Jira Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About Jira

Jira Software is a business process management tool used by agile teams to plan, track and release software. Jira Software supports Scrum, Kanban, a hybrid model or another unique workflow. Jira enables users to create project...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Jira Reviews

14,239 of 14,239 reviews
Sort by:
Mairéad
Mairéad
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/5/2024

Could not be without it in our IT support

Would be lost without it. It's far superior to other ticketing systems that we've used. the workflows work great and easy to setup

Pros

- Ease of use
- Ability to edit fields and display
- Ease of setting up

Cons

- outages can be frequent in comparison to other products.
- not a lot of instructions on how to setup easily

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing Jira

system was outdated and not user friendly

Switched From

KACE
Chinmay
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/5/2024

Jira review - excellent tool for Project and Sprint planning

The Jira app is an exceptional tool for project management, particularly suited for agile development teams. Its comprehensive features, robust performance, and high level of customization make it a valuable asset for managing complex projects and enhancing team collaboration. While it may have a learning curve, the investment in time and effort is well worth it for the productivity gains and streamlined workflows it offers.

Overall, Jira stands out as a premier project management solution that can adapt to the needs of diverse teams and projects, making it a highly recommended tool for organizations looking to optimize their project management processes.

Pros

Comprehensive project management and issue tracking features.
High level of customization.
Strong integration with other tools and platforms.
Excellent reporting and analytics capabilities.
Effective collaboration tools.

Cons

Steep learning curve for new users.
Can be overwhelming due to the abundance of features.
Performance can be slow with large projects or extensive customizations.

Lee
Lee
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 25/5/2024

Used in minimal capacity

Pros

Task dashboard: moving tasks from waiting to start, for review etc is good.

Cons

History of logged hours on a task is hidden which I don’t love.

Top Jira Alternatives

Faz
Faz
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/3/2024

Brickflow Loves Jira

Pros

Jira rocks for Brickflow because it keeps things organized with boards and to-do lists, but also makes working together a breeze. Everyone can see how projects are coming along and stay on the same page, which is pretty sweet.

Cons

Jira can be a double-edged sword. While it excels at organization with boards and to-do lists, setting things up can feel like navigating a labyrinth. Collaboration features are limited, so forget chatting with teammates directly within the app. For non-technical teams, Jira's robust features might be overkill compared to simpler tools.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira worked better with tech teams and we are a tech company primarily

Switched From

Asana
Tariq
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 4/5/2024

Review of Jira

JIRA instrument takes care of business and would suggest it. Profoundly intrigued by its elements like issue following, project the board, dexterous turn of events, adaptable work processes and reconciliation with different instruments. - Permits us to effortlessly make, track and oversee issues and undertakings

Pros

Integration Capabilities
Advanced Reporting
Scalability
Community Support
Friendly user
clarity
ira is an immensely powerful issue management tool
Easy to set up a project

Cons

slow working
inappropriate case support
incorrect setup,
absence of memory space
an excessive number of modules introduced
absence of legitimate modules setup,
obsolete instrument rendition

Anterpreet
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/4/2024

All-in-one project management tool

Pros

Overall, the JIRA tool does the job and I would suggest it. I'm quite impressed with its features, which include problem tracking, project management, agile development, configurable processes, and connection with other programs. Enables us to simply generate, track, and manage issues and tasks.

Cons

For beginners, complexity is the main hurdle. Apart from this, technically, it has limited built-in testing features, and setup cost for a startup firms and smaller companies.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

I was going to work on multiple smaller projects with 5 different set of teams. So, I decided to with Jira instead of Asana etc.
Kshitij
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/5/2024

Jira - A Unique tool for Task Management and Reporting

Overall experience of Jira is mind blowing. It's a fantastic tool for bug tracking and report generation. It provides customizable workflows with integrated capabilities.

Pros

Jira is one of the best tool used now-a-days. It helps us in task management, version control. It's powerful issue tracking tool with good integration capabilities. It has advanced reporting system.

Cons

Initially, it feels complex and have several price plans.

