Workzone Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Workzone

Workzone is a project management solution that offers document management, project collaboration, customizable reporting, resource and task management and time tracking. The software is cloud-based and offers automated emailed...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.9

Browse Workzone Reviews

206 of 206 reviews
Sort by:
Saksham
Saksham
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/5/2022

Workzone Review

My overall experience with Workzone was good. It helped us in project and task management. It allowed us to transfer some tasks to another employee along with tracking their time to complete those tasks.

Pros

Workzone has an excellent dashboard that gives all the important information you need to see on the front. Another good feature of Workzone is that it allows users to save their own project as a template.

Cons

Workzone is a good tool for project management but with an outdated interface. It's user-interface needs to be updated. Also, sometimes there is a slight delay that occurs while updating the tasks.

Dan
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2022

Great Overall Project Management Tool

We use Workzone daily within our team to submit and track all marketing projects. As I mentioned, the tool is extremely user-friendly, and they are always adding new enhancements to make it even better. Compared to other project management tools that we've used in the past, WZ is by far the best!

Pros

Workzone had all of the main features we were looking for in a project management tool. It is extremely easy to use, and the support team is excellent and always accessible. The system was easy to implement into our everyday processes.

Cons

There is honestly nothing really negative I can say about Workzone to-date.

Stan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 27/1/2017

More than a project management software

WorkZone provides features not only for a project management system but for file management and version control as well. It is a combination of a number of tools required by an organization (Especially IT). We can easily share documents with others and manage the document version control as well. In terms of managing projects, it has almost all features available.

Pros

Well, it is a mix of a number of tools. Sometimes having more features are good but it can make the application complex for the users.

Cons

I would say, to work more on improving the interface and usability. Since you have a lot of functional apps as part of your tool, it would be great for users to have a great user interface.

Top Workzone Alternatives

Jane
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/2/2024

WorkZone for project management, task management, time tracking

Pros

Customer service and training support is awesome, very available and helpful.

Cons

adding tasks is a simple step but after using other PM software, it's not a quick return to enter multiple tasks, so some use excel or other format and import for multiple tasks.

Kyle
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/1/2021

Great tool, still in need of some improvement, service team is excellent

Overall it has been a very positive experience. The software does nearly everything we need it to do and does it pretty well. The customer service is great.

Pros

I like the ability to link tasks and create in-depth project templates. I like the reporting capabilities for resource management and hours tracking. I like the functionality of commenting and emailing through workzone all associated with a task and/or project.

Cons

The resource management reporting is in need of some crucial updates. The main issue currently is that it only removes hours that are marked complete. This is not helpful and can create major scheduling and resource management issues when a large task is 90% complete, but the reporting shows it as 0% complete.

The other major inconvenience is not being able to batch select tasks without having to check each tasks' check box. When you're deleting or moving or editing hundreds of tasks it is incredibly cumbersome. If you could select the top one hold shift and select the bottom one it would be a major time saver.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Workzone

Pricing was better than the high end and functionality was better than the low end. Also the support seemed like it would be much more helpful than the high end products.
Jodi
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/7/2021

Excellent Customer Service

A lot of agency will use several different platforms and you don't always realize that when its all very easily tracked in one place it drastically simplifies the process for your team. It really saves a lot of time by streamlining tasks and projects.

Pros

You have a designated customer success person working with you regularly to ensure you're getting the most out of the product. If you have any questions they are incredibly quick to respond and you always get a real person who is very knowledgable of the product.

Cons

I don't have a lot to say for cons. If there are any concerns, they address them right away. Even with implementation they'll jump in with suggestions if your team is struggling.

Joseph
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/5/2020

A welcome addition to our project management arsenal

Business problems are the quest to keep the myriad projects we have established moving forward. We have had more than 500 projects, many of them Campaigns with multiple sub tasks and deliverables, and it shows management what progress has been made, and where our manpower issues are in relation to the amount of work being produced.

Pros

Notifications are the key to keeping everyone honest. You know when your work is due. It's easy to use, and logical, once you figure out how the platform works. My coworkers begrudgingly respect it, but don't always embrace it. It has kept us honest and gives a clear-eyed view of the state of projects, either from the 10 feet level or the 10,000 foot level.

