Toast POS Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Toast POS

Toast POS is a flexible system built exclusively for restaurants and the food service industry. Offering tools like online ordering, delivery, takeout, mobile app ordering, contactless payments, and e-gift card purchasing, this...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
3.7

Browse Toast POS Reviews

509 of 509 reviews
Sort by:
Jeff
Jeff
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2019

So Great to Have Everything Consolidated

Overall I think after a lot of research and a couple of trials Toast seemed to be the best option as a long-term solution. I believe it can grow with us over the years.

Pros

One stop shop plug and play solution! I was not interested in having to switch between systems and wanted easy reporting across the business.

Cons

Takes a while to learn all the functionality but worth it once learned. Although it’s not a problem with the software itself, either a better hard copy training manual or disk would be helpful.

Alternatives Considered

Aloha Cloud and Time Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

More robust and offered more scale as we grow to keep everything on one platform.

Response from Toast

Hi Jeff, Jasmine from Toast here. We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying your all-in-one, Toast POS System! For helpful training material, encourage you to refer to Toast Central at https://central.toasttab.com/s/.

Replied 8/11/2019
Sanford
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/9/2023

Have Some Toast With Your Brunch. Or Lunch.

With over fifteen years of customer service experience covering all types of industries imaginable, the Toast POS software stands out when regraded by it's ease of integration, system set-up and navigation, customization and guest interaction interface. High marks all around and a resounding cheers to Toast's user friendly design.

Pros

Simple and easy to integrate into my workplace's numerous departments, Toast POS offers a user friendly platform to build an inventory into with the option to edit the information therein whenever required, even in real time when alterations are needed to complete a guest's order. Toast POS has a sharp and clean visual design that utilizes an equally well developed workplace layout sure to please no matter what industry you're part of.

Cons

A small setback I've noticed is the required input of a guest's name or information to initiate the 'tap to pay' option. There is a button to 'skip' this input, however if guest recall is pertinent to completing an order then the name or number attached to the order is required. I would like to see the guest's digital pay pad screen offer the ability to input a name or number if only to make interactions conclude in a quicker, more proficient manner.

Response from Toast

Hi Sanford, Thanks for your positive review. We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to know we're meeting your expectations as a platform. If you haven't already, join our Toast online community at community.toasttab.com. Hope to see you there!

Replied 12/9/2023
Mark
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 17/1/2024

Worst Customer Service

Horrible. Now I have to cancel Toast from all my restaurants and start with a new company. Not happy. All because they will not get anything accomplished for you if you are being overcharged, to online ordering isn't working correctly, to menu manager not functioning properly. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SOFTWARE even though the functionality appears to be great. Not worth the hassle.

Pros

I did like the functionality but the service is so bad, it does not matter how good the software is.

Cons

Customer service, Toast adding billable products and never taking them off because you cannot get a hold of customer service.

Response from Toast

Hi Mark, I'm sorry to hear that this has been your experience. I'll be reaching out to directly to learn more how we can help support you here.

Replied 24/1/2024

Top Toast POS Alternatives

Rochelle
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/2/2024

My Experience With Toast POS

Very good! In all my years that I worked as a server, Toast POS was by far my favorite POS system.

Pros

I loved how easy the POS system was to operate and all the additional features Toast has compared to other POS systems. Also, the handheld tablets make service 100% more efficient.

Cons

One big complaint I can remember is that when customers would use gift cards, and the gift card wouldn't fully cover the balance, the tip percentage would only reflect the balance that was left on the bill, and not the subtotal before the gift card was applied. This would result in very low tip percentages sometimes because most customers do not understand this.

Response from Toast

Hi Rochelle, thank you for sharing this feedback. We'll be sure to pass this along to our team.

Replied 8/2/2024
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/8/2020

I'd give it a 10 but then it would be perfect!

Overall, I really enjoy the system. It's simple to program and they have a great support system. It's worth the investment to pay for extended support until you or a manager has the ins and outs of the backend in hand. The reporting is awesome and when used the right way, you have your answers to questions you didn't even know you needed to ask.

Pros

I have been using restaurant POS for over 20 years and Toast has shown itself to be one of the best on the market. It is so user-friendly and easy to work in, including the handhelds, that it's amazing. In training new teams they offer a great program and support team. The layout is ideal for high-volume. Reporting is excellent. I refer Toast to most of our clients.

