User Reviews Overview

About Lightspeed POS

Crafted specifically for the hospitality industry and perfect for cafes, restaurants, bars, and any other hospitality business imaginable. Lightspeed Kounta POS is the point of sale that is easy to use, simple to manage and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4

Browse Lightspeed POS Reviews

123 of 123 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/1/2018

AWESOME CLOUD BASED APPLICATION FOR THE INEXPERIENCED

Pros

This is a very easy POS to use, all cloud based so access at any time is a cinch! for a newby in hospitality without any experience setting up a point of sale its been a relatively simple task. The access to support staff is very good however expended communication hours would be a benefit for the busy people who work on this stuff at night time.

Cons

Haven't come across any yet! if there is one thing so for it's integrating add on's, seems to be a little confusing! but i'm sure that is largely due to my inexperience.

Marchelle
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/7/2021

Lightspeed is an excellent partner to us

Lightspeed is a true partner with us at Campus Towers. With their programs we have a reliable easy to use program. We are very satisfied with the service provided.

Pros

Lightspeed is so easy to use. The simplicity of the program makes it so efficient for even my newest team members to use. We would be lost without it. The service team is outstanding to work with. The reliability is outstanding.

Cons

Actually we are very satisfied with the services that we are receiving from Lightspeed.

Sean
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 6/9/2022

Not The Same Company They Used To Be

The first two years we used Lightspeed was awesome. Year three the software was failing weekly.
We went two weeks without the inventory purchase order system, because Lightspeed told us it was a probelm on our end. The deny they had problems. We went a long time without being able to process payments because a clitch in their system. I personally beleive they were growing too fast. It was clear that they accepted that they would loose customers through out the process.

Pros

When we started with Lightspeed it was awesome. There was a time I couldn't say enough about how much we liked Lightspeed.

Cons

As they grew and added features and modules the program always had serious deabilitating gliches.
Their customers support went from A+ to F in three years.

Top Lightspeed POS Alternatives

Evan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 22/3/2017

Highly adaptable and intuitive POS

Kounta as a POS system has been able to grow with us, providing flexibility and ease of use that is a massive relief when you have the pressures of an expanding business to contend with.

The ability to simply add or subtract registers, combined with the functionality of a internet based system makes change relatively pain free. Wireless waiter stations, Albert pay terminals, Bluetooth printers (which I don't have but am excited about and will probably get), its all so easy to use.

Why pay thousands of dollars in cabling, installation costs and labour in setting up your system? Good question - i'm not sure! Just research what you want - call Kounta, put it in and download the software... add your products, tailor it the way you want, and go for it!

Pros

Ease of alteration and basic use for staff

Cons

The back end of product input is a little cumbersome - a simply category/sub-category/sub-sub category system works best. Sometimes this is represented by Department/category/sub-category either way, it is far more flexible for product input, button organisation and more granular for reporting.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/2/2020

Not worthed as the expensive price

I know amount that i calculate manual in every type of payment are balance or not because kounta showing it amount minus or over, so we can double check before we accept to close cashier or shift.

Pros

Display of the pos is look modern and kounta can create recipen and inventory and back office. Pso system complet with back office.

Cons

Actually they have good features in back office for reporting. But not as good as inventory system by itself. First, POS system not completly all transaction is automaticly show in the report when want to do closing cashier (shift), like we need to do manual calculated some other transaction except cash like card and gofood payment as i used to. Because you have to submit all your type of payment on closing time then you will get report that will show your manual calculted are balance or not, split bill need to do by amount not by item, mostly apps that i was using were by item. Second, we need to buy with additional charge to get more features that we can see more details report (like insight and purchase) and that is expensive. If you dont buy, you will not get clear report as you need for analyzing restaurant performance. Third, menu item that you sell and item only you use for recipe are the same product list. Fourth, service charge and tax calculations are confusing to get the right amount. Every report that you want to dowbload as csv as not that correct way as csv.

Stuart
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/5/2021

Industry standard POS software with learning curve

Mostly positive. There is a leaning curve. Gets the job done and is industry standard for bicycles.

Pros

This software is the industry standard in the bike industry. Most common item are in their database and it does everything that it needs to do. There is a learning curve and it is not clear, to me, if cloud backup is available for records. I have read about integration with quick books but have yet to explore this feature.

