Semper Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Semper

Semper is a Property Management System that helps hoteliers manage their properties better so that they can increase revenue, improve guest satisfaction and save time. The software is either locally installed on premises or can...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.6

Browse Semper Reviews

124 of 124 reviews
Sort by:
Johan
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2021

Everything you need and More... and then some!

Pros

It covers all aspects of what is required in the hospitality industry. From the restaurant all the way to wedding facilities and online booking platform.

Cons

The software altough works great and does everything it should, looks a bit dated.

Alternatives Considered

RoomRaccoon

Reasons for Choosing Semper

We required POS for our restaurant as well as PMS for the lodge.

Switched From

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

Pricing.

Response from Semper

Thank you for the great review, Johan! Are you on the new Semper web system yet? This is a very modern system with a lot of new functions. Feel free to send us an email and we will contact you to to switch you over.

Replied 18/11/2021
Martin
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2021

Great Product!

it works well and they have great partner support

Pros

it works well and they have great partner support

Cons

Online is still not there but I'm sure its a end-user problem at the moment (training)

Alternatives Considered

NightsBridge

Reasons for Choosing Semper

there was not product/partner support

Reasons for Switching to Semper

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] the sales reps was really helpfull

Response from Semper

Thanks for the review, Martin. We're happy to hear you are enjoying the software.

Replied 11/7/2022
Hester
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

My opinion

I'm very negative regarding Semper.
I find their accounting side totally unpractical and difficult for non-accounting people to use.
None of the info on reports is trustworthy or easy to categorize. Settings need to be changes again and again and again and one user's settings gets pulled over to all users.

Pros

I can log in remotely - that is the only thing remotely positive regarding Semper.

To be fair... the previous system probably also have this option and it would probably be more streamlined than Semper's but never had need to use it before we switched to Semper

Cons

Data 100% unreliable and everything needs to be double checked.
A HUGE problem if you try to pull an annual report.

Response from Semper

We appreciate your honest feedback and apologize for any challenges you've faced with Semper. It's disheartening to hear about the issues with data reliability, especially when pulling annual reports. We understand the importance of accurate and trustworthy information. Your concerns about the accounting side being impractical for non-accounting users and the difficulties in settings management are duly noted. We are committed to addressing these issues and improving your experience with Semper. If you have specific details or further suggestions, please feel free to share them with our support team. We appreciate your input and are dedicated to making necessary improvements.

Replied 12/1/2024

Top Semper Alternatives

Gerrit
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/1/2024

All-in-all, a good functional option

My experience is limited to POS and Stock Control only. We do not use the reservation function for our Guesthouse. Overall, I am happy with the product since it largely does what we need it to do.

Pros

Fairly easy to use and well suited for smaller restaurants for both POS and Stock Control. The support I have received in the past has been exemplary and problems have always been resolved fast and satisfactorily.

Cons

It would be nice to have more buttons displayed on the home screen. Having to scroll through button lists take up unnecessary time and lead to mistakes. Out of stock items are not displayed on the "Stock on Hand "report. A zero would help to assess at a glance that a product is out of stock. Dockets and Invoices are not customizable. When using formatted dockets, column widths are too wide leaving very little space for product descriptions - this, by the way, is the only support ticket that has not been resolved. I miss the ability to be able to log into the system remotely via an app in order to perform functions that are not permitted by on-site staff. Currently I need to come into the restaurant to resolve problems when I am at the restaurant.

Response from Semper

Thank you very much for your feedback.It is much appreciated.
we will make a change to teh docets to include more information as you request.
I am not sure if you are aware that we have a hosted version where you can log-in at any time and view all tables, sales etc. You can also make change from anywhere.

Replied 24/1/2024
Brendan
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/1/2024

Review of Semper

Very friendly and helpful support staff, they solve issues quickly.

Pros

I can access Semper from the cloud and quickly generate a quote or invoice and also check availability from my laptop or smart phone

Cons

I would like Semper to have more options of linking to booking engines like booking.com & Safari. Maybe they do but I was not advised. It would be good to move everything to Semper because Nightsbridge still handles online booking.

Alternatives Considered

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

The invoices were very professional and easy to use.
Rhona
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

Ultimate Safaris Review

Frustrating, struggling to get to work with our service provider as he is just never available.

Pros

That we could use it as a Central Reservations

Cons

Too big a program for our slow internet in Namibia
Struggle to get it to work for us.

Response from Semper

We're honored that you chose Semper after switching from Hotellinx Cloud due to your company's growth and your familiarity with the product from previous experiences. If you have further concerns or suggestions, please feel free to reach out. We're committed to enhancing your experience with Semper. Thank you for choosing us for your Central Reservations needs!

