Stripe Billing Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Stripe Billing

Stripe Billing is a cloud-based solution that offers a varied set of unified APIs and tools that enable businesses to manage and accept payments online. Stripe Billing handles key payment functions, such as subscriptions,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.7

Browse Stripe Billing Reviews

129 of 129 reviews
Sort by:
Gustavo
Gustavo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/4/2022

The best in its class

Stripe Billing is the best way to start receiving payments from your customers via online. It does have a powerful dashboard full of features, a great customer service to guide you through any circumstance you need help with. The payouts are consistent, and I find them to be the best alternative in the market after trying different providers.

Pros

Powerful invoicing system
Recurring Payments capabilities
Great graphical dashboard
Top-notch customer support

Cons

The fees might be any lower than they are. 2.9% plus $0.3 plus 0.5% per recurring payments, increase the prices considerable, without counting on the federal taxes.

Alternatives Considered

PayPal, Amazon Pay and Braintree

Reasons for Switching to Stripe Billing

Stripe is easier to configure, does provide better customer support, the API and dashboard are way better than all those alternatives, and the features overall go beyond than the ones offered by its counterparts. Additionally, getting access to Stripe was a straightforward process in comparison to other alternatives full of hurdles.
Casey
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/6/2023

The perfect payment processing platform

I switched to stripe from my previous payment processor and haven't looked back since. I thought there was going to be a ton of HTML coding involved, but the stripe client portal made onboarding new clients and transitioning my existing clients super simple.

Pros

Stripe does not have a user cost. The only fee's are the processing fees per transaction. I also really enjoy the dashboard- so much data for the average user.

Cons

The size of the stripe platform seems to scale for major corporations, as a one man business, I wish I could scale down the features to de-clutter my platform.

Alternatives Considered

PayPal Commerce Platform

Reasons for Choosing Stripe Billing

My business grew to the point where I needed a software that could handle subscriptions, standalone purchases, and business invoices.

Switched From

PayPal

Reasons for Switching to Stripe Billing

It was an all in one software that came with a client portal
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 18/12/2022

Low visibility

Pros

You can collect payments quickly and you know it’s secure.

Cons

Fees and high and it’s hard to track customer payments.

Top Stripe Billing Alternatives

adonay
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/9/2020

The best payment gateway

Mostly great, like I said, the learning curve isn't the shortest, but as they have lots of options (that, after going through that learning curve you'll find they're needed in order to give your customers the best options and support) you'll be able to offer a great service for your clients, no need to get in trouble with clients because of the payment gateway.

Pros

They take privacy in a very serious way. And they know their product is used mostly by developers, so their site has plenty of support, examples forums and every kind of resource that makes it easier for developers to implement payments on any platform. Also, they have options to manage clients and subscriptions that can be billed for in a fixed period of time, give them free trials, etc. Their commissions aren't the cheapest, but I consider they aren't also very expensive.
Another thing that we liked is that they keep developing their offer, like accepting payments via convenience stores (currently in beta while i'm writing this review)

Cons

It has a big learning curve. At first it's difficult to get familiar with all the concepts they use for their different parts of the process, I wasn't able to find a simple tutorial on their site (found some in external sites).

DeAnn
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/6/2022

Great Payment Feature

Pros

Stripe is easy to use and set-up in a variety of apps. I can easily intergrade Stripe on registration form or event.

Cons

Unless you pay for a plan, customers can register but can bypass payment; leaving the accounting to follow up with individuals who did not have a Stripe account to collet another form of payment.

Alternatives Considered

Vanco Faith

Reasons for Choosing Stripe Billing

There were issues with PayPal and it was more expensive than Stripe. Plus, we use Wufoo form builder and Stripe is under their company.

Switched From

PayPal

Reasons for Switching to Stripe Billing

Stripe was most cost effective.
Fabio
Fabio
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 5/5/2023

Te easiest to use platform

It's the set-and-forget kind of thing, once you set it up the first time, you might as well leave it there and never get back to your dashboard.

