User Reviews Overview

About ELMO Software

ELMO Software is a cloud-based solution that helps thousands of organisations across Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom to effectively manage their people, process and pay. ELMO offers a comprehensive suite of cloud...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.4

Browse ELMO Software Reviews

235 of 235 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2022

User review

ELMO has been used by our HR team for over five years. It has gotten progressively better and easier to use. Now, I know exactly where to go in ESS, how to request information or support and have more clarity around my performance management, than ever before.

Pros

I use ESS ELMO software nearly every day in my role; for requesting leave, undertaking mandatory training, keeping an eye on performance KPI's and measurement.

Cons

Finding a payslip from my company is difficult.

Response from ELMO Software

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your positive experience when using ELMO's Employee Self-Service module. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Replied 18/10/2022
Andrea
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/8/2021

Improved a lot

Very satisfied with the latest version and appreciate the transparency provided for all users across the workforce from planner to user to performance review teams. The interactive aspects within the modules do help to improve engagement with the content (I used to just click past a lot).

Pros

Elmo has come a long way in the past few years from both the user and staff manager views. It was a dread in the past and now it provides a valuable and easy to use tool. This latest version has given me the inspiration to consider how this may be better used to facilitate the training of graduate students.

Cons

It would be interesting to have a "you might like" or optional courses section so that employees etc who might be looking for other areas to grow in can elect to do optional training for example in a university context a person from one of the Arts disciplines might like to learn more about animal care and ethics and thus want to do that module.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Andrea. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such a great review. Feedback like yours is crucial to the evolution of our solution. I have passed your feedback on to our Product Development team. We hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions.
Best wishes, ELMO

Replied 8/9/2021
Cassino
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/5/2023

Survey Only

Good and seems user friendly

Pros

First day using Elmo and too early to tell but I appreciate those who have done much

Cons

Too early to say, but so far so good, as we have just been introduced to this system.

Top ELMO Software Alternatives

Louella
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/3/2023

You NEW to ELMO Software too..

My overall experience has been one of ease and simplicity! Thank you.

Pros

Very easy to use and straight forward product. I can see this will be an easy transition.

Cons

I don't think I have been using the softward long enough to give a true indication of what I liked least. TBA.

Jonathan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/3/2023

Third Time using this software during onboarding process

Pros

Very Clean to the eye, you don't have to open multiple tabs to find anything very easy to use.

Cons

At this point in time I can not see any cons.

Milka
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/3/2023

trial review

very good

Pros

easy to use according to funtionability

Cons

it was a trial, waiting to review the actual main software when set up

Rakeshkumar
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/5/2023

Good Training Software

Awesome

Pros

Easy to access, and straightforward information

Cons

Very good software, and nothing least I like. I enjoyed

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/4/2023

ELMO Software

Pros

Nice interface, everything is at a glance and the features are easy to use. The icons for each heading is very helpful as well.

Cons

Perhaps more make the borders between the tasks and whatnot on the homepage a bit larger so it's a bit more easy to distinguish.

Jawad
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 5/4/2023

Best Employee's Services Software

Pros

The People and culture features are amazing on ELMO software

Cons

The workflow could be little better in terms of design and execution

Wayne
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 4/4/2023

Very good layout

Happy with the experience

Pros

Easy to use and excellent for training. Good to have via a digital platform.

Cons

Nothing negative to report, thought the software was very good

Helen
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/8/2021

Change your life with ELMO

Time to Onboard has been dramatically reduced and is now no longer a labour intensive process.
I am looking forward to providing meaningful reports to the business.

Pros

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time. In particular having project based work our Onboarding process has become so streamlined now we can onboard high numbers of employees at the same time.
As a Performance Appraisal system we found ELMO easy to develop and roll out. Our company had not been keen on Performance Appraisals in the past but ELMO was so well embraced we had 100% update on the first appraisal round.
We also find the more you use the system the more proficient you become.
The support provided by ELMO during the project implementation phase has been extremely supportive. We are now using the Help Desk and our issues are usually resolved within 24 to 48 hours.