Cons

Searchable help, including FAQ, while using would be helpful. Item names appear partially when searching until you click on them. This makes it hard to differentiate between 2 similar items.

Kim
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/6/2021

LightSpeed Success

LightSpeed support is superior to all other product support I am getting both from a business standpoint as well as personal. Their response is quick and understandable.

Pros

Easy to use backed up by professional support. Conversion and training was excellent.

Cons

Consignment reporting requires a couple extra steps from my previous product.

Greg
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/2/2015

Kounta review from a "cloud integrator" perspective

I am a cloud integrator and have implemented a number of Xero + POS add-ons. I select Kounta for my customers purely on its hospitality focus and it's table management add-on. I have been really impressed with how it handles the concept of modifiers and how smooth the integration is with Tyro electronic payments.

However, I feel that there is a lot of navigating around the 'back office' to get what you need to get done. The CSV data importers are good, but I still found I had to do many repetitive updates manually via the user interface that the importer didn't support. The user interface is a bit big and boxy for my liking but understandably some see this as a benefit if working off a tablet in a cafe most of the time.

The client registration process was a bit tedious (maybe at least for us implementers/advisers) but when up and running my customers love the product. The POS register is really powerful and soon after becoming power users the only niggling complaint I get are small enhancements to customisations which are unfortunately locked down in the product anyway. e.g. layouts on receipts, dockets, shortcuts panel, etc.

I have also been really impressed with Kounta's email support and communication on release notes. You can really tell they are working hard in making this product better and better. Personally, I would like to see more flexible pricing plans for store owners that have multiple (small-sized) cafes, which will hopefully encourage the greater use of bump screens for the Kitchen/Brewster and mobile registers where waiting staff can take orders + electronic payments at the table. Maybe I am just over the little pad and pencil.

In short, I am a big fan of Kounta POS in food & beverage. Totally recommend.

Andrew
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 8/6/2017

It is the only cloud based pos for hospitality I think we could use and run our business

It allows us to easily manage customer transaction and to report on total sales and products in a really efficient way. We've grown in our understanding of our business enormously just reusing kounta

Pros

The sales transaction from start to checkout is great. The printing of customer orders in multiple locations plus the kitchen. Modifier are also the best in the market.

Cons

Scales and scanner integration for use with a retail store. Scales can't be and scanner with Windows is clunky

Amelia
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Great Customer support

Immediate customer support is a huge plus

Pros

Ideal for hospitality..providing hospitality POS solutions that were once considerably more expensive. Understands the Australian market. Great customer support. Was having a problem at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning and got an immediate response from a real human. Big ticks for that!
Easy to update and maintain.

Cons

a little bit steep for a new business. But overall a great piece of software..the retail capacity is limited but works well for a cafe with a few retail items.

Emma
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/2/2018

Great product

Pros

Easy to use
Easy layout to navigate
Colour coafing
Can add photos of products
Lots of addon options

Cons

Cost for multiple registers
No learning platform for new staff
Addons can be costly
Account customer function could be better

Kim
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/4/2017

Hombre Franchising

Always have great support and easy system with great plans for working with franchises to improve platform

Pros

Works with us to improve

Cons

Reporting needs improving

Kathryn
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/3/2017

Kounta Online POS

Looking for a POS system for our new business we looked into quite a few. Kounta has been one of the easiest to use. Simple product additions. Great customer interface and fool proof back office. Syncs perfectly with our accounting software. Makes doing business so much easier

Pros

Its simplicity.

Cons

Needs to have addable categories for individual business needs

Peggy
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/11/2016

POS software

This POS software is very user friendly both for set up and day to day to day. That said, there are some functions that don't have great instructions and the user has to revert to trial and error

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Instructions are a bit vague

Response from Kounta

Hey Peggy,

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and would like to take this opportunity to understand how we can support you even better.

Please reach out to [email protected] for a session on our system.

Replied 15/11/2016
Jarel
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 9/11/2021

Good POS for smaller business

Pros

Cloud based with handheld hardware options

Cons

NOt able to expand out into any CRM functions

Brett
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/6/2017

Kounta has catapulted our Maleny Bowls Club into the 21st century literally overnight.

It has literally transformed our business model into a user friendly (especially for our team of volunteers who are mostly over retirement age and not accustomed to technology), dynamic management system that provides improved stock controls and incredible reporting for our management committee.

