User Reviews Overview

About SpotOn

SpotOn Restaurant is a cloud-based point-of-sale solution that enables businesses to streamline processes related to food ordering, tableside payments, customer retention and more. The online ordering functionality enables...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.4

Browse SpotOn Reviews

283 of 283 reviews
Sort by:
Chuck
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/9/2023

Spoton partnership

They have improved our business in many ways helping us grow revenue through their different programs such as loyalty and QR ordering.

Pros

I feel like they are truly a partner to my business

Cons

They had some growing pains when we first start. They were new at the time but there customer service was excellent during those times.

Response from SpotOn

We love to hear it, Chuck. Small businesses are at the core of their local communities, and we're proud to help support them and the people who run them.

Replied 27/9/2023
Sheila
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/5/2023

Great product that needs fine tuning

Customer service has been great and they are always kind. They helped go through the system when I got the new pos in the store.

Pros

I like the ability to provide a discount for cash sales. The POS is user friendly. The layout is user friendly. The website created was better than I expected.

Cons

I could not merge my gift cards that I previously used because there were letters in the code. I now have to accept as cash and then the reports are incorrect. Any customers that I had with loyalty before do not merge to SpotOn because I did not use phone numbers for in store orders. The first POS system was never shipped so I needed a new order to have one shipped. I spent weeks on the phone with tech support because it was not updating properly and finally I was sent a new system that is working properly. I am now charged for multiple POS systems although I only have one. I have spent a month trying to get it sorted out but have not been refunded for the overcharge and although billing cancelled the extra equipment, I am being charged again extra for this month. Virtual Terminal is not great for sending invoices and does not sync with inventory. Big problem when the business is selling inventory. Not able to exchange an item.

Response from SpotOn

Thank you for the feedback, Sheila. We passed this on to client services, and I'm happy to hear a team member has helped to resolve your pain points and billing issues. Please don't hesitate to reach us at [email protected] for additional assistance.

Replied 5/6/2023
Robert
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 28/10/2023

SpotOn

SpotOn has challenging communication between Merchant and company.

Pros

POS features ability to complete various types of transactions.

Cons

Customer support account representative negligence

Response from SpotOn

Robert, this is not the experience we want you to have. To help us understand more about the issues you've experienced, please email us at [email protected]. We want to get in touch and rectify this situation. Thank you.

Replied 10/11/2023

Top SpotOn Alternatives

Jennifer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/8/2023

[sensitive content hidden] Review

Pros

Once again, [sensitive content hidden], completed the task that I needed help with efficiently and effectively. He communicated with me throughout the process to keep me updated and informed about completion. It is always a breeze and a pleasure to work with him.

Cons

For this particular task, everything was good.

Response from SpotOn

Thank you for the feedback, Jennifer. customer service is important to us, and we're glad to hear about your experience. Small businesses are at the core of their local communities, and we're proud to help support them and the people who run them.

Replied 25/8/2023
Yuka
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/4/2023

Review from Cassava

after the learning curve it's been really amazing.

Pros

While so many POS systems may not be so super different, where SpotOn doesn't even compare is the customer service. The phone reps, email tech rep, local rep who we can see in person and have a working relationship with, it's all amazing.While so many onboarding now adays is a zoom call with a very uninterested rep or just instructions on PDF, SpotOn really makes you feel they care.

Cons

the slowness of the handheld, the way it rolls over screens makes some of us dizzy because the way it moves, and also there are some steps in handheld that we feel can be cutout. the desktop works great, but it's too bulky. we really want the desktop version on iPad. It's web base so we are puzzled to why that hasn't happened yet.

Alternatives Considered

Square Payments

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Because our local rep in San Francisco, [sensitive content hidden], was extremely nice, diligent, caring and hard working.

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Because of [sensitive content hidden], and because SpotOn offers in-person installation.

Response from SpotOn

Thank you for your kind words, Yuka, and for your feedback on the handheld devices. We're glad you are happy with SpotOn support and your local rep. We are constantly evolving our tech and its capabilities to better support businesses.

Replied 11/4/2023
Patrick
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 6/3/2023

Very Customizable POS System. Excellent Reporting. All features needed for success.