Pros

It's extremely user friendly and you can get started in no time, it's unlikely you won't find the UI easy to use and intuitive if you have a little bit of experience. Besides, you can integrate it with just about ANYTHING and that's a huge plus because of the versatility it allows. I don't really use the invoice customisation, but I tested it and it's a breeze.

Cons

Maybe there are not too many payments methods available. I also think that, if you don't have any experience with payment/billing/invoicing platform, the learning curve could be a bit steep.

Alternatives Considered

Square Payments

Reasons for Switching to Stripe Billing

I actually use another platform as well, so I didn't really have to "choose"!
Ani
Ani
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/4/2022

My Money

Pros

It's easy to set up products, coupons, pretty much all the choices I need to make my clients experience easy & simple

Cons

Wish they had an app, that would make my job easier to collect my money from one place only.

Bolortuya
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2023

Stripe review

Pros

Stripe Billing is an easy convenient way to invoice and track customers with or without having to create a subscription. Also, most of the fields are customizable which allows to add our company flare to it.

Cons

Subscriptions are much harder to manage than they make it seem to be, also if an invoice needs to be amended the due date cannot be kept the same which is a hassle.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Desk and QuickBooks Online

Switched From

Zoho Desk
Arjun
Arjun
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/12/2023

Fastest, easiest way to get set up on billing

I've had a great time with the product. It is incredibly convenient to work with through portal and API, and meets most of my business needs, though I wish I could manage some of my paper check payments with it, and that the subscription product wans't trying to upsell me constantly. That said, it's an easy recommendation.

Pros

- incredibly fast to set your business up
- API is very direct and flexible for subscriptions, billing, invoices, you name it
- very easy to attach metadata and connect back to other platforms
- online portal is quite useful

Cons

- too many upsells on the subscription management service
- poor at handling partial payments
- cannot handle physical payments (check). lockbox feature has been in beta forever.

Dawn
Dawn
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

"Streamlining Finances: A Quick Review of Stripe Billing"

The stripe platform intuitive interface

Pros

user-friendly interface, robust feature

Cons

I like everything about stripe billing.

Caitlin
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2019

Tricky to navigate interface but a better business option than PayPal

Pros

It is more reliable than PayPal for business use. I haven't had any account freezes yet (which had become an issue with PayPal).

Cons

The user experience could definitely use some work. The interface is a little tricky to navigate.

Chika
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/5/2021

Stripe Review

Stripe is a fantastic online-only credit card processor with reasonable processing rates and little hidden fees. Businesses with developers that can create a custom online e-commerce experience would benefit from the free and straightforward API. Businesses with limited technological resources will be forced to pay extra for an e-commerce solution.

Pros

Stripe is very straight forward when it comes to making online payments. Stripe charges a flat fee for accepting online credit card payments. The company has excellent developer tools, predictable flat-rate pricing, advanced reporting tools, integrates properly with Xero accounting software. excellent marketplace tools, exceptional subscription tools, multi-currency support and its ideal for international merchants. Stripe offers secure transactions, easy to use reporting features and consistent service.

Cons

It’s UI could be improved. There isn't a clear breakdown of fees when it comes to volume discounts. There is no automatic tax assistance. This is the most important one for us. Stripe allows you to define tax rates for customers that need to process complex tax scenarios like collecting VAT or GST, but your software team must build out the infrastructure to support appropriate collection. In the future, I hope Stripe improves its built-in tax support.

Andrew
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/4/2023

Best for SaaS Startups

Pros

Stripe's billing features, especially Checkout, make the platform a dream to use. Their ability to sign up immediately with no onboarding call removes such a barrier to entry for the platform. The best part is that Stripe's Checkout product will create a no-code checkout, absolving you from handwriting checkout flows for your customer, saving countless hours.

Cons

I personally have had no issues with Stripe's support, however, I have heard many stories of people being denied access to the platform for a multitude of reasons that don't make a ton of sense. Additionally, the chargeback fees are quite predatory, with a $15 **non-refundable** dispute fee which renders business losing $$ on chargebacks for products <$15

Chris
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/8/2022

Must Have For Your Business

Awesome experience, and use it as much as I can when I can!

