About Valant EHR Suite

Valant’s Behavioral Health EHR offers tools for providers to streamline documentation, increase efficiency, and enhance productivity at their practice. The fully integrated suite includes secure patient records, documentation, scheduling, telehealth, billing, practice management, and patient engagement tools including a patient portal. Because Valant focuses exclusively on behavioral health, users don’t have to navigate through billing codes and documentation templates made for other specialties. Valant offers a library of outcome measures for clinicians to utilize and track over time. Patients may complete these assessments from the comfort of their own home via the patient portal, or in session with the clinician. Results are documented in clinical notes and securely stored in patient records. The system can automatically send reminders to patients who have missed recent appointments or whose payment information is set to expire. Documentation templates include click-to-narrative technology to reduce typing and simplify the creation of a structured note. Because the software is completely integrated, information like diagnosis and medication is pulled directly into the note from the patient chart. Practices can offer individual or group appointments with Valant's versatile scheduling and documentation design. The practice management suite allows users to generate charges directly from the calendar, eliminating manual data entry. Robust reporting enables users to manage all aspects of the revenue cycle as well as other clinical and appointment reports. Patients are able to view their balances and receive statements electronically in their patient portal.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Valant's customizable dashboard keeps you organized and on task. See upcoming appointments, to-do lists, and documentation status in a quick-view format.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Valant's Scheduler provides and integrated calendar experience to keep your practice running smoothly and efficiently.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Integrated Outcome Measures: Assign clinical questionnaires and outcome measures to your client prior to their visit. Once the measure is complete, the auto-scored data and a clinically relevant narrative are automatically added into the clinician's note.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Billing is a breeze in Valant. Apply payments, create insurance claims, and more using the integrated Billing feature.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Get all the pertinent patient information in one screen, including demographic data, billing information, previous and upcoming appointments, medication, lab,  and allergy information, and more.
Valant EHR Suite Software - Collaborate with clients and additional participants in secure, integrated telehealth sessions.
Valant EHR Suite video
Valant EHR Suite Software - Valant's customizable dashboard keeps you organized and on task. See upcoming appointments, to-do lists, and documentation status in a quick-view format. - thumbnail
Valant EHR Suite Software - Valant's Scheduler provides and integrated calendar experience to keep your practice running smoothly and efficiently. - thumbnail
Valant EHR Suite Software - Integrated Outcome Measures: Assign clinical questionnaires and outcome measures to your client prior to their visit. Once the measure is complete, the auto-scored data and a clinically relevant narrative are automatically added into the clinician's note. - thumbnail
Valant EHR Suite Software - Billing is a breeze in Valant. Apply payments, create insurance claims, and more using the integrated Billing feature. - thumbnail
Valant EHR Suite Software - Get all the pertinent patient information in one screen, including demographic data, billing information, previous and upcoming appointments, medication, lab,  and allergy information, and more. - thumbnail

Valant EHR Suite pricing

Valant EHR Suite does not have a free version.

Starting Price:
Not provided by vendor
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
No

Alternatives to Valant EHR Suite

TheraNest

TheraNest is an HIPAA compliant web-based mental health solution used by solo practitioners, large mental health...

SimplePractice

SimplePractice is a cloud-based practice management system built to make the business side of private practice easier....

AdvancedMD EHR

AdvancedMD is a unified suite of software solutions designed for mental health, physical therapy and medical healthcare...

EpicCare EMR

Epic Systems’ EpicCare is an electronic medical recording (EMR) solution for large hospitals and healthcare systems,...

Practice Fusion

Founded in 2005, Practice Fusion offers a cloud-based EHR that includes a suite of integrated features like charting,...

IntakeQ

IntakeQ is an online forms intake platform designed to help healthcare professionals convert existing forms, manage...

Valant EHR Suite Reviews

Feature rating

Value for Money
3.7
Functionality
3.9
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.1
5 reviews of 203 View all reviews
Shannon
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Great Move to a new EHR

The reports are incredible. It also allows my staff to complete comprehensive notes in minutes rather than hours.

Pros

The customer service is incredible. The program is intuitive and able to handle multiple functions. With the onboarding staff you can customize the options to fit your practice needs.

Cons

Large learning curve but completely worth it.

Alternatives Considered

TheraNest

Reasons for Choosing Valant EHR Suite

Med Management requirement

Switched From

CounSol.com

Reasons for Switching to Valant EHR Suite

The customer service and the ability to customize.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Shannon. We enjoy working with you and your practice!

Replied 22/10/2021
Carly
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 30/7/2020

Expensive for solo practices

Customer service was slow to respond and/or didn't respond at all. It takes some getting used to. Valant was a functional ERA but it was too "much" for me being a solo provider which resulted in it being too expensive.

