User Reviews Overview

About WordPress

WordPress is an open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL that helps small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.1

Browse WordPress Reviews

14,021 of 14,021 reviews
Sort by:
Fernando Manoel
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 5/8/2022

Web content building tool

I use several CMS to build websites, landing pages and e-commerce's. WordPress is without a doubt one of the best. It's easy to manage, and it has a regularly active community that helps web content developers solve day-to-day problems.

Pros

WordPress is one of the best CMS tools out there today. With it, it's easy to create web pages, blogs and even e-commerce. Content Management is also a straightforward task, along with scheduling posts. By installing some plugins, you get the expansion of routine automation tools that make building, posting and managing content for the internet much easier.

Cons

The tool is excellent, but there are some functions that we need to install plugins that I believe could be native to the basic installation, such as forms integrated with landing pages

Alternatives Considered

Drupal and Joomla

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

WordPress offers more tools, templates and has a large community that supports day to day issues

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

I adapted better to the structure of WordPress. I felt it was much simpler to customize and manage for websites and landing pages
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/9/2022

I've been using WordPress for years to build websites.

At the beginning, WordPress was a learning curve. Years later, WordPress is easy for me to use. I do understand why many people investing in tutorials or designers to get their websites up and running.

Pros

WordPress is a free open source software. I like that you can use plugins and your own themes to build really nice websites and online shops.

Cons

While WordPress has gotten better at providing tutorials on how to use their software, things can get confusing fast if you don't know what you're doing. WordPress comes with templates that you can use right out the box, but they can be pretty limiting.

Alternatives Considered

Squarespace and Weebly

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

WordPress has plugins and WordPress gives you the ability to work outside of constraints and templates.

Switched From

Wix, Weebly and Blogger

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

WordPress is more cost effective.
Chetan
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 4/8/2022

Great platform for users with previous Web Development background

Pros

- Multitude of integrations to incorporate most modern workflows you would require from a website.
- Cheaper to start with and go live with a basic website.

Cons

- UI/UX is old and clunky.
- Lack of user support.

Alternatives Considered

Webflow

Top WordPress Alternatives

Kristen
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/6/2022

Good Blogging Software

Overall, this software is great for someone who wants to work on a computer. But if you are planning to use the mobile app a lot, it’s extremely glitchy and not a great fit.

Pros

I loved how easy it was to get set up with WordPress and the fact that there are a lot of free widgets, templates, etc. available. Their customer support was also very quick to respond and overall it offered the tools to make a beautiful modern website for our business.

Cons

The software is very under developed and glitchy. I had to reach out to customer support many times and it was very inefficient. The app does not function well, and I primarily use mobile devices for accessing the site as I don’t always have time to get to a computer. It does work well on the computer though.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

I didn’t like the lack of features and price on GoDaddy.

Switched From

GoDaddy Website Builder

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Looked to have better features, more modern, better support.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/9/2022

Wish is was simpler to use

My overall experience with wordpress is good I still use it for my business, great features but a little to difficult to use especially for someone with little to no knowledge on designing and customizing a website for their business.

Pros

There are great features in Wordpress, the free website is very useful. I used the free and paid plans. I think wordpress for me the free website sometimes comes like a paid website I am still able to reach people, well maybe not as much as the paid website. But it is still very useful.

Cons

It gets a bit complicated to use at times. It took me quite sometime to actually figure out how to use it and I have and still use wordpress for 2 years and no doubt I still have a difficult time using it for my business.

Alternatives Considered

Wix, Squarespace and GoDaddy Website Builder

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

To be honest although wordpress is a bit difficult to understand in the beginning. You are able to reach more people and acquire followers for my blog and I used it for free for quite some time until I decided to purchase one year plans. The free website is great as well I still get visitors and likes on my blog. As for the others that I have tried to use for free for a while it didn't give me the same experience or result I have with wordpress. I'm still learning wordpress and will still choose it over most website builders.
Hylda
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/9/2022

WordPress is ideal for creating websites without coding knowledge

Overall, WordPress is a wonderful and user-friendly platform for creating a website.

Pros

What is most advantageous is that WordPress offers many options to create a very professional looking website without having to have coding knowledge. Our company reports on incidents globally in real time, so edits must be done in real time with relative ease.

Cons

The countless number of plug-ins can get a bit cumbersome, with some being offered for free, while others are not.