Cons

As with any new system you install, there will be issues and "clunks." Toast is no exception. The worst was the display screen and the use of it on the line. If you do not set aside enough time to train, prior to opening or first use, it will be challenging to understand, especially if you are not used to systems other than tickets and calling out. It just takes time getting used to and working out the kinks upon install.

Alternatives Considered

CAKE POS, Aloha Cloud and Clover

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

We needed to have a better system than the old one we were using, as in most places. Toast offered the package at a wonderful price and the system supports the costs.

Switched From

Aloha Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Price, support, system use

Response from Toast

Hi there, Mora from Toast here. It's great to hear that your positive experiences with Customer Care have enabled you to efficiently train up new team members. Thank you for providing this feedback!

Replied 27/8/2020
KRISTEN
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2023

Toast for High-End Restaurant that is part of a Hotel/Banquet/Spa Resport

Positive, for both POS and Payroll. While we have had a few hiccups, I have been impressed with Customer Service and Tech Support in most instances

Pros

Self-Install was a little bit complicated but Toast Support was very helpful. The interface is very intuitive and overall simple to follow and teach. Some financial reports don;t show exactly what we'd like, but Toast Support is helping us create custom reports for everything we need.

Cons

Setting up the menu and revenue centers, especially chaging the revenue centers has been less simple than I'd like.

Response from Toast

Hi Kristen, thanks for taking the time to share your experience using Toast! We're thrilled that the interface is simple enough for you to follow and teach your team. We're always here to help support you! If you haven't already, please join our online community at community.toasttab.com to connect with other restaurant leaders. - Carrisa

Replied 1/11/2023
charles
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/9/2023

Very Robust and Versatile POS w/ minor hiccups and One NO NO Add-On Feature

I'm now pretty savvy w/ Toast POS after 6 mo of use.

Pros

Robust and Versatile POS for full service restaurant. Perfect for full service restaurant. it does have some minor hiccups. Probably the best POS on the market. Integrates well w/ Open Table. Good support w/ little wait time most time.

Cons

Toast offers many useful integration except One major NO NO Add-on is Toast Payroll - it's a disaster. totally user unfriendly. clumsy, many non-sense system questions that cause confusion, lack of even the simplest and most basic yet required reporting. Even it's nice to have the time cards get carried over automatically, you would be better off using 3rd party time management and payroll app.

Alternatives Considered

TouchBistro and Menusifu POS System

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Features and integrations were not as comprehensive

Response from Toast

Hi Charles, we appreciate your review. We'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our team. - Carrisa

Replied 29/9/2023
Joshua
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

A Start Up Micro Brewery

Really like toast. However, as we grow the cost is getting quite high to test and implement new functions. Almost to the point where I am considering having a program written specifically for our business. Still, toast is great.

Pros

Customer Service is excellent. Easy to teach and easy to learn. Intutitve

Cons

With costs of integrations and addons feels like we are getting nickled and dimed.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

More intuitive, customer support was rated higher and Toast came recommended

Response from Toast

Hi Joshua, thanks for sharing your experience using Toast. We encourage you to join our online community at community.toasttab.com to connect with other Toast customers.
- Carrisa

Replied 31/10/2023
Charles
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 2/8/2020

An Affordable Alternative to Aloha and Micros

A perfect system for a small restaurant with a lot of very handy features. They are extremely flexible with pricing options.

Pros

TOAST is a solid point of sale system available for a very reasonable price. Adding, editing and removing menu items can be done quickly and remotely. Printer routing and other back of house set up is a breeze. Customer service staff is well trained and very reliable.

Cons

Not really designed for large scale/ high volume operations. KDS screens have some issues.

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Was able to negotiate a great price and has some really fantastic features.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/7/2019

Learning curve

decent, not thrilled

Pros

There are a lot of features and functionality with Toast, how to use them is another thing

Cons

Not very intuitive to use. Also i have not been able to get ahold of customer service

Response from Toast

Hi there, Jasmine from Toast here. If you're having trouble reaching Toast Support over the phone, log on to Toast Central to chat with them live during business hours. This is also where you can find Toast University, a library of all the training courses you need to be successful with Toast!

Replied 15/8/2019
Matt
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 12/9/2021

Be Prepared for nickel and dimming

Overall it runs smoothly 90% of the tine with no issues. When there is an issue, good luck getting the resolution you were hoping for and be prepared to get very frustrated with them. Unless you're adding on services to increase your monthly bill, your not important to them anymore. Also the install was a complete joke, do yourself a favor and do the self install and save your money from the start.