Replied 12/1/2024
Tom
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2021

Semper Hospitality Software

The software is stable. Integrates well with other programs, - accounting and other booking systems. The maintenance and development is excellent on the program. The staff are friendly and willing to help and assist all the time.

Pros

The product stood out from others as it was easy to use. It incorporated tour groups and individuals that other programs could not do. A huge amount of data can be recouped through the record systems and easy to find them. Was easy to set the system up to our needs.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like or find irritating.

Alternatives Considered

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

The system could handle tour groups and the individual guest in the group.

Response from Semper

We can't thank you enough for the kind words, Tom. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we're on the right track.

Replied 18/11/2021
Lisa
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/11/2021

Semper is the best!

The customer support from Semper is fabulous and they now have specialist support members who are very knowledgeable about the product.

Pros

Semper Online is one of the easiest software packages that I have ever used and it has been extremely easy to convert from a server based system to this online one. It is extremely user-friendly and training new staff is now much easier.

Cons

There is nothing negative about Semper although it can be tricky when the internet is down - but that's not their fault!

Response from Semper

Thanks so much for the great review, Lisa! We are so glad you enjoy the Semper web system. Your review means a lot to us!

Replied 18/11/2021
Vania
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/1/2024

Excellent for calendar management

Pros

Easy integration with online booking platforms

Cons

Doesn't support local (South African) booking platforms

Alternatives Considered

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

More functionality at the time, like a payment platform
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 8/9/2022

umkulu

Pros

Stock Control is accurate and profit margins are nice to see

Cons

Currenlty there is ONE colour coded for both the Guest that has (i) made partial payment; AS WELL as the Guest that has Paid in FULL. It would be nice to have the Calendar View to highlight in DIFFERENT COLOURS the two types of Guests, those who have PAID IN FULL; and those who have made Payment, but still have OUTSTANDING account prior to their arrival and check in. Because of this issue, one now has to actually click on the booking to open the reservation in order to see if there person is Paid in FULL ; or only partially paid.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing Semper

Point of sale

Switched From

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

SA product and support
Leon
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2021

The ideal software for my business

Pre Semper we had a number of lost bookings as well as a serious problem with double bookings. With Semper being linked directly to our multi channel manager ( MyAllocator ), this problem has totally disappeared.
The proiduct comes with 100's of reports so i can pull any stats i need for pipeline management, house maintenance etc. its all there.

Pros

its simple to use and very reliable. I run it locally as we are very rural and the internet is not always reliable. despite running locally, Semper also allows me remote access via a web browser interface so i am able to manage bookings from anywhere.

Cons

Nothing really. its not the fanciest software on the market, but it does everything i want at a very reasonable price.

Response from Semper

Thank you so much for this great review, Leon. We really appreciate your support and we are so glad our system was able to sort out the issues you had before you implemented Semper.

Replied 18/11/2021
Vernon
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

Not happy

Pros

Nothing, not user friendly, set up promises weren’t kept, waste of money

Cons

Set up promises weren’t kept, blackmailed to accept or threatened to be tuned off

Response from Semper

We're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We take your feedback seriously and apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced. Your concerns about the system not being user-friendly and setup promises not being kept are noted. We aim to address and rectify any issues promptly. If you have specific details or additional feedback, please reach out to our support team so we can better understand and assist you. We appreciate your input and are committed to improving our services.

Replied 12/1/2024
Leisha
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/6/2023

Semper PMS Review

Pros

Customer support from the Semper team has been exceptional. Whenever I have had questions or needed assistance, their knowledgeable and friendly support staff have been prompt in their responses, ensuring that my concerns are addressed promptly.

Cons

Nothing I can think of at this time but perhaps speed on cloudbase system could be faster?

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you've experienced exceptional customer support from our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cloud-based system speed, and we're continuously working to enhance performance. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We value your support and are committed to providing an excellent experience for you.

Replied 16/1/2024
Lyndri
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/6/2023

Support

It is a great program. Thanx a mill to Bea who help us every time when we are struggling with something or needs help setting the program up correctly. She is a star!!

Pros

When u can see ahead when bookings has been made in stead of looking in a book & loose space or details

Cons

When you can't change the dates for when invoice has been made...need to make new invoice...

Response from Semper

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your positive comments.

If you want to change an invoice you'll need to cancel/credit it, this is to be in line with general accounting and audit practices.

We're glad Bea has been a star in assisting you. If you have further questions or suggestions, feel free to reach out. Thanks a million for your support!

Replied 16/1/2024
Janice
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

Housekeeping and Laundry

Pros

Easy to learn and use. Sometimes not user friendly eg. bottle neck when entering transactions.