Alternatives Considered

Drupal Commerce

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

WordPress offers far more ability for customization without having to wait for someone to write code for us, particularly as it applied to our marketing and pricing pages.

Switched From

Drupal

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

We wanted more leeway for managing certain landing pages that Drupal could not offer.
Patrik
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/9/2022

Wordpress for your website, ecommerce or what you need to do online

For example, when I have needed a system to only make material available to members, I have been able to build it quite easily with Wordpress. The company's website runs on Wordpress. E-commerce runs with Wordpress and WooCommerce. There are times when a special system works better than a Wordpress site, but the possibilities are great with Wordpress at a reasonable cost.

Pros

The biggest advantage of Wordpress is the open source software that has made it possible for you to find all kinds of building blocks that you could possibly need. You can build a complete e-commerce site for free and you can build a support site for your company without it costing you a penny. The possibilities with Wordpress are practically endless. Its prevalence also makes it easy to find qualified professional help at a reasonable cost.

Cons

The open, free system also means that you are expected to take care of everything yourself - or, hire the knowledge.
So the threshold can be high for those who are not used to it, but help is available.

Alternatives Considered

Joomla and Shopify

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Wordpress is easier to work with and has a better library of free/paid plugins. Save on recurring fees.
Simone
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 7/9/2022

Best choice for a Content Management System nowadays

If used properly, as a classic CMS able to handle "classic" websites, news websites, simple ecommerce websites, Wordpress is the right choice. When things get harder, you would probably prefer to switch to other solutions.

Pros

Wordpress is broadly used. A massive amount of websites nowadays are based on Wordpress platform. This means you will always find someone able to use its CMS, develop new features for a WP based website, assess issues, etc. This is not true for any other available CMS.
The availability of a massive amount of plugins, and the ability to write your own pretty easily is a plus.

Cons

You can't rely solely on Wordpress for complex web projects. Trying to fit a complex web project in a Wordpress platform just because you want to use WP is a very bad choice (and unfortunately it happens quite often).
Documentation for developers is not always super clear.

Alternatives Considered

Drupal

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

Ease of use, availability of technical resources

Switched From

Drupal and Joomla

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Ease of use, availability of technical resources
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/8/2022

My WordPress Experience

I'm very satisfied with the experience so far. I would recommend it to e-commerce business owners and blog writers.

Pros

For the past 2 years, putting products into WordPress WooCommerce is just an easy task! The platform has a ready-made and easy-to-navigate system wherein I can put the attributes and specs. Also at WordPress Gutenberg, I can make a nice design of the product/article through the blocks. The blocks are very easy to navigate and it gives me the freedom to do what I want.

Cons

none so far. I'm enjoying using WordPress so far and I haven't encounter any log or system errors.

Alternatives Considered

Wix

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

It's the product recommended by the company owners
Mirna
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/8/2022

Well known website design tool with endless plugins

With few tutorials and with help of teammates you can take responsibility for website content or design. Plugins can solve any problem but need to be compatible and up to date.

Pros

With templates and plugins you don't need to understand coding to start your website and blog.

Cons

Frequent plugin and new WP version updates. Easy to be vulnerable for malicious software or hackers.

Alternatives Considered

Wix

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

More people can help with Wordpress and have bigger library of plugins and templates.
Vijay
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 4/8/2022

WordPress Review

Pros

Open Source: The best thing about it is that it is an open source cms which is absolutely free. It was earlier made to be used only in blogs but it is used as a content management system in websites. You can also modify and distribute the codes and you will not have to worry about license fees.

Low Cost: I agree that it takes up to 10000 ₹ to create a blog in WordPress, but according to one, it is not much. Because if you get a website built from a developer or choose any other paid cms, then you can cost from 30000 ₹ to 50000 ₹.

Easy to Use: You do not need to be a developer to install and use WordPress. You can easily manage WordPress site even without coding knowledge. In this you can easily do any work with the help of plugin.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Benefits: Most search engines like Google like WordPress sites more. Because seo meta and many seo optimizations are already done in wordpress site and they do not have to face errors.

Lots of sites use WordPress: You must have seen around yourself that all the popular blogs are on WordPress only. Let us also tell you that according to the recent report 74.6 million sites are using WordPress only.