Cons

If an employee has not completed all their documentation we would like an automatic alert. At this stage we need to manually check on this.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Helen. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such a great review, and thank you for your continued support. Our customers are at the heart of our business, and feedback like yours is invaluable. We have passed your feedback on to our Product Development team. We hope your organisation enjoys the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions.
Best wishes, ELMO Software.

Replied 8/9/2021
Kim
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/7/2021

ELMO learning is great

Pros

User friendly and great after sales support

Cons

it would be good to be able to assign 'course managers' so that other people in the business (other than admins) can manage attendance of specific training in their business units etc.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Kim. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team.
Kind regards, ELMO

Replied 8/9/2021
Ella
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 6/1/2023

Confusing feedback on module test/assessment

Pros

The module is clear, straightforward and provides key information supported with relevant visuals to enhance understanding especially if you are not a non-native speaker of English. Navigation is easy and and progress is recorded and indicated accurately.

Cons

I just used the learning module as a required training path from my employer. In one of the tests' questions, I made a wrong choice and scored 75% in my first trial. As feedback is provided immediately, I can see what the correct option is. So I went back and tried it again, choosing the right option as suggested by the feedback from the software. When I did so, my answer was still wrong. So I tried the third time, using my original answer, and it's still wrong. And I tried it again the fourth time using the suggested correct answer, and it's still wrong anyway. I've tried numerous times and now got confused. To be fair, my original answer would to some extent be right as no indication in the modul that the reading would lead to choosing the other options. Given it is a training module, and all information should be made in reasonable ways to allow readers to make intended conclusion or to assume the intended understanding, when the answers or options are hard to guess from the reading, I think the module needs further checking for content validation and construct reliability so the modul test is relevant to the module content. IMHO. Thanks.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Ella, thanks for your review and feedback. Sorry to hear you had issues with that particular learning module, we have passed your comments to our Product Development team. We are pleased you find ELMO's learning modules clear and straightforward. Many thanks, ELMO Team

Replied 2/2/2023
Tariq
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/8/2021

Great Learning, Good collaboration

Very positive

Pros

Learnings are organized and distributed in a way that it makes it easier for me to navigate and complete my assigned learning.

Cons

Searching for a specific training or looking for new / available trainings

Response from ELMO Software

Thanks so much for your review, Tariq. If you ever need any more help on ELMO Learning Management, your system administrator can reach out to your Account Manager to work out solutions specific to your needs.
Kind regards, ELMO

Replied 8/9/2021
Cidy
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 9/8/2021

Learning - Ease of Use

For the learning side of the system I think it is great. You can track all the modules you have done in the past and find new ones that you are interested in. I think the performance plan maybe a good think if the employee got to embrace it and make it their own. However; when you are instructed what to do it is a waste of time.

Pros

The learning modules are clear and simple to understand. They are not too lengthy that I lose interest in them. I am able to go back if I missed something too.

Cons

The performance plan. It is not helpful to an employee at all. Perhaps if I got to write my own goals I would care about it more. It is just another thing I have to do to tick boxes, so I think it is a waste of time.

Vasilios
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 30/8/2021

If you are a small business Do Not Buyt This Product

Very disappointing.

Pros

The only thing that was in line with the salesperson's demo was rewards and recognition.

Cons

The customer service is horrible, it is always on you to chase them.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Vasilios. We appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback.
Your Account Manager has been in contact with you to discuss your areas of concern so that we can work together to improve your experience with ELMO and deliver an effective outcome.
Thank you for your feedback,
ELMO Team

Replied 7/9/2021
Matthew
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 18/7/2019

ELMO Review

Elmo was supposed to provide us a seamless HRIS solution and could not be further from the truth. Many months down the track and we are still battling with the system. If it was not for the 3 year investment I have no doubt that I would have pulled the pin by now. Do not use this as your payroll solution, otherwise you will end up with headache after headache.

Pros

What was presented in the demo was so different to what was delivered. This included the customer service...

Cons

It was clunky. So many issues with it that they did not even know what to do half the time. Everything was always sent to the Dev team to look at.