Reporting has been amazing and has really helped our manager stay on top of their metrics.Integrations with 7 Shifts scheduling has been a game changer.We are detailed technical people so we were able to customize many features that made sense for our restaurants. Not the prettiest UI, more like an Android but no major complaints from servers.

Pros

The Reporting is a STAR versus our experiences with other POS like CAKE, NCR/Aloha.There are alot of great features that cater to tableside service restaurants like ours.A little overwhelming but There is a custom feature for almost every different item in the restaurant. Authorizations for different roles, control of delivery services, multi-location management, modifiers, discounts. Much more robust than other services I have used (CAKE, UPSERVE/Lightspeed, NCR)

Cons

The Sales Staff was not the friendliest. The implementation team also had a very bad attititude. The job got done with both but it was a rough experience.Customer service is decent. They have been getting better over time! A few downtime issues have occurred and SpotOn does not have an offline payment processing mode.They do however, install back-up 5G LT but forgot to train our managers on how to switch over to this network quickly.

Alternatives Considered

CAKE and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

We were using Upserve and customer service was terrible. Lightspeed purchased Upserve and it only got worse during the transition. Some system updates made the POS unusable.

Switched From

Lightspeed Restaurant

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Reporting, sleekness, and pricing

Response from SpotOn

Thank you for your feedback, Patrick. We are constantly evolving our tech and services to support businesses better. We've passed this feedback to the appropriate teams on our end, but we're happy you are enjoying the Reporting feature & other capabilities.

Replied 9/3/2023
Wagner
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/4/2023

Tushar Brazilian Express Utah

Superb. Love the product and the company. I have already referred my friends that own restaurants to [sensitive content hidden] and SpotOn

Pros

The local support from [sensitive content hidden] and his team have been very attentive to details and very hands on with customer support and technical service. The company has always treated us fairly. And we value that.

Cons

Nothing. There have been a few outages that were inconveniences for an hour. No big deal.

Shane
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/4/2023

Spoton has gone above and beyond for me and my business!

Best payment processor with phenomenal customer supportStill need to sit down and go over intergrating yall's crm!

Pros

I will definitely be staying!Best customer support!Dashboard to process credit cards easy to use and navigate! Portable credit card reader is a life changer and rarely do I have to remember to charge it or turn it off!Super easy bluetooth with app on my phone!

Cons

Intergrate with either Google contacts and or Hubsport crm to import all my existing clients to make emailing receipts and invoicing easier, or intergrate with Zapier to make this happen!

Response from SpotOn

That's music to our ears, Shane! We're happy to hear you're having a great experience with your SpotOn Dashboard and device. Going to pass along your integration/import contacts feedback and make sure the right teams are notified.
We look forward to continuing to help you grow your business.

Replied 18/4/2023
Shelley
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

SpotOn

Overall great. Haven't run into any problems that weren't easily solved

Pros

Easy to use. Lots of functions to choose from

Cons

Screen is sensitive. Sometimes it clicks out of SpotOn

Response from SpotOn

Thanks for your feedback, Shelley! We're glad to hear you're enjoying SpotOn's features and finding our software to be intuitive. We've noted your screen sensitivity feedback and passed this on to the appropriate team on our end. Thanks for being a part of the SpotOn family!

Replied 20/11/2023
Nichole
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2023

Customer Support!

Pros

[sensitive content hidden]
was amazing to work with and I finally have a sense of understating the boh

Cons

It is a complicated system that was first not shown in detail which caused a lot of struggles to begin with.

Response from SpotOn

This is helpful for us to know, Nichole. We're happy to hear about your experience with customer support and we've passed along this feedback to the appropriate teams on our end. We look forward to continuing to help you grow your business.

Replied 6/11/2023
Heidi
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 15/4/2022

Regret switching to Spoton

Customer service is typically easy to get ahold of. They try but sometimes it is beyond them and they send you up the chain and that is where I found that I got really no where.

I couldn't figure out sales originally and I get passed to different people. A month later kind of figured it out but extremely time consuming. Due to flaws in the system. Supposedly going to get fixed but who knows when and it will not revert back so it will only be going forward.

I personally would have not made the switch and now I know to ask a lot more detailed questions.
Ask to see marketing.
Ask to see reports and understand what the numbers mean and how it ties out.