Updates: The new version of WordPress comes almost every 152 days but comes within it. All the popular plugins and themes in WordPress blog are updated regularly. This strengthens the security along with the performance of the site.

Plugins and More Options: First of all, WordPress will give you unlimit

Cons

Security: The biggest disadvantage is that its security is weak. But those who are smart bloggers and secure their blog in some way. WordPress also supports vulnerable source themes and plugins. That's why many hackers take advantage of this.

Low Database Handling Capacity: Many wordpress experts also believe that wordpress is not able to handle the database properly. This has also been reported many times and right now the WordPress team is focusing on optimizing it.

Without Updated Plugin/Themes: I have seen many times that there are still many such plugins and themes in the wordpress directory which have not been updated for 2 years and thousands of people use it. You must be aware that by using such plugins and themes, the performance of the blog goes down.

Matt
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/8/2022

Powerful and easy to use

Website builders like Visual Composer make developing UI-advanced websites a piece of cake, even for less tech savvy users. However adding custom CSS and html is also easy , and with Wordpress's modern page builder, the need for other page builders is becoming obsolete. We moved a number of sites over to Wordpress from Drupal, mainly because of the amount of support available through the Wordpress community and the huge amount of customisation potential.

I use wordpress and its plugins for a variety of natures, including business directories (using custom post types), woocommerce stores, training courses (lifterLMS) and live train times (using functions.php to integrate with my own C# software).

Pros

The main advantage of Wordpress is its extensive support and customisation. There are so many themes and plugins that go beyond enhancing the website builder experience. Plugins such as Yoast make it easy to write SEO-friendly content, whilst Wordpress's shortcode functionality makes creating shortcodes a breeze

Cons

Wordpress offers little in the way of responding to low server resource issues. "Error establishing a database connection" is a frequent problem on low powered services, which a mysql restart or server reboot is quick to fix, but unless you host the website yourself, you're dependant on third parties to get you back up and running. Wp-admin access in a low memory, no database envioronment to reboot key services (like the openlitespeed web admin dashboard) would be a great idea.

Rikaz
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 12/7/2022

The leader in website content management systems

WordPress is a treat to use with an easy visual editor, making it easy for an beginner or professional to use.

Pros

I have been using WordPress for several years now and the features keep getting better. While initially starting as a clunky content management system, it has become very visual and easy to use after Gutenberg. I have used it multiple ways both as a single user or in a team that has different admins, editors, & publishers and WordPress was versatile enough to handle it all. Add to this the thousands of plugins and themes and you can't really go wrong with this tool.

Cons

WordPress, being a large ecosystem suffers from the usual rogue plugin or theme which can come from a shady publisher. So always be aware that WordPress, while trying it's best cannot avoid a rare bad publisher from slipping between the cracks.

Alternatives Considered

Joomla

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

I made the switch from Joomla to WordPress because I found the GUI of the WordPress dashboard easier to use.

Switched From

Joomla

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Better Dashboard GUI
Muhammad Shakeel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/7/2022

WordPress is one of the most popular Open Source CMS

You can completely control your website with WordPress, which is free. All website files and data are owned and controlled by you. Websites can be moved anywhere without being tied to a hosting company.

A wide variety of extensions, add-ons, and plugins are available to extend your website. You can create anything you want with this huge selection of professional applications.

Pros

WordPress' beauty is its ease of use and user-friendliness. You don't have to worry about anything if you're not a developer. WordPress can be learned in a very short period of time. As a result, WordPress has become very popular.

There is a large community of talented developers supporting WordPress as a CMS.

SEO is made easier with WordPress.

Cons

The frequent updates to WordPress might hamper the functionality of plugins you are using if the plugin is not compatible with the updates. If you have been using WordPress for a long time, you know how frequent the updates are. It is therefore important that you have a backup of your data before updating the site.

Alternatives Considered

Wix and Joomla

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

One of the reasons WordPress has such a large developer community is because of its massive development community. it is easy to use It is Open Source CMS it is World’s Most Popular Your Website Can Be Fully Customized With Themes and Plugins
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/6/2022

The evelution of web site deployment

I've developed websites since before the internet was a thing. Started with text html, then Microsoft Frontpage, adobe's app, several sites you build on their domain, Joomla, now WordPress. Make sure you pick a "language" or tool you can take from one domain to another and a tool that will be around in ten years. Even Microsoft'S tool is gone.