Julijana
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/5/2024

Great for multi-project management

Pros

I liked that we could build different project hierarchies and layer down the different sub-projects and sub-tasks. The timeline view was also very helpful.

Cons

It was a bit complex to set up and to get the non-technical team on board using it.

keeza bianca
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/5/2024

JIRA SOFTWARE REVIEW

ITS GOOD AND USEFUL TO TRACK THE SHIPMENT OF INCOMING MATERIALS.

Pros

FOR ME IT HELP TO TRACK AND SCHEDULING THE IMPORTING AND EXPORTING PRODUCT IN OTHER COUNTRY.

Cons

FOR ME IMPROVED THE TRACKING SIDE OF THE COMPANY

Reasons for Choosing Jira

FOR THE OTHER TOOLS NEEDED FOR THE TRUCKING.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

FOR ME IT MORE JIRA IS MORE USEFUL FOR THE IMPORTING AND EXPORTING OF MATERIALS AND KNOW THE EXACT LOCATION BECAUSE OF THE MOBILE APP.
Edwin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/5/2024

Jira for Agile Methodologies

If you have a background managing project in Agile way, migrating to Jira is quite easy and straightforward

Pros

Easy to setup for managing project using Agile methodologies.

Cons

Overhelming features that sometimes need a litte bit of training to understand.

Patrick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 21/5/2019

JIRA is a Great Tool - for the Right Teams

Pros

The best part about JIRA is how visual the UI is. It is incredibly easy to track down and track through different tasks and sprints without having the hassle of digging through a 90s-style ticket system. My other absolute favorite thing about JIRA is the simple ability to tag individual users basically anywhere. This saves an incredible amount of time due to the way in which notifications are handled in and outside of the system. Collaboration is beyond easy with JIRA.

Cons

Many of the most important features are being deprecated over time, and the customer service component of the software seems ineffective at best. Some of the best features have been removed and the highest priorities on their roadmap aren't those that would severely increase users' quality of life. I think this is part of a growing process that the company is going through, but it does cause some heartache on the regular to think that our business desires aren't being met - even through months of users requesting the simplest of features.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine and Trello

Switched From

Redmine and Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA had a much more robust interface than the other options we were looking into, and overall it was the visual aspects of JIRA that won out over the others.
Adam
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/7/2019

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

David
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 6/12/2019

JIRA is necessary to my everyday organization

I use it every day to organize my workflow. Without it, I would be pretty lost.

Pros

Agile development on Jira is great. The ecosystem allows me to track my time, organize my issues into tasks and sub-tasks, track when things get done, create estimates, and organize complex projects into smaller and simpler pieces.

Cons

The support is pretty ignorant of their user-base on several issues and refuse to add new features that would benefit hundreds, if not thousands. It can be very tricky to migrate, update, or set up. Plugins can cost money and it can add up, though I haven't spent too much at all for the value I received.

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

My prior employer used Asana but I found JIRA to be a better solution for an Agile workflow.

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Trello is a watered-down version of JIRA and doesn't feature all of the technical details that JIRA has.
Derek
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/2/2020

Using Jira Software and Service Desk

We have been using Jira (and Confluence) for over 10 years. We currently have over 500 projects in Jira with a user base around 2000. We do agile web and app software development and run a support desk with kanban. Each team has their own projects with their own specific needs, from workflows, custom fields, permissions, and notifications. We do not use the cloud product, but a 3rd party, hosted, server version.

Pros

Extensibility. Jira really can be all things to all users. There are so many business workflow processes that we have implemented and all in Jira: advanced software development, workflows for processing contracts and invoices, and support work with incidents and service requests with approvals.

Lastly, with the large dev community and a large pool of app add-ons, we are confident we could extend Jira to be what we need it to be.

Cons

If you don't understand the principles of Agile software development, there will be parts of using Jira that will be foreign to you and will likely go unused.

There is a steep learning curve on the administration-side. With so many functions and features, it can be difficult to know all of your options. The "schemes" that power the project administration can also make it difficult to troubleshoot your setup.