Pros

Ease of use for our volunteers has been a godsend. Back of house statistics, reporting and stock control make life so easy for our Providore and Treasurer. We now have mobile fingertip management of all aspects of our operations which is sensational. Within 14 days of introduction from our previous "cash only" operations we are exceeding 40% of transactions being on EFTPOS with functions running over 90%.

Michael
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/5/2017

Overall easy to use system and is adaptable to the business needs

Pros

Loading of products and workflow, quick to use in counter, easy to customise orders on the fly, fast reporting

Cons

Unable to customize and automate reports within the plan I am on, bump screen is not accurate and sometimes slow, unable to use Deputy Staff tracker as using Android is not supported

Amanulla
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/3/2018

All my quires been taken care and solved as I wanted

Pros

its user friendly and easy to explain to all new staff its user friendly and easy to explain to all new staff

Cons

Loyal tee customer connection Loyal tee customer connection Loyal tee customer connection Loyal tee customer connection

Benedict
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2017

My experience with Kounta POS

Thanks to the great resources and easy to follow guides found in Kounta TV & Kounta Support Setup Videos, I didn't even have to call customer service for tech support to setup my initial kounta program. It was up and running in minutes for me.

Pros

It is an easy to understand system that a no technical background person can set it up easily.
Its features are well thought out which easily enhance the confidence of any front counter staff that use them for the first time.

Cons

Every software has its weaknesses, however, it seems that improvements (new releases) are consistent. That helps in this face paced hospitality industry.

Maria
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/9/2018

FANTASTIC ADDITION TO OUR POP-UP SHOP

Used for our Pop-Up store but now considering if we should change our current system to this - staff loved the ease of it as well

Pros

We've just finished running a month long Pop-Up shop and used Kounta on our Albert Merchant terminal device - easy to load & manage items and ease of functionality made it a fantastic addition and didn't take up a lot of space as a normal cash register - other merchants were impressed by it as well as they had never seen it being run on a merchant terminal

Cons

We didn't find any cons with the software

Kahlia
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 16/5/2017

great/easy/mostly simple

quick easy service, with less room for staff mistakes, easy tracking reports & streamline service.

Pros

easy to set up, basic steps guides to help you along.
Adding photos of products is a great tool to help the staff learn where items are in the till.

Cons

Having to wait for a call back - sometimes we need to troubleshoot/fix our problems straight away. booking a call is sometimes for us inconvenient.
Cash out with inter grated eftpos is too complicated and does not simplify it for my staff.

Mark
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/3/2017

Kounta Review Grazers Yorkshire Ltd

Having used Kounta for 4 months it is proving it's worth. Running the system on Jiffy Vans it allows me to be able to take card payments linked to an izettle card reader. It is easy to update, has a great range of back office information which can help with menu planning, logistics, cash reconciliation and more. Customers love the set up and are amazed when they see such a system on the vans. With regular updates and good customer support Kounta is now an important tool in my business.

Pros

Form, Function and ease of use

Cons

Can sometimes reload during transaction but it is very quick.

Stefan
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/2/2015

Kounta- great service, great team- a young company going places

Kounta has continually supported us from the initial set up in our retail stores to the continual development of the back office. Kounta has tailored its offering to suit our business needs and continues to take on board our feedback and our requests for newer developments. We have seen Kounta grow from a simple interface to a more well rounded solution. We find their support to be good. As our needs grow we hope that Kounta can continue to move with us.

The POS interface has continually developed since its inception, this aspect has been excellent. There are elements of the back office that we would like more development in so we can use Kounta as a one stop shop. For a business that is starting out Kounta is a viable option. For a bigger business with more reporting tools and statistical needs Kounta would be satisfactory.

Romain
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/3/2019

So easy, efficient support

Glad we moved to this POS system and better in terms of accounting that it has ever been for us. It is really functional and all team from different ages found it great and easy to work with

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up. Quick answers from support team and menus wntwred overnight with precision

Cons

Nothing at the moment despite using it for 5 months across 2 outlets

Simon
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/5/2018

This has been a very easy program to use and the help desk has been great

Pros

How easy it has been for my staff to use, the cost was a big factor when I chose to use Kounta as many over cost more and the support has been outstanding.

Cons

I need the ability to put notes with the end of day cash up, for Auditing purposes. It would also be good to have the finalised takings number on the end of day print out.

123 reviews