About Act!

Act! Premium, a powerful CRM and Marketing Automation tool in one platform, is perfect for small and midsize businesses looking to market better, sell more, and create customers for life. With unparalleled flexibility and freedom of choice, Act! Premium accommodates the unique ways you do business, whether it’s on-premises (Act! Premium Desktop), in the cloud (Act! Premium Cloud), or, you can leverage a hybrid deployment for maximum flexibility! Act! also offers customizations to fit your specific business or industry processes or your preferences for deployment and access, the possibilities with Act! Premium are limitless. Act! has empowered the success of millions (yes millions) of small and midsize businesses across a wide range of industries. This vast experience helped us perfect Act! Premium with the most ideal feature set and almost no learning curve.
Act! Software - Rich contact management
Act! Software - Customizable Dashboard
Act! Software - Opportunity details for every deal
Act! Software - Power Marketing Automation – Real-time results
Act! video
Act! Software - Rich contact management - thumbnail
Act! Software - Customizable Dashboard - thumbnail
Act! Software - Opportunity details for every deal - thumbnail
Act! Software - Power Marketing Automation – Real-time results - thumbnail

Act! pricing

Act! does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Act! paid version starts at US$30.00/month.

Starting Price:
US$30.00/month
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Act!

Dynamics 365

Microsoft Dynamics 365 is a cloud-based CRM ecosystem for small, medium and enterprise organizations, with a focus on...

Agile CRM

Agile CRM is a cloud-based customer relationship management (CRM) solution designed for small and midsize businesses....

Sage 100 Contractor

Sage 100 Contractor, formerly known as Sage Master Builder, focuses on the needs of small to mid-sized construction...

TOP PRODUCER

Top Producer is an all-in-one business management platform designed specifically for real estate agents and teams. Grow...
Few things destroy a client relationship faster than accidentally overspending the client's ad budget. Safeguard your...

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pardot, a Salesforce company, is designed for organizations that primarily focus on business-to-business (B2B) sales...

Act! Reviews

Feature rating

Value for Money
3.7
Functionality
3.7
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.3
5 reviews of 705 View all reviews
Perry
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/8/2018

Excellent Software! I run my entire business on ACT!

My Experience with ACT has been great. I have spoken to support on occasion and they are very knowledgeable and supportive, and have always resolved any issues or questions I have. The one great feature of ACT is that it is on my laptop. So if I travel or the internet is down, I can still function - not so with SF.

Pros

It is very simple to use and yet very powerful. It provides me with Notes and Histories and as many fields as I need to put in data about my customers and vendors. It is linked to my phone as well as my admins data. I really cannot see running my business without ACT.

Cons

really nothing to complain about. they do updates and patches to fix any issues I have ever encountered

Tammy
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2020

ACT! for Insurance/Financial Advisors

I love all the features that meet the needs of financial advisors. The customizable fields are beneficial and improve the overall use of the software. It has probably just as many features as other customer relations management programs but cost is substantially less. Very happy with my selection.

Pros

The Act! for Advisors software has been modified to meet the requirements of a financial advisor which includes being able to input information regarding insurance contracts. The new Marketing Automation is an great way to send out Newsletters, etc.

Cons

They have lots of online resources/video's to learn the Marketing Automation. You can also speak to customer service but they recently cut their remote access where you can have customer service work on your computer to help answer/show you how to do things with the marketing automation.

Reasons for Choosing Act!

Salesforce was cost prohibitive.

Switched From

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Act!

Cost while not sacrificing the overall features.
Nicole
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 8/3/2018

ACT has many features, but most of them are cumbersome and lacking full functionality.

Pros

Our office has been using this product since before I started. It is a solid database program and if that is all you want to do is have a large database of contacts, then this performs well.

Cons

I dislike how this is still only available for windows computers which makes communicating information in an office with both Mac and PC impossible. Also, the outlook plug in that allows emails to be synced with a contact in ACT will only link emails to the PRIMARY contact. So that means you have to manually sync that. If you are emailing over 100 emails a day, you end up either spending most of your time manually syncing contacts or just foregoing this feature. Also, you can only add 4 contacts to a company. Often times, we need to have upwards of 6-10 contacts for a company so the inability to add more is a huge issue. And since ACT isn't online, any changes made on any employee computers while not connected to the server means no one else has access to that info until they make it back to the office to sync. Which means our data is never fully up to date. There are so many problems with this software that we often don't try to take advantage of any of the other functions.

Response from Act!

Hi Nicole,

Thanks for your feedback!

You're correct that our main desktop product is only available for PC. Did you know we do offer a fully web-based solution, Act! Premium Cloud? This works great on PC and Mac, as well as keeping your data online on our hosted cloud servers.

It sounds like your business could make good use of the features available via Act! Cloud - might be worth checking it out at act.com - we do offer a free trial too.

We'll definitely be taking your feedback on board for future releases - especially what you've said around email syncing. We've got some major improvements planned in this area in the next release (20.1).

Lastly, there should be no limit to how many contacts can be assigned to a company - if you're having issues adding more than 4, I'd definitely recommend contacting customer support, who'll be happy to help.

If there's anything more we can do to help, please let us know!

Thanks again,

Jon,
Act! Social Media Team

Replied 12/3/2018
Andrew
  • Industry: Nanotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/1/2023

Good first CRM

Positive experience and we are using the custom fields. I wish you could make some fields limited based on other field inputs. ACT! is great if you are just getting into CRM and want to get your business up and running quickly, this is one of the reasons it is such a popular choice. They have been doing CRM for a very long time.

Pros

Easy to setup and have customized fields. They have an option to run on your own server to avoid monthly fees of other CRM options.

Cons

Once you have over 10,000 contacts. It is harder and slower to organize CRM. Works much better for smaller contact lists.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Act!

Cost of alternatives were much higher for similar features.

Response from Act!

Hey thanks Andrew, it sounds like Act! is helping you out. You're helping us out by spreading the word - so thanks for taking the time to share!

Replied 20/1/2023
Manuel
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 2/2/2023

I used to love Act!, but now I'm looking for a better product that actually works for me

Pros

I have been using Act! for decades via its various owners and takeovers. It served me well in sales and marketing, and now I use it to track my legal clients and court hearings, trials, etc.

Cons

It does not work in Windows 11, which came with my new computer. Your Tech Support was no help, telling me simply that Microsoft knows about it and "someday" will have a fix. Meanwhile, with a local technician, I had to roll back to Windows 10 (hundreds of dollars paid), then I had to pay a remote Act! specialist (not your employee) to help to get it to "work" even in Windows 10. It barely works now, freezing up constantly and repeatedly throughout my workday. It is practically useless, but I bear with it until I can find another product that works for me.

Response from Act!

Thank you, Manuel, for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how Act! is working for you. We see that you had Microsoft 11 compatibility issues last fall, and according to our records, moved to Windows 10 to restore your database and functionality. We are sorry to hear you are still experiencing issues and hope that you'll reach back out to our Support team for further assistance at https://www.act.com/resources/contact/ or call 866-873-2006. In addition, we are happy to share the following Knowledgebase article published by Microsoft with more details about the issue and resolution.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/troubleshoot/sql/database-engine/database-file-operations/troubleshoot-os-4kb-disk-sector-size

Replied 10/2/2023

Related categories