Alternatives Considered

Bugzilla

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira is created for the purpose we needed, whereas Sharepoint was being used because we were already paying for it. Reporting was lacking in Sharepoint and everytime we wanted to make a small change, we would have to use developer time.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We liked Jira's look and feel and ease of setup and use.
Darian
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/7/2021

Review for Jira as a developer

We moved our IT department to start using Jira for the teams that work in development. We have not yet moved our Helpdesk or "system uptime" teams over since we are still looking at what product works best. So with the smaller team, I believe it has helped in keeping our tickets in order. It is simple to see what is currently being worked on in each project. We do not have the highest plan so we do not have all features, but I think our current feature set is large with room to evolve.

Pros

Jira is excellent at keeping track of our issues and linking between them on a kanban board. It was our introduction to a Kanban system of tickets. There are also many features we see ourselves using that we are on the verge of delving into, allowing us to focus on the tickets now but expand in the near future.

I like that tickets are easily linked to each other. Our previous system made it difficult to know which tickets were related, while Jira has several options for relating tickets (related to, duplicates, blocked / blocks/ etc)

Cons

I think the price can get high depending on how big your team is. We were just over the free limit which becomes a large cost, especially once you include subscriptions to confluence etc.

I think the load times and UI can get buggy at times, there are multiple times a day I have to click through menus several times for it to register. This is by far the most frustrating thing, especially when you have many tickets on a page.

One issue we had was that our current ticket system allows us to CC users onto tickets so they (+ anyone else we add) can get an update. This was not possible through regular Jira, however something similar could be done with effort on the Jira Service Management side.

Sudhir
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/11/2021

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

Pros

I find this software to be very versatile and useful.

It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals.

It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well.

It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload.

I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

Cons

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Alternatives Considered

Bugzilla

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA is quite easy to migrate. Easy to train and educate the team in fastest time possible. Easy to handle the administrative tasks and correct when needed.
Meraz
Meraz
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/4/2022

Best-in-class and Reliable Project Management Companion

Jira is presently utilized to manage our projects and workflows. We utilize it to manage team members' progress on projects, track outstanding work, and offer context for objectives and procedures. This is utilized across the organization and provides visibility for a large portion of the development effort on a range of projects.

Pros

1) Integrate seamlessly with development tools like Slack, Github, or Bitbucket.
2) Workspace is very configurable; you may customize the components of each task on your board, as well
as create your own icons, labels, and automated processes.
3) Connect all issues/tasks to Epics and view the anticipated outcomes in the Product Roadmap.
4) It offers the flexibility of a kanban board, which provides the user with a clearer view of what has been accomplished, what is in process, and what remains.
5) User story statuses may be used to monitor progress and control workflows.
6) Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories, which speeds up administrative duties if this information was previously recorded in another format, such as CSV.

Cons

1) Only internal users may be allocated to tasks and user stories. This might result in unnecessarily long delays when external users want immediate input or participation.
2) When many boards exist within a project, statuses (user stories) cannot be established explicitly for each board.
3) User stories may be assigned to just two categories of users: assignees and reporters. JIRA does not permit the assignment of numerous assignees to a single user story.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com and Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira was more cost-effective and better for us because it met our needs more. It worked better with other Atlassian products that we were going to buy. So, it's clear that Jira is the best modern Project Tracking tool on the market right now.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Because Atlassian has a lot more products, they were able to keep everything under the same roof. When we used JIRA integrations with other tools, they worked really well at the time and were very useful.
Ahmed
Ahmed
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/1/2023

Jira, Streamlining Team Collaboration

Jira is considered as a robust and powerful project management tool that provides teams with the tools they need to collaborate and manage their tasks, issues, and projects effectively. The tool offers a wide range of features, such as task management, workflow configuration, collaboration, reporting and project tracking, alerts and notifications, access controls, calendar management, document management, and integrations with other tools.Jira's flexibility allows teams to customize their workflows and processes to match their specific requirements, and it provides a range of built-in templates to help teams get started quickly. The tool's collaboration features, such as commenting and notes, help teams to stay informed about the status of their work and provide feedback and share ideas.