Pros

Very easy and simple to use interface. Easy to navigate and get a read on your business transactions.

Cons

Wish the software I use now would incorporate a stripe option!

Alternatives Considered

PayPal

Reasons for Switching to Stripe Billing

Use them in addition.
Mike
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/12/2022

Glowing Review - One Of The Best Payment Processors

Excellent. Highly recommend this over any other payment processing platforms.

Pros

Without a shadow of a doubt, Stripe is one of the best payment processors out there. From integrations with web platforms, the ease of use, creating invoices, and everything in between that's needed for a small business. I completely trust Stripe and use the payment processor.

Cons

I would prefer lower fees and faster transfers, but as it is - I'm still satisfied with their service.

Nick
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 7/12/2023

Great solution for small business

Been using for 3 years in a small business setting

Pros

It is easy to use for collecting payments by debit and credit card. It is a platform our customers are confortable with and they dont encounter any problems making payment.

Cons

Not always easy to understand fee structure

Craig
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/9/2019

The best way to collect subscription fees!

I used stripe to handle a high volume of daily subscription charges and could not be happier with my experience!

Pros

Stripe is the most reliable subscription billing service in the game. If you have lots of subscriptions that you need charged / processed, then make sure to use stripe because they will make your processes simple, customized, and most importantly secure

Cons

I do wish that, if and when a credit card does not process through because of human error entering info wrong, all the card would not disappear. This is likely a security measure, however would make the user experience better.

Amanda
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/4/2023

A valuable addition to my business.

Happy with the solution and have recommended it to several others

Pros

For me the acceptance of credit cards is a valuable addition to my booking website and Stripe offers an integrated and seamless solution that has served me well for 2.5 years

Cons

Payment a full 7 days after receipt of funds is slow and I understand some other customers get it in 3 or 5 days. I would have hoped that my payment history would have built sufficiently by now to get the best terms.

Shanda
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/6/2021

Easy to Use and Customize

It's the best alternative to PayPal I've found. It costs almost exactly the same and has none of the headaches (in my personal experience, anyway). Highly recommended!

Pros

I think it's great that this software allows you to create and customise a wide variety of invoice types - It takes a lot of the maths out and gives me less room for small mistakes that can really add up.

Cons

While I do understand the pricing model, I wish that there was a flat rate to use it instead of essentially charging exactly what PayPal does.

Andrea
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2018

Stripe billing review

Overall this product is a breeze to use! I get email notifications all the time if there is activity and I get payouts quickly and efficiently.

Pros

I use this product for the squarespace website and it's so easy to use! It gives me all my sales information and it's very clear when I'll get paid out.

Cons

Only downside is they take a transaction fee however it's really not that much so it's no big deal. Great asset for my website

Matt
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/6/2020

Great product to do reoccurring payments

Pros

This software is great for setting up payment plans and reoccurring payments, it will collect payment and send the client an invoice

Cons

The only bit about this software that is frustrating is that it takes a while for the money to arrive in your bank.

Sarah
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/5/2019

Mainly use it for disputes, and it makes the process simple

Stripe Billing is easy to use, as it is all mapped out for you

Pros

Responding to disputes is very simple, time-consuming but there isn't much that Stripe can do about that part

Cons

Having to download every conversation with a customer via PDF takes a lot of time

Starène Juldanie
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 8/1/2023

A fast and transparent Stripe Billing management software

Pros

I appreciated the speed and ease in receiving money and the transparency in the follow-up of the fractures

Cons

I didn't like the customer service of the software, because the live chat of the service is not good.

Gin Fung
Gin Fung
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/6/2023

Efficient and simple system

Reliable and trusted services for me and my clients

Pros

Easy to use, and very programmable if needed at more integrated level. I use only the basic function with integration with my other software, very good compatibility.

Cons

It is more expensive than other platforms for the basic user like myself

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/12/2022

Simple, painless EHR integration

Pros

The connectivity and flow with my EHR system.

Cons

Fees can be high in comparison to other payment processors.

129 reviews