Pros

I liked that Door Dash delivery was built into the system.
Eventually got the menu setup the way I want it to look but it took a lot of hours and creative ways of getting it into the POS and then online ordering. Hours put in by me via customer support as they were not that helpful in regards to this.

Cons

The reporting is horrible. I need 3 reports to book 1 day sales.
There are 3 different websites vs everything being on 1 website.
You can't do a refund for an online order. You are required to call customer support or go to yet another website and request the refund.
Only refunds that you can do is if remove the credit card info and reenter it.
Menu creation did not go well. There is no audit trail and things are to easy to change. As soon as you change something there is no going back. It is done and updated. Should have a confirm before changing.
Things would randomly change over night. I believe that Spoton people would go in and think they are fixing something but it would make it worse.
Implementation did not go well due to so many menu issues. Ended up need to duplicate a number of items one for online ordering and one for the POS due to they don't work together.
Some reports you can't view more than 1 day a time.
Day of the week starts on a Monday vs a Sunday. Extremely annoying for me. Weekly reports are Monday - Sunday. Cant find a way to fix this.
Marketing and loyalty are a joke. Marketing campaign does not tell you how much sales were done via a click through the campaign. The templates for marketing are not very good. If you still consider Spoton after this do not go for the marketing. There are better options out there for the same or less price.
Sales tax has different amounts in the same report. They say to ignore one. So remove it.

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Was not Square for Restaurant so missing a lot of features.

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Cost and what I expected them to have. Nothing works really as they stated it would.

Response from SpotOn

We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had with reporting! I've alerted our success team and they will be reaching out to you shortly to help explain the reporting functionality. Please don't hesitate to reach out directly at [email protected] for additional assistance in the future.

Replied 3/5/2022
Andrew
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/4/2020

Game Changer

Spoton has been great from the start from the sales reps presentation to the feedback to the help and just the restaurant industry in general. Our rep had experience in restaurants so he showed us some tricks and shortcuts in creating our menu that was a huge plus for us. He also was very knowledgeable in marketing so he offered his guidance for free which helped us grow our business with online ordering.

Pros

The features I love best about SPOTON restaurant is the support and the ease-of-use. Sales reps was very knowledgeable and supportive. He trained 30 employees on site and was available instantly when we had questions. He was there the whole week when we started the product conversion and actually did some free advertising for us to show his support. He made us a believer in SPOTON and that showed us that SPOTON really does partner with their merchants with transparency low rates great reporting and all in all best restaurant point-of-sale on the market we have seen we are a spoton customers for life thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for introducing us to SpotOn Restaurant and all of its capabilities.

Cons

The only thing we really didn’t like about the software is the ability to use digital gift cards on the online ordering but we have we have been made aware that this is on its way in development.

Alternatives Considered

Maitre'D, Aloha EPOS, Clover and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Support was horrible in our rates keep going up where are you and transparent. The system will slow down it’s very unstable. Used it for 8 years.

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

There was really no comparison in the features they offered for 40 to 50% lower with continued free support and updates cloud-based with free mobile back up plus all the marketing you get with the SpotOn platform was a huge deciding factor for us plus our rep was honest about each one of our choices he didn’t downgrade any other company just told us the difference between the competitors. We checked his data and he was 100% honest.
Rachael
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/2/2020

Progressive POS

In the 6 months of using Spot On I have been more than pleased with the advancement of technology for this POS system. Coming from the older time of Aloha and Micros I have never used a POS that has created such ease for daily reporting, managing sales and labor, daily employee maintenance, menu maintenance, employee on-boarding, daily projections, and future forecasting . The real time feature that allows you to instantly make changes to any platform of the system allows for no lost time which is crucial in a high volume restaurant. The support team has been excellent with a level of personal attention that has always fallen through the cracks with other POS systems.

Pros

Progressive, accurate, and efficient point of sale technology.

Cons

The fact that I can do anything remotely LOL! Only a con that if I have personal time away from the restaurant they know I can access all systems and make any daily changes or admin that needs to be done but at the same time being able to sit on a beach and to do payroll isn't so bad :)

Bret
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2020

Glad I made the switch

Exellent! Customer service has fixed all issues with one call! I never need to call back or send an email again it has saved me time and MONEY!!!

Pros

Easy to use, great customization, awesome customer service, Sales Rep delivered as promised! Backend of system is easy to use, I have more control over my stores now! Also the add on features of Reserve which I will start using soon, loyalty programs and integrations are a plus!!