Cons

little hick ups and after hours support not always able to assist

Response from Semper

Thank you for sharing your review. We're glad to hear that our system is easy to learn and use for housekeeping and laundry. We apologize for any inconvenience you've encountered, especially the bottleneck during transaction entry. Your feedback on little hiccups and challenges with after-hours support is noted. We're committed to addressing these issues to enhance your experience. If you have further details or suggestions, please feel free to share with our support team. We appreciate your input and thank you for using our system.

Replied 16/1/2024
Christoffel Jose
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/8/2023

Great Booking System

Pros

The accounting section is very helpful, the basic understanding of booking your rooms and sales split is very handy and easy

Cons

Export reports not really for debtors use, have to use another method to get accurate report totals

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're pleased to hear that you find our booking system great, especially the helpful accounting section and easy sales split. We appreciate your feedback on the export reports and are committed to enhancing our features. If you have any specific suggestions, feel free to share. We're here to provide an even better experience for you!

Replied 12/1/2024
Alex
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 4/12/2023

Semper Property Management System

Pros

Makes managing properties and rentals so much easier.
Nice function for housekeeping and good integration with most booking websites.

Cons

Looks outdated (like a software from the early 2000's).
But I was using the desktop version and from what I understand, the web platform is much better and more modern.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that Semper makes managing properties easier with good integration. We appreciate your input about the desktop version's appearance, and we're excited for you to explore the more modern web platform for an updated experience. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know. We're here to enhance your property management journey!

Replied 12/1/2024
Kundai
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/6/2023

Semper is Excellent

Pros

The support is 100%. [sensitive content hidden] and [sensitive content hidden] are my go to people, love you guys!

Cons

It sometimes has bugs here and there, but I can assure you that the sort those out swiftly

Response from Semper

Thank you for your excellent review! We're thrilled to hear that our support.
We appreciate your understanding about occasional bugs and assure you that we're committed to resolving them swiftly. If you ever have more feedback or need assistance, feel free to reach out. We love having you as part of our community!

Replied 16/1/2024
Minette
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 23/1/2024

Semper is a great management tool

Overall, Semper is a great management tool. It is user friendly and even if there is something we do not understand, we can call Semper and we will immediately receive help.

Pros

Semper is easy to use and every day I discover a new feature. From organizing reservations, to taking payments form guests, everything us made easier by Semper.

Cons

The accounting section of Semper needs a little more attention. Frequently we have to call Semper and ask why our invoices/statements are wrong.

Response from Semper

Thank you very much for the positive response. On the accounting side, a tremendous has been done in recent releases and we would like it very much to share that with you.

Replied 10/2/2024
itumeleng
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 30/6/2023

Best service

Average

Pros

The support team is always so helpful ([sensitive content hidden] and [sensitive content hidden] in particular )

Cons

The system is Very slowThe system is not user friendly

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear you appreciate our support team. We're sorry to hear about the challenges with system speed and user-friendliness. If you have specific suggestions or encounter issues, please reach out. Your input is valuable to us.

Replied 16/1/2024
Sharmia
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

Easy to use

easy to make new bookings and keep up to date with availability.

Pros

Version 8 is easy to use. Great value for money

Cons

The new semper is a bit different from the older version.

Response from Semper

Thanks for your feedback on Version 8! We're thrilled to hear it's easy to use and offers great value for money. If you have any more comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We appreciate your support!

Replied 12/1/2024
Sarika
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/6/2023

Makakatana Review

Pros

We use it daily. Quick functioning and easy to view

Cons

The search function does not display all reservations searched for in that name

Response from Semper

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you use our system daily and find it quick and easy to use. We appreciate your feedback about the search function and will look into improving it for a better experience.

Replied 16/1/2024
Phelokazi
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/1/2024

Semper booking system is the besy!

Semper booking system covers all aspects of what is required in the hospitality industry.
the software is stable and reliable at all times.

Pros

very accurate! it keeps track of all booking information.
semper consultants are always there to assist.

Cons

nothing that i like the least about semper booking system

Thato
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 2/8/2023

The Best Support Team

Helpful and polite team.

Pros

Automatically emailing corrospondence documents.

Cons

Unable to generate the Excel sheet for the daily sales report.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you appreciate the automated emailing of correspondence documents and the helpful and polite support team. We've noted your feedback about generating the Excel sheet for the daily sales report. If you have further comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We're here to assist you!

Replied 12/1/2024
Martin
Martin
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 11/1/2024

Semper review

Pros

Semper is cloud based, you can use it anywhere.

Cons

Semper has glitches or is offline that creates issues

Response from Semper

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you appreciate Semper's cloud-based accessibility. We apologize for any glitches or downtime and are actively working to improve reliability. If you encounter issues, please contact our support team. Your input is important to us.

Replied 16/1/2024
124 reviews