Cons

No, there are some quirks that you have to understand. My boss doesn't like to check off his tasks in "Approval Requested" and then "Creative Approval", but I understand why it's like this, so I'm OK with it. There was some initial resistance to the platform by some on the tea, but training and use have made that situation better.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Workzone

It had the best integration, functionality, training and reputation.
Junelle
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/8/2022

Incredible Support Team

Pros

We chose WorkZone after using Asana and realizing we needed more than a task management software to run our business. We're a start-up business and it was our first time using a PPM system. The tool itself is really helpful and customizable, but what attracted us the most to choosing WorkZone was the incredible customer support! Deployment and implementation is difficult for any new tool in a company, but the WorkZone team really helped me process what our team needed for success. They're quick to respond and have been extremely patient, and have even seemed really excited when our team finally began to use the tool.

Cons

One thing that makes projects a bit difficult is that there is no current option to leave a "blank" date for a task.

Sarah
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/12/2019

WorkZone is a great tool!

Pros

Requests forms, dashboard, project lists, mark-up tool, and reports.

Cons

I don't have any complaints about this tool; it's been very useful.

Erin
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/5/2020

Workzone is a great Project Management and file sharing tool!

Great, the team is amazing and super helpful

Pros

Large file sharing and ease of use and organization

Cons

I like everything and am still learning more every day

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Workzone

I am not sure, I was not involved in the decision making of why Workzone was chosen, but I am happy it was.
Kevin
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/8/2019

Workzone rollout, Daily use

Excellent experience, the tech support is terrific, online questions are answered immediately, most times a simple Google search results in your answer. Phone support is off the charts, I only had to leave a voicemail a few times and a follow up call was returned right away. Follow up from the sales/implementation team is excellent as well. I have used other products in a past work environment and this has been a main issue for me in the past, not so with the Workzone team.

Pros

Intuitive design/functionality. Flexible configuration/set-up, the product allows you to define user roles between different project types with the same individuals, (i.e. users can be reviewers in one work space while having a higher role defined in a different work space). Very cost effective product for our size of a company, to receive this powerful functionality at this cost point was important. We use it for engineering, sales/marketing as well as production/shop projects. We intend to eventually adapt our Quality-Six Sigma projects to use Workzone. Management really likes the visibility/accountability and reporting provided by Workzone. The time tracking function is easy to use and was a big seller for management.

Cons

When entering new tasks it is a little cumbersome to set the sequence of the tasks in the project view. The due date and task completion time automatically re-shuffle the sequence so if you make a mistake entering a task or sub task it can get confusing. It is easier in the GANNT chart view. Some users who aren't comfortable using a GANNT chart struggle a little bit with this when first starting out.
Project numbering by the automatic feature is restrictive, you cannot adapt it if you have a current method for numbering projects, so you still have to keep a data base/list of project numbers.

Bridget
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/6/2021

Incredible Software and Remarkable Customer Service

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! The software/platform (both pc/mac & mobile device) are intuitive and easy to use, once you fully understand/ are functioning within the platform. Our Project Management efficiency has increased tremendously. Though, there was a pretty steep learning curve from our previous platform, it has been well worth it. My best advice - just get in and use it daily, set up a Test Workspace where your teams are free to play, experiment, explore, build out, attach, etc.

OVER THE TOP & ABOVE AND BEYOND Customer Service from the WZ Team! The onboarding process, weekly zoom calls and recap emails were so helpful. We were included in the entire process - it was not one-sided at all ... they made suggestions/showed examples, yet we had say ... it was truly a WZ and Us/Admins team effort every step of the way! That being said, we/Admins had to own our end of things and were assigned 'homework' in between our calls, which truly helped keep the onboarding process moving along at a tangible pace.

SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENTS - the WZ Team really listens to your needs and 'could it do this?' suggestions. Since we've been using WZ, several updates/improvements have been made to enhance functionality.

TAKE ADVANTAGE OF Tutorials, Webinars and Knowledge Base - the WZ Team has done a PHENOMINAL job of making these available. Searching is easy, and if you can't find what you're looking for, their team is extremely quick to respond when you reach out for assistance.

