Passportal Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Passportal

N-able Passportal is a cloud-based solution, which helps small to large managed service providers (MSPs) automate password protection and organize relative documents. Key features include credential injection, password change...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Passportal Reviews

89 of 89 reviews
Sort by:
Kendall
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/7/2019

Great Product

This software has been a life saver in terms of saving time and money. I would highly recommend it.

Pros

I really like that all my clients information is readily available in 1 place. I don't have to hunt through pages of documentation to find a password, IP address, how to article or anything. All information is laid out in a standard format

Cons

the integration with ConnectWise Automate and Control seems a little delayed. and sometimes doesn't show up at all if the serial number isn't populated in Automate.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint and Confluence

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

Pricing

Switched From

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Even though the other 2 options were free, being able to standardize the documentation was key. The password keeper was also a huge factor. the last was the integration with many other software platforms. For the price, we couldn't pass it up.
Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/8/2019

Good bang for your buck

It's a solid product at a fair price.

Pros

Good documentation is key to running a successful MSP and PassPortal allows you to keep good notes for both your team and your clients in a secure manner. It's as comprehensive as their largest competitor, IT Glue, but significantly less and with only a month to month commitment.

Cons

It's still not inexpensive, but it's necessary as you scale and mature your MSP. It's also a major undertaking to get setup, but there are good resources to get you up and running.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

Much more comprehensive and specific to our business' needs.

Switched From

Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Better value.
Todd
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 8/10/2019

Good password manager / OK document manager

So far things have been good and not having to email sensitive passwords to clients is a huge bonus. Clients we have deployed to Sites enjoy being able to manage company and personal passwords outside of browser password managers.

Documents portion can use some work to make things link better but it’s a good start.

Pros

The ability to share passwords (with permissions) via Site to our clients is the main reason for going with Passportal.

The mobile app is efficient and handy when onsite.

The fact they are a Canadian Company was also very important.

Cons

The inability to share docs with client Sites is a big feature we are waiting for.

A second issue is the inability to choose how passwords are sorted in the mobile app (by description instead of username) makes things a little cumbersome.

Lastly, no integration with Kaseya BMS/VSA causes duplication of data.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

The priority was on password management and that is what we were really after. Pricing did come into play as well as we are a small team. Not sure if price is still a factor today since IT Glue changed their minimum purchase.

Top Passportal Alternatives

Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/7/2019

Very happy with Passportal

Pros

It forced us to develop good habits. We previously documented in the site config section of autotask which was functionally no different than a notepad file. Passportal's structure of templates and linking forces us to put in more information which leads to better notes.

Cons

There are some customization aspects which are still lacking, but are on the roadmap.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Cost was the primary factor. IT Glue did *more* than Passportal, but the extra features IT Glue offered were of little to no importance to us. Those extra features greatly increased IT Glue's cost. Passportal gave us exactly what we were looking for at a fair price.
Jay
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/7/2019

Best tool in our arsenal

We work with dozens of tools and passportal has easily been the most useful one. We have had to call in for technical support twice and both times our issues were handled on the first call.

Pros

Our passwords are secure and we have the ability to share those passwords as needed to clients. Password management has always been a nightmare but now it couldn't be easier

Cons

We add our client domains in and have the ability to see expiration dates but there is no way to run a report on all domains to see all expiration in one view.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

We felt the password security in Passportal was superior over IT Glue. While documentation is important, knowing that our passwords are secure was our top concern.
Chris
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/8/2019

MSP Password and Security

Overall great experience, it helps us achieve some GDPR compliance and audit ability of our customers as well as a central store for documentation

Pros

The audit report of known password by user and the ability to change windows password

Cons

The fact that single sign on and ad sync is not an option at the moment

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

The audit report and the automatic password change on engineer leaving

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Simple interface and costing. It Glue is a great documentarian product but a poor password Maanger, Passportal is a better password manager but not as good in documentation. As our need was focused on password management etc Passportal was the best option
Eddie
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/7/2019

Using passportal with 500 end users

Pros

The great thing about this software is that it seems pretty intuitive, I like the import feature for the passwords it works really really well. It has two factor authentication of course which is a requirement. lastly the windows sink although it took a bit of time to figure out exactly how it worked is extremely nice.