I love the ability to control overrides on pricing, discounts, voids all from my phone and I can be anywhere!!

Cons

So its more of an inconvenience, in order for my phone to ping for a an override I must logged on, so it becomes a slight issue! Other than that its a great system!

Alternatives Considered

Lightspeed Retail and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Because of outrageous charges from our previous POS, poor customer service, lack of care for the customer, and them feeling like they were doing us a favor for being our POS System!!!

Switched From

Heartland Restaurant

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Local rep, Complete system setup, pricing was great, and was recommended by friend that owns a restaurant nearby.
Ben
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/2/2021

Premium Features and Unrivaled Transparency

SpotOn continues to be an invaluable technology partner that listens well and proactively presents innovative solutions to drive our business forward.

Pros

True, cloud POS with the flexibility to run on a myriad of different hardware devices.
It just works. Low-maintenance and reliable even at high-volume restaurants.
An innovative and evolving platform that adapts quickly to the changing needs of the restaurant industry.
Transparent pricing with no long-term contracts.
The sales and implementation teams were there every step of the way.
User-friendly. Training our service teams was simple and exciting.
Robust suite of features: DoorDash Drive, Waitlist/Reservation Management, Online Ordering, Marketing/Loyalty.

Cons

Would like a more robust first-party delivery module and/or more delivery integrations and more best-in-breed integrations in general.

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems and Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Hardware flexibility, price, no long-term contracts.
KwangHo
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/7/2022

SpotOn Review from Momoya

Very good.

Pros

Excellent remote accessibility to data, Intuitive reports and UI

Cons

Lack of third party take-out/delivery order integration, Payment processing speed.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

It was too outdated and POS data are not remotely accessible.

Switched From

Aloha Cloud

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Excellent online reviews on the product in comparison to its competitors and SpotOn hospitality consultant [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was exceptionally friendly and reliable.
Pete
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/3/2021

For Bella Pizza, SpotOn POS is Spot On!

From the initial consultation, to ordering, to implementation and integration the entire Process of on-boarding the SpotOn POS System has been seamless and has exceeded our expectations. In particular, I can’t say enough about the Integration Team, the Tech Support, and the Sales Support. They’ve been there 24/7 to make sure our on-boarding and integration has been smooth.

Pros

The SpotOn Software is intuitive, flexible, and easily updated in real-time. Love the marketing features and integration of 3rd Party Delivery Apps.

Cons

Honestly, we haven’t really had any problems so far.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale and Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Our previous POS system was not able to provide the marketing and digital tools we were looking for.

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

SpotOn provided a better product and a better value.
Lonny
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/3/2023

Feedback

Very good

Pros

On behalf of our family and staff, I wanted to give you some feedback after switching to SpotOn in January. First of all, the reporting is light years better than what we using before. Being able to see the daily Sales trends, labor costs, etc. has made us more profitable. Running payroll is much easier and passing information to our accountant is a click of a button. The dual pricing has given us peace of mind that we are passing on all of the cc processing fees. Having the printer in the kitchen has allowed our kitchen staff to view the tickets on the monitor and lowered our ticket times tremendously. On the weekends and before SpotOn we have always had a wait time before seating customers, typically about 40-45 minutes and after being seated ticket times would average about 30 minutes (although we weren't able to track it). Now, with SpotOn we have cut our ticket down by at least 10 minutes allowing us to serve more customers during the weekend. In addition, our FOH is unable to manipulate an order and change orders without getting manager approval. This has resulted in way less food mistakes and delays with service and ticket times.Our restaurant at this time has never been more efficient and the food has never been more consistent than what it is right now. Lastly, training new staff on the new system has been very easy. They pick up on the system quickly compared to the old cumbersome system.

Cons

A few glitches and communication issues on the implementation

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Credit card processing fees

Response from SpotOn

Thank you for your very kind words, Lonny.
We're proud to help support you and your business.

Replied 16/3/2023
Brenten
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 25/5/2022

Great Payment Software

Overall, I really enjoyed this software besides the slow customer service response time. If that would have been improved, I would have stuck with this software permanently. I love how easy it is to use and how it manages transactions so well.