Pros

Very easy to use and make on the fly changes

Cons

The constant Nickel & Dimming! I have multiple restaurants and its so frustrating that each one has different pricing. I have had toast for over 5 years now and it constantly has changed so much so fast that the customer service line employees have no idea how to get things done. If you power on and off and it does not work you will have to wait for someone to call you back that has higher credentials.

Also I have had their special router go out 2x now (funny just a week after warranty both times) and my restaurant could no longer use the POS and they could care less. Its been 1 week and still no replacement. Such a shame their customer service is so bad and it just feels like a money grab at times.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

AT the time it was the only POS that could continue to accept CC when the internet went down. Now that many offers this, we are currently looking at other alternative companies.
Gonca
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Terrible Tech Support And Filled With Bugs

TOAST is actually one of the worst POS systems you can use. I have been a restaurant industry veteran on the owner's side for over a decade. Before that, I worked in the industry for another decade. Ask ten restaurants what they think of Toast, and 9 of them will tell you how awful they are. I know three off the top of my head who turned to Toast because we were using it, only to realize how awful the system is. Below are the reasons why Toast is a waste of money.

Pros

Affordable
Customer facing customization

Cons

1. Their technical support is AWFUL. Every time we have a major support issue- now only does it take them DAYS to respond via email, but they almost always find a way to deflect the blame.
2. You cannot process voids or refunds properly through the system. We have tried countless times to do this, only to have the ticket not void, causing the customer to file for a chargeback. Keep in mind, TOAST charges you a fee every time they have to refund a customer via a chargeback claim.
3. For TWO YEARS now, our delivery receipts keep printing to our self-ordering kiosk's printer instead of our cashier facing printer. TWO YEARS!
4. Every single time they do an update on their system, it almost always crashes, freezes, or goes offline, causing our employees to freak out when they can't get it back up and running.
5. Despite us paying a premium for our monthly subscription, they still cannot get the gift card or loyalty reward program working properly.
6. We have our delivery zone set to a certain zip code, yet we still receive orders outside of this zip code, causing customers to get upset with us.

Overall, from a price point, with how much your monthly subscription will run you and the amount of headaches and acid reflux you will deal with- it's not worth it. Go with Revel or Clover. Pass on this. You end up paying more in lost time, chargeback fees, and waste money on a subscription that doesn't even provide you with enough support.

Alternatives Considered

Clover and Revel Systems

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

The price was more affordable and they gave us a discount.
Nick
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 31/3/2023

Review

very happy

Pros

sales and labor summaries and ease of menu edits

Cons

one half star for tech support...almost worthless compared to Aloha's professional and knowledgeable tech pros, absolutely awesome

Alternatives Considered

Aloha Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

features for restaurant, ease of report access

Switched From

Aloha Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

better overall score

Response from Toast

Hi Nick! We're pleased to know you're very happy with your experience using Toast and appreciate your feedback on tech support.

Replied 16/8/2023
Nathan
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2022

Toast is best POS we have ever used!

This has hands down been the best experience with a POS company and software that I have had in over 35 years in the industry.

Pros

Functionality, ease of use, price, adaptability, continues upgrades with additions of new features, ability to request features

Cons

Customer phone service is very poor. Often get new and/or not well trained agent.

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

Unhappy with the features and price of Heartland. I compared over a dozen POS systems over the course of 2 months before deciding that Toast would be the perfect fit for us.

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Better features, better price, and best of all it was the most all in one solution
Anang
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/9/2019

Glad we selected this solution

Very pleased with our decision to replace our old solution with Toast.

Pros

Very feature rich with a robust online delivery platform that seamlessly integrates with the POS solution. Synchronization is almost immediate and we have seen a huge increase in online ordering already. The self service kiosk was easy to setup and has a great look and feel

Cons

Overwhelming and we have barely begun to turn on all the other features - customer loyalty, customer feedback, delivery and so on.

Alternatives Considered

Aloha Cloud, Revel Systems and Lightspeed Retail

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

Looking for increased capabilities such as kds and better customer support

Switched From

Clover

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Lower TCO and features we were looking for. Also has a bigger footprint in our city

Response from Toast

Hi Anang, Jasmine from Toast here. We're thrilled to hear you have been driving online orders with Toast Digital Ordering as well as enjoying Toast Kiosk. We hope you will soon be able to take advantage of everything Toast has to offer! Please refer to Toast Central at https://central.toasttab.com/s/ for best practices and educational material while you get rolling.