Cons

when we first reviewed this software it looked like the search feature was extremely powerful however after using it for a while it isn't as powerful as I'd like. Secondly there's no way to move items around so if I create an item in one folder I can't move it to the other without doing it one by one there's no mass feature there's also no document import feature which would be nice that being said importing or rather copying and pasting from word or even from a website works extremely well

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

I like the simplicity of the price, I like the password sync utility and the support / sales people seem to really really great
Jason
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2019

Clarity review

Passportal has been an easy tool for our team to use and has forced us to better manage passwords we use for our tools and access to our customer environments. Its another tool to help us improve the security we need for our client environments.

Pros

Software is easy to use and provides an audit trail for password activity. Integration with Automate is an valuable feature for our use of the tool.

Cons

Would like to see configurations between ConnectWise Manage and Passportal so that we don't have to copy information to Passportal.

Alternatives Considered

LastPass

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

A focus on the MSP space and ability to add customer password management.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/9/2019

Good password management tool, fair documentation platform

Overall our experiences with Passportal (previous to being bought by SolarWinds) has been positive. While there have been some issues they have addressed them and the product has continued to grow substantially since we've been onboard.

Pros

It does a good job of keeping login information for various customers in a central, secure, managed location. It allows you to restrict access to specific clients to specific people or teams and tracks every time a technician has accessed a password so you know what needs to be rotated if they depart.

Cons

The browser plugin is tolerable but not great.

Nick
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/7/2019

Changed the way the business operates.

The software has enabled our business to organise, check and collate all our clients documentation and credentials in one place. This means our technicians are spending a lot less time searching for information, so overall efficiency for our customers has been greatly improved. Having the ability for our technicians to have their own secure vault for corporate credentials has also improved our overall security.

Pros

Access to the portal on any devices at any time.
Portal is well designed and extremely fast to use.
Ability to store credentials and documentation in the same portal is amazing, plus the ability to link documents and credentials in revolutionary for us.

Cons

After using the software for nearly 6 months we have found no issues.

Amanda
Amanda
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/9/2019

Helps keep brain drain down.

makes my day to day of keeping the documents updated and ready for when they are needed easier.

Pros

All in one storage of docs, and secure passwords. The fact that passwords are there for the team as they need them but are secured is great.

Cons

the same thing I love, the security to log in and the time out.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

the boss made the call due to security and customer service by the Passportal team.
Brian
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/8/2019

Great product for MSPs

Pros

Channel focused and helps us solve the password problems our clients face

Cons

Would like to see 2 factor authentication as a service.

Alternatives Considered

LastPass and IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

It basically does both of what IT Glue and LastPass do and is reasonably priced. Also, LP does not offer a channel program.
Ryan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/9/2019

PassPortal Review

Pros

The reporting capabilities are pretty good. The idea of Docs is really good, but needs some work.

Cons

It's pretty slow going between sections and clients.
While there are a lot of integrations, there are no ways that I've found to bulk edit imported assets, or merge duplicate assets.

Runbooks don't export long sentances properly, they don't word wrap well. For instance a long URL in a text field exported to a PDF would go off the page

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

The password manager seemed to be better.
Kristy
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 20/8/2019

Excellent password management software but lacks in its additional features

The password management part is awesome. However the Docs sections lacks many features to stand up to the competition such as IT glue or Atlassian Confluence. I find it ironic that your knowledge base is using confluence and yet the doc portion of your software is lacking in options and collaboration abilities.

Pros

Password management is easy and manageable

Cons

The Passportal Docs section needs an overhaul - its way to restricted and constrained. There are bugs in the templates as well. It doesn't allow for collaborative collection of data because the templates are too rigid. If the docs section was more customizable and took some of the features from articles - where you can add text boxes, change text size and move things around would be ideal.