Pros

Plug-ins are plentiful, showing the test of time, software updates don't negate your previous experience

Cons

First site will take some learning. Take the time before building or even messing around with this app to learn its lingo and their differences (page, blog, post, template, themes, menus, widgets...). They have nuances you need to understand.

Alternatives Considered

Joomla

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

Powerful and stans test of time

Switched From

HTML Editor and Joomla

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Joomla has become the beta max of VHS.
Pedro
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/5/2022

Easy to use, but some work to be done

In gereral, we have been working with wordpress for almost one year, and they are definitely a company that we look up to. We are very happy with our product and the customer service was always top notch at answering our needs during the process.

Pros

Wordpress is a user-friendly app in general, but you need to know what you are doing. They are probably the best website builder in the market for both beginner/intermediate to more advanced designers. You can basically build any template you wish and this can be applied to whatever industry your business is in. You need a few guidelines, which are well provided by the platform and you can easily get the final product that you have wished for.

Cons

Even with great templates, there is still some complex functionalities in general in order for you to get where you want to be. In my case, we needed some programming as well, as the default templates did not offer exactly what we were looking for. In the end, we were able to get exactly what our web designers first brainstormed. We are still having some issues with the API/ICAL connection, but this may be an issue from our programmer or channel manager and not Wordpress.

Alternatives Considered

Wix

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

More functionalities and more programming.

Switched From

Wix

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

More funcionalities.
Michael
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/4/2022

WordPress for Academic Blogging and Digital Exhibitions

My overall experience with WordPress has been very positive. It's a great resource to launch and publish websites, blogs, and media collections very easily. it's amazing to be able to post content to the web immediately to promote access across all system variants.

Pros

I most like the customization features of WordPress, and how the tool can be successfully deployed to give every author a visual toolbox to create a digital collage that corresponds aesthetically or thematically with their intended vision. The tool can be implemented readily in student portfolio assignments, while advancing goals of multimedia engagement, interactivity, and dialogic narrativity. Additionally, our enterprise license does not permit commercial interactions, but this is an exciting angle that I would be interested in pursuing for future student and personal entrepreneurship initiatives that I'd be interested in exploring in non-academic contexts.

Cons

WordPress is a phenomenal tool, but successful use of the tool benefits greatly from users having at least preliminary knowledge of HTML. Although the WYSIWIG editor makes administrative features of the site accessible to all authors and editors, HTML and CSS customization features significantly enhance the efficacy and import of presented content.

Alternatives Considered

Drupal and Digication

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

We chose WordPress due to its low cost, versatility, and integration with other supported university subscriptions.
Gustavo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/4/2022

The Best Web Framework hadns down.

I do appreciate this platform since allows me to create and manage many websites, making out of them useful tools for different companies and professionals. WordPress is a great system that will allow you to create beautiful websites despite their purposes and objectives.

Pros

Open Source system
There are millions of integrations to add further functionalities, such an ecommerce, a booksystem, etc.
Easy to install, to manage and widely known in terms of having a community capable to support any wonder if any appears.

Cons

It used to be less customizable that it is right now, and most of the cons that might be said are past by now. It is outstanding.

Alternatives Considered

Joomla

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

WordPress does have more third-party integrations available, and I find it easier to use than Joomla.

Switched From

Joomla

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

As I said previously, the WordPress compatibility with any other third party solution is a game changer for any one looking to create a website.
Prasath
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/3/2022

Wordpress - The world’s most popular content management system

WordPress has become one of the most popular platforms for website owners and bloggers. With over 54 million websites using WordPress, it’s easy to see why so many people prefer this platform. There are many reasons why WordPress is so popular and has become the go-to platform for so many -- it’s easy to use, it’s customizable, and it offers a lot of design and layout options.

Pros

1. Wordpress has become the world’s most popular content management system by powering 28% of the web. WordPress is a free and open-source content management system that provides a platform for site and blog owners to create and manage their online presence.
2. Wordpress boasts over 26 million active websites and blogs worldwide, making it the most popular platform for small and medium-sized businesses to build a presence on the web.
3. It's easy to get started and powerful enough for large-scale blogging and digital publishing
4. It's one of the most popular choices among developers and designers because of its flexibility and customizability. Most users are amazed at how easy it is to create a professional-looking site using Wordpress.
5. WordPress also has an extremely active community behind it, which means you can ask questions and get answers from other users all the time. This makes WordPress a great choice for users who want to learn how to use it, or for users who want to make their website look exactly the way they want it to look.