Pros

This software made it a lot easier for us to record transactions and manage everything pertaining to them in one place. I loved how simple it was to use and train other employees to use.

Cons

I did not like how slow the customer service was to respond to issues. It took a long time to get an issue fixed once and it was detrimental to business.

Alternatives Considered

Chargebee

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Wanted something more professional.

Switched From

Wave Accounting

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Looked to have better features
nicholas
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/4/2023

Spot On saved my business with top brand dropped me MID AFTERNOON for no reason. Spot on has...

its been great. I'm very happy with spot on and have no intentions to leave them , even if a company came along and offered .04 less, id say no.

Pros

they seamlessly took over for my previous company when they dropped me mid afternoon 4 years ago. Im loyal to spot on for that

Cons

it would be nice if they added some value added features like ability to access my money with a visa/mc, or ability to rush money to bank for small %. also, Apple Pay, contactless would be nice.

Response from SpotOn

We love to hear it, Nicholas. We're happy to hear our team was able to get you up and running quickly. Small businesses are at the core of their local communities, and we're proud to help support them and the people who run them.

Replied 11/4/2023
Harshil
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/11/2020

Hidden Charges

I wasn't aware of installation charges If I knew it I wouldn't have them to come and install the POS which I could do very easily. I paid $750.00 which was automatic payment taken from my bank account.

Pros

Its really great for Restaurants

Cons

Speed and easy to operate

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Give try to new Product on Market
Jeremy
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/10/2022

Okay

Good setup and install

Pros

Lots of features to work with and easy setup

Cons

Don't use half the features and makes a bit more difficult.

Alternatives Considered

Clover

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Online options

Reasons for Switching to SpotOn

Price

Response from SpotOn

Hi Jeremy, thanks for the feedback. We'd love to walk you through any of the features you'd like more information on. I'm reaching out with my contact information and would be happy to set you up some time with your success manager when you'd like to connect. Thank you for your business and for leaving us a review!

Replied 9/11/2022
Nick
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/9/2021

Loma Brew 'Head of Spot On'

My overall experience has been great with Spot On. I am 100% pro Spot On and would recommend it to almost anyone. The longer we've had it, the better it's gotten.

Pros

MY favorite thing about Spot On is how easy the BOH Management interface is to use. I love how I am able to adjust just about anything in seconds without having to wait on hold for an hour to adjust one menu item. Everything is pretty self explanatory, I just had to use it for a bit, but the more I use it the more I understand it.

Cons

The QR Codes have issues that other platforms seem to not have, starting tabs, glitches where people can't move to the next screen, no "guest login" option. We have an older crowd in our town and it isn't all that easy for them to use.

Mark
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/9/2021

SpotOn for Independent restaurant

So far our experience has been very positive. The way the online store integrates to the POS is terrific, allowing us pinpoint control over what we sell, where and when. Adding and 86ing items is a breeze which prevents unhappy customers and the handheld units we use supplement our workflow and make us more efficient. Thew QR codes are also a timely addition to our arsenal and our customers use them for both menu exploration as well as payment and ordering.

Pros

The software is very robust. We don't use even a fraction of it's capabilities but it's great to know we have room to grow when we are ready. 24/7 tech support is a Godsend since there are always questions with any system. Knowing I can pick up the phone and speak with someone (usually within 3 minutes) and get answers is hugely important.

Cons

There is a learning curve, mostly because the system is so capable and far reaching. Occasionally, the sheer number of options proved a little daunting, but that's when speaking with a person in real time becomes so important. They are a great resource as a learning too, too.

Pasquale
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 5/3/2023

Bait and switch

Hands down the worst experience with a POS company I have ever had. There are so many options out there don’t get sold by this company.

Pros

It’s easy to and and modify new menu items.

Cons

Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced with any POS company. Implementation and set up was a complete disaster. Still haven’t gotten our training call and have now been installed almost 2 weeks. Can’t issue refunds to customers without a 3 days period which is unacceptable. And so much more.

Alternatives Considered

Square Payments

Reasons for Choosing SpotOn

Was sold!

Switched From

Aloha Cloud

Response from SpotOn

We apologize for the trouble you've experienced. Know that we hear you, we understand your frustration, and are working to resolve the issue. We've passed this along internally and sounds like a member of our team is trying to get in contact with you.

Replied 8/3/2023
283 reviews