Daniel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/9/2019

Works well, but the integration could use a little help

Pros

Password tracking
Password rotation for AD accounts
Audit log

Cons

The integration with CW is one way. And only allows you to import the most basic fields from CW manage. All notes are left behind as are custom configuration questions.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Fair pricing for the features. No contract.
Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/7/2019

Great password management at an affordable price!

Exceutive from Passportal was very professional, but very compassionate about her salespitch.
Not once did she make us feel like we was foolish for asking a question that would probably seem obvious.

The product was pointed out very well, both its pros & cons where explained well and we felt we could trust the advice that was given.

Pros

Its one of the fastest password management tools to get what you need quickly, in & out with full auditing and permissions on every aspect.

It has helped our management of not only our internal passwords but our clients also.

Cons

The setting up of the clients with the SITE addon was a bit tedious.
Having to spend 30 minutes with each client you want to have use of Passportal will get tedius.

Vera
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 6/4/2021

keep track of passwords securely

nice to be able to store passwords securely and everyone who needs access can have access and retrieve passwords as needed. Makes the job much easier.

Pros

easy to use, setup and store passwords. Multiple users can access and update as needed. Can randomly generate new passwords so that they meet complexity requirements.

Cons

Having to login to passportal constantly (timeout feature is set too low for our needs and I find myself having to re-enter my password.

Matt
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 8/10/2019

Cloud 9 IT review

My overall experience was very good, I could access my information from anywhere and it was easy to use

Pros

I liked the layout and the amount of information I could store in Passportal

Cons

The thing I liked least about the software was the support, not very helpful at times

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Passportal

I made thew switch to passportal Canada over to Passportal (AU) since I never wanted to pay for two licenses and I wanted to be billed in AUD

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

Passportal was cheaper than IT Glue
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/9/2019

Great product, functions great as is, but needs a little maturity

Pros

Integration, value, setup, ease of use, was honestly 9/10 of the product I was looking for. Very intuitive

Cons

Slow response from support, though it was a very low priority issue so not too bad, missing some key features available in other password management solutions such as being able to generate TOTP codes for other logins

Steve
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/10/2019

Peace of mind

Overall it was an easy decision, easy implementation and overall great solution.

Pros

It is comforting know that our sensitive data is secure!

Cons

It can be a bit challenging to log in some times but this is really the whole point so I don't this I can put this down to being a con.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue

Reasons for Switching to Passportal

It best fitted our needs.
Todd
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/8/2019

Passportal is a winner

we use it to store our passwords and with the integration with automate we use it all the time when logging into our clients servers and machines

Pros

It was easy to setup and migrate our passwords into the software, It's secure and it was integrated with connectwise automate.

Cons

I haven't found any yet, I feel that the software does what it was intended for .

Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/9/2019

Passportal has helped us bring together all our clients password and documents

Pros

Helps us be much more organized by centrally managing all our clients passwords, assets, and documents.

Cons

The mobile app still needs a lot of work. Its functional but could do so much more compared to the functionality of the web app.

Alternatives Considered

IT Glue
Lachlan
Lachlan
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/7/2019

Review

Pros

Simplicity, and ease of use for all team members.

Cons

Some issues with Browser add-ons and lacking some integrations that are on the road map.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/9/2019

Good password vault for companies

We save hundreds of passwords from our customers in the software.
At the moment we have two clients working with PassPortal also.

Pros

The fact that the software is made for a corporation. (and not for an individual user)

Cons

It is a cloud based solution, every day I hope PassPortal does not go bankrupt.

Serge
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/9/2019

Great & secure password and documentation solution!

Our cusotmer passowrds are now more secure than ever. The documentation per customer is now more structured and we are even making money by reselling Passportal Sites to customers.

Pros

Storing our customer's passwords securely was very important. The implementation was very easy and the software is easy to use. The documentation is great with the default templates covering most of the required info per customer.

Cons

From a functionality point of view, all is working well. I'd love to see a community or support site where people can share their custom templates.

89 reviews