Tony
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 8/12/2022

A 99% good experience

I have been using Elmo for quite some time and over all it has been an enjoyable experience. Even prior to using it for my job I used it to get some needed courses that started and were needed for my career in Security.

Pros

The software is well set out enabling me to see what courses I am yet to complete and they are easy to use across all hardware platforms (iPhone, computer etc.)

Cons

Occasionally there are issues with using an apple device that requires the course to be done on a computer. This delays what should be a quick and easy course into a long and drawn out one as access to a computer is difficult, where I always have my phone on me.

Response from ELMO Software

Thanks so much for your detailed review of ELMO, Tony! We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback on your experience over the years, and great to see you are still enjoying ELMO's LMS. We've passed on your feedback regarding mobile usage for your training to our Product Development Team. Many thanks, ELMO Team

Replied 13/12/2022
Deborah
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/11/2017

Easy to implement learning management system

Improved functionality from previous LMS, automated email reminders and easy to access cloud based system and course builder tool from anywhere.

Pros

Cloud based meant the system was easy to implement with little support required from internal IT resources. Very intuitive for end users with a clean interface, and most don't need much help to navigate around the system. Great support from implementation team even though it was phone based. Already experienced updates that have improved the functionality which is reassuring with product road map. Reporting really visual and easy to understand especially for managers. Very good value for money.

Cons

Data migration of learning records very manual but only a one-off pain point. Face to face event management is buried in system so not as intuitive for administrators and little visibility for facilitators that aren't administrators.

Thomas
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/2/2022

ELMO Software will benefit your business

Staff acquisition and management is the chief benefit I find, other than its excellent functionality as my personal HR-related portal. It is clear, well set up, ergonomic and logical.

Pros

The staff management and performance review features are logical and easy to use.

Cons

Once enrolled in certain courses by accident, I found they couldn't be removed.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Thomas. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate it! We hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Replied 15/2/2022
Trish
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/1/2018

Easy to use and administer HR system

One centralised HR system, one interface for usrs

Pros

User interface is familar and appealing
Performance and Learning modules are really simple and users like them
Workflow is simple for administrators
Account management support from ELMO is great
ELMO delivers to their roadmap, so things that are "coming" do happen

Cons

Recruitment module needs enhancements (they are coming)
Reporting could be more customisable
Would be good to have internal and external options for branding

Tashi
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2022

ELMO user friendly

I have no complaints yet

Pros

Leave management system: Employee can easily have access to their leave balances and apply for appropriate leave with ease. Thats because ELMO shows all the information's.

Cons

Don`t know yet. So far, I think this is serving my purpose.

Response from ELMO Software

Hi Tashi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you find ELMO's Leave Management solution easy to use. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Replied 17/10/2022
Jen
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

ELMO Review

We recently launched ELMO to our company and it is in the process of becoming the core component for training and development. The library has provided a good base and saved us a lot of time, effort and costs in the creation of basic courses as we did not have to start from scratch.
So far, all my interactions with the people who work at ELMO have been fantastic, they are a company that care about their people, and their people really want the products to work for you and your people.

Pros

The ELMO library, it gives a great starting point for any business that is wanting to develop ELearning modules.

Cons

The reporting needs to be real time, but I believe this is something ELMO is working on.
I also think an Administrator training course on how to create the moving pictures and other cool techniques that are used within the library courses would be useful.

Nicole
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/11/2022

Recommend ELMO

Pros

It is very intuitive and once I had used it for a few months I could troubleshoot most issues staff were having.

Cons

There are a few things it can't do, can't think of them off the top of my head, but I'm sure that is the same with all similar products.

Response from ELMO Software

Thanks so much for the review, Nicole! We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO Software. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Replied 2/12/2022
Tom
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/10/2018

Performance Management (appraisal)

people - very nice to deal with - very helpful
system - overall good

Pros

ELMO system is very user friendly and people who you will get to deal with are very nice

Cons

when designing the system to suit your organisation - you have to think of all the possibilities as it is either hard or not possible to change the formatting once go live until maybe you reach your end of year.

235 reviews