Pros

- Task management: Jira offers a comprehensive system to create, assign, and track tasks, with built-in templates to simplify the process.- Workflow Configuration: Jira allows teams to customize their workflows to match their specific processes and requirements, with built-in templates to aid in setup.- Collaboration: Jira provides a range of commenting and notes features to enable easy communication and collaboration among team members.- Reporting and Project Tracking: Jira offers a variety of reporting and project tracking features, including real-time data, visualization options, and built-in reports to help teams track progress, identify trends and measure performance.- Alerts and Notifications: Jira provides real-time alerts and notifications to keep teams informed of important changes and updates to tasks and issues.- Access controls and Permissions: Jira offers role-based access controls to manage access and permissions for different users and groups.- Calendar Management: Jira has a calendar feature that enables teams to schedule and manage their tasks and projects.- Document Management: Jira provides a central location to store and manage documents, such as files and images.- Integration: Jira can be integrated with a wide range of tools and applications, Like Slack, Google Calendar, Google Drive, Trello, GitHub, Bitbucket, Microsoft Excel, Word and Outlook & Zendesk.

Cons

Jira is a powerful tool that provides a wide range of features to help teams collaborate and manage their tasks, issues, and projects effectively, but as it is a complex tool, it may require some time to set up and use. Also, the UI can be cluttered and confusing for some users, and the performance may be slow when working with large projects or many users. The mobile app may lack some features compared to the web version, and the reporting and analytics features can be limited. However, Jira offers many integrations, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively.

Alternatives Considered

Trello , Basecamp , monday.com and Wrike

Reasons for Choosing Jira

- Advanced features: Jira offers a wide range of advanced features such as workflow customization, agile methodologies, reporting and analytics, and integration with other tools, which can be beneficial for teams that need more advanced functionality to manage their tasks, issues, and projects.- Scalability: Jira is designed to scale with the needs of organizations, and can handle large projects and teams with ease, which can be beneficial for organizations that are growing and need a more robust project management tool.- Ease of use: Jira is designed to be easy to use, with a user-friendly interface, built-in templates, and a wide range of resources and tutorials available online, which can be beneficial for teams that are new to project management or software development.- Cost: Jira is considered to be cost-effective solution for teams of all sizes, and the pricing plans are competitive compared to other project management and software development tools.- Integration: Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and applications, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively by reducing the need to switch between different tools.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Due to its advanced features such as workflow customization, agile methodologies, reporting and analytics, and integration with other tools. It is scalable and can handle large projects and teams with ease. It is easy to use with a user-friendly interface, built-in templates, and a wide range of resources and tutorials available online. Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and applications, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively by reducing the need to switch between different tools. It offers advanced reporting and analytics features such as real-time data, visualization options, and built-in reports to help teams track progress, identify trends, and measure performance. Additionally, it provides support for Agile methodologies, collaboration features, customizable workflow, mobile app, and it is cost-effective. All these factors combined make Jira a powerful and versatile tool that can meet the needs of various teams and organizations.
Shaffick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Jira...the best out there

The overall exprience has been HIGHLY positive. Jira is the go to software for project planning and coupled with Jira Service Desk and Confluence (which we use at the moment), it is a very truly powerful piece of software. I have tried other ones, but always came back to Jira due to it's widespread acceptance and ease of use.

Pros

Jira is highly customisable, and also has plugins. It allows you to monitor your projects and provided granulated access to individuals. You (or your admin) can set roles for the project and associates those roles to certain activities and then associate the roles even further to individuals.

You can organize your tickets in sprints and releases as well as monitor workload and task assignment to your team during sprints (or whatever other form of software delivery you wish to choose).

Cons

Pricing model. Currently, you have a choice of server vs cloud setup. If you have a team that can maintain the server instance, I'd recommend going to server because you have a lot more plugins you can use on server and you can set it up the way you want. The best thing is the licenses are a one-time cost, as opposed to lower, but monthly and forever costs on the cloud portion.

The other thing that is to be considered is that the plugins you choose need to have the same level of range for hte user count. i.e if your jira is for 101-250 users, all your plugins will need a license level of the same range, i.e 101-250 users. Something to consider if you are thinking about moving to Jira.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/7/2020

A giant of software development

We've been using using Jira since the begining of the company about 5 years ago and we are happy with it. Their integrations with bitbucket and other atlassian software is also a plus for us. It delivers almost everything a software company needs to develop projects, and you can find almost everything else in their marketplace.
However we are likely going to change software soon due to their pricing jump after the "startup" tier.