Cons

1. It’s also the most frequent target of cyber attacks, with over a billion Wordpress-based websites being hacked.
2.Due to a lot of Plugin support , sometimes, the website tends to suffer a bit while loading the content.

Katie
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/1/2022

My WordPress Website is Beautiful & Functional!

Our WordPress site allowed us to build a complex website with little to no experience in writing code. Our nonprofit has many facets so we need something that would allow us to make vast customizations, a lot of imagery and video, an online store, subscriptions, donations, and more! And their customer service is absolutely amazing! Kind, patient, professional, and very helpful!

Pros

You can do or create just about anything with a WordPress site. Be prepared to have a learning curve if you are new to using the software. However, the time spent in the learning curve is well worth it because my WordPress site is stunning, completely customized, easy to navigate, and has room to expand. They also have a lot of beautiful pre-made templates that you can do slight customizations if you prefer that.

Cons

The time it took to learn how to use the software.
Having to manually update plugins.

Alternatives Considered

Squarespace

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

Needed more features

Switched From

Wix

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Price Functionally Reviews
Katiuscia
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2021

WordPress is with merit the most used CMS in the world

I've been using WP for almost 10 years. At the beginning I tried other CMS to understand which one was the best to develop my clients' websites and shops. And at least in my experience, WP is by far the best CMS. In my years of work I have developed successful websites and shops with WP and easily created portals and multilingual marketplaces. I believe and appreciate this CMS so much that it is the only one I teach to my students (private or companies) when it comes to learning how to develop websites or shops.

Pros

Before going into detail, I will summarize WP with terms such as ease, flexibility and quality. One fact: WP is now used by over 40% of all sites and has over 60% market share among open source CMS. WP allows you to easily develop all kinds of blogs, sites and shops. Although I recommend learning the basic CSS / HTML commands to be autonomous in the easiest customizations to the code, anyone can use it. Unlike other open source CMS I've tried to use, WP has a really clean code, it doesn't give problems over time and it's always constantly updated to maintain responsive layouts and provide updated graphical tools. Whatever you want to install on your site or in your e-commerce, you'll always find a plugin for it because WP has the largest Community of plugin developers in the world. And you'll always find a free or freemium plugin that you can use. An advice: if you develop for a company or for yourself but for professional purposes, don't rely only on free themes and plugins. Especially the theme: in my opinion and experience it's better to use a professional theme (for example, I've been using Divi for years because with Divi I can produce any kind of graphics).

Cons

The only situation, in my opinion, on which you could expect an improvement, is related to the fact that when you install a lot of plugins, usually more than 20, the navigation in the backend of the site really slows down. That's also why, if you have to develop a site with many plugins in addition, I recommend you to buy hosting on a tier provider. I for example have been using DominiOk for years because of the server performance that I'm satisfied with and also for the support (they are very good, pro-active and fast in responding).
A due clarification: what I have just described is a problem of all CMS! I took the liberty to note it because I'm sure the WP community will improve this aspect as well.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/10/2021

Great Base Platform for Websites, Blogs, etc. Okay for Stores. Plan on using a lot of plug ins.

Overall I really like WordPress and plan on sticking with it. I self hosted through GreenGeeks for my own domain. My site is still under construction but should be live soon- if you wanted to get a site up quickly and aren't picky, you absolutely could do so at a low cost via WordPress. If you want something a little more custom, just plan on taking time to research and learn the offering and build. I think it's worth it.

Pros

If you have some basic website building skills, you will be able to figure out the ins and outs of Word Press pretty easily. If you have no idea about anything website building, there are resources available for you to learn, and you can start with a basic template theme/site. I happen to know some coding and also have experience building websites and intranets, so I found I leaned on plug ins and themes to help me get my website off the ground quicker, but also could have just customized myself most of what I wanted to. Pretty easy. You can get a WordPress site free, or you can pay for your own domain and have a custom URL. If you want HTTPS (secure) also plan on paying extra for that. I like that there are so many plug ins available and that they do security updates often. The Elementor Builder tool is drag and drop - pretty simple to navigate. You can have a storefront via WooCommerce if you like, it's already there for you.