Replied 8/11/2019
Paulette
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2022

Best & Most Efficient POS System we have used in our 27 Years in Business

The best POS system we have ever used. It provides all the tools we need to run our small business. We will never go back and I love that you guys are constantly adding more features.

Pros

Online Ordering, reporting, ease of Menu updates, delivery by DoorDash… there is anything that I’m not impressed with.

Cons

Truly nothing… I absolutely love all the features that Toast offers

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

Toast is way more technologically advanced

Switched From

HungerRush 360

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

For a pizzeria it offered way more options… square just wasn’t as flexible with pizza combinations and delivery services
Elise
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2022

I love Toast!

My overall experience with Toast has been great. We love doing business with you.

Pros

I love that i can change a button on a dime, update prices easily and the customer service is friendly to work with and always helpful.

Cons

I don't like that during a power outage that there isn't a battery backup on the system so my staff can still update their tips before the 4:00 am batch out time for credit card processing. We recently lost power for almost 48 hrs and we were open, there was not really any plan in place per Toast. We cant just not pay our staff their hard earned tips.

Alternatives Considered

1Breadcrumb

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

its a better system, with better customer service.
Crista
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/3/2023

Best System

Toast is by far the best POS and payroll system I have ever worked with. Not having to toggle between and punch system, sales reporting, tip outs and payroll software. Everything is integrated and communicates well. I learn everyday the many capabilities Toast offers and very much enjoy working with the system. I also very much enjoy the customer service team. They are knowledgeable and provide response in a timely manner. They are always happy to help and go above and Beyond.

Pros

L working with many payroll systems over the years, this system is by far the best! The amount of features and levels are extensive. As I go through Toast, I learn more everyday the capabilities available.

Cons

I would like to see a more set procedure for private events and private dinning for the restaurant.

Alternatives Considered

Aloha EPOS

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Toast is completely integrated and provides more features.
Joan
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 14/10/2022

A Nightmare from Day 1

Customer service is abysmal. We got a hard sales pitch from their rep, and they knew we needed a seamless launch, as we have two busy locations. After several weeks of discussions and group calls with their rep, we were all assured by Toast rep, before launch date, that everything was set to go, no additional settings or tweaks would be needed. As it turned out, there were MANY essential steps that were never explained in advance. When I called the rep, and asked if she could do a one-on-one site visit to troubleshoot and complete setup (as other companies do!!) she rather snottily said, "I'm the sales rep, not customer service. We have a 24/7 sales line if you have problems." I asked to be referred to our dedicated service rep -- again, something every other company we deal with has -- and was told they don't offer that, only their 'help line.'!! When I expressed surprise, she got obnoxious and said "Well, we are the leader all over the world so we must be doing something right." Being that the setup is VERY un-user-friendly and counterintuitive, we were appalled, but had already invested a huge amount of time getting our online ordering transitioned to Toast and invested in the equipment, so decided to try to make it work. Ongoing, it's customer support, along with system function, has been terrible. Equipment has been gitchy and we've had many times where back of house functions misfire. It's been a disaster for our takeout orders, we've lost customers & $

Pros

It initially fulfilled our need to have orders print out directly in kitchen and for system to integrate with delivery services and online ordering...

Cons

1) Overly complicated for our front of house management 2) Customer service is abysmal - there is allegedly a 24/7 help line, which is NOT always available. There have been times when we had major system issues during busy hours and had to leave message to wait for a callback. Unlike every other b-to-b service we use, they don't have dedicated customer reps - all the manpower is in sales, and once they've got you installed -- even before successful setup -- they drop you. Bait and switch. 3) Proprietary equipment is expensive and prone to errors/breakdown

Mehdi
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 4/1/2023

Expensive but worth it

I like it very much . The integration prices are too high but the rest is fine.

Pros

Reports and analysis is so good and it's so user-friendly and so easy to learn and train for employees.

Cons

They are so busy when it comes to customer service but if you wait for them they definitely fix your issue but the problem is they're super busy for calls. But honestly for the past w years I had to call them like 2 times and the system worked so good all the time.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Choosing Toast POS

Better options on toast

Switched From

Clovers

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

Options and accuracy also the reports
Devin
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 18/2/2021

A disastrous experiment

The initial sales experience was exhausting. It's like they hire people from the mattress stores: they quote you prices at 4,000% of what they need and then call you constantly, coming down.