Pros

Jira is an incredibly large and flexible tool to the point that you can virtually have any kind of project - software or not - managed inside it. But though it is large, it is also relatively simple to being with and can accommodate simple workflows even for smaller teams, with some neat ready-to-go templates.
But its abiity to grow into a platform that can support a large corporation is amazing. Scalability is definitely their main power.
Jira also bennefits from a very large marketplace of plugins that can bring more functionality and fit the granular specificities of each company or project.
It also has a very cheap pricing for smaller teams.

Cons

Some basic functionality if just not there, which is rather unbelievable considering the size of this tool. For example easily planning a sprint, doing capacity tracking or even moving or changing issues can be very difficult and you may need to resort to plugins in their marketplace (with their own pricing).
Some of the more advanced functionality (like workflows) is a bit complex and confusing and requires quite a bit of studying.
Their pricing after the first tier (for startups) is just unbelievably expensive. It's a jump from $10 to $1000 when you add your 11th team member. Because of this we will sadly not keep using the software after that threshold.

Sandeep
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/2/2021

Perfect tool for large scale and small scale projects workflows

Great experience working with this tool and transforming the business workflows. Its valuable tool for any organization for managing all the business workflows.

Pros

Jira is the great tool when comes to administratering the custom workflows. We were able to define and automate most of the workflows tasks thus reducing lots repetitive manual efforts. As an administration, we have so much of knowledge base available from Attlassian. Out of the box, we get generic yet useful workflows and features which can onboard most of the software and agile projects instantly.

Cons

Able to import and export workflows from one instance to another Jira instance is missing.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

More user-friendly tool

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Cost and ease of use
Niel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 17/9/2021

Very Powerful but only if your team is techy enough to use it

Pros

So far, the gold standard in project and process management, especially in the number of options, features, automations, integrations and workflows that the software is capable of handling. We shifted to this software when the pandemic hit and were forced to stay at home since we needed a more powerful software to handle our workflow. If you have a techy team, nothing else compares.

Cons

Biggest con really is that it is not the most user friendly software. Unlike Trello or Asana where you can just go fire it up and it's good to go. This one takes a lot of set-up to do and a deep familiarity with how it works under the hood. Given that the software is one of the older ones, you can sort of see it's age in both the older workflows (issues, screens, etc) vs the newer templates. The newer project templates sort of partially solved this problem but if you need to tweak the settings, it still has a steeper learning curve.

The con really here is that i tried Jira with my other less techy company (a school) and adoption was really low as users just weren't able to keep up with it.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork.com , monday.com and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Needed something more powerful

Switched From

Trello
Sarah
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 23/9/2022

Comprehensive, Customizable Task & Project Tracking - Designated Administrator Reccommended

Jira is an incredibly powerful tool that takes administration investment to really harness its power - identifying or designating a "Jira Champion" would be necessary, IMHO, for companies with a user-base larger than 75 people. While I understand where others may not be so keen on the time it takes to implement and customize, professionally, I am a believer in the power of Jira now and as we continue to grow. I don't see us moving away from it, even with the additional investment in Jira education, any time soon - its power is unmatched in the space.

Pros

Jira is *incredibly* versatile. You can customize almost every aspect of your Cloud instance, Project, Boards, & Workflows to fit nearly any use case, and across multiple departments.
Permissions to your Jira instance can be restricted at a very granular level if need-be, but can be more broad if the occasion calls for it.
Additionally, and probably the largest reason we transitioned from enterprise Jira to a Cloud Jira instance is the pervasive availability of integration across the market.
Speaking of market - Jira has a growing 3rd-party market that offers enhancements to the Jira platform that Jira does not natively provide or are too complex for an untrained Jira administrator to script themselves. Of those that are "approved" by Jira, we are extremely happy with the breadth of functionality, integration and ease of use.
With all that I do have to say that our favorite thing with all project leads is Jira Automation. Once you understand the "SmartValues" language that automation runs on, the use cases for automation are truly endless. It is one of the many strong features from a project management perspective.

