About Neat

Neat's all-in-one small business accounting and bookkeeping software replaces the guesswork of spreadsheets, handwritten records, and manual invoices. Increase efficiency with real-time reporting, mobile receipt capture, fuss-free customer billing with online payments, and more. Perfect for small teams, add up to five users to one account. Access unlimited, personalized support. 30-day money back guarantee. Try for free today!
Neat Software - 1
Neat Software - 2
Neat Software - 3
Neat Software - 4
Neat Software - 5
Neat Software - 1 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 2 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 3 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 4 - thumbnail
Neat Software - 5 - thumbnail

Neat pricing

Neat does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Neat paid version starts at US$288.00/year.

Starting Price:
US$288.00/year
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Neat

Expensify

Expensify works as a cloud-based business accounting system that is designed to manage expenses and transactions using...

Shoeboxed

Fetch Expense Reporting is a cloud-based expense tracking and reporting solution suitable for small and midsize...

QuickBooks Online Advanced

QuickBooks Online Advanced is a cloud-based accounting solution that helps small to large enterprises manage expenses,...

NetSuite

With an integrated system that includes ERP, financials, commerce, inventory management, HR, PSA, supply chain...
Odoo Point of Sale (POS) is part of Odoo’s integrated suite of business applications. The module is available both on...

Acumatica Cloud ERP

Acumatica Cloud ERP provides the best business management solution for transforming your company to thrive in the new...

Neat Reviews

Feature rating

Value for Money
3.7
Functionality
3.8
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.6
5 reviews of 100 View all reviews
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

EXCELLENT tool for a common paper hoarder!

Only scanner that I have used or will use due to how easy it is.

Pros

The scanner that works with this software is easy to use and easy to install.

Cons

Sometimes there are connection issues. Overall, it's workable

Response from Neat

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the software and Scanner provided. Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 26/11/2018
Shimon
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 10/2/2017

Bad choice after bad choice from struggling company

The latest version of the desktop software from Neat (5.7) is not longer supported, so it's on the death row. Instead, it was replaced by much less potent cloud version. While I believe some may find cloud solution appealing, many small shops don't want to hear about cloud and were happy with desktop version. It allowed to categorize receipts, export into numerous software choices (excel is one of the most popular one, but quicken and quickbooks are there too) Now, that desktop version is no longer supported/developed, they left many customers in shocking state looking around for alternatives, like Fujitsu's SnapScan Receipts and Mariner Software's Paperless (both are excellent alternatives, by the way) It's a shame the company follows some internal misguidance instead of listening to the customers, but I guess this is how software business works these days. Everybody wants buzzword cloud.

Pros

- Allows to categorize receipts and provide instant summary (e.g. Meals Receipts) of the amounts for the accountant.
- Distinguishes between documents, receipts and business cards
- Easy to use
- Stores everything in local database, which is easy to backup/restore (did it few times flawlessly)
- Naturally supports NeatReceipts scanner

Cons

- Abandoned to much worse cloud solution
- Will stop working sooner or later
- Not supported any longer
- No new features are developed (e.g. templates for various business categories)
- Lack of support whatsoever in general
- Not many variety of scanners is supported. Very picky in their choice.

Chris
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 15/2/2021

Was great until then went to Cloud Only Option and Subscription Plans

I was a long time user of Neat for awhile. I bought the neat Desk Scanner for both my home and work office and used their software and eventually their cloud for several years. I liked the legacy software. It was easy to use, you could easily export entire folders, combine receipts/etc.

When they switched to Cloud only things became incredibly frustrating. Yes, the legacy software could still be used if you had it - but they wouldn't update it. I found using the Cloud platform incredibly limiting. Logging and upload receipts took extra steps and a lot longer. I wasn't able to easily combine receipts anymore. No way to bulk export receipts/folders. Even thoguh they claimed that their cloud software had all the features of the legacy software it didn't...and after a couple years of using it, it still didn't. Meanwhile, the prices kept hiking up, so I looked for another solution. Eventually, I switched to FileCenter DMS (I have been very happy with it), but to get everything off of Neat, I had to sync from the legacy software then export from there as the Cloud software could only export one file/receipt at a time (this, in my mind equates to holding your info hostage when they advertise plans for 1,000's of documents and it took awhile going back and forth with support for them to finally tell me how I can export more than one file at a time using their legacy software [obviously they don't want people to know this so it keeps them with their software]).

Pros

It was a great way to add in receipts, keep track of them and generate reports for taxes.

Cons

Really only valuable for receipts and contacts. Documents you can store, but they were as PDFs only - you can't store editable documents in it.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting review.
We greatly apologize for any inconvenience caused after the retirement of the Legacy software. We are glad that you were able to export your files and all issues were resolved with migrating your information. We are sad to see you go and hope that you come back to experience and all of our new features that we currently have and enjoy the fantastic features that are coming in the future.

Replied 16/2/2021
Yvonne
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/7/2018

I like Neat Receipts -their customer service needs improvement. Very hard to get them on the...

I love the fact that i don't have any paper receipts all over my office.

Pros

I can scan receipts easily. I can find a receipt when I need it. I record expenses easily. It gets rid of having paper receipts all around.

Cons

Their customer service needs improvement. They are not easily available to help with technical support. I pay per month for cloud service and sometimes I need help

Response from Neat

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties in reaching our technical support department. Our Tech support department is available M-F 9am . - 8pm eastern time. Please note that our automated system will attempt to look you up by telephone number first, so to make it easier to reach technical support please make sure you provide the telephone number that you registered with. We also offer support via email and chat.

Replied 23/7/2018
Amy
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
0

4
Reviewed on 2/12/2018

Great with some bugs

Pros

I like that we have a scanner... and when it works it works well. It integrated with Box which allows me to upload files into my EHR from my computer or my iPad which is nice.

Cons

The scanner works 70% of the time. The other 30% we have to shut it off then turn it back on. It’s irritating. Customer service hasn’t been much help.

Response from Neat

Amy,
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review! We apologize for the difficulties you have experienced with your scanner. When you do come across any issues using your scanner device, please reach out to out help center here - https://support.neat.com/

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed using the products for the amount of time that you have!
Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 3/12/2018

Related categories