs for the Base Framework with no relevant improvements in the last years. No real partership, nobody listens to the Needs of smaller MSPs.

Sean
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 15/5/2018

Great Concepts Poor Execution

Had endless issues with onboarding where nearly a dozen different people were involved and none of them seemed to work with the others. I had to reexplain what we paid for over the course of a year to get most of it done. Customer Rep is non-responsive and makes it nearly impossible to get more licenses. I never get what I want out of them until I complain and bring in executives at their company. If you want to wing it on your own and have no need to grow, this may be for you, but I don't have time to constantly fight with them to get what they promised us.

Pros

Fast remote connections, great customizing for automation. Great remote toolset so you can work without interrupting end users.

Cons

License issues constantly causing problems, support is hit or miss, AD discovery is completely broken, poor integration with AV products

Bradley
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 9/10/2018

A professional VSA you can depend on

We have relied upon Kaseya VSA to be the bedrock of our managed services offering for 7 years. It is dependable and provides a diverse toolkit for our engineers and vCIOs.

Pros

We rarely have problems with the software. It just runs. We are constantly asking it to do more and it always performs. We depend on it to service our clients and rarely if ever lets us down.

Cons

Promised updates and features usually take longer than promised to make it to us. Not an uncommon issue with other major software developers but they get us excited about a new release and then we wait...

199 reviews