Cons

Jira takes a village. Atlassian has an incredible resources in the "Atlassian Community" and they do a great job of having experienced users there to answer questions but, because each instance can be set up so differently, the actual customer support request portal is limited to bug fixes. As a result, much of my time administering Jira is spent researching how to fix a roadblock or how to modify permissions - a lot of "learning by doing". Generally speaking, Jira can be difficult to use from an administration perspective, *but* for the purposes of moving ticket along, the UX is pretty good and the UI is fairly intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/4/2023

Great Project Management Tool

Overall, Jira provides a great experience in terms of project planning and execution. It provides tons of flexibility in terms of creating customized workflows and custom fields. An efficient tool to track issues, bugs, development efforts, etc. Also , it has decent reporting and analytics capabilities , which allows me to create customized reports and dashboards

Pros

Jira provides a ton of features in terms of project planning, the ability to create a hierarchy of epics, and feature > delivery > story, which is a great feature to track deliverables in a release. It provides sufficient options to write detailed stories, add functional workflows, excel data sets, etc. Helps in Issue and bug tracking during production support, UAT phase, and QA testing. A great collaboration platform, due to the ability to write comments, notifications, tag required personnel, and seamless integration with other tools such as Outlook and Confluence.Log efforts and Tempo (dashboard to track daily efforts) is an amazing tool for productivity enhancements.

Cons

There are a few limitations of JIRA as well - - The search engine of JIRA doesn't always fetch the correct results despite using the correct keywords, it's not as smart as an AI-powered engine or Google. Also, the Smart Query feature is not that useful, many times basic search work well.- Doesn't have the templates to write detailed documents such as FSD or a design document, not a very good knowledge management tool.

Muhammad
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/8/2018

Jira is a project management software

Pros

Jira is a task administration programming that is very mainstream among numerous organizations. With an extremely high score of 9.4/10 and client fulfillment at 99% it is as of now one of the best 3 best task administration arrangements looked into on our site. The primary spot in this class is held by Wrike which has an aggregate score of 9.8/10 and is the champ of our Best Project Management Software Award for 2017. You can experiment with Wrike for nothing here. You can likewise contrast Jira and Wrike and see which one is better for your organization.

Jira is intended to enable clients to catch, dole out, and set needs to their work. It enables you to deal with the entire procedure of use improvement ensuring that everything is secured, from idea to dispatch. Its straightforward, natural interface empowers joint effort with partners and enables you to take care of business in a viable way.

Jira tailors itself to fit to the necessities of the business and gives fantastic help to finish everything. The level of customization enables the product to properly fit distinctive business needs.

This product can be utilized by an organization. I have designed JIRA to be utilized by distributing organization, by law office, and obviously, IT organizations. What's more, it was conceivable to make everybody content with what JIRA gives. Despite the fact that occasionally it was difficult to encourage individuals how to utilize it, following multi month or two they couldn't recollect how they lived without it.

Cons

Jira is an amazing programming, however with a lot of capacities comes a large group of devices and assignments to learn, especially for new clients.

As of late JIRA refreshed its outline. My clients whine about new outline, I get insane when I can't discover things. Furthermore, JIRA wouldn't like to stop at that and is refreshing its plan further and further. I would truly incline toward that they glance through bugs that were raised on comunity entryway and accomplish something in regards to new highlights as opposed to doing configuration refreshes.

It is imperative to realize that Jira gives us awesome help to the client, and their consideration is a need, however ordinarily they don't figure the issue. It is a component to survey in Atlassian.

- The prologue to Jira's reality is required to be as mysterious as its interface and execution. Actually it is intricate to fabricate channels and move around in the application when the client is new.

- You need to run a right download of the reports toward the finish of the month or toward the finish of the week, the reports are conveyed in spreadsheets, however with an introduction that fails to impress anyone, thusly, when setting the dates they ought to have pretty much days so you can play out the download effectively.

14,239 reviews