The equipment's sleek and they're good at helping with installation. But if you're a small outfit like mine, they probably sold you twice as much stuff as you need.

Pre-pandemic the customer service was on point. But then the Toast-Go that my coffee shop relied on (the mobile unit we used in our drive-thru window) crapped out; it just stopped charging. They sent me another one, but for five days or so the speed of our drive-thru service was significantly impaired.

Then the new Toast-Go crapped out: it just didn't charge anymore. Same thing. This time it was impossible to reach customer service. Apparently they laid off most everyone in COVID April. Maybe it was possible if you could wait on hold for a couple hours. There is no "callback" function on their customer service line: you have to listen to the music.

Through their awkward online customer service mechanism, I suggested they send me another MobileGo but let me hang onto the current one, in case it started charging again (the previous one had done this, after several days of lying dead, before I had to send it back). They never got back and ended up charging me for the new piece in spite of my warranty.

The new one crapped out. I canceled my contract. They're making me buy it out for $33 a month x 20. I hate Toast.

Pros

The UI is pretty intuitive and the reporting is very solid.

Cons

It failed constantly. They're charging me anyway.

Kristina
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/12/2022

Act Now!

Overall very satisfied with toast! Would recommend to any growing company!

Pros

User friendly! Customer service and software is up to current.

Cons

That it's still in the building blocks stages and it's not 100% full proof when integrated with third party deliveries. It will unarchive old data daily. One has to be very dedicated to this position to make it work!

Alternatives Considered

iCloud
Theo
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 26/3/2018

Toast is really a great system easy & saves time. Problems false promises from sales rep & cc...

Pros

That is super user friendly. Fast and overall a great system. Seriously aside from what I write in the CON section. Toast REALLY is the best software POS system I have worked with. Hands down.

Cons

The credit card processing fees they initially promise you they can match your current rates which they DO NOT its a LIE. Then customer service never gets back to you or passes you on to someone else then someone else and someone else. Never follow through with their promises and never can get ahold of your sales rep and he doesn't reply or follow through when you finally do get him on phone. Beware they will not match your credit card rate like they promise you. They will overcharge you if you don't watch exactly what they are taking out of you bank account. You will get charged for modules they say they will " give you for x amount of months free" and then continue getting charged and have to wait months and months and make a million phone calls to try and get your money back for 'free trials they charged you for and your money back for when you told them you didn't want them at all after "free trail" and they continue charging you. Biggest advice is get your credit card rates in clear upfront writing and sit down and figure it out. Make sure they are not screwing you. Because its not only happened to us but several other businesses.

Response from Toast

Hi Theo - It's great to hear that Toast has saved you time and made the business more efficient. We strive to make merchant processing as transparent and straightforward as possible. It's great advice to discuss rates upfront and get the clear rate breakdown. Please work with our Support team to address your concerns. We want to find a solution that works for you.

Replied 2/4/2018
Hunter
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/8/2023

Toast is great

The initial hump is really difficult to overcome, but toast is great once you start using it. I imagine it would be a lot more difficult if I didn't have any technical knowledge.

Pros

The ease of use for beginners is great. Very simple for new staff to start using with little training.

Cons

The install is very complicated with little help. Setup could be a bit better.

Alternatives Considered

SpotOn

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

I signed the contract first.

Response from Toast

Hi Hunter, thank you for your feedback. We're happy to know that we're meeting your needs as beginners. If you're looking for additional support, please join our new online community at community.toasttab.com. We hope to see you there!

Replied 16/8/2023
Denise
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 6/10/2021

Great Resource for Restaurant Management

Overall happy with the product and will likely continue to be as they are forever growing, expanding, and adding in relevant new services frequently.

Pros

Toast has been a serious upgrade to our establishment. It is very user friendly and operates off a more "in the times" type of software than some other very outdated POS systems. All of their staff is friendly. The third party integrations are endless and offer something for all kinds of businesses. Online ordering and the ability to have an unofficial doordash partnership is very helpful and easy to use.

Cons

Support is not always the most efficient or informative. We often find where they simply cannot help us during odd inquiries or glitches, or we get multiple answers from different people. We also would like to see toast work on a table management and waitlist system that is actually functional for the restaurant. Currently, they offer third party table management integrations, but we have done trials with a few and none have quite what we are looking for.

509 reviews