Cons

If you opt for a custom theme or plug ins, plan on poking around a lot to change colors, fonts and such. WordPress can be too simple for some, and on the flip side feel very complex for beginners to get used to. So long as you know you're going to have to plan some build time into it if you want a particular customized look and feel, you're good. I wished there were more font options. The photo editor is crap so edit your images 1st. You're also going to want to add an SEO plug in most likely unless you are already trained on that - the space exists to pop in you stuff but obviously you need to input the content and a plug in like Yoast will help beginners. Also the form builder was too basic for my needs, I had to get a plug in for that as well. It's possible I could have just custom coded some things but in the interest of time I've had to add several plug ins to my WordPress site to get it up to the standard I want in a professional site. There are a few items that come with I don't use like Monsterinsights.

Rodrigo
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/10/2021

The best and the most flexible

We use for several projects the combination of wordpress + DIVI + cache + protection plugin. With this we have a standardized and easy structure to create websites for clients in hours instead of weeks. Without wordpress you need to program or use an expensive tool that generates an exportable website. There are other CMS, but wordpress is more convenient and easier to find solutions to problems. Although it's not that fast, it's still much faster than other options on the market.

Pros

As you use it in various jobs, it becomes familiar. It has plugins for everything you can imagine. You can create your own plugins or mix them with separate pages in php/html. It has a lot of free stuff or "lite". Using themes like DIVI you can create websites of all types in hours instead of weeks. Only program when you really need it. Almost every time updates are fine, you update without fear.

Cons

I miss there being more performance. As it comes with many built-in things, you pay for the functions with slowness. Also bad is the tendency to replace stable php for pages and functions in RIA with javascript.

Alternatives Considered

Drupal and Joomla

Reasons for Choosing WordPress

With programming you have complete flexibility, but often the project becomes more expensive and your small customer suffers.

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Each CMS has its characteristics, but when we compare these three options, we consider wordpress faster, easier to maintain and with a shorter learning curve. In practice we tested them all and wordpress was the winner for our need.
Shannon
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2021

Versatile, Robust, and the Best Basic CMS

Wordpress.org, where you use it as a CMS on your own hosted website, it's truly the best option for most website owners, myself included. 10 years ago a developer convinced me to build one of my websites using Ruby on Rails, and I just wish I had stuck with my gut and found a way to do that with the database plugins available—I am now paying a developer to port it over. I have yet to really find much that WordPress can't do if you're running a content-based sight. Only if you need advanced e-commerce integrations should you consider an alternative.

Pros

I have used WordPress since 2008 to build not only my main business, which started as a blog, but also dozens of other sites over the years—both for myself and others. As a CMS, it's dead-simple to deploy and the number of features (themes, plugins, etc), can grow with your business. I also love that it's open-source—this means even in the 10+ years since I started, the code is always maintained by the global community and it's up to the latest web standards.

Cons

The recent switch to Gutenberg blocks necessitated a learning curve that was frustrating, but I went with this product "fork" because it seems like the developers maintaining it truly have the best interests of WordPress users at heart—blocks is where the web is heading, and it made sense to switch over even if this means some growing pains for websites needing a new theme/new customizations.

Alternatives Considered

Blogger

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

Blogger did not offer the robust functionality on my own domain name.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/10/2021

Best in class website builder, blog or ecommerce platform.

I've been able to run an small web development agency using Wordpress' free software and customizing it for my clients. I've also built several online businesses with it as well. Installing and getting started is a very simple task so you can easily spin up a new website in a few hours and start marketing.

Works well, scales and has a huge following of developers to help you customize if needed.

Pros

Wordpress is the easiest platform to use. You have the option of self-hosting for the tech-saavy or you can pay Wordpress directly for hosting and maintenance/setup.

There's a world of plugins to convert your simple site into pretty much any type of platform be it affiliates, ecommerce, blogging, etc. You can customize the look with thousands of premade templates both free and paid, manage users, writers, editors and sooo much more.

Cons

Without some technical knowledge, you may find that Wordpress is not super SEO friendly out of the box but with a plugin and some research you can fix that. Also, the constant updates can be annoying but it's for the best.

Alternatives Considered

Wix, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce and Shopify

Reasons for Switching to WordPress

It's free software and does pretty much everything the others did plus more. Super customizable and finding a developer is not expensive either.
14,021 reviews