Pros

Billing was easy. It auto-posts ERA. They offer the ability to customize note templates. Valant offers reminders either through text or email.

Cons

For a solo practice it was expensive and offered a lot of features a solo provider doesn't need. The treatment plan tool wasn't as smooth as I thought it would be. It took a lot of time to setup and complete the training before using. The cost of Valant is separate from the cost of using a clearing house.

Alternatives Considered

SimplePractice

Reasons for Choosing Valant EHR Suite

I wanted to be able to customize notes.

Switched From

TherapyNotes

Reasons for Switching to Valant EHR Suite

Had more features I thought I would use but in the end, Valant was too complex for my solo practice.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Thank you for your feedback, Carly. We appreciated having you as a customer and genuinely hope you are able to find a solution that better fits your needs.

Replied 31/7/2020
reid
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 12/6/2020

terrible customer service

SLOW EMAIL CUSTOMER SERVICE,
Currently, I have an email support request, now going on TWO WEEKS WITH NO HUMAN RESPONSE.
Only automated "we got your message, but we're swamped. If you no longer need a reply, let us know. Otherwise please be patient we'll get to you when we can" canned replies.
This is TYPICAL of several past email requests.
Calling is difficult due to time-zone differences, so email is by far more practical for my solo practice.

Pros

fair pricing.
reliable scheduler, albeit a little cumbersome and old-skool.
integrated schedule / billing was fairly easy to submit in batches.

mostly, i just keep using it because it's what I originally set up for my practice.
I have buyer's remorse all the time.

Cons

For several YEARS (literally), Valant used outdated web technology (Silverlight) that was incompatible with several web browsers and the latest MacOS. They actually encouraged users NOT to update web browsers and desktop OS because it would break compatibility.
I've had to DOWNGRADE my firefox browser to an old, obsolete, unsecure version because that was the only way I could access Valant on my Mac.

POOR QUICK CLINICAL NOTES MODULE: they TRY to make click-click-click notes sound like "natural language," but colleagues got annoyed and felt like I was faxing them boilerplate notes. Sure notes meet billing requirements, but don't naturally capture actual patient encounters with nuance, which is important in mental health. The notes are several pages long, a waste of ink and paper for the amount of actual content.
I stopped using their notes module altogether and went back to paper charts within 6months. It was embarrassing to send my Valant notes to consultants and PCPs.

Alternatives Considered

EpicCare EMR and ICANotes

Reasons for Switching to Valant EHR Suite

Their simple clinical notes module (clicking, dictating) looked promising, but after trying for six months I switched back to paper charts.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Dr. Hamamoto, thank you for providing a review of Valant. We always appreciate the feedback good or bad.

We are very sorry for your recent experience getting product support. Due to COVID, we have had a record number of requests creating a backlog with our support team, but we have made some adjustments and are rapidly improving response time. We pride ourselves on our high level of service and take this feedback very seriously.

Regarding the Silverlight technology and notes module, we have recently released a new platform (IO) that offers a much-improved user experience and is compatible with modern browsers. We are transitioning existing customers to this new platform in waves. Our customer success team will be reaching out to you to discuss access to the new platform and provide support for any outstanding issues.

Replied 22/6/2020
JEANNE
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/11/2019

Exceptional Software and Exceptional Performance

I have recommend Valant to all of my group practices because I know it will help them to be more lucrative and minimize hours worked by staff. I am very satisfied with Valant.

Pros

What I like most about the software is the way I can fluidly maneuver through the screens with ease and that I can have multiple tabs up at the same time.

Cons

I don't necessarily have a con but it would be great to integrate Telehealth Services capabilities within the software.

Alternatives Considered

Sharenote

Reasons for Choosing Valant EHR Suite

Checkpoint is too simplistic...doesn't provide reports that are necessary to effectively run a business. Sharenote is very detailed but doesn't operate efficiently...not user friendly.

Switched From

Sharenote

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Hi Jeanne! Thank you for leaving a review. We are pleased to hear about the ease of use!

Replied 8/11/2019
Haylie
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/4/2021

Truly Can't Function Without Valant

When I switched from one company with Valant to my current office who wasn't using Valant, I felt lost because I was now working with a system that was working against us. It didn't take long before I knew what this practice needed and it was Valant. If we ever had IT issues, Valant was one call and maybe 2 rings away.

Pros

The ease of this software allows everyone to feel like masters of their EHR system. Being able to know exactly where to find the information you are looking for within a chart and being able to trust that the system works with you to ensure accuracy has given all of our staff an increase in confidence and allows us to spend more time with our clients.

Cons

I truly wish there was something I didn't like about Valant so this could be an unbiased review, but after working with many other systems.. they can't compare to the system and support you get with Valant.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Thanks for the kind words, Haylie! We are thrilled we get to continue working with you at your new practice!

Replied 12/4/2021

Related categories