Pros

The over all concept of how the software serves the needs of comprehensive Project Management. From small (one task) projects to massive (hundreds of tasks) projects, the WZ software is capable of organizing and tracking it ALL.

Cons

Some functionalities that we were accustomed to from our previous software weren't included, which is to be expected when you make a software switch such as this. But we found work-arounds, and/or made suggestions to the WZ Team as to potential improvements to functionality.

Daniel
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/4/2021

Workzone: The Professional Project Management Tool

Personally, I would definitely recommend Workzone if the price is not a problem, as it has many useful features and unlimited support and training.

Pros

Workzone is a powerful project management tool that has many professional features like client management, collaboration tools, time tracking and resource planning. Workzone hits the sweet spot between simple and too complex project management tools as it provides just enough features for professionals to use easily, without being overly difficult to use. It is also very versatile and is able to mesh with many different types of businesses or teams. This is definitely a great plus for businesses who wish to deploy Workzone across different departments. Another really useful feature I’ve found is task dependencies. This is where you link two tasks together and if one cannot be started without completing the other. Finally, the support is truly incredible as you can contact the Workzone support team every weekday during working hours through email or phone. Furthermore, there is an extensive knowledge base on the Workzone website where you can learn through FAQ’s, webinars and videos.

Cons

The biggest downside with Workzone is the hefty price tag of about $24-43 each user but this is somewhat justified because of the reliable support you receive and the unlimited training available for users. There is also a bit of a learning curve to Workzone but this is to be expected with project management tools but due to their many learning resources, Workzone is actually better than most.

Jen
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/12/2021

Intuitive and Effective Project Management Tool

The service I've received from the Workzone team has been incredible. I became the administrator of the software during Covid when a large portion of my team was laid off, including our design services specialist. I was experienced with the software as a user but didn't know how to set up workgroups, users, and reporting. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] our account rep., was quick to respond and made sure I got the help I needed to keep things moving. Nearly two years later I'm still serving as admin, and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his team have been most helpful and patient with my ongoing questions. The Workzone team has been a definite extension of our marketing and design team that has helped us maintain productivity with very limited human resources during these unprecedented times.

Pros

Our team has found Workzone to be an integral part of our project and resource management practices. The software is intuitive, easy to use, and user-friendly. It has allowed us to create efficiencies in managing our limited human resources for graphic design projects.

Cons

There really isn't anything I don't like about the software. It's so comprehensive, I know I haven't built an understanding of how to fully utilize the software.

Michael
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/6/2021

Great Product, Easy to use.

I have been very happy with Workzone. Having come from using MS Project Server, Workzone is a much easier piece of software to use for Project Management. MS Project is a bit too robust and not easy to scale down. Customer service has been great, quarterly status update meetings and training how to sessions are above and beyond. Having the same customer success manager really gives it a personal feel.

Pros

Ease of use, short learning curve for new users. Simplified format. Fantastic customer support.

Cons

Would be nice to have more plug-ins or API for our Microsoft products

John
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/7/2021

Order for a disorderly designer

Very good experience, overall. Workzone provides the needed structure to the often chaotic world of graphic design. A deep organizational feature set allows us to keep tabs on all of our projects, providing a consistent delivery of content to our clients.

Pros

To-do lists, push notifications, task lists, advanced search features.
Pretty easy to navigate for such a deep-featured software system.

Cons

I have had some difficulty returning to the overall task list from other pages.

Terri
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/8/2021

Great Software

Workzone brought us out of the dark ages!! It has been a pleasure working with Workzone over the last 4 years, it has been an overall great experience!

Pros

When we onboarded Workzone, we did not have a project management software. The integration was very easy, the software is very user friendly. I like the fact that when you check your task complete it notifies the next person in the timeline to start on their task. Workzone has also worked with us to help implement changes to help improve our business.

Cons

One thing that we've discussed with Workzone is the lack of a financial tool within the software. We know this is a project management software, first and foremost, but having that tool would amplify the system.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/9/2019

Great Experience with WorkZone

WorkZone has been very helpful in supporting our internal marketing and review processes. We needed a central source for our projects and documents, and WorkZone provided the perfect solution.

Pros

We chose this software because of the dual functionality...the project management and document storage/sharing. It's very intuitive and easy to use, and was easy to set up initially. Customer support is very responsive with training and any issues we have had....as well as very open to suggestions when we find something we would "like" to be able to do.

Cons

None that I can think of. Maybe a few idiosyncrasies in managing date changes, but with regular usage it became easier to manage.

Gail
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/3/2020

Great for project management and reviewing/routing projects

It's great for project management tool and useful for reviewing or routing projects that needs to be approved by different reviewers.

Pros

It's great for collaboration and our review and routing process. It also shows different versions, so we can go back and track a project at different stages. I like that I can send it to multiple reviewers and get their feedback or approval easily, all in one spot. It has a lot of features/options/settings available, which is great, but we don't even use all of the features/options/settings that are available. Overall, it's been really easy for me to use.

Cons

Sometimes I have issues with the calendar/dates feature, but it's not a big issue. I just have to adjust dates a lot because it's not as intuitive as I would have thought. It has a lot of features/options/settings, which might be overwhelming if you don't know exactly what you need it for.

Barbara
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/8/2019

Great Software

We used to track our deadlines with multiple spreadsheets. This allows one comprehensive place to organize our projects across all of our clients and all areas of the business - from project implementation through to invoicing.

Pros

We implemented Workzone years ago, and now our team relies on it daily. We can track all of our projects and deadlines for design, media, reports, etc. It offers the flexibility for us to use the software the way it works best for our company, and everyone is accountable to their tasks.

Cons

N/A - I do not have a "least" something I like about this software.

Julie
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/11/2021

Why Sammons likes Workzone as our PM system

Overall, we really like the simplicity of Workzone as a project management system. It works for our environment and workflow. We've used Workzone for over 10 years. I have quarterly meetings with a WZ rep and find this to be very valuable. Workzone has always been open to suggestions on recommendations for enhancements or additional to improve the system.

Pros

Ease of use, a simple way to manage and track projects

Cons

Some of the recent upgrades has caused confusion for reviews regarding when they are in the document manager section in regards to adding new versions of files that are routing for review vs adding files to the project folder. Unfortunately, this has caused some pain-points for us.

Zoey
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/2/2020

Workzone - Improving Agency Process and Relationships

Customization has given our team the freedom to create more effective internal processes and Gantt charts have revolutionized our Account Management touchpoints with clients. The markup feature has helped our clients clarify their needs and have more direct references while feeling more a part of the creative process. Not to mention the great support staff. Workzone has been a huge step in making our business more successful!

Pros

Customization, Gantt Charts, To-Do lists, markups, approvals

Cons

Page glitches when switching projects, some occasional UI malfunctions

Patricia
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/12/2021

Great Tool for Busy Office!

I've been using WorkZone for more than five years and each year we find more uses! Our office runs so smoothly because WorkZone keeps each staff person on track! Thanks!

Pros

We started using this for our design projects, but the longer we used it, we found this tracking system useful to track all of the projects we do. We enter our timelines for each event or activity and each staff can follow along and check off when their portion is done. This helps us keep our work flowing to completion.

Cons

I think the WorkZone Team has thought of everything!

Nathan
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/8/2017

WorkZone has literally changed the way we work and coordinate in our agency.

We are much more organized and able to meet project deadlines. Everyone can go to a central place to see where we're at on every aspect of the work.

Pros

WZ has a ton of features and helps us keep track of everything going on. I can look at the workload for each person on my team to know the status of their projects and where new work should be assigned.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, but that's probably true with most PM software. Sounds weird, but there can sometimes be too much granularity so that particular information can get buried in a random spot. Would love a better in-app notification system.

Lisa
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/2/2021

WZ user 4+ years

Our project management software prior to WZ was not collaborative nor was it able to facilitate task/responsibility tracking as needed. WZ has made my job much easier.

I am also appreciative of the WZ team as they are quick to respond to emails and have quarterly virtual meetings with me to discuss any issues I have with the software, as well as share new features. Having this ongoing interaction is valuable to me as a WZ administrator/project manager.

Pros

Overall WZ is inherently user friendly.

Cons

I am presently seeking more conducive facilitation of the calendar view. I have no doubt it will